If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

I've SWITCHed! - General discussion - WARNING IN POST 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,453 ✭✭✭fixXxer

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Labo remains in the boot of the car, honestly I couldn't make the time over the weekend to put it together!
    But I'm not sure how much use I will get from it, being 46 years old, and my son is near 15 and he is waiting for Dark Souls Remastered at the moment.
    So, I reckon I'll put them together, but if I'm having problems finding time and motivation to play the PSVR I am unsure that the Labo is going to get much time either.
    By the same token, I can see a large demo of people with young families having a ball with it.

Did you get the Robosuit one? That's the one I think I'd get for the young fella and middle child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,425 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Just saw an ad for that Labo yoke on the telly.

As a lifelong Nintendo fan, I hate to admit I see no appeal at all in it.

Understand it not being your thing completely, but it's from the same company that has grandads waving their white deelies (oo-er) in the air playing tennis or playing bongos to make a gorilla happy.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,403 ✭✭✭madmoe

Got a 128GB micro SD card at the weekend. Up to now my 64GB has been in the Switch and any digital games, screenshots, videos, saves (??) etc. are on it. How do I go about getting these onto the 128GB card? Is it just a matter of using Windows to copy all the content off the 64GB and then popping in the 128GB and copying it all across (in Windows) and then put the 128GB into the Switch? Would be great if so? Do I need to format the 128GB first in the Switch or anything?

Cheers,
    M

madmoe wrote: »
    Is it just a matter of using Windows to copy all the content off the 64GB and then popping in the 128GB and copying it all across (in Windows) and then put the 128GB into the Switch?
    Recently did exactly this, and it worked perfectly.
    Do I need to format the 128GB first in the Switch or anything?
    As long as it's FAT32, you're grand.

Nintendo's Guide in case you're a muggle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭magnumbud

naughtb4 wrote: »
    How are people finding football manager?

it runs pretty well. i have put a lot of time into it. its a streamlined version so there is stuff missing but nothing that really bothers me for example dealing with the press, team talks which on the pc i had my assistant do all the time anyway admittedly it would be nice to be able to light a fire under 1 or 2 players underperforming.

the only thing you should note is you can only pick 3 countries to be part of your database. you can still sign players from some of the bigger teams across europe but lower teams wont be there unless you pick that country but depending on the pc you would have been running this on before this is understandable as the larger the database the slower the running of the game.

have a look at the overall differences between touch and the main game and if there is nothing that turns you off i would say go buy as i'm really enjoying it. currently aiming at taking peterborough united from league 1 to the PL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭amadablam

Got a 128GB micro SD card at the weekend. Up to now my 64GB has been in the Switch and any digital games, screenshots, videos, saves (??) etc. are on it. How do I go about getting these onto the 128GB card? Is it just a matter of using Windows to copy all the content off the 64GB and then popping in the 128GB and copying it all across (in Windows) and then put the 128GB into the Switch? Would be great if so? Do I need to format the 128GB first in the Switch or anything?

Cheers,
    M

as far as I know, all screen shots and saves, etc are on the internal memory.
    Nintendo encrypt the card you have in to the device so you cant just copy over the games to the new one.

You need to format the new one in the switch and then redownload your purchases again.............unfortunately. I had to do it a while back myself .

amadablam wrote: »
    Nintendo encrypt the card you have in to the device so you cant just copy over the games to the new one.

You need to format the new one in the switch and then redownload your purchases again.............unfortunately. I had to do it a while back myself .

Righty ho! I better get re-downloading the games again then!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

We have to use our gold coins by the end of today right? or they expire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,675 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Why? Thought each coin had 12 months from when you earned them.

Righty ho! I better get re-downloading the games again then!!

You could try Willfinity's post first as well. Just ditn work for me regardless of the format type I selected when I copied them over.

Ended up redownloading. Best of luck anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

TitianGerm wrote: »
    Why? Thought each coin had 12 months from when you earned them.

sorry i mean the for the ones earned on launch day.

That's really odd... did you try just a direct copy first?

As far as I knew, the card isn't encrypted (so you can read/write on Windows), but the contents are. But the contents are keyed to each individual Switch, so copy/paste should be fine. Like I said, worked fine for me. :confused:

(Not trying to argue or anything, but I'm really curious why it worked for me, but not for you.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I can see why some people will think that; all I can say is "it's not made with you in mind".

