Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,463 ✭✭✭✭km79

Whatever about Kildare ........Tyrone and Cavan not being played in clones ???????

Money money money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

km79 wrote: »
    Whatever about Kildare ........Tyrone and Cavan not being played in clones ???????

Money money money

Not a great throw in time for Mayo fans coming from the county itself. Very late trip home if it goes all the way to the free taking competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭tacofries

Our homes performances are usually a shambles so I am happy with Croker despite the drive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Kalyke

link?

https://www.leinsterleader.ie/news/gaelic/320273/kildare-agree-to-move-to-croke-park-for-mayo-clash.html

Croke Park have announced that the Kildare v Mayo game will be moved from St Conleth’s Park to Croke Park, Saturday with a 7 pm throw-in, in a double game programme, Cavan v Tyrone throwing in at 5 pm.

However the Leinster Leader understands that Kildare Co. Board are refusing to move from St Conlelth's Park and have informed Croke Park of same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭glack

John Fogarty of the Examiner reporting on twitter that Kildare are refusing to move and a statement is expected in the next hour or so.

https://twitter.com/JohnFogartyIrl/status/1011269857277546496

I’m a Mayo fan but would fully understand Kildare’s position on this. Its unbelievable the way the GAA f**ks around with clubs, counties and their fans when it comes to fixture scheduling, not to mention breaking their own scheduling plans. The rnd 3 draw was made with the clear understanding that unless there were div 3 & 4 counties involved, first out of the hat got home advantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭muddle84

Money money money
    Sorry KM, am I missing something there? Why would Tyrone and Cavan be played in Clones? Shouldn't it be played in Breffni Park?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,898 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

muddle84 wrote: »
    Sorry KM, am I missing something there? Why would Tyrone and Cavan be played in Clones? Shouldn't it be played in Breffni Park?

Clones the venue of choice for 'big' Ulster games, maybe especially for teams in the southern part of the province...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

Clones the venue of choice for 'big' Ulster games, maybe especially for teams in the southern part of the province...
    Breffni park closed for redevelopment methinks

judeboy101 wrote: »
    Breffni park closed for redevelopment methinks

Yes, they have no pitch at present.

Money money money
    It’s closed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

I'd imagine the double header in Croker is to ensure there's a decent crowd in place.

Can't imagine them there'll be in excess of 40 thousand.

The move to Croker is very unfair on Kildare but Newbridge is totally inadequate.

Huge advantage for our lads to be be playing in Croker,tight pitch in Newbridge and a restriction on the number of Mayo supporters would have been advantageous to Kildare.

One does despair with such a late throw in.What were they be thinking?

I'm grand as I'm staying put but there are hard core Mayo supporters from the likes of Achill,Belmullet etc that will face into four hour plus drives home after 21.00.

TBF I'm delighted it's in Croker as it's on the Saturday.The team will be even happier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

seligehgit wrote: »
    I'd imagine the double header in Croker is to ensure there's a decent crowd in place.

The move to Croker is very unfair on Kildare but Newbridge is totally inadequate.

Huge advantage for our lads to be be playing in Croker,tight pitch in Newbridge and a restriction on the number of Mayo supporters would have been advantageous to Kildare.

I'm grand as I'm staying put but there are hard core Mayo supporters from the likes of Achill,Belmullet etc that will face into four hour plus drives home after 21.00.

TBF I'm delighted it's in Croker as it's on the Saturday.The team will be even happier.

I presume the times were not negotiable with Sky as they will have them in their schedules for some time now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,072 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Kildare digging their heels in. Statement due fairly shortly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Croke park is not longer appealing at this stage of the competition. Playing one of the best teams on the country in a provincial ground will create a super atmosphere. Hope Kildare stand firm here as its a pure money grab. Tullamore or Portlaoise preferable to a lifeless Croke Park atmosphere.

Newbridge is an absolute ****hole, one of the worst in the country, I wont deny that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,072 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Croke park is not longer appealing at this stage of the competition. Playing one of the best teams on the country in a provincial ground will create a super atmosphere. Hope Kildare stand firm here as its a pure money grab. Tullamore or Portlaoise preferable to a lifeless Croke Park atmosphere.

Newbridge is an absolute ****hole, one of the worst in the country, I wont deny that.

Newbridge or nowt according to Kildare GAA.
    This stand off will probably be better than the match itself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,723 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Fann Linn wrote: »

They will buckle. Its probably over money from the gate. .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Yes the right stance to take. I'd say a huge part of this is driven by the Sky Sports machine. Interesting times. I think the Kildare CB agreed firstly but following the backlash from the fans have rowed back drastically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Yeah. Has anyone from Kildare come out and taken a public stance on this as strongly as the Rossies did?

Perhaps they should take a page out of Generalissimo McStay's war book. That seemed to get results with the Connaught Council. A statement on paper lacks a certain punch to it.

Mind you, they'll be the ones with egg all over their faces if they have to back down later.

Cian O Neill live on six one news.

No surrender!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

No surrender!!
    Lol he said theyd be togged out sat eve in St conleths, no retreat no surrender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

No surrender!!

I knew nothing good would ever come of Arlene Foster showing up in Clones. :p

What an absolute shambles

But a marker has been firmly laid down ahead of more of these situations in super 8s

Fair play to their county board and it shows how utterly pathetic and spineless ours were when Kerry replay was fixed for Limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,898 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

judeboy101 wrote: »
    Lol he said theyd be togged out sat eve in St conleths, no retreat no surrender.

Opportune moment for the GAA to move into VR technology. Kit them all out with Oculus Rifts and have Kildare play in Newbridge, Mayo in Croker (or McHale)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,667 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

Fair dues to O'Neill - that was a composed but very defiant interview on the Six One news.

I can't see how the GAA can stick to their guns here

This shambles does neither team any favour in terms of game preparation.....this needs to get resolved soon as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

No backing down from that. Fair play to Kildare.