Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Stand With Eamon Dunphy

• Registered Users Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

Good interview with Nicola Talent and Kieran Cunningham about MTK/Daniel Kinehan today. This is the sort of thing that Dunphy should be doing. Far to many of his mimic the opinions of main stream radio stations.... i.e. Trump bad, Johnson bad, BREXIT bad etc etc. Dunphy was always the contrarian voice when he was on the panel for the sports. In this interview he tackles a subject that is a bit risqué, and to be honest, a bit dangerous for all involved!

Just wondering, I've heard Kieran Cunningham on OTB a lot, has he ever discussed MTK on that show? Them being the moral custodians of everything and all that.

thought it was very good from Dunphy and Cunningham. Nicola Talent didn't seem to have the slightest understanding about boxing at any level. Who is she anyway? Paul Williams Veronica Guerin hybrid? Never heard of her until this.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

thought it was very good from Dunphy and Cunningham. Nicola Talent didn't seem to have the slightest understanding about boxing at any level. Who is she anyway? Paul Williams Veronica Guerin hybrid? Never heard of her until this.

She's a prominent crime journalist for the last 10-20 years. Anyone interested in crime would have heard of her at some stage. She's also done numerous crime podcasts with Dunphy on the Stand.

looked her up, Sunday World, that and having not lived here between 2000 and 2011 explains it from my side of things. I've only recently started listening to The Stand.

I know it wasn't purely a sports piece but you'd have to agree, she hadn't a breeze about boxing. "I think they call it white collar boxing?"

• Registered Users Posts: 17,762 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Only the crime journalist of the year!! :p

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

Only the crime journalist of the year!! :p

Its very odd she does not have more of a handle on the goings on with the boxing in this country and europe to be honest considering how its so intrinsically linked with the major crime players.

Blanco100 wrote: »
    Its very odd she does not have more of a handle on the goings on with the boxing in this country and europe to be honest considering how its so intrinsically linked with the major crime players.

She knows about the boxing alright. Didn't her paper catch those pictures of Flatcap and the lad dressed as woman running away with guns after the Regency shooting? When there was no garda about? She's been following that cartel boss for a long time. Here in Dublin and over in Spain. She might not know much about the goons showing up for the white collar boxing over in Spain but she knows the connection between the cartel and boxing only too well. Like we all do. Doing something about it is a different matter. All we can hope for is those that have the power also have the courage to do what needs to be done.

Fair play to Kieran Cunningham discussing this. Interesting he said he has talked to a few prominent people in Irish boxing who were too scared to put it on record their true feelings on the matter. The silence is deafening amongst all the big boxing promoters and boxers themselves. Money talks and morals walk. Blood money soaking their hands. Boxing was always shady but now it's just filthy to the core. A disgusting scene.

Someone could make a really good documentary on MTK and blow it all open if they had the balls to do it, and i'm sure Sky may apply a little pressure to Eddie Hearn and the likes to not promote anyone affiliated with them/provide them airtime.

MTK "manage" or negotiate on behalf of a hell of alot of fighters at all levels, they basically line their pockets with money and allow them to train/fight full time when there is really no other option. If they pulled out, the boxing scene in europe would take a huge hit as im sure fighters would never find replacement income. This is in no way condoning it by the way, i'm just setting out the lay of the land so to speak.

Always thought this Kinahan cartel should be targeted more in Spain too (hes exiled in Dubai for the last years I believe), but they don't seem very interested in nailing them as they have created this false economy in places like Marbella with clubs/shops/entertainment venues that attracts all the wannabe celebs/Z listers for their pool parties and the likes. So its probably worth a nice bit of euro to the local economy.

The major players are probably pretty terrifying though, so damn all people willing to go on the record against them. You barely even see rival boxing promoters attempt shows in Dublin now for fear of being targeted. I don't know if anyone recalls the story of Jamie Moore, former fighter, pretty well respected and well spoken on his time on Sky also, now a trainer. I think he may have been a friend/trainer of Matthew Macklin and was shot 5 times (he survived) in a case of mistaken identity but I remember vividly at the time that the likes of Sky swiftly brushed it under the carpet as i'm sure they are aware of the dodginess going on over there.

She knows about the boxing alright. Didn't her paper catch those pictures of Flatcap and the lad dressed as woman running away with guns after the Regency shooting? When there was no garda about? She's been following that cartel boss for a long time. Here in Dublin and over in Spain. She might not know much about the goons showing up for the white collar boxing over in Spain but she knows the connection between the cartel and boxing only too well. Like we all do. Doing something about it is a different matter. All we can hope for is those that have the power also have the courage to do what needs to be done.

