Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Maravilla33

Floyd via DQ
    I can only gathering from reading through the nonsense comments, That most of you idiots have never actually watched Floyd Mayweather in action.

The greatest boxers on our generation, De La Hoya, Marquez, Cotto, Canelo, Pacquiao, Could not hit this man with a single shot that even momentarily caused him to lose balance.
    Men who have dedicated their lives to perfecting their boxing skills, day after day, blood sweat and tears to become the best. The fastest hands, the hardest hitting, the most skilled. In 12 rounds of boxing could not land a punch on Floyd Mayweather

And you idiots think a man who has never fought a professional fight at any level can?

Conor McGregor will not land a single punch on Floyd. Floyd will see anything thrown at him a mile away. Conor's missed shots will leave him wide open to one of the greatest counter punchers ever. Floyd will hit back with a vicious left hook to the chin, followed by straight right to the face. Conor will be stunned and Floyd will unload with a barrage of accurate shot that will either cause Conor to go down or the referee to stop the punishment by calling for the TKO.

Maybe we see a 2nd round but It won't take Floyd more than 6 minutes to finish him off.

Pretty sure most of the 'idiots' on here aren't giving McGregor a chance...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Conor via DQ
    I can only gathering from reading through the nonsense comments, That most of you idiots have never actually watched Floyd Mayweather in action.

The greatest boxers on our generation, De La Hoya, Marquez, Cotto, Canelo, Pacquiao, Could not hit this man with a single shot that even momentarily caused him to lose balance.
    Men who have dedicated their lives to perfecting their boxing skills, day after day, blood sweat and tears to become the best. The fastest hands, the hardest hitting, the most skilled. In 12 rounds of boxing could not land a punch on Floyd Mayweather

And you idiots think a man who has never fought a professional fight at any level can?

Conor McGregor will not land a single punch on Floyd. Floyd will see anything thrown at him a mile away. Conor's missed shots will leave him wide open to one of the greatest counter punchers ever. Floyd will hit back with a vicious left hook to the chin, followed by straight right to the face. Conor will be stunned and Floyd will unload with a barrage of accurate shot that will either cause Conor to go down or the referee to stop the punishment by calling for the TKO.

Maybe we see a 2nd round but It won't take Floyd more than 6 minutes to finish him off.

Just a tip, someone can have a different opinion to you without being an idiot. This ''you disagree with me, you must be stupid'' craic needs to stop all anyones doing is making themselves look like arseholes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭mikeybrennan

Pretty sure most of the 'idiots' on here aren't giving McGregor a chance...
    true

I've barely watched any mayweather
    fights

i watched mayweather v canelo on YouTube and seen enough to decide McGregor hasn't a hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Floyd via DQ
    Press conference right on schedule so far

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Floyd via KO-TKO
    I don't think anyone else in the boxing world would take this fight

Words that came out of Schaubs mouth....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Press conference right on schedule so far

Can I see a schedule somewhere?

Conor via DQ
    Can I see a schedule somewhere?

havent seen it anywhere but theres an alloe black concert first by the looks of things, might aswel stick the kettle on, we'll be here for a while id say :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Wtf is this? Where are the ring girls?

Floyd via DQ
    Dana says 30 minutes more for the main show, so thinking like 5

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭XsApollo

Voluuummmmeee

I can't hear sh*t on the UFC stream, is it like that on others??

Floyd via DQ
    McGregor is out

Floyd via DQ
    He has some size of a head, gotta give him that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

XsApollo wrote: »
    Voluuummmmeee

I can't hear sh*t on the UFC stream, is it like that on others??

Same on Showtime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Floyd via DQ
    It was gung-ho. He didn't fight Castillo or Paulie to anywhere near that extent and I think it was a reaction to the ref breaking them apart too much. Each time he seemed to put more and more and into his punches as he no doubt anticipated the ref was abut to pull them both apart again. Ultimately that just helped Mayweather pick him off.

He was an offensive pressure fighter... that's his style!

