Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread - **MOD NOTE POST #1**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭culbaire

cascade12 wrote: »
    Fair play, a bit of praise for Derek from you at last. He was the manager for the last two league finals which the money your talking about resulted from, was he not. All we now need now are the four mystery men that only you know and we will win the All Ireland.
    Still not as much as a Munster Senior Hurling title under Derek McGrath!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Deiseland

Deiseland wrote: »
    There is plenty of us Mcgrath supporters on here.looking at your posts I'd say everything is negative in your head. If we were to win an all Ireland you'd still find negativity in it.

Never said you named it read the post. Mr negative

There is plenty of us Mcgrath supporters on here.looking at your posts I'd say everything is negative in your head. If we were to win an all Ireland you'd still find negativity in it.
    When do you anticipate that eventuality happening ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭cascade12

culbaire wrote: »
    You cant remember me naming a team. I have never named a team here.
    More concocted stuff!! The issue is the financial implications for Waterford Co Board! Deal with it and stop trying to introduce red herrings.
    Have you anything to say about the financial windfalls of the last two years and Derek Mcgrath's contribution to it, seeing that it seems to be his fault we are not going to get one this year. Deiseland has you rattled and I doubt he is talking about a team that you named since all your energies are reserved for attacking our manager. Time for you to give it a break now and concentrate on supporting our County team.

Never said you named it read the post. Mr negative
    Read your own post: You dont even know what your posted: Here it is:
    Originally Posted by Deiseland View Post
    Cascade12 It's easy for him to hide behind a keyboard, if he values his opinions he should share THE FAMOUS FOUR for the rest of us to give our opinion. I can remember you naming a team December 2 years ago and that was nearly the team that started championship with a few debutants that most had never heard of.

QED

What does this mean? You posted this: "I can remember you naming a team December 2 years ago and that was nearly the team that started championship with a few debutants that most had never heard of"

A Fantasy! You alleged that I posted a team here. It was a concoction on your part.

Have you anything to say about the financial windfalls of the last two years and Derek Mcgrath's contribution to it, seeing that it seems to be his fault we are not going to get one this year. Deiseland has you rattled and I doubt he is talking about a team that you named since all your energies are reserved for attacking our manager. Time for you to give it a break now and concentrate on supporting our County team.

Well said cascade. There is some sh.t been posted here by him and as for the 4 players. I'd say there juveniles and 10 years away from a minor or senior team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭fowlerDgrowler

Face facts. You just dont like them. Exiting too early from the League will cost Waterford Co Board dearly. McGrath was not slow to rubbish the achievements of the U-21 team. We know he is very thin skinned as evidenced by some of his comments.

But your willing to stick by your original assessment that this is to the tune of €100k or are you willing to remove the hyperbole?

Read your own post: You dont even know what your posted: Here it is:
    Originally Posted by Deiseland View Post
    Cascade12 It's easy for him to hide behind a keyboard, if he values his opinions he should share THE FAMOUS FOUR for the rest of us to give our opinion. I can remember you naming a team December 2 years ago and that was nearly the team that started championship with a few debutants that most had never heard of.

QED

What does this mean? You posted this: "I can remember you naming a team December 2 years ago and that was nearly the team that started championship with a few debutants that most had never heard of"

A Fantasy! You alleged that I posted a team here. It was a concoction on your part.

Who did I address in the post opening line, now do us all a favour and crawl in under the rock you crawled out from underneath

I will continue to criticise Derek McGrath when I deem it necessary. My criticisms are mild in comparison with the criticism around the county. There was no huge windfall in 2015. McGrath rubbished the achievements of the u-21 team. Not bad at criticism himself!

Child I wont take dicatation from you!

I wouldn't class that as dictation. Just a thought on what I'd do if I were you

You wont shut me up! Period! Maybe you would prefer bury your head in the sand rather than face reality. Just a thought on what you should do!

When do you anticipate that eventuality happening ?

When you tell Derek and Dan the 4 names

The McGrath apologists keep throwing in this red herring. When are you going to discuss the financial implications of the early exit from the League? Diversionary tactics wont work. McGrath has a CLOSED MIND Period.

I think if you look back over the posts that you will find that it was you who threw in that particular red herring. The financial implications would be much the same as they would have been the last two years if the Mcgrath managed team had not progressed to two League finals. I dont remember you coming on here talking about the financial windfalls for the County board then, maybe because you might have to give Derek a bit of praise if you did. Anyway, getting back to the four players .....

Is this the red herring you are talking about. I refer you back to a post you made on the fifth of February.

I am not related to anybody dropped off the panel. Period!! I know McGrath is very sensitive about criticism. I stand by may posts. I campaigned against the ruck and maul bastardised hurling style favoured by Derek McGrath and by some others.It took the U21s to show how it should be done. Cheapshots about the Vauxhall Conference dont alter reality. I could name at least four players who are better than those chosen on the team. To name them is to reduce further their chances of ever being chosen under this regime. Not just my view either. Hurling experts from outside of the county have seen several of them play and are amazed that they cant make the Waterford panel.

Is this the red herring you are talking about. I refer you back to a post you made on the fifth of February.

