Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Trainee November 2017 intake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭bazz1000

Keeno1888 wrote: »
    Just wondering what way the digs work out?
    I just presumed we would be in templemore for the full 8 months, do we get stationed somewhere after 3 months then return to the collage or what way does it work?

8 months in the college and 16months in training station. Live on campus for ruffly 3months and moved to digs for the rest of the 8 months to make space for next group of recruits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭mooju

bazz1000 wrote: »
    8 months in the college and 16months in training station. Live on campus for ruffly 3months and moved to digs for the rest of the 8 months to make space for next group of recruits.
    Does everyone move out to digs?? Or how far away are you moved?? Transport not be an issue ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭bazz1000

mooju wrote: »
    Does everyone move out to digs?? Or how far away are you moved?? Transport not be an issue ??

Just heard from lads I know in the college that the digs could be a 10 minute walk or even a 10 min drive. All a matter of luck really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Anybody know anything about the sports teams on offer currently in templemore ?

I seen snippets in the paper about hurling and football previously , anybody know about soccer boxing or athletics, ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭ArifI

Vitaliy wrote: »
    Is yours all sorted Arifl?

last time checked it went for sign off (when i sent you message)- will check today perhaps or wait till friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Eoin2486

Hi all. I'm early 600's sept 16. File awaiting sign off. Any chance for Nov?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭MrBlack93

Eoin2486 wrote: »
    Hi all. I'm early 600's sept 16. File awaiting sign off. Any chance for Nov?

Hey,

Nobody really knows what OOM will be good enough. There's so many factors to take into account and a lot of people waiting below you.

There's still a good bit waiting from previous campaigns etc.

You definitely have a chance if you're signed off but maybe don't be overly disappointed if you have to wait until the next intake.

Best of Luck!! :)

MrBlack93 wrote: »
    Hey,

Nobody really knows what OOM will be good enough. There's so many factors to take into account and a lot of people waiting below you.

There's still a good bit waiting from previous campaigns etc.

You definitely have a chance if you're signed off but maybe don't be overly disappointed if you have to wait until the next intake.

Best of Luck!! :)
    Thank you.
    I'm already waiting 9 years from when I passed interview in 2008!
    Sure what's another 3 months or so.

Eoin2486 wrote: »
    Thank you.
    I'm already waiting 9 years from when I passed interview in 2008!
    Sure what's another 3 months or so.

Fair play to ya for holding on this long without losing your sanity.

Just wondering when's the last time you enquired if your file is signed off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 dylanshhkyboy

So when are we thinking offers will go out ? Another 2 weeks maybe ?

the week of the 18th looks hopeful at the moment.

I really hope so, at this stage I just want to know if the news is good or bad. Just to stop Wondering about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Damo1988

Lads just looking for some advice again regarding my PCT. Bit of a long story. My Pct date was set for 21st of Aug however I was out of the country. Rang hrm to explain the situation and they said they would be in contact with me in due coarse. A few days before my flight and still no word from hrm I rang the garda college to see if they could help. I was told that there was a pct on Sept 2nd and that I could come over a do it. When I returned from my holidays I had received an email from hrm stating that my pct was set for Sept 30th. I still had planned to attend Sept 2nd. I went over last Saturday last for my pct but I had a hamstring injury and made the instructor aware of this. He offered me to come back this Saturday(9th) as long I have a GP letter stating that I am fully fit. The thing is I am not fully fit and I would be lying to my GP just to get the all clear. I am now thinking should I just wait till Sept 30th to give myself the best chance of passing? I had my heart set on the November intake but sure whats another few months?!

Any advice and opinions lads would be appreciated :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Damo1988 wrote: »
    Lads just looking for some advice again regarding my PCT. Bit of a long story. My Pct date was set for 21st of Aug however I was out of the country. Rang hrm to explain the situation and they said they would be in contact with me in due coarse. A few days before my flight and still no word from hrm I rang the garda college to see if they could help. I was told that there was a pct on Sept 2nd and that I could come over a do it. When I returned from my holidays I had received an email from hrm stating that my pct was set for Sept 30th. I still had planned to attend Sept 2nd. I went over last Saturday last for my pct but I had a hamstring injury and made the instructor aware of this. He offered me to come back this Saturday(9th) as long I have a GP letter stating that I am fully fit. The thing is I am not fully fit and I would be lying to my GP just to get the all clear. I am now thinking should I just wait till Sept 30th to give myself the best chance of passing? I had my heart set on the November intake but sure whats another few months?!

