Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

J1 Chicago (merged)

• Registered Users Posts: 481 ✭✭cherrytaz

Hi, myself and three friends are heading out to Chicago on Friday on j1 and just wondering does anyone have any tips on accommodation/working etc?

Any information would be great,

Cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 14,432 ✭✭✭✭cson

Bring enough money with you is all I'll say. There are feck all jobs out here if any. Hate to be pessimistic but coming out here so late, having to get your SSN... not good.

We've been here since 25th May and only this week have we anything approaching employment sorted. You won't get in anywhere in the Downtown area without being 21 on your actual passport or you won't be able to buy drink there. Outside the Loop up North it's not too bad yet but I'm guessing they're eventually gonna cop it with the amount of J1-ers out here. (It's actually incredible how many Paddies are out here, we were in a bar the other night and we could have been at home such were the accents :p)

Accommodation; you'll be alrite but try do it on the cheap if you can. Plenty of places, just pick a stop on the CTA Red/Brown or even Blue line around 7/8ish or more stops from the loop and you'll find something reasonable around that area no problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 481 ✭✭cherrytaz

Cheers for the info.Only finished finals last monday so had no choice but to leave it this late.Im 21 on the passport so ok on that front and have a nice bit of cash to keep me going for a while. Thanks again

• Registered Users Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭DeadMoney

Hey, I was there last summer and it was the best summer of my life without a doubt. Great city with soooo much to do. Mt advice for accommodation would be to live somewhere on Clarke st. as this is a huge street that lines right through the city. Once you are close to some train line that will get you in to the loop downtown is good.

Don't get a place in Lincoln Park! Most Irish students who go over there will tell you that this is the best place to live. Believe me, it isn't. It is a real yuppy area and everything is pretty expensive + not very many young Americans living there. If you wanna go where the action is, try and get a place in Wicker park around Damen. Believe me this is the hip place to live in Chiacgo for young people and you will not see many GAA jersey's around here.

Anyway's its a huge city so I am sure there are many great areas but I found Wicker park to be by far the best place I'd seen. Make sure and check out all the weekend festivals like Chicago Blues Fest and the various taste festivals. These are all free entry and are not to be missed. Weekends in Chicago are unbelievable as this is a few different free festivals going on all through the summer. And make sure you go to Pitchfork Music Fest. It is only $65 for 3 days and it is hands down one of the best music festivals in America. Lollapalooza is a bit more pricey but well worth it also.

With regards to jobs, try and stay away from the downtown areas as these will be the most difficult places to get work. Instead try areas around your neighbourhood. Plenty of bars, shops and restaurants in all of the suburb areas so just do a bit of work handing out your CV. Also, try get up early to check craigslist as these jobs can get snapped up pretty quick sometimes.

Anyways, enjoy your summer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭fitz0

I'm going to Chicago at the end of May on a J1 and I'm looking for information on the city. I have a Lonely Planet book but I'm hoping to get first hand advice on where to go/not to go. Also if anyone knows wheres good for work that would be a great help. I'm looking through job websites at the minute but its tough going. Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭lil_lisa

I've never been myself but I find the eyewitness books to be pretty good. The best thing to do is to try and meet Americans living there and they will show you the best things. My J-1s would have been a flop if I didn't do that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭fitz0

Thats the plan. Up until yesterday I was going on my own to force myself to do that.

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭spudmonkey17

Hello good sir!
    You sound like an intelligent attractive young man! You should have no problem finding work and accomodation! And if all else fails you can always bail into Canada!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

Look at Craigslist Chicago for both accomodation and jobs.

Accomodation wise - Look around North to North West (Oak Park upwards). Wrigelyville is the place to stay with all of the bars and Wrigleyfield Cubs games. But it is expensive as is Downtown. Do not go South/South West Chicago. Do not live in the Suburbs unless you can drive and plan on renting a car. Make sure the EL Train or Metro Train operate near where you will be living.

Job wise - Use Craigslist. Look at the Navy Pier website. There are bike hiring places by the lake so look them up too. Email all the Irish restaurants. If you're over 21 email all the Irish bars in Wrigleyville/ Downtown Chicago. The restaurants and pubs don't have to be Irish but it's where I would start.

Good luck with your Summer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

On weekends, we have been been recommend hitting the beaches on Lake Michigan and joining the locals in playing sports there (volleyball, frisbee, tag football etc.) to network and build friends (or as Americans call them 'contacts')

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 rookie69

I was there a few years ago on a j1 and going back this year. In my opinion the best place to stay (if you look at google maps) is within the boundaries from W. Armitage Ave on the south, N. Southport Ave on the west and W. Montrose Ave on the north. There's so much within walking distance of this area that you'll rarely need taxis/buses. Anywhere outside here and you'll find yourself in more residential areas with less going on!

