Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Stand With Eamon Dunphy

1414243444547»

• Registered Users Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Still Ill

They're releasing a special podcast with Stanage next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Westernview

New episode with Stanage is up now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

I got to say, do people like geopolitics discussed by Irish accents because I don’t see why the stand would be anyone’s pod of choice to follow the US election. The stand is fine but eamon repeating the same “what does it say about modern American that voters would consider electing a man like Trump” question nearly every time with stanage becomes tedious.

Same as bringing up Trumps comment to the proud boys to “stand back and stand by” every single show during his presidency.

there is far better coverage done of the republican convention and the last week of the US events done by pods like the The NY Times daily pod and the Rachman review….just no Irish accents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,490 ✭✭✭Tork

You could say the same thing about a lot of podcasts. In fairness to Stanage, he tries to stay neutral and he is a contributor worth listening to. There are so many podcasts out there, it's hard to know where to start. Also, we know the American media is so polarised these days, an Irish reporter is a safe option for your average listener.

I agree about Eamon's repetitiveness. We really don't need to hear that Proud Boys comment for the millionth time. He seems to have stopped repeating the Tory after dinner speakers comment back to Chris Johns, which may mean something was said.

Its the nature of podcasts alright to have a certain bias. They aren't tax payer funded after all so the host can do as they please. And no doubt that's one of the reasons Eamon does them so that he doesn't have to toe the line for any organisation. I respect that. It's not like he is outrageously biased either. Criticism of the Tories and Trump is justified in my view. I remember him hammering Labour after the last UK election so he's not completely one sided

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,490 ✭✭✭Tork

Eamon's views can wander a bit but he has been like that for as long as I can remember. He is what he is and if you think he's biased, other podcasts are available. I don't have any problem with the number of episodes he puts out either. If he was to produce more, he'd have to hire somebody to help him out. Next thing you know, there would be paywalls. We get a lot for free and I'm happy with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

Eamon is in his eightys no? He will understandably begin to repeat himself, become fixated on certain things. The quality of his contributors is what keeps me listening. I hope I'm as good as him if I get there despite him being a pain in the hole at times

Second captains have an interview with Eamon uploaded today. An interesting conversation with him on different topics.

We chat to Eamon about the latest wild happenings in the US Election, the rise of nationalism, the new Ireland manager and his old job of stopping Robin Friday from sparking up a spliff during their days together playing for Reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

I wonder have they quietly retired the soccer podcasts, no sign of covering the Euros or this season's PL

He might be losing interest a bit if he can't find a replacement for John. Liam would be the natural choice but not interested

Souness retired and may not have suited the format anyway. Didi may be too busy elsewhere. Don't think he'd bother with anyone else.

Post edited by Westernview on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,824 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

That's probably because of Eamon taking his usual extended break in France. He is still writing articles for The Star though so should be back soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,459 ✭✭✭JoeA3

From their Facebook page:

We've had a number of questions from listeners about our football coverage. Because John, Liam and Didi are not available to us on a regular basis we've decided to no longer do the weekly Premier League review. We will, however, from time to time cover big football stories. The lads have been brilliant over the years and are simply irreplaceable.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Doesn't sound great.. Hope John's doing alright.

Hope so. I saw a clip of him from newtalk recently and he looked fine but he may not be able to keep up with the weekly premiership games and all the players anymore. With city dominating and ireland not going well Eamon might not be bothered anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭robbe

Listened to the pod on Ticketmaster earlier and it was very frustrating….the former MD of Ticketmaster here in Ireland, an admitted friend of Dunphy, was on defending the recent dynamic pricing controversy. Didn't bother answering most direct questions and repeatedly cited other industries where it's commonplace (airlines etc) so why demonise the poor unfortunate entertainment sector. Eamon did try to get him at one point to answer the question he asked but the mantra was the same from yer man. Would've made a good politician in the sense of not answering the question together with some off the cuff figures quoted from the back of a beermat. I get his logic which was essentially why let the touts earn a load of money when the band/ticketmaster can scoop up some of it for themselves but it doesn't make it any less annoying………..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Agree with above. Annoyed me how he said it's a better system now than in the past, because people can log in at 9am with their credit card at the ready. Dynamic pricing means those willing to pay extortionate prices have a better chance. What he doesn't understand is that it stops people showing commitment in other ways. For a lot of people commitment or love of something doesn't always have to equate to how much you're willing to pay. It could be someone is instead willing to queue up overnight to get a ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Darrener

Absolute tyre kicker

(Probably agreed the questions in advance and had prepped answers)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

Absolutely but illuminating because of that I felt. I wonder is that Eamon's intention despite all the good friend carry on.