It had nothing to do with not knowing about the lads boxing, listen back. she hadn't a clue about the concept of what 'white collar boxing' is. She says " white boxing, or white collar boxing I think they call it?"

That is not someone that knows about boxing. That is someone who hasn't the faintest idea about the sport.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,331 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

It had nothing to do with not knowing about the lads boxing, listen back. she hadn't a clue about the concept of what 'white collar boxing' is. She says " white boxing, or white collar boxing I think they call it?"

That is not someone that knows about boxing. That is someone who hasn't the faintest idea about the sport.

Why does it matter that she doesn't have much knowledge about boxing :confused: It didn't take anything from the podcast. She specialises in Irish crime.

Because as Cunningham said, this fight is a huge sporting story with talk of a half billion purse and journos need to start writing about it in sporfs columns, then we went to her and I found it very surprising that somebody could be so clueless about a sport. It’s not exclusively a crime story. Her comment was as dumb as it comes so when I heard that I had little faith in whatever else she said.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,662 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Because as Cunningham said, this fight is a huge sporting story with talk of a half billion purse and journos need to start writing about it in sporfs columns, then we went to her and I found it very surprising that somebody could be so clueless about a sport. It’s not exclusively a crime story. Her comment was as dumb as it comes so when I heard that I had little faith in whatever else she said.

I think you're getting way too hung up on that one line. She knows more about the Kinahan/Hutch gangs than any of us so getting mixed over the name white collar boxing doesn't change that

Not only did she get mixed over the name, she clearly didn’t fully understand what it was. Not great coming from a supposed expert reporting on a crime/sports story.

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭blackwave

Not only did she get mixed over the name, she clearly didn’t fully understand what it was. Not great coming from a supposed expert reporting on a crime/sports story.

She fully admitted that she is no expert on boxing. She was there to provide more colour to the crime aspect of the Kinahans so I wouldn't be getting hung up on her been on the pod.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,303 ✭✭✭Tork

If you get hung up on the boxing event only, you'll miss the significant backstory to this. I'm a long-term listener to the podcast and always find her contributions very interesting and informative. Nobody should ever forget what sort of person Daniel Kinanan is, where he came from and why he's now in Dubai. The boxing part is window-dressing.

Tork wrote: »
    If you get hung up on the boxing event only, you'll miss the significant backstory to this. I'm a long-term listener to the podcast and always find her contributions very interesting and informative. Nobody should ever forget what sort of person Daniel Kinanan is, where he came from and why he's now in Dubai. The boxing part is window-dressing.

What do you mean by the boxing part is just ‘window dressing’? The boxing part is potentially the biggest fight of all time with half billion purse and Kinahan as a promoter? Nobody is losing sight of what a piece of shįte he is, but he is a central player in the biggest boxing event ever, it’s a huge sports story.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,303 ✭✭✭Tork

I think you've lost sight of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Just listened to it today.. She stumbled over one word ffs! Give her a break. Always enjoy her appearances on the podcast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭John Hutton

I wouldn't buy the Sunday World in a million years but Nicola is actually very good. My own town was on the news last year after a brutal murder and the detail etc. she went into was spot on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Mancomb Seepgood

dulpit wrote: »
    But Trump, Johnson and Brexit are all bad? He's clearly Eurosceptic but can see the negative impacts of Brexit. He's said more than once that he tries to be as even as he can with trump, but trump makes it bloody hard to do that. And what positive spin can he put on Johnson?

I'd have to agree with this.Being a contrarian for the sake of it on all topics gets old quickly and Dunphy has always been prone to that going back to his Sunday Independent columns.Both he and Niall Stanage (who has been consistently excellent) bent over backwards to be sober and fair-minded in their assessment of Trump,but when all is said and done...the man has had his chance and has shown himself to be a monster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

I have to go back on my earlier post. In fairness, Ger Gilroy and Off The Ball had an interview with Nicola Tallant covering essentially the same stuff as she discussed with Dunphy. Anybody who has the courage to tackle this subject has my respect.

It creates an interesting situation for Kugan Kassius and IFL as well. He's been sort of casually being moved in to the position of PR for Kinahan and MTK. I don't envy his predicament to be honest. He got in to it to be a youtube reporter on boxing, not to be a puppet for a criminal drugs empire.

I have to go back on my earlier post. In fairness, Ger Gilroy and Off The Ball had an interview with Nicola Tallant covering essentially the same stuff as she discussed with Dunphy. Anybody who has the courage to tackle this subject has my respect.

It creates an interesting situation for Kugan Kassius and IFL as well. He's been sort of casually being moved in to the position of PR for Kinahan and MTK. I don't envy his predicament to be honest. He got in to it to be a youtube reporter on boxing, not to be a puppet for a criminal drugs empire.