Any advice and opinions lads would be appreciated :)

Be careful giving away too much information about your situation man on boards you don't want to make yourself identifiable before you start in college

I reckon ring HRM and explain your story and see what can be done

Good luck!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Shane88

Rang HR 3 weeks ago and was told my file was in a bundle of 100 or so files that have be sent to be signed off. Rang today to see if it was signed off and was told it still hadn't been signed. I asked if it would be sorted by the time offers come out and was told they couldn't guarantee anything. Hopefully it gets signed off in time for offers. Have an oom around 100. So was/am optimistic about getting an offer if my file gets signed. Anyone else ring HR recently?

Shane88 wrote: »
    Rang HR 3 weeks ago and was told my file was in a bundle of 100 or so files that have be sent to be signed off. Rang today to see if it was signed off and was told it still hadn't been signed. I asked if it would be sorted by the time offers come out and was told they couldn't guarantee anything. Hopefully it gets signed off in time for offers. Have an oom around 100. So was/am optimistic about getting an offer if my file gets signed. Anyone else ring HR recently?

same here called today and was told the same, asked them how would i get notified and he said probably by post or email.

just hoping i don't get one of those UNSUITABLE letters. I am very sweet! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Shane88

ArifI wrote: »

Same! Would be devastated to get the letter after all this time. Actually kinda regret ringing HR today cause it has only put my head into over drive now. Ah well! Only a few more days to wait out til we see a bit of movement again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭mooju

ArifI wrote: »
    So if your vetting isnt successful you just get a letter saying you are not acceptable and that is that?

Shane88 wrote: »

I'll give em a quick call after work and see if mines been signed off :(

Fair play to ya for holding on this long without losing your sanity.

Just wondering when's the last time you enquired if your file is signed off?

I was talking to them on Wednesday.

mooju wrote: »
    So if your vetting isnt successful you just get a letter saying you are not acceptable and that is that?

at any stage for any reason (usually valid) if they don't want, they will send candidate YOU ARE UNSUITABLE email.:pac: if you are not happy with decision you can appeal.

I'll give em a quick call after work and see if mines been signed off :(

Let us know how ya get on bud :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭kielmanator

I contacted HR within the last week and they came back to me with the same answers. Im assuming that once we see a post in here saying someone got their confirmation of file signed off that the rest of us will follow suit quite quickly ( those with OOM of less than 100 with everything done anyway!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭killer91

I contacted HR within the last week and they came back to me with the same answers. Im assuming that once we see a post in here saying someone got their confirmation of file signed off that the rest of us will follow suit quite quickly ( those with OOM of less than 100 with everything done anyway!)

Contacted them today, file is still waiting to be signed off. They wouldn't really commit to say when we'll hear either.

They said we'll get 3/4 weeks notice. So I'm not too confident of hearing anything till the last week of September.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Damo1988

contacted hr today and regarding the November intake I was told that offers will go out at least a month prior to starting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭Vitaliy

I rang hr 4 weeks ago to find out about vetting, they told me it's complete and gone off to get signed.
    Rang them this week and it's signed off, so they are going through them.

Let us know how ya get on bud

Still awaiting sign off. :-(

Don't lose hope bud, there is still time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Marck

Very hard to know how this whole process works... I'm late 500s September and I am signed off and everything done ..
    I don't get how some people's files take longer than others to be signed off on.. fair enough vetting time can vary but signing off bit doesn't make any sense.. Just trying to judge what OOM will be good enough for november .
    If we take it that little or none of our campaign (september) made the May intake . Then we can roughly say that the highest Oom I've seen to get into August was 340ish. If you take into account let's say 50 people who missed out on August who are now ready and also take into account people who are going to miss out on November who should get an offer based on their oom and also people who have just dropped out due to various reasons.. I'd say the latter people who will be called will be around the 600 oom Mark. This is all just speculation but I've heard that A LOT more people just drop out of the race then you would think. Fingers crossed anyway.. it would help A LOT for people hoping for February for those who get an offer to let us all know what your rough oom is. This will make it easier to judge. Best of luck to all !!