To be honest, I doubt I'd even give Labo a second thought... however I know a 3½ year old who would (or will, once I take the vise-grips off my wallet) absolutely love it.

Even leaving that aside, I'm glad they made it. Labo shows that Nintendo are not afraid to think outside the (cardboard) box and just release something incredibly innovative. So while you've got Sony and MicroSoft playing the "my 4K dick is bigger than yours" game, Nintendo are just doing crazy sh1t like this. No matter your opinions on Labo, you gotta love the thinking behind it.

Oh, hey, I hope it's a massive success for them. Hope everyone loves it. Whatever makes it more likely that Nintendo keeps carrying on like Nintendo is fine by me.

Just saying this one ain't for me.

As far as I knew, the card isn't encrypted (so you can read/write on Windows), but the contents are. But the contents are keyed to each individual Switch, so copy/paste should be fine. Like I said, worked fine for me. :confused:

(Not trying to argue or anything, but I'm really curious why it worked for me, but not for you.)

I'll be trying it out tonight. Fingers crossed it's just a copy/paste as it would be a right pain to have to download all the games again!!

Cheers,
    M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,453 ✭✭✭fixXxer

Saves are on the internal memory and cant be copied, everything else can. I've done it myself when upgrading the memory card.

No hassle at all lad, yeah I tried it multiple times as well back in Dec-Jan. Did everything exactly correct and even gave it a few attempts with a third party formatting software just to eliminate Windows as an issue.

Im definitely not the only one who had problems either as there was a good few posts online.

It seems to work for some people and not others which is a bit odd.

Of course the best thing to do is try the copying first and nothing lost only data if you need to download again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

You can check here. It will show what is expiring for the next 6 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Doctor Nick

Lads really thick question. How do I charge joy cons? I have the two sides connected to the charging dock thing but don't see any USB port in the top of it. I'm probably just stupid but what am I missing? I checked Google and it says there is one but I can't see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

Lads really thick question. How do I charge joy cons? I have the two sides connected to the charging dock thing but don't see any USB port in the top of it. I'm probably just stupid but what am I missing? I checked Google and it says there is one but I can't see it.

The controller with the console doesn't charge them, you've to buy that.

Slide them onto the switch to charge them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Doctor Nick

The controller with the console doesn't charge them, you've to buy that.

Slide them onto the switch to charge them

Oh right. Knew it would be obvious! Thanks DS.

Recently did exactly this, and it worked perfectly.

As long as it's FAT32, you're grand.

Nintendo's Guide in case you're a muggle.

So I copied all the content from the 64GB to my PC and then over to the 128GB card. Put it in the Switch and had to re-download all my games (I'm all digital bar BOTW). I have checked Mario Odyssey and once the game was fully re-downloaded my save game etc. is intact.

Thanks,
    M

So I copied all the content from the 64GB to my PC and then over to the 128GB card. Put it in the Switch and had to re-download all my games (I'm all digital bar BOTW). I have checked Mario Odyssey and once the game was fully re-downloaded my save game etc. is intact.

Thanks,
    M

Most of my games are physical, but even then I didn't need to re-download the updates. Digital games worked straight off also.

Glad you got sorted though.

I'd love to know why it works for some, and not for others.

Most of my games are physical, but even then I didn't need to re-download the updates. Digital games worked straight off also.

I'd love to know why it works for some, and not for others.

So you didn't have to re-download any of your digital games!? There was about 30GB of data that I transferred from the 64GB to the 128GB so God only knows what that actually was if I then had to re-download all my games again??

Thanks,
    M

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,191 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Is nights of Azure 2 worth a look?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

Is nights of Azure 2 worth a look?

If it is as bad as the first one then no, it would bore you to tears.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,191 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Xenji wrote: »
    If it is as bad as the first one then no, it would bore you to tears.

Ohhhhh shots fired by Xenji :pac: :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

Ohhhhh shots fired by Xenji :pac: :p

Gust have been more miss than hit in recent years and this sequel seems to make no improvements to the issues that plagued the original.

I'd love to know why it works for some, and not for others

Me too. I was meticulous with each step of the process and checked everything and it still needed to download again.

Just one interesting point guys is that all my games bar Mario Odyssey were bought on the Irish eShop! Mario Odyssey was bought in the US eShop and it was the only one I didn't need to download again!??

Cheers,
    M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,728 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

This gave me a laugh this morning. :)

6865a8523f15100d8a8b66d75ee7bd169fe651aa507d2a1022d66b7245283c67.png