Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,155 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Floyd via DQ
    irishman86 wrote: »
    Really because Mayweather was **** at speaking. Like he just repeated the same thing

I wouldn't class myself as a man with really any dog in this fight: I find both of them to be unlikable. But I tuned in for sheer car crash curiosity and there was no competition between the two fighters in the trash talking stakes: Mayweather crushed him. More presence, more at ease in the surroundings, he might have laboured the point a bit here and there, but, jaysus, he delivered a few verbal blows that McGregor had nothing to say to and just largely sat there chewing gum like a maniac, if you could consider that a response. "Mr. Tapout". Ow, ow, ow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Floyd via DQ
    All McGregor did was lay the foundation for his excuses post fight. "Limited rule set" etc, in his press pack after he started going on about "in a real fight" and strangling Floyd.

It's a boxing match, you signed up to do a boxing match, you knew the rules. This is as stupid as a dual sport GAA player saying "in a hurling match we'd batter them" when talking about a game of football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Floyd via DQ
    irishman86 wrote: »
    This word cant be used when Mayweather is on stage.
    He is as low class as you can get

Floyd is low class, but McGregor is on the sole of Mayweather shoe when it comes to class.

If he wasn't an MMA fighter, he'd likely be in the Joy or stalking up and down the boardwalk shouting at tourists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Floyd via DQ
    Floyd is low class, but McGregor is on the sole of Mayweather shoe when it comes to class.

If he wasn't an MMA fighter, he'd likely be in the Joy or stalking up and down the boardwalk shouting at tourists.

Also, I can't really think of anyone else, who could walk into a shop... buy the most expensive suit they have, and still manage to make it look cheap and trashy each and every time!! :D

That's a remarkable achievement when you think about it... :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭GerryDerpy

Conor via DQ
    First press conference I have ever seen from Floyd. Yup he is half retarded.

The format was terrible. Awful awful.

Floyd via DQ
    Also, I can't really think of anyone else, who could walk into a shop... buy the most expensive suit they have, and still manage to make it look cheap and trashy each and every time!! :D

That's a remarkable achievement when you think about it... :P

His fans pull off that look quite easily too lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Sweet Science

Conor on points
    I do feel a bit for Conor he is out of his comfort zone a bit.

However when i see the money he is making anyone would like to be there

He always had money and mocking someones ability leading upto a fight, he has neither for this one. Thats why i thought the 4 press conferences were a waste of time.

They literally have nothing to say at the next few.

Floyd via DQ
    I do feel a bit for Conor he is out of his comfort zone a bit.

However when i see the money he is making anyone would like to be there

He always had money and mocking someones ability leading upto a fight, he has neither for this one. Thats why i thought the 4 press conferences were a waste of time.

They literally have nothing to say at the next few.

Was funny seeing Floyd mock him over his $3m purse for the last fight. In UFC that's big money and Mr Tapper uses figures like that to mock other fighters. He literally had no comeback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,458 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO
    I didn't see the presser but did catch some glimpses of Conor's verbals with Senior. Conor tries to hide it but he can't. The townie comes out in him when he gets going. Absolute cringe.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Anyway, the two posers are having a laugh behind the scenes with this con....

Fair play to them for pulling it off.

BTW, to any of you who actually believe that Conor believes he can beat Floyd, do you also believe that Conor believes he can beat any boxer at 154?

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Depp wrote: »
    out of all the cringe on offer, a lad chewing gum is what stood out? christ man :D:D

No, it was just one observation from the start....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭MojoRisinnnn

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Is that the standard format of boxing press conferences? Truly shocking stuff. Floyd's speech was as bad as it gets, a complete d*ck stroking rally and the return he was looking for from the crowd was flat at best. He got destroyed by Conor.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Is that the standard format of boxing press conferences? Truly shocking stuff. Floyd's speech was as bad as it gets, a complete d*ck stroking rally and the return he was looking for from the crowd was flat at best. He got destroyed by Conor.

How anyone can call any of them as being a "winner" from that is beyond me.

Both of them effing and blinding and talking pure waffle. Unable to articulate themselves without resorting to ghetto smack talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,634 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Floyd via DQ
    A few McGregor fans really reaching here.Press conference was muck but anyone who thinks McGregor "destroyed Mayweather needs to rewatch it asap.