Anywhere in this area is perfect because it is close to all the bars that j1ers and american students go to. You're never far from a supermarket, 7/11, convenience store or restaurant. You're close to the lake as well with massive greens for a kick about or just relaxing.

Wrigley field and its surrounding blocks are the busiest areas around that area. There's loads of bars around the area that pack out on game days and there's always games on that you can go to if that interests you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 up_and_away

Myself and a couple of lads have got j1's and are heading to Chicago at the beginning of June. We don't have any accommodation or jobs sorted yet but i've heard about some fella called Dan O'Donnell in Chicago who apparently helps out Irish students. Has anyone ever heard of him or had any dealings with him?

Also, friends of mine who have been to Boston have said getting involved in the GAA in the states is a great way to get to know people. Has anyone ever played football in Chicago?

I'd appreciate any help anyone could give me.

• Registered Users Posts: 9 monaghan_ultra

Myself and a couple of lads have got j1's and are heading to Chicago at the beginning of June. We don't have any accommodation or jobs sorted yet but i've heard about some fella called Dan O'Donnell in Chicago who apparently helps out Irish students. Has anyone ever heard of him or had any dealings with him?

Also, friends of mine who have been to Boston have said getting involved in the GAA in the states is a great way to get to know people. Has anyone ever played football in Chicago?

I've spent a few summers in Chicago, it's a great city and i'm sure you'll love it. I've never actually met Dan O'Donnell but i know people who he has helped out with places to stay and jobs. He's been a great help to a lot of Irish students in Chicago over the years. He operates out of a hardware store which i think is at Armitage and Sheffield near the Armitage Brown Line stop. He would be well worth dropping into for some help and advice.

As regards football i've played a bit of ball over there and yes it is a fantastic way to meet people. I've had great craic playing football and socialising afterwards. There are a good few football and hurling clubs in Chicago catering for men and women. I would recommend the Pearse's club, they are a sound bunch of lads. You should give them a shout if you're interested in playing i'm sure they'd be delighted to hear from you. They have a facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Padraig-Pearse-GAA-Club-Chicago/326394434528?ref=search&sid=635489773.308634268..1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 lm89

Hey i was in chicago for the last two summers and dan o'donnell helped us out both times!! Make sure you go early to him as he get tones of student at the start of June and he sometimes has run out of jobs... There is loads of jobs in chicago... head for navy pier, your guaranteed to get a something there...

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭StinkySocs

OMG I'm so jealous! Your gonna have an amazing time.

Go to Navy Pier the first day you get there, go in personally, be soooooooo Irish it hurts. American Dogs always hire loads of ppl and they've hotdog stands around NP.

You can try the "beach-stro" on the lake, some lads I knew worked there. Tips are good there.

I worked in OH Yes Chicago, the pay is crap (think it was 6.50 an hour) but everyone was really nice.

You need your social security number too and that takes ages. Be careful cos some places will hire you but won't/ can't pay u until you get it - which could take all summer - happened to 2 girls I was with there.
    Oh and you'll prob have to open a bank a/c. They say there is a charge to close it but don't bother closing it.

You prob won't be able to get a job workin behind a bar, maybe waiting on tables, as they do some training course and get certs - not 100% sure about that thou.

The EL is the main transport - it's great, cheap and on time.

I've no idea about somewhere to stay. We had a two bedroom apt, with 14 ppl living in it. NEVER AGAIN!!

Make sure whatever you do don't spend the whole time drinking, do the sights - otherwise it's a waste of time.
    Oh, everyone I went with put on a sight of weight (I was compared to a barrel when I got home) so mind that!

Your gonna to have the best time of your life!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 up_and_away

Thanks very much everyone for your help and advice. I feel better prepared already. Bring on the summer! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 budweiser90

Well me and my friends have decided that we want to go on a J1 to Chicago. Has anyone else been on a J1 here? If so would appreciate any info you got bout the city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Chefdf

Went to Chicago last summer. Had a great summer. It's a great city. The place is manic all summer. Plenty to do.

Most people I knew found jobs out there. There didn't seem to be too much of a problem. Didn't hear of many who didn't find work. Navy Pier was where majority worked. Others in bars/restaurants/fast food joints as doormen/ waiters etc. The trick is to try and get out early. Then you should have no problem. Accommodation was tricky to find though. Alot of people wanted year leases etc. Usual problems. Try and find a house up in Wrigleyville, even if you pay a bit more for it. Believe me it's worth it. Again start looking early and you should have no problem.
    Stayed in the getaway hostel for the first few nights. Alot of irish stay there so good place to get to know people.
    Chicago has everything. We stayed up by Wrigleyville, ten min walk from Wrigley Field. Baseball games nearly everynight. The place was buzzing all summer. Full of bars with cheap deals everynight.
    Plenty of beaches around aswell which are always full. Street festivals every weekend somewhere. Weather is perfect. Start of August was hot, over 90, but that was about it. A few thunderstorms here and there but nothing to worry about.
    You'll have a great summer there. Enjoy!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

Navy Pier is by far the worst place in the city, avoid it like the plague. Jobs are really easy to get if you're not fussy. Try get one with tips and milk your Irishness. Get a bike. Get an apartment with decent AC. Don't stay at that hostel, couchsurf instead.

