Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Near misses - mod warning 22/04 - see OP/post 822

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 946 ✭✭✭tommythecat

Fair play

4kwp South East facing PV System. 5.3kwh Weco battery. South Dublin City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭homer911

Not quite a near miss but very weird behavior..
    I was on the N11 inbound this morning, just passed UCD and heading for the Nutley lane junction. An 84X (regular double decker) passed me out at speed and proceeded to mount the raised section of the bicycle lane with two wheels. He pulled back into the proper bus lane just before the flexi-poles that were put in after the death at that junction - either the driver was drunk or he was trying to avoid all the potholes around the drains on that section of road.

It took me a moment to spot - I was trying to work out why the bus was leaning over...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,885 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Well it's been a while, but to follow up... I escalated this and managed to get in touch with a sergeant in the station. As much as I hate to say 'luckily'... Luckily he was a cyclist and ex-mountain bike patrol. Completely understood my frustration. Organised to have the footage dropped in. He kept me updated via email while they were attempting to identify who was driving and get an address.

Called yesterday and they're satisfied with identification and address. Offered court or caution. After spending a morning in traffic court last year and seeing how it all works, I opted for caution. I'm 15 years commuting in and out of the city and I was shook by the incident, I'm thinking more from the perspective of what if that was someone on a bike for 2 months, they'd probably never cycle again. All I wanted was this lad to be taken down a peg and told he can't be pulling that sh*t. So it's a caution, and unless he decides himself that he did no wrong, in which case the Sergeant said he'd happily prosecute and bring him to court.

The guy will probably just laugh at the caution, he has no respect for anything. Maybe he might wrap the car around a tree with no one else in it and just hurt himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,002 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Great result WUG.

At risk of going all Dunphyesqe, I'd say a good result, but not a great one. Any outcome that involves a Garda landing at the front door is a good start. Was there any discussion about issuing a fixed charge penalty notice for the phone use, including penalty points?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭Chiparus

The guy will probably just laugh at the caution, he has no respect for anything. Maybe he might wrap the car around a tree with no one else in it and just hurt himself.

For some a visit from the guards can be mortifying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Budawanny

Well it's been a while, but to follow up... I escalated this and managed to get in touch with a sergeant in the station. As much as I hate to say 'luckily'... Luckily he was a cyclist and ex-mountain bike patrol. Completely understood my frustration. Organised to have the footage dropped in. He kept me updated via email while they were attempting to identify who was driving and get an address.

Called yesterday and they're satisfied with identification and address. Offered court or caution. After spending a morning in traffic court last year and seeing how it all works, I opted for caution. I'm 15 years commuting in and out of the city and I was shook by the incident, I'm thinking more from the perspective of what if that was someone on a bike for 2 months, they'd probably never cycle again. All I wanted was this lad to be taken down a peg and told he can't be pulling that sh*t. So it's a caution, and unless he decides himself that he did no wrong, in which case the Sergeant said he'd happily prosecute and bring him to court.

Great result . Smart decision. That will encourage a few more of us to stick with the process I Think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭tnegun

I remember that being posted on here, not sure if it was by someone here or it was just the tweet of it that got posted.

Doesn't say what the charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

At risk of going all Dunphyesqe, I'd say a good result, but not a great one. Any outcome that involves a Garda landing at the front door is a good start. Was there any discussion about issuing a fixed charge penalty notice for the phone use, including penalty points?

A fair point, but having involved Gardaí from the same station in the past In a worse situation involving a collision and damage to bike, where they did absolutely nothing, along with multiple unanswered trafficwatch calls, I’ll have to call this one a win, however small, to save my sanity.

I had completely given up on the Gardaí and was quite ready to “pull a cramcycle” :P and take it upon myself next time. A glimmer of hope here is good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

I remember that being posted on here, not sure if it was by someone here or it was just the tweet of it that got posted.

Doesn't say what the charge.

https://twitter.com/righttobikeit/status/1138492580478488578

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

Jesus that was a rough one, it's a start but deserved worse than 250 fine & 3 points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,002 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

A fair point, but having involved Gardaí from the same station in the past In a worse situation involving a collision and damage to bike, where they did absolutely nothing, along with multiple unanswered trafficwatch calls, I’ll have to call this one a win, however small, to save my sanity.

I had completely given up on the Gardaí and was quite ready to “pull a cramcycle” :P and take it upon myself next time. A glimmer of hope here is good.

A glimmer is indeed good, and beats some of my past experience too, so well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,551 ✭✭✭VW 1

After weeks of incident free cycling, I suffered a punishment left hook this morning. Coming up to Phibsborough where it narrows from 2 lanes to 1 at the shopping centre, a taxi man was stopped in traffic blocking the yellow box and wedged up against the path .I pulled out, went around him and motioned that he was blocking things up.

I was going straight on, down towards constitution hill when at the junction our lovely taxi man pulls up beside me, no indicators and takes the corner, forcing me around with him.

He stopped immediately and wound down the passenger window to tell me he'd teach me a lesson for shouting at taxi men. I asked was that reason enough to potentially seriously injure someone (I hadn't shouted, or said anything, merely a hand motion) and he started laughing. I was raging, I asked did he feel safe in his big car and if he'd like to get out of it to discuss but he just called me a prick and drove off. Didn't even get his plate number. Some sh start to a Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Some right knack bags driving taxis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭micar

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    Some right knack bags driving taxis.