• Registered Users Posts: 41 choosetheend

Are you saying that Dunphy bares responsibility for Trump getting shot at? And then you start going on about Jews and worrying about getting classed as hate speech?

Just listened to the episode with Peter Oborne. I don't know much about him but he came across like a raving lunatic. I'd say he's the kind of liberal who celebrates every kid dying in Gaza because it's more ammunition he can throw at the right.

Even Dunphy was a bit taken aback I think.

did eamon imply that the Middle East is more of a beacon of moral and political guidance than the west. I think that was the most outrageous thing I heard during that conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭cheese sandwich

Oborne used to be a respected centre-right journalist but he went off the reservation years ago. He’s a crackpot conspiracy theorist now and it doesn’t reflect well on Dunphy that he thinks he’s worth getting him on his podcast

• Registered Users Posts: 145 ✭✭Lecter8319

I have to say Eamon has put out a serious amount of content, something like 18 podcasts in 30 days, fair play to him although its becoming a bit repetitive at times & he seems to have the same guests on continously, Stanage, Johns, Clonan, Sheehan, a bit more variety would be good. Miss the football podcasts, would look forward to them after the matches every weekend. Maybe he feels they're not worth doing anymore without Giles & Brady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭gigantic09

Enjoyed his chat last week with Mick Clifford discussing his new book about the disappearance of Una Lyndsey . Hadn't heard the story but it's another sad indictment of corrupt policing and it's horrifying affects on communities

Yah I enjoyed that, Clifford has been doing the rounds promoting it, the stand, crime world, the indo. Completely innocent man lost his life over it and a killer got away all because of corrupt & incompetent policing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Fair play to Eamon he's bashing them out good and steady now. Good guest too.

• Registered Users Posts: 238 ✭✭Blanchguy

Eamon seems to have some very strong opionions on the gambling bill…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭steve_r

Yeah was quite struck also by how strongly he came in on that. I hadn't seen or heard any coverage on the gambling bill elsewhere

Does anyone else get major chancer energy from Richard Fitzpatrick?

I haven't listened to the two latest episodes (football powers and Russia) but looking forward to those topics.

Not sure if it's worth covering British politics when there are no major events going on. Suddenly dawned on me during the latest Chris Johns episode - why am I listening to a run of the mill British politics podcast?

I always find him fairly well informed and modest in his delivery. That's better than a lot of other contributors IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭Leslie Purkiss

Chris Johns grates. Too big for his boots. Long over him.

Chris Johns - 'This could happen or the opposite could happen, we just don't know'

True.

Unfortunately the poor guy has a very disinterested style of speaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

I like the Fitzpatrick episodes and enjoyed the update about Ukraine and Russia. Would like him to get the guy he had on before to discuss China. A few interesting things happened with the economy recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Crazy Davey

play this podcast at 1.5 speed. Takes 20 years off Eamo.

Thank me later

if only there was someone out there eamon could ask about what does it tell us about America today that a man like Donald Trump could be a nominee for the office of president again be president of America.

Seemed fairly downcast today understandably. Must be fuming in private after all the talk over the last few years

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭Leslie Purkiss

Eamon gave the impression that Stanage predicted a Trump win. Stanage got more rooted to the fence the closer we got to election day.

Fuming in private? He was audibly disappointed and distressed at the results, but not surprised. I think plenty of people feel them same way.

To be fair to Eamon he was the only person on any platform I listen to who called the result from way out. He may be a liberal, but at least he's not a blind one.

According to you. Trump won the popular vote in the US and many in Europe and even Ireland are happy he won. He's had a one sided view over the last number of years reporting anything negative he could about Trump while failing to address a lot of the issues & concerns around Harris & Biden. So dont try and make out he was in anyway but very biased against Trump and now that hes won, is anything but seriously unhappy about it.

Of course he's biased against Trump! And of course he's unhappy! I don't think I implied otherwise. The idea that he's fuming in private is ridiculous when he was openly dispairing at the thought of Trump taking the presidency again.

Trump is a horrible person and makes for a lousy president. You don't have to be a fan of Harris or Biden to think that.