Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Traffic on Twitter 2

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Top Dog wrote: »
    Over 650 in less than 2 months is staggeringly sad in this day and age :(

Id love to see a breakdown of it, id say most are in the morning and either on the 0.02 limit or between the 0.05 and the old 0.08 limit. I think its an uptake in enforcement and when theyre enforcing rather than an uptake in people driving pissed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

The fact that people still think they can drink and drive, regardless of how much alcohol is present, shows a distinct lack of responsibility and concern for themselves and every other road user. The limit should be zero, for everyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

The fact that people still think they can drink and drive, regardless of how much alcohol is present, shows a distinct lack of responsibility and concern for themselves and every other road user. The limit should be zero, for everyone.

I do think that lots of these are “morning after the night before” people who genuinely think that once they’ve had a bit of a kip and some food that they’re in the clear. Needs to be more publicity out there about how many hours it takes to neutralise those captain morgans.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭Whocare

Rubbish one drink make no difference

It shouldn’t be zero, though it probably will be soon.

Whocare wrote: »
    Rubbish one drink make no difference

To you maybe but everyone is different and I think that if you can’t go out and not drink when you’re driving then you have the problem - not the laws.

I drink but not when I’m driving - a bit of self control wouldn’t go amiss.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

splinter65 wrote: »
    I do think that lots of these are “morning after the night before” people who genuinely think that once they’ve had a bit of a kip and some food that they’re in the clear. Needs to be more publicity out there about how many hours it takes to neutralise those captain morgans.

There's enough publicity and advertising about drink driving. Ignorance isn't an excuse.
    Anyone driving the next morning after a heavy session knows they're more than likely over the limit. Most that are caught are rolling the dice.
    I don't buy this innocent gombeen stuff about being surprised about being still over the limit the next morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 404 ✭✭ml100

There's enough publicity and advertising about drink driving. Ignorance isn't an excuse.
    Anyone driving the next morning after a heavy session knows they're more than likely over the limit. Most that are caught are rolling the dice.
    I don't buy this innocent gombeen stuff about being surprised about being still over the limit the next morning.
    I wonder how many of these 650 have already been banned for driving and will continue on regardless of getting caught.

You’re probably right. I do hear a lot of myths about a human body’s reaction to alcohol repeated as absolute fact though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭Whocare

To you maybe but everyone is different and I think that if you can’t go out and not drink when you’re driving then you have the problem - not the laws.

I drink but not when I’m driving - a bit of self control wouldn’t go amiss.

Your not living in rural Ireland. There nothing wrong with going one drink meeting up with lads having a few coke after that over few hours.

Whocare wrote: »
    Your not living in rural Ireland. There nothing wrong with going one drink meeting up with lads having a few coke after that over few hours.

Yes I am, Tipperary. Why not just have all coke, why drink at all. Stop making excuses - people choose to drink and then drive - it happens to us all, especially younger people as they think they are invincible - we were all there once but the cars are faster now, more powerful and more of them on the road - we need a shift in our thinking and take personal responsibility for our own actons.

As the Australians have said, if you drink and drive you’re a bloody idiot.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,936 ✭✭✭✭flazio

And now with drinks like Carlsberg, Heineken Erdinger etc having 0 alcohol options available, the excuses are getting thinner and thinner. There's no difference between being 5mg over limit before or after a sleep.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Killinator

flazio wrote: »
    And now with drinks like Carlsberg, Heineken Erdinger etc having 0 alcohol options available, the excuses are getting thinner and thinner. There's no difference between being 5mg over limit before or after a sleep.

Don't you know it's literally impossible to socialise without alcohol!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,559 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

• Registered Users Posts: 6,213 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Not a single Garda car or checkpoint around while I've been working through the Christmas, fair bit of traffic when I left work at 3 on Christmas Day and more cars than usual at 6am on Stephen's Day.

I've seen some seriously dodgy driving on bank holiday mornings, some people struggle to keep it in a straight line or even keep at a consistent speed limit.

All this talk about being over the limit in the mornings is pointless if nobody is around to check. The road between Woodies and Penny Hill in Lucan is a busy enough road with people dodging the toll going southbound out of Lucan, I've passed a few checkpoints there at 1am and they seem to be quite successful, few cars pulled on each side and at least one towed. Don't see why they can't to the same in the morning of a bank holiday when people are going to be drinking.

