Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EA UFC 3

• Registered Users Posts: 29,484 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Well **** this game :pac:

Did my UT daily objectives which turned out to be a pain in the hole. Faced nothing but champions who spend takedowns (gsp tried 26 times). My gold grappler brunson couldn't burst a balloon and I just learned grapplers are only good at clinch and wrestling. You need a specialist for subs. So grappler would be my least used fighter. Got my daily tokens are mostly losses. Crafted gold tokens which took ****ing ages of crafting bronze and silver ones first as solo challenges keep giving me an error when I try to start one.

Finally get enough to create a gold caf, YES! Conor, LW, is my only good card so as it's not a LW or a grappler, I'll be grand.....

Created a gold LW grappler. Jesus Christ.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,461 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Lads any good guide online or someone able to explain the best way to get and use these tokens and sets and whatever else goes with them?

I did a few of the No Love ones when they were there and gathered up a few tokens but theres different options where to use them and wildcards and sets and im lost.

Yeah they need a serious tutorial to explain sets and tokens.

As I see it, challenges have standard and seasonal. No love was seasonal. You get tokens, bronze, silver, gold and seasonal. Then go into sets. Redeem lets you buy items with tokens like silver/gold moves, fighters, cafs. You'll have to go into each to see exactly what you need like a gold caf requires a few gold tokens and then a gold fighter, move, perk, etc.

Craft lets you make tokens like supplying a bronze fighter, move, perk, etc can transform to bronze tokens, same with gold and silver tokens.

Another option lets you upgrade tokens. Supply 5 bronze and get a silver token and then silver to gold.

Learned so that from grinding a gold caf last night.

UT Dev said on Twitter that 30 new seasonal challenges should be live this weekend, they had a bumpy start but hoping to have a smooth schedule shortly.

I'm done with grinding anyway, I read this morning one guy got 2 wbw grappler cafs in a row and another guy got 3 wbw Specialist cafs in a row. Of all the changes I want, I wish you could choose the division and style of the caf.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

The judges are septic.

14 significant strikes to 7, 22 strikes to 16, 1 takedown each (but I had a higher success rate), 1:14 in control to 0:19. Literally every stat in my favour and I lost the round unanimously.....

They have to fix the scoring. Also, the change of stance after level changes is a pain.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭akelly02

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    Yeah they need a serious tutorial to explain sets and tokens.

As I see it, challenges have standard and seasonal. No love was seasonal. You get tokens, bronze, silver, gold and seasonal. Then go into sets. Redeem lets you buy items with tokens like silver/gold moves, fighters, cafs. You'll have to go into each to see exactly what you need like a gold caf requires a few gold tokens and then a gold fighter, move, perk, etc.

Craft lets you make tokens like supplying a bronze fighter, move, perk, etc can transform to bronze tokens, same with gold and silver tokens.

Another option lets you upgrade tokens. Supply 5 bronze and get a silver token and then silver to gold.

Learned so that from grinding a gold caf last night.

UT Dev said on Twitter that 30 new seasonal challenges should be live this weekend, they had a bumpy start but hoping to have a smooth schedule shortly.

I'm done with grinding anyway, I read this morning one guy got 2 wbw grappler cafs in a row and another guy got 3 wbw Specialist cafs in a row. Of all the changes I want, I wish you could choose the division and style of the caf.

thank god i didnt start UT im getting a migraine just reading that

I played single player UT last night and it was my constantly Conor Vs Conor with the off DJ thrown in. Conor is my only good fighter so I have to go with him and don't blame other people using champions either but it's just so boring facing the same people over and over. I was building up points to buy packs, opened 3 premium packs and all had a silver fighter and either a gold clinch move or gold contract/perk. Finding it very hard to unlock moves that I'd actually use like a simple headkick.

It's not just a money grab either, just bad packs. I read a guy spent 70 euro real money on packs and didn't get one fighter. He was doing it for a live stream, must try dig it out to see the rage :)

Anyone up for a tourney on PS4, see how many names we get anyway and will sort something out?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,461 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Your post above explaining the tokens and your last one about Conor in UT pretty much sum up how they broke UT amd ruined it for me.

Its become a grind to get tokens to improve fighters and unlock champions. Having Champions in it at all means people just use those fighters all the time so every fight is vs Jones or Conor, its repetitive and boring. You also have the same limited set of moves applied to your fighters instead of a full range of moves that you added in UFC 2 to your fight based on their style and your own style.

They should have never added real fighters to UT and the move sets should have been left alone.

Anyone up for a tourney on PS4, see how many names we get anyway and will sort something out?

Stick me down but mount is still OP and broken so can see how most fights and the tournament will go already.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,885 ✭✭✭stephenl15

yep

New UT challenges are live but from what I've heard, they're not worth doing. Complete Timberland challenges gets you a few pecks but there doesn't seem to be any gold items in them i.e worthless. The UFC 200 challenges has you finishing 10 challenges to get..... 10 bronze tokens. You can turn them into 2 silver tokens. Yupp, worthless. Are they actually trying to kill ultimate team?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

GOAT with just 3% longevity left. Ended up 33-5. The last part gets easy once you go up a division and beat the top contenders, the lower lads have awful stats.

Also basically had to leave my PS4 on for the bones of 2-3 days straight to close out my career. Ended up with a few difficulty spikes (lads with all 99s), just left it on so I could restart some fights I lost. Came home after having a few drinks last night and restarted against someone (can't remember who) had 100 striking, got rode multiple times before I had to admit defeat and leave it until today.

Despite the various glitches, really enjoyed it the career.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,341 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Stick me down for that tournament Zero.

martyos121 wrote: »
    Stick me down for that tournament Zero.

That's 4 so far, will hopefully get a few more names. If nothing more by next week, we'll kick something off.

Marty, how you finding the ground game this year? Better or worse than last? I got stuck in mount a few times, couldn't escape as a punch would cancel any transition I tried. Wouldn't mind if that only happened when you were under 50% stamina or something.

Theres deffo a few of the lads from before that have it but might not be active here on the thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭akelly02

ill probavly play even though im dirt

That's 4 so far, will hopefully get a few more names. If nothing more by next week, we'll kick something off.

Marty, how you finding the ground game this year? Better or worse than last? I got stuck in mount a few times, couldn't escape as a punch would cancel any transition I tried. Wouldn't mind if that only happened when you were under 50% stamina or something.

Mount is fcuked, simple as that. If you don’t get the arm trap, you’ve lost unless big mistakes are made. It kind of balances out the side control cheats though, spamming fake transitions so they don’t eat a single strike. I suppose the mount is actually more realistic this way though, it’s a hugely dangerous position in real life and now it is too in the game where it wasn’t last year, but it still feels unbalanced.

I’ve gotten pretty tired of the game already because UT is stale for me now and the live events rewards are nothing compared to last year. Gameplay is better overall but not significantly so, and the ground game is much the same with plenty of exploits yet to be patched. Hopefully the tourney will reignite my interest for a while.

This is on sale on psn, 70 down to 45 euro.

Forgot to check my results from Stephens/Emmet. Got 4 perfect picks, would have gotten an event pack if I played the women's fights. Next event is live, only 4 fights and just 2 payable. I think Frankie wins by decision but can't be bothered trying to force a decision.

Of the 3 premium pecks (event and 2 weekly) I got 3 bronze fighters, 2 gold boosts and a gold sub that gives +3 bottom. Absolute shyte.

Patch coming soon. Dev posted first notes to stop people who constantly apply pressure.

I've made a change so that if someone is moving forward while holding high block and you throw a jab or straight at them in range, their movement speed will slow down while their block comes up to protect their face.

This only happens for a moment, but has enough impact that throwing one jab at an advancing opponent will move you from about elbow range out to about kicking range. Another jab will move you out to step kick range.

This was done in an attempt to give outside fighters more tools to create space against aggressive inside fighters.

Not sure i agree with or like that patch. If i am advancing and putting pressure on its because you arent giving me any reason to think twice about it and to be careful and step back. Or alternatively you arent moving back from my advances and using ranged attacks to keep me at distance. So now the devs want to make it easier for the defending fighter by pretty much doing the work for them and changing their attackes to more ranged ones for them..not very realistic and its something that players that know how to play and whats going on should naturally be doing themselves. Attack back, create space, disengage and then reengage...its classic Greg Jackson

I thought pressure fighters were handy enough to deal with. Any i fought online I destroyed but I like the counter striking, dashing in and out so pressure opponents suit me. I'd say a big patch is coming but doubt anything will be fine in UT. I started following the Dev in charge of UT and he's liking tweets from people saying 'bring back fight night'. I'd say he couldn't be arsed.

That might be someone trying to count to 10 after taking a few whacks off Hunto. :pac:

This I'd actually good, these hits were very annoying.

https://twitter.com/GeoffHarrower/status/969663871857319936?s=19

Its a combo - Left Hook, Left Hook Body, Left Uppercut, Right Hook Body, Left Hook.

So either new combos or a new fighter that uses these combos..id say the latter.

Probably Tyson since they are all punches..although he mentioned a kick in one of the other tweets too, but wouldnt be surprised if its just low kicks and Tyson has them if thats who it is. Or maybe Bas Rutten either since theres some kicks and body shots.

Axwell wrote: »
    Its a combo - Left Hook, Left Hook Body, Left Uppercut, Right Hook Body, Left Hook.

So either new combos or a new fighter that uses these combos..id say the latter.

Hopefully it's a new fighter alright, maybe someone who used that combo recently who isn't in the game

Maybe its the GOAT...
    Artem obviously

Axwell wrote: »
    Maybe its the GOAT...
    Artem obviously

I would ****ing love it.

Well I did ask Geoff, having a bit of banter back and forth with him on these tweets. Hes dead sound and good craic, fair play to him for tweeting people back and not being a knob like other devs I have interacted with.