Totally.....sure didn't they have a campaign recently about respecting taxi drivers after one of their own was attacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Utter Consternation

VW 1 wrote: »
    After weeks of incident free cycling, I suffered a punishment left hook this morning. Coming up to Phibsborough where it narrows from 2 lanes to 1 at the shopping centre, a taxi man was stopped in traffic blocking the yellow box and wedged up against the path .I pulled out, went around him and motioned that he was blocking things up.

I was going straight on, down towards constitution hill when at the junction our lovely taxi man pulls up beside me, no indicators and takes the corner, forcing me around with him.

He stopped immediately and wound down the passenger window to tell me he'd teach me a lesson for shouting at taxi men. I asked was that reason enough to potentially seriously injure someone (I hadn't shouted, or said anything, merely a hand motion) and he started laughing. I was raging, I asked did he feel safe in his big car and if he'd like to get out of it to discuss but he just called me a prick and drove off. Didn't even get his plate number. Some sh start to a Friday.
    Get a camera. I think you can report them if they use bad language in front of a fare paying passenger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

Get a camera. I think you can report them if they use bad language in front of a fare paying passenger.

Sad indictment that bad language would be the hook here rather than the guy trying to ram someone off the road! :mad:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Having tried to report taxi drivers to the carriage office before, if your not actually the passenger, they seem to ignore you or make it difficult.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,747 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

what is described above is using the car as a weapon, it should be a matter for the gardai - if you had identifying info.

Tbh I've been reluctant to get a camera, I hate feeling the need to have one, but I'm seriously contemplating it after that incident. Lucky enough my bike handling skills are up to scratch and I escaped injury free (this time), I fear for people's safety with people who have that attitude driving for a living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭pmcc1

VW 1 wrote: »
    Tbh I've been reluctant to get a camera, I hate feeling the need to have one, but I'm seriously contemplating it after that incident. Lucky enough my bike handling skills are up to scratch and I escaped injury free (this time), I fear for people's safety with people who have that attitude driving for a living.

My blood is boiling for you.
    From what you described, our Taxi man cut you off outside the Doyle's Corner Pub? There's a CCTV cam looking right down on the corner and will have recorded the incident.
    The new owners there are sound, and would allow you to make a note of the licence plate /taxi number. Only the gaurds can request their footage, when you make a complaint, citing the driver's number.
    Chase him down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Johnny Jukebox

Cnut in a taxi nearly binned me going through the Scalp on the Enniskerry road this morning. Usual story, narrow road, oncoming car and the stupid cnut too impatient to hold back for 2 seconds.

I'm getting a cam this weekend, fed up with this ****e.

pmcc1 wrote: »
    My blood is boiling for you.
    From what you described, our Taxi man cut you off outside the Doyle's Corner Pub? There's a CCTV cam looking right down on the corner and will have recorded the incident.
    The new owners there are sound, and would allow you to make a note of the licence plate /taxi number. Only the gaurds can request their footage, when you make a complaint, citing the driver's number.
    Chase him down.

Yep, he turned left across me there, and I went round the corner to avoid him. I hadn't thought of CCTV, thanks. I'll follow up on it tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

CramCycle wrote: »
    Having tried to report taxi drivers to the carriage office before, if your not actually the passenger, they seem to ignore you or make it difficult.
    what is described above is using the car as a weapon, it should be a matter for the gardai - if you had identifying info.

The Carriage Office IS the Gardai in Santry.

Gotta go to Traffic Watch though.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Taxi driver who I had the altercation with the other week passed me Wednesday night. I was wearing different kit, he beeped me from the bus lane, and when I turned, he wasn't sure if it was me and swung across to the overtaking lane. I didn't respond, just kept going. He has fixed his wing mirror. It doesn't match the car properly, or at least I like to think it doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭Rechuchote

CramCycle wrote: »

It would be worth a Freedom of Information request to the Carriage Office on how many complaints of dangerous driving near cyclists they'd had, and what action they'd taken. Might soften their cough, and might be worth giving to journalists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Rechuchote wrote: »
    It would be worth a Freedom of Information request to the Carriage Office on how many complaints of dangerous driving near cyclists they'd had, and what action they'd taken. Might soften their cough, and might be worth giving to journalists.

The Gardai are under limited FOI, crime records are not part of it so thats a no go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭ofthelord

I was cycling through Barna a couple of hours ago, going about 35kmph - a car pulls up to join traffic from a side road a bit up the road and is looking in my direction (has to have seen me or else he is blind). I was sure he had seen me and continue on thinking surely he has seen me and wouldn't dream of pulling out in front of me. He waits until I'm about 10-15metres away and then of course he starts to pull out in front of me. My brakes have never been tested so well, it scared the crap out of me. I had to unclip to get my balance as I though I was going into the curb. I let a roar at him but he was totally oblivious, and he proceeds to drive at about 25kmph up the road before pulling off onto a side road a km or so up the road.

On a positive note, it was lovely out this morning and I got a lot of PRs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

ofthelord wrote: »
    I was cycling through Barna a couple of hours ago, going about 35kmph - a car pulls up to join traffic from a side road a bit up the road and is looking in my direction (has to have seen me or else he is blind). I was sure he had seen me and continue on thinking surely he has seen me and wouldn't dream of pulling out in front of me. He waits until I'm about 10-15metres away and then of course he starts to pull out in front of me. <snip>

That's a bitch when you are on the bike, but it's not uncommon when you are in other modes of transport. I don't know what goes through their heads, you are FAR AWAY, do nothing, CLOSER, do nothing, MUCH CLOSER, decide to pull out.

Why don't they pull out when you are far away? *shrugs*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭Rechuchote

ED E wrote: »
    The Gardai are under limited FOI, crime records are not part of it so thats a no go.

Are the Carriage Office the Gardaí?