Conor via DQ
    yabadabado wrote: »
    A few McGregor fans really reaching here.Press conference was muck but anyone who thinks McGregor "destroyed Mayweather needs to rewatch it asap.

Neither destroyed the other in my opinion. An awfully organised event.

Conor on points
    yabadabado wrote: »

I felt a bit bad for Conor . So out of his comfort zone . He was like me at a wedding on her side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,634 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Floyd via DQ
    GerryDerpy wrote: »
    Neither destroyed the other in my opinion. An awfully organised event.

Yeah was brutal and I can't see the other 3 being any better.two lads talk a bit of **** and be done with get their money and **** off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Words hard for Floyd.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    What else can they add today and tomorrow and the next day?

Likely the same smack talk and scripted bull....

Should have at least spread it out a bit so that the clowns baying for it may have forgotten some of the talk from the previous pressers.

Conor on points
    Someone needs to flip a table or something

This thing is losing heat quickly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Maravilla33

Floyd via DQ
    Jasus that was hard work. Both as bad as each other.
    McGregor seemed lost and out of his depth. Mayweather a lot more laid back but sleep inducing and a bell end. Half hoped the press conferences would at least be entertaining but that was terrible.

Floyd via DQ
    Jasus that was hard work. Both as bad as each other.
    McGregor seemed lost and out of his depth. Mayweather a lot more laid back but sleep inducing and a bell end. Half hoped the press conferences would at least be entertaining but that was terrible.

Mayweather isn't a great talker. And there is literally nothing McGregor can say to Floyd. Floyd is everything McGregor wishes he was. Copying his persona in the UFC is one thing, he can't do that when up against the guy who brought that persona to life in boxing.

Another thing McGregor lacks is originality, so he was never gonna be able to keep up with Floyd in the pressers. His stupid walk in the octagon, carbon copy of Liam Gallaghers 90's-00's swagger walk. His money thrash talk, carbon copy of Floyd. He has the occasional one liner that hits the mark "Who the fook is that guy?", but other than that he is just copying those that came ahead of him, now he's facing one of the guys he copies and he can do nothing without looking like an idiot.

Conor via DQ
    It would be a lot better if there was a Q&A from the press.

Plus how can people say McGregor was out of his depth - they had to turn his microphone off FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭MojoRisinnnn

Floyd via KO-TKO

Plus how can people say McGregor was out of his depth - they had to turn his microphone off FFS.

Exactly. Floyd shouting for 10 seconds then doing a lap of the stage was nonsense, he's not a good speaker at all. Watch Conor addressing the Media afterwards and the exchange with Floyd SR, far more entertaining when he can just be himself and work off the cuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,764 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Would he be in Mountjoy for beating women?

I'm not a fan of McGregor, per se, but I don't know what he has done to earn him a place on the sole of the show of a woman beater outside of speculation of his circumstances if he wasn't an MMA fighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Maravilla33

Floyd via DQ

Being out of your depth doesn't just mean freezing or being like a rabbit in the headlights up there. You can go the complete opposite and just ramble and spout verbal diarrhea like McGregor did. Was pretty clear he was out of his comfort zone up there. Mayweather an utter bore too.

• Site Banned Posts: 14 FreshBedsheets

Being out of your depth doesn't just mean freezing or being like a rabbit in the headlights up there. You can go the complete opposite and just ramble and spout verbal diarrhea like McGregor did. Was pretty clear he was out of his comfort zone up there. Mayweather an utter bore too.

He was brilliant at the media press conference afterwards.

I would like to see anyone wing a speech better than his when unprepared for it.

All Floyd's spiel and music, you'd swear it was still 1999.

Floyd Sr vs McGregor afterwards was 10x more interesting.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    He was brilliant at the media press conference afterwards.

I would like to see anyone wing a speech better than his when unprepared for it.

The one vs. Floyd Senior?

The one where he is talking about shins hitting foreheads and elbows hitting heads?

The one where he is swearing every second sentence?

walshb wrote: »
    The one vs. Floyd Senior?

The one where he is talking about shins hitting foreheads and elbows hitting heads?

The one where he is swearing every second sentence?

Men are about to get into a ring and batter each other for 12 rounds and you are worried about swearing? :confused: