If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Jimbo Slice memorial thread, feat Nate Dogg - The new Off Topic thread

1125126127128129131»

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

The quality control on posting here meant it was a great place to learn. Unfortunately it also killed traffic.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,831 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Not sure I'd agree that was the change but fair enough.

Sorry, I didn’t mean to imply it was. It was already dying before the platform change. Facebook and Reddit were drawing people away and then the site went down for a week.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,942 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

It all started to go downhill once Hanley (pbuh) wasbanned

it started before that IMO. We lost a lot of the good professionals to Instagram and Facebook.

And in case anyone is wondering, he wasn’t banned by the mods it was the admins.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

the Weightlifting is on!!

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

I’m attempting to revive this thread

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,970 ✭✭✭JJayoo

The tightest booty shorts you can get.......it's the only way

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

Lads - is there a surprisingly popularity for the Romanian deadlift in your gyms?

10-15 years ago when I was serious about lifting I wouldn’t see anyone else do them. Now I’m at the gym, there are loads of people doing them. It’s more popular than squats or normal deadlifts.

Is it the rise in popularity of the larger booty? I’m all for it.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,741 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

did somebody say booty? As in BOOTY?

BOOOOO-tay

Yes.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,941 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

is there a camera pointed at their hole by any chance?

Nope, it's feckin loads of people. Normal looking blokes, women in those yoga pants, fellas in football gear, strong lads, weak lads, women in non suggestive workout clothes etc..

It used to be that curls were the single most popular exercise in my gym. Now it's RDLs.

Followed by lat pull downs. There are 3 lat pull down machines and they are 99% occupied.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭caviardreams

RDLs were always popular with women imo. A lot more common than normal DLs

Hip thrusts have died down a bit though I'd say so maybe a few have switched to RDLs!

Lat pull downs very popular too - maybe it's the different attachments? Like some people do 2-3 variations whereas on another machine you are probably only doing 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭Cill94

Influencers.

There's a lot of parallels that can be drawn between the fitness and fashion industries. One of them is the need to always have a new trend. Sexy influencers start promoting a certain exercise and people assume 'if I do this, I'll look like them'. Makes selling their shite programmes a lot easier if the public thinks there's a secret sauce.

Now, the RDL is a great exercise - so it's one of the better trends to come around. But I've seen plenty of others come and go in spikes of popularity. Hip thrusts, front foot elevated split squats, hanging knee raises etc.

The latest one I'm seeing young lads do in the gym is daft cable machine set-ups. Tricep pushdowns with a cuff attachment and a bench etc. They are almost always using weight that's far too heavy for them and a crap ROM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,741 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Who are these sexy influencers, for research purposes.

My wife gave out to me for staring at the nice booty ladies. It was inevitable

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,942 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I'd say I see less RDLs than before but they've never gone away.

I've seen arguments for hip thrusts being a better companion to squats than RDLs, but I've seen less hip thrusts over the years.

I could never get in a groove with hip thrusts.

The nice booty ladies do RDLs 3x a week. Fair play to them.

The other big difference I see is that the benches are free a lot, but the 4 lat pull downs are almost constantly occupied

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 3,484 Mod ✭✭✭✭Black Sheep

For women, yeah, I think the prevalence of RDLs and hip thrusts is mostly aesthetic.

A lot of guys are doing more glute and ham training in general, and I think it's a combination of people wanting the balance, so they're training quads, glutes and hams, and also a view that the glute / ham development is important for performance reasons.

I see some growing awareness of the idea that glute / ham development is important for healthy aging too, the idea that it's a factor in being able to sit back, and rise comfortably, into old age.

My complaint, if I can add one, is that I see a lot of people who are just hammering the glutes… They'll be deadlifting one day… Then they'll have RDLs as an assistance movement to squats on another day… Maybe even on their squats they'll be sitting back and it'll be a bit of glute and low back… Then if they are lunging they're leaning forward and it's becoming glute-dominant… Basically not common to see people actually effectively training their quads by keeping an upright torso on many free weights movements, or doing things like stiff legged deadlifts for their hamstrings. Exceptions would be where people can't get it wrong, on leg extensions and leg curls.

Years ago we used to joke that Starting Strength was responsible for a generation of lifters with big asses, no hamstrings and no calves, which is a terrible look… But who knows.

"Years ago we used to joke that Starting Strength was responsible for a generation of lifters with big asses, no hamstrings and no calves, which is a terrible look… But who knows."

I was one of these, but my gym got a glute/ham raise machine. The combo of doing weighted glute ham raises and Starting Strength was great. I added in calf raises for vanity as well.

I found that in general Starting Strength was brilliant if I added in my own vanity exercises; curls, tricep push downs and calf raises. It didn't impact my recovery and I saw some great overall growth from it.

I kept the same rationale when I outgrew SS and did Westside. Powerlifting Program + vanity lifts = gun show.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 3,484 Mod ✭✭✭✭Black Sheep

For sure, adding in accessories to SS is no issue.