Kugan is a bit of a flute in fairness, id say hes well paid. Just like BJS and Paddy Barnes and the like. "Daniel has been a friend throughout my career" i.e. he has paid me bags of money above market rate

Blanco100 wrote: »
    Kugan is a bit of a flute in fairness, id say hes well paid. Just like BJS and Paddy Barnes and the like. "Daniel has been a friend throughout my career" i.e. he has paid me bags of money above market rate

Paddy Barnes said ' he hasn't been convicted of any crime' few years back in a feeble defence of his paymaster. Kenny Egan said Barnes was naive and reprimanded him for it. This is what your dealing with with these morons who turn a blind eye to a blood soaked regime. Same with Katie Taylor who was over at that gym also. You think angel Katie doesn't know the story? Her devout faith didn't prevent her from attending that organisations base to train in Marbella. Matthew Macklin was there but the dogs on the street knew who and what was behind it.

Anyone who jumps into bed with this organisation is guilty by association. I wouldn't accept one dirty penny off a pyschopathic killing machine like this. I'd like to think no decent person would. I'd run a mile from it. Or a marathon. Either you have morals or you don't. Everyone has a choice. There's no grey area. That means no photoshoot. No interview. No mention of the name. Stay away. Simple.

Anyone who works for these people and accepts their blood money is morally bankrupt and plays a vital part in trying to legitimise an evil empire: No matter how small the dealings.

I used to enjoy boxing. There has always been an undercurrent of shadiness but nothing like what this mob has done to the image of the sport. I don't watch or listen to anything got to do with anymore. It's a shame so many turn a blind eye or don't seem to care. The whole scene is rotten to the core.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭John Hutton

Paddy Barnes said ' he hasn't been convicted of any crime' few years back in a feeble defence of his paymaster. Kenny Egan said Barnes was naive and reprimanded him for it. This is what your dealing with with these morons who turn a blind eye to a blood soaked regime. Same with Katie Taylor who was over at that gym also. You think angel Katie doesn't know the story? Her devout faith didn't prevent her from attending that organisations base to train in Marbella. Matthew Macklin was there but the dogs on the street knew who and what was behind it.

Anyone who jumps into bed with this organisation is guilty by association. I wouldn't accept one dirty penny off a pyschopathic killing machine like this. I'd like to think no decent person would. I'd run a mile from it. Or a marathon. Either you have morals or you don't. Everyone has a choice. There's no grey area. That means no photoshoot. No interview. No mention of the name. Stay away. Simple.

Anyone who works for these people and accepts their blood money is morally bankrupt and plays a vital part in trying to legitimise an evil empire: No matter how small the dealings.

I used to enjoy boxing. There has always been an undercurrent of shadiness but nothing like what this mob has done to the image of the sport. I don't watch or listen to anything got to do with anymore. It's a shame so many turn a blind eye or don't seem to care. The whole scene is rotten to the core.

Has Katie done anything more with them? Really like her so want to give the benefit of the doubt if she only went to a gym once

Katie is with Eddie Hearn as her promoter and Brian Peters as manager. And trains in US.

Dont think theres any MTK affiliation unless I am missing something. Her dad trains some MTK fighters though I believe.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,521 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I think there is less room to plead ignorance for boxers than there is for other sports but would you equally blame footballers who play for a club which is owned by a group or individual who is less than exemplary?

I think most Boxers have had a raw deal since day dot in that they are largely taken advantage of and are at the behest of their promoter or manager or else they simply do not work. And they are the ones who get the heads beaten off of them.

Whatever about having to accept some funding from MTK as some have done, going so far as to try to whitewash their background through asking journalists to write particular stories is much less forgivable.

I have to say though, it did throw me when I heard Kugan's voice on Off The Ball. I listen to both shows pretty regularly so to hear them on the same station was crazy. A bit like when Fonzie from Happy Days showed up in that episode of Mork And Mindy.

The three recent shows with Giles, Brady and Dunphy talking about a) their first caps b) Jack Charlton and c) their journey to becoming a pro footballer are among some of the most interesting that they have done together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Mancomb Seepgood

The three recent shows with Giles, Brady and Dunphy talking about a) their first caps b) Jack Charlton and c) their journey to becoming a pro footballer are among some of the most interesting that they have done together.

I'm not a huge fan of football or sports in general but I agree they were enjoyable listening,even if I'd heard much if it before.

Anyone have insight on the attempted hit on Pete Taylor? Katie training in the gym in Puerto Banus etc

Stick you VPN on with replies if that concerend.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,331 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Anyone have insight on the attempted hit on Pete Taylor? Katie training in the gym in Puerto Banus etc

Stick you VPN on with replies if that concerend.

Maybe ask Nicola Tallant :D