Of course it's possible I missed them during these days but there's a complete lack of presence around.

Have they split out how many caught over Christmas we’re alcohol and how many were other drugs? All the other drugs seem to get a massive free pass with people in our new culture.

DaveyDave wrote: »

All this talk about being over the limit in the mornings is pointless if nobody is around to check. ........

Why do we need someone to check? Why can’t we take personal responsibility and say I won’t drink like a fish till all hours and then get in the car in the morning.

Having said that I regularly drive from Tipp to Dublin - heading there in a few hours - and never ever ever see a guard - going in either direction - guards on the roads, being visible, does change the behaviours of some.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Breathalyser fitted in car would help....

Some trucks have them fitted.

See in New Zealand or Australia they make those that are caught drink driving get a unit fitted to the car at their own expense and some marker on the vehicle also.... Great Idea. Yes of course one could get someone else sober to blow into it but still it's a little something to make one think....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,213 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Why do we need someone to check? Why can’t we take personal responsibility and say I won’t drink like a fish till all hours and then get in the car in the morning.

Having said that I regularly drive from Tipp to Dublin - heading there in a few hours - and never ever ever see a guard - going in either direction - guards on the roads, being visible, does change the behaviours of some.

That's like saying why do we have checkpoints. We need to check because people clearly aren't being responsible, law abiding citizens. This is clear in the vast amount of people being caught without tax, insurance, disqualified for 10 years etc.

The point is people go on about how people are still drunk going to work in the morning and I'm just saying there's no effort to have checkpoints in the morning in some areas on bank holidays or Christmas.

DaveyDave wrote: »
    Not a single Garda car or checkpoint around while I've been working through the Christmas, fair bit of traffic when I left work at 3 on Christmas Day and more cars than usual at 6am on Stephen's Day.

I've seen some seriously dodgy driving on bank holiday mornings, some people struggle to keep it in a straight line or even keep at a consistent speed limit.

All this talk about being over the limit in the mornings is pointless if nobody is around to check. The road between Woodies and Penny Hill in Lucan is a busy enough road with people dodging the toll going southbound out of Lucan, I've passed a few checkpoints there at 1am and they seem to be quite successful, few cars pulled on each side and at least one towed. Don't see why they can't to the same in the morning of a bank holiday when people are going to be drinking.

Of course it's possible I missed them during these days but there's a complete lack of presence around.

I call St Stephens Day the Feast of Bad Driving/Parking.
    “Indicators? No need! It’s Christmas!” “My kids can jump in the front seat and no need for a seatbelt! Why? It’s Christmas!” “ I love Christmas, me! I can drive and check my Instagram feed at the same time! I won’t cause and accident because it’s the magic of Christmas!” “ the best thing about Christmas is that I can drive at whatever speed I like, 8kmph on an 80k stretch of road and I don’t even have to drive in a straight line”.

Unregistered Users

Breathalyser fitted in car would help....

[...]

...friend, relative or even some random bloke would sort that out easily if kindly asked by drunk driver. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,340 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

As the Australians have said, if you drink and drive you’re a bloody idiot.

In fairness, they can't preach. Drink driving is absolutely rampant over there.

Unregistered Users

• Registered Users Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭Mr Snow

• Registered Users Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭ofcork

Wonder are all the AMGs porsches etc home for Christmas in Rathkeale.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Mr Snow wrote: »
    With a bit of luck, they'll be put into every Garda car so they can automatically detect the infractions.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Killinator

the_syco wrote: »
    With a bit of luck, they'll be put into every Garda car so they can automatically detect the infractions.

The plan is that they will be individually issued to all Gardai on active duty, with them in time being capable of being mobile work platforms alleviating some of the need to park behind a desk for 75% of a shift

• Registered Users Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭SniperSight

ofcork wrote: »
    Wonder are all the AMGs porsches etc home for Christmas in Rathkeale.

Nope, tha have had to seriously reign it back due to increased pressure from CAB...sportiest thing going around this Christmas is a 2019 Golf R...then its all GTDs, some 19 5-Series BMWs and new Insignias.
    The days of the Rathkeale Supercar show is gone.

Unregistered Users

• Registered Users Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭Mr Snow