Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General gaming discussion

• I'd love to play Beat Saber on it. Apparently Superhot is great on it too.

Huh... didn't even know that was a thing.

Yep, apparently it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Don't have any hints for the Apps, but definitely get AstroBot and Beat Saber, should keep you tied over for a while, 2 of the best games on PSVR. I'd also get Superhot VR if you want to get another game. Great fun.

Took 2 days off work (so 4 off in total) to play One Piece: World Seeker. It's a stunning looking game, but that's where it starts going downhill then. Not fun to play and would have been better suited to a PS2 game. The combat is dull and repetitive, and doesn't get better, the traversal is fun at first but quickly loses it's shine, and interactions are obviously a style that's popular in Japan but doesn't relate well over here. Again, looks amazing, but bitterly disappointed in it. I'm not even going to finish it, going to trade it in while it's worth a few quid and then pick it up when it's dirt cheap.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,151 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Have a craving for a boxing game but there is nothing on PS4. EA need to pull their finger out and get moving on a new Fight Night.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

J. Marston wrote: »
    Have a craving for a boxing game but there is nothing on PS4. EA need to pull their finger out and get moving on a new Fight Night.

Agree completely. Would love a new boxing game specially on the newer consoles would look great.
    It's been years since I've played one and I hate the ufc games

• Registered Users Posts: 18,704 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

Just play Tekken, Steve vs Steve only. :pac:

Or Creed: Rise to Glory if you have VR. Haven't played it myself, but it's supposed to be good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

NextVR is a free app and some amazing sport VR videos on it. Really impressive stuff. Youtube has a VR version too, plenty of stuff on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭killanena

killanena wrote:
    Anyone else excited for the game Outward? Its supposed to be released on the 26th I believe.

No one else has heard of this?
    Its coming to PC, PS4 and Xbox. If your a fan of the souls series its worth a look.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Anyone that has a Ubisoft account, the points you earn while playing Ubisoft games will expire at the end of this month.
    Just went and spent all the points I've earned in the last decade (or more?) there.

Have bonus nonsense for a bunch of their games now.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Anyone that has a Ubisoft account, the points you earn while playing Ubisoft games will expire at the end of this month.
    Just went and spent all the points I've earned in the last decade (or more?) there.

Have bonus nonsense for a bunch of their games now.

Spotted that from an email earlier!

Any idea which twitter account I can call a shower of tight cúnts? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 13,408 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

I spent 3 weeks trying to reset my Ubisoft password and login a few months back and I've forgotten it again.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

marcbrophy wrote: »
    Spotted that from an email earlier!

Any idea which twitter account I can call a shower of tight cúnts? :D
    Just throw it at any of the official Ubisoft ones, should be grand. :pac:
    gimli2112 wrote: »
    I spent 3 weeks trying to reset my Ubisoft password and login a few months back and I've forgotten it again.
    Best of luck.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,295 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Nice little piece on game music on BBC. Perhaps no great insight for anyone familiar with the subject, but hugely encouraging to see this sort of material featured prominently on a non specialist media outlet :)

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/resources/idt-sh/top_scores_video_game_music

• Registered Users Posts: 23,151 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

I can't even comprehend that. It's one thing memorising enemy/boss attack patterns but there is so many bullshít environmental threats throughout the games too. Blowdart guys in Blighttown, spitting statues in the Gulch. What about fire in Izalith, presume that doesn't count?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,120 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I can't even comprehend that. It's one thing memorising enemy/boss attack patterns but there is so many bullshenvironmental threats throughout the games too. Blowdart guys in Blighttown, spitting statues in the Gulch. What about fire in Izalith, presume that doesn't count?

Git Gud.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭Mr Crispy

Paradox have been teasing something for a few weeks, that's increasingly looking like it could be a new Vampire: The Masquerade game. Said teasing has largely come from an ARG delivered by fake dating app, Tender. Apparently there'll be a big announcement for whatever it is on Thursday...

And it's official - Bloodlines 2 (just in case you missed Zero-Cool's main thread)!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Pretty neat mini-documentary on the making of SEGA's Revenge of Shinobi & Streets of Rage covering various design facets of both titles and the work that went into their respective soundtracks.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,994 ✭✭✭Doge

So apparently theres a youtuber from my city / county with almost 2 million subcribers that I never heard of before, until i searched for Roombo First Blood in youtube just now.

Goes by the name of Call Me Kevin. I am out of touch? :P

• Registered Users Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭EoinHef

I always assocoate kevin with his videos from years ago in call of duty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

When the hell is Ghost of Tsushima out?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

RasTa wrote: »
    When the hell is Ghost of Tsushima out?

I don't know. I'm getting a Ps4 just for it though. Ps4 should be about 100 squid by then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

Doge wrote: »
    So apparently theres a youtuber from my city / county with almost 2 million subcribers that I never heard of before, until i searched for Roombo First Blood in youtube just now.

YouTubers are 99% cringe merchants.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,844 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

I'm playing Burnout Paradise Remastered at the moment. Plenty of smashing, bashing and crashing in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Jamiekelly

Doge wrote: »

He's one of the few youtubers I actually bother to watch. I found him through his Comedy Night videos and I won't lie I laughed more than I thought I would. Usually find gaming Youtubers cringey and they tend to over do it but he actually has a grand sense of humour.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 25,184 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

So Bethesda have reversed course a little, and Fallout 76 will be on Steam later this year, and they've also explicitly committed to bringing their other upcoming games to Steam.

https://twitter.com/bethesda/status/1110225138979651584

• Registered Users Posts: 29,679 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Just realised the rest of 2019 is looking a bit shyte gaming wise (for me anyway). Days Gone in April and Judgment in June, nothing beyond that which is very strange. Hopefully some games starting getting Q3 release dates but the calender is weak so far after a great start to the year.

Anything releasing Summer onwards ye are looking forward to?

I did discover one game while looking at releases called The Sinking City which looks really interesting.

"A detective game with no hand holding, no directions where to go on a map, no tasks, nothing telling you what to do next"

Ah there's still a few to (hopefully) come this year. Having a quick browse, the following is what's allegedly releasing this year and has me interested:

Ghost of Tsushima - My most anticipated
    Ancestors: The Humankind Odyssey
    Atomic Heart
    Babylons Fall (from the people behind Bayonetta and NieR Automata)
    Biomutant
    Mortal Kombat 11
    Ori and the Will of the Wisps
    The Outer Worlds
    No Mans Sky VR
    Psychonauts 2
    RAGE 2
    Shenmue 3
    Skull & Bones

Granted, some of them may not actually come out this year, but they're penned for a 2019 release. There's plenty others that don't interest me either.

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    Just realised the rest of 2019 is looking a bit shyte gaming wise (for me anyway). Days Gone in April and Judgment in June, nothing beyond that which is very strange. Hopefully some games starting getting Q3 release dates but the calender is weak so far after a great start to the year.

Anything releasing Summer onwards ye are looking forward to?

I did discover one game while looking at releases called The Sinking City which looks really interesting.

"A detective game with no hand holding, no directions where to go on a map, no tasks, nothing telling you what to do next"

The Sinking City is a new one for me, looks really interesting.