And for roughly half the fight, he was dictating the pace and giving Floyd problems... to such an extent, that a number of people had him ahead on the scorecards!! That's not "gung-ho"... that's just Ricky Hatton fighting his fight!

He simply could not keep that intensity up... and when the tempo of his attacks dipped, Floyd took him apart.

Hatton was one of the most talented fighters to ever come out of the UK... but he was not a great professional. His lifestyle outside the ring, prevented him from getting the most out of his potential. But some "gung-ho" slugger he most certainly was not...
    Ah here, quit picking parts of what I said and replying to it as if it's all that I have said. I never said McGregor should absolutely replicate Hatton's style for the fight and you know that. I have one user replying to me as if I said McGregor should fight defensively for three rounds and then I have others claiming I said he should just fight like Ricky Hatton. Did you all go to the same school of comprehension.

Never said you did...

He's not going to replicate Hatton's style, even a little bit... he's simply not good enough to pull it off. And it's not his style. They are totally different.
    For the last time: what I said was that McGregor should fight in a way that makes it very awkward for Mayweather to predict which way he is going to fight next. He should fight defensively TO BEGIN WITH but when attacking (either by countering or by taking the fight to Mayweather) it should be a Ricky Hatton style onslaught. McGregor might not be as good as boxer as Hatton, but he wouldn't have to get anywhere near as close to Mayweather as Hatten did to adopt that kind of attack given his reach advantage. Hatton's reach is 65" and McGregor's is 74".

If he wants to swarm Floyd, and throw flurries/combinations... he has to get close to him. Otherwise it's not pressure fighting, and Floyd will easily have space to circle out. His longer reach is no advantage to him in such a strategy!

Have you watched much of Floyd, or boxing in general??
    Well obviously if he lands nothing he's fucked.... that's just stating the obvious.... but the slim hope McGregor has of winning by TKO is early on. He's hasn't a hope of outboxing Floyd. In fact, any kind of predictible pattern in Conor's fighting and he's fucked.

Well, since you seem to be grossly underestimating just how much skill and talent Ricky Hatton possessed... it's not really surprising that you would find it difficult to understand why that strategy is unlikely to bear much fruit for Conor... and in fact, will most likely hasten his exit from this contest.
    Had nothing to do with liking it. Hatton had no choice but to fight on the inside with a 65" reach :pac:

There are other ways to fight... but that was his style!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,449 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO
    This is a bit creepy.

Feels a bit weird that this is actually happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,449 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO
    The gum chewing from Conor is cringe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,155 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

Floyd via DQ
    what number is on flyods hat,looked 48 to me

Conor via DQ
    walshb wrote: »
    The gum chewing from Conor is cringe!

out of all the cringe on offer, a lad chewing gum is what stood out? christ man :D:D

This lad is boring the life out of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Underground

"This isn't a true fight" - Conor McGregor

Straight from the horses mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,634 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Floyd via DQ
    McGregor talking here is like a ****ty best man's speech. Trying for a few cheap laughs but all falling flat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Syphonax

"This isn't a true fight" - Conor McGregor

Straight from the horses mouth.

He'd better have a horse outside after this McGregor that is

This is cringe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,155 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

Floyd via DQ
    thought flyod was good ,he nailed conor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Underground

The Mr tapout line gave me a chuckle.

All in all though pretty much as I expected. The face off didn't even seem tense, two lads who know they're in for a massive payday and pretty chuffed with themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,228 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Floyd via DQ
    I thought McGregor was supposed to at least win the pressers?

Conor was terrible on the Mic and Floyd had him totally rattled.

Floyd via DQ
    Easy bit of work there for Floyd anyway

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I thought McGregor was supposed to at least win the pressers?

Conor was terrible on the Mic and Floyd had him totally rattled.

Conor's better when there's a back and forth between him and others. This was shít compared to some of conor's UFC pressers.

No, he just got straight owned by a guy who is in a different league. UFC pressers are a joke compared to mega fight pressers.