Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Now Ye're Talking - to a Head of Department in an Institute of Technology

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Hi,

Thanks for answering the questions - it has been an interesting read so far.

I'm a software engineer - degree in Electronic Engineering and a Masters in Computer Science. My experience has been virtually all in a very niche area of software development (15 years in Safety Critical).
    This work has now ended and I'm struggling to recognised by the more mainstream companies as I don't have the correct buzzwords on the CV. - namely experience in C++, Java, Python etc and their associated side dishes.

What is the best way for me to get knowledge/experience in order to make myself more attractive to employers? I'm currently between jobs and I just can't see how I can get back onto the merry-go-round again.

Have you any advice on which path I should take in order to increase my skills - I've been looking at online courses and possibly an OU course (I'm base in Northern Ireland - so an IoT would not be suitable for me, I think) but I just don't know what way to jump.

I would really appreciate some advice as I'm struggling to get going here.

Thanks.

• Company Representative Posts: 41 Verified rep I'm a Head of Department in an IT, AMA

How old was your oldest student?

Actual age, I am not 100% certain, but I do recall possibly the most frightening experience ever.