I am not related to anybody dropped off the panel. Period!! I know McGrath is very sensitive about criticism. I stand by may posts. I campaigned against the ruck and maul bastardised hurling style favoured by Derek McGrath and by some others.It took the U21s to show how it should be done. Cheapshots about the Vauxhall Conference dont alter reality. I could name at least four players who are better than those chosen on the team. To name them is to reduce further their chances of ever being chosen under this regime. Not just my view either. Hurling experts from outside of the county have seen several of them play and are amazed that they cant make the Waterford panel.
    I stand by the substance of that post. No red herrings there. It is really getting to you. Thank you for keeping me awake as I do my nights work LOL!

Not getting to me at all. I am merely pointing out that you are the person that made the point about the four players that should be on the team. Nobody else is throwing in a red herring. You did not rate a League title as an achievement when we won it a couple of years ago and now you are making a big deal about not reaching a semi final because of financial implications. You harbour a serious resentment towards Derek Mcgrath and you need to get over it. It is unhealthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

I heard the u17s are playing this week. Anyone know when and if a team has been announced?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 bluelad1

I must say that was an excellently worded statement from Tom Devine...You'd swear it was written by someone with alot of time on their hands, always in the media and who is used to writing or correcting English.
    It's a shame this person didn't seem it important to write a statement for the other player who recently left the panel or the selector who quit. Maybe he was too busy on Newstalk or indeed planning the piss up to London 6 days before the club championship begins.

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    I heard the u17s are playing this week. Anyone know when and if a team has been announced?

Under 17 on Easter Monday in Ennis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

bluelad1 wrote: »
    I must say that was an excellently worded statement from Tom Devine...You'd swear it was written by someone with alot of time on their hands, always in the media and who is used to writing or correcting English.
    It's a shame this person didn't seem it important to write a statement for the other player who recently left the panel or the selector who quit. Maybe he was too busy on Newstalk or indeed planning the piss up to London 6 days before the club championship begins.

It's posts like yours that made them feel it was necessary to release a statement. It was a completely excessive act, but caused by the rush to criticize management no matter what.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

I read in the local papers that McGrath said the selector left due to personal reasons.
    The player that left was only there to make numbers for a match in training. He is no loss to the set up. Devine on the other hand is a massive loss.

I read in the local papers that McGrath said the selector left due to personal reasons.
    The player that left was only there to make numbers for a match in training. He is no loss to the set up. Devine on the other hand is a massive loss.
    Oh ya he really left for personal reasons alright!! Just eventually realised he had as much say in the team as the bus driver.
    Gavin O Brien is a decent hurler and fine young man...trained his club minors last year I think and is extremely well liked in BCS so please keep your snide personal comments to yourself

It's posts like yours that made them feel it was necessary to release a statement. It was a completely excessive act, but caused by the rush to criticize management no matter what.

No need whatsoever to release the statement. The dogs on the street knew Tom was going away with months. And certainly it's pathetic to write a statement which makes yourself look great while pretending Tom wrote it. Sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Deiseen

Isn't Devine studying medicine in UCC? I'm sure he is well able to write a statement like that himself.

Deiseen wrote: »
    Isn't Devine studying medicine in UCC? I'm sure he is well able to write a statement like that himself.

There's not a hope in hell that the semi retired one didn't write that statement..time we stayed out of the media now for christ sake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

There's far too much about Waterford in the media over the last number of weeks...time to shut up talking crap and concentrate on championship.

Agree with you there but coming on here and saying McGrath wrote that statement is unfair on Tom Devine.

Anyway any word on a new selector. Someone with a different philosophy to McGrath on how to play the game would be ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭mickotallow

or indeed planning the piss up to London 6 days before the club championship begins.[/quote]

How was this allowed to happen. Absolute disgrace. Clubs are without their players all year and the weekend before club championship a weekend to London is organised. Shows a total lack of respect to the club championship by players management and fundraising committee.
    No coincidence I suppose that it was organised at the start of the Easter holidays for all our teachers on the panel. This is why I'm afraid the CPA will struggle. No matter what the majority of players on inter county squads don't care enough about their clubs to to go against the inter county manager if it could cost them a place on the team.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

How was this allowed to happen. Absolute disgrace. Clubs are without their players all year and the weekend before club championship a weekend to London is organised. Shows a total lack of respect to the club championship by players management and fundraising committee. No coincidence I suppose that it was organised at the start of the Easter holidays for all our teachers on the panel. This is why I'm afraid the CPA will struggle. No matter what the majority of players on inter county squads don't care enough about their clubs to to go against the inter county manager if it could cost them a place on the team.

I think it was only a handful of the players that went over , it certainly wasn't the full panel . Players only going back to their clubs this week as they were training a couple of nights in Walsh park last week . People losing their minds over a fund raiser , goes on in every county and players take part .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Deiseen

Jesus Christ lads. Davy Fitz was less divisive than this when he was with us.

Not a huge fan of McGraths tactics at times but the sheer level of anger in the criticism here is beyond belief.

The man is putting his best into the county for nothing more than the love of the Jersey, you might not agree with everything (i don't) but a minimum level of respect and manners are required.