The centre of the city is pretty boring, it's just business blocks and the same stores you get over here, the interesting places are Wicker Park, Hyde Park, Bucktown, Pilsen... Getting around is cheap and easy, so get around, explore far west, north and even south. Pick up the RedEye and check the website MetroMix for stuff that's going on.

I'd advise against staying in Wrigelyfield, purely because everyone else tries to stay there, it's overpriced and why would you want to spend all your time with other Irish J1ers when there are so many awesome people living in the city.

Of course if all you want is to bring home stories of how drunk you got with your mates just go to that hostel and follow everyone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭The_Gatsby

So me and a few friends have booked our J1 to Chicago. Have our flights booked and everything.

The only thing I'm finding difficult is job hunting. The USIT jobs database is absolutely terrible, just various links to jobs databases. I could have googled jobs in Chicago myself. And all these links mean that I have to sign up to 101 different websites if I want to apply for jobs.

Also, would people recommend sorting a job before accommodation? There'll be 5 of us so I presume we'll get jobs in different areas of the city. Is Chicago easy to get around and is there a central location where it would be best to rent? How would you recommend getting accommodation? Craigslist? I'm sure it'll all be fine but there are so many things to think about!

Thanks for any replies

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Talts

Hey!! Just booked my J1 for Chicago and just wondering if there is anyone else headin out there this summer :D!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 23 brendunn92

Hey a couple of us are heading out we booked it this week around 4/5 of us.. how much of you guys are heading over?

Aw thats class!! Im goin by myself, all my friends are broke/ goin to Africa buildin houses/ takin out lones to travel and its my last year to go so I said i'd chance it :eek:!! If u hear of any accommodation let me know ha!!

Hey! Im planning on going to Chicago as well this summer :D!!... My friends went last year and they had no jobs or accommodation before going there and they said it was really handy to get them once they got there, the main thing is just to hand out loads and loads of cvs and if they tell u they will get back to u just keep handing cvs out just in case! It only took them all about a week to get sorted though!! You should see if anyone u kno has connections over there as well, ud b surprised like! My aunt is tryin to sort somethin out for me at the minute. Im just worried about the accommodation, Im headin over on my own so i dont really want to b lookin on craigslist on my own, be dodgy enough id say haha!

Talts wrote: »
    Hey! Im planning on going to Chicago as well this summer :D!!... My friends went last year and they had no jobs or accommodation before going there and they said it was really handy to get them once they got there, the main thing is just to hand out loads and loads of cvs and if they tell u they will get back to u just keep handing cvs out just in case! It only took them all about a week to get sorted though!! You should see if anyone u kno has connections over there as well, ud b surprised like! My aunt is tryin to sort somethin out for me at the minute. Im just worried about the accommodation, Im headin over on my own so i dont really want to b lookin on craigslist on my own, be dodgy enough id say haha!

Yeah I can't imagine it being too difficult especially because the USIT people said this year there weren't as many heading to Chicago! If I were you I'd try and find accommodation when you get there, might be a bit less dodgy. Also, this forum has been pretty helpful to me! Maybe have a look around and post a new thread or something!

Also, just on going by yourself, do you plan to meet people over there or just see how it goes? Is it not a bit daunting going over there by yourself?

• Registered Users Posts: 14 Katie28G

Hey guys,
    Just wondering would you mind telling me how much it cost all together. Me and my friend are heading to Chicago too but don't know who to book it with. Heard usit ripped people off. So not sure now!.. :/
    Thanks x

Katie28G wrote: »
    Hey guys,
    Just wondering would you mind telling me how much it cost all together. Me and my friend are heading to Chicago too but don't know who to book it with. Heard usit ripped people off. So not sure now!.. :/
    Thanks x

I was talking to one of the lads in my class and he went with go4less and it works out pretty much the same, about €1100. USIT are doing a free fee thing this week so it'll cost about €1100 where as with the fee it's an extra €279 added onto that

• Registered Users Posts: 14 Katie28G

Yeah was thinking their wouldn't be much difference!.. :) Thanks!.. x

• Registered Users Posts: 1 DaveRave91

Yeah me and 2 lads a good few randomers are heading out in May! Never been before and no contacts between any of us really but hopefully there'll be a few soft jobs down navy pier going!

• Registered Users Posts: 6 j12013

Hey im going out with about 8 girls and theres like 15-20 lads going too. heading out end of may