Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭sticker

Conor via DQ
    it will be box office no question not sure which one

Cheers, you would think those rights would be sorted by now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭princemuzzy

Alot of nightclub fracas involved there I believe, again not defending it.

sure sounds like you are

i dont care if he hit them in a petrol station there is no excuse for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Floyd via DQ
    You are gullible of you don't realise how much Floyd needs to be in control.

Floyd was in control, but to believe that McGregor turned up, not having a clue what was going to happen is naive in the extreme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman

Floyd via DQ
    sure sounds like you are

i dont care if he hit them in a petrol station there is no excuse for it

Does it sound like it?

Well that's not my intention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭MojoRisinnnn

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Lets see the boys get a bit more personal tonight, Mayweather calling out North Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Floyd via DQ
    Don't know much about boxing tbh and am only hearing about the Mayweather women beating stories now. If true the guy is a total scumbag and i hope McGregor stomps his head into the canvas. No excuse for anyone to lay a hand on a woman but a pro boxer doing that is the height of being an utter toerag.

Actually surprised McGregor didn't pass comment on it last last.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Floyd via DQ
    Schwanz wrote: »
    McGregor I have to admit got to Floyd, that could be where he hurts him the most & Floyd comes out like the wild bunch.

He really didn't get to him though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman

Floyd via DQ
    Burial. wrote: »

yeah I'm not sure where people think McGregor got to him last night.

There is no doubt McGregor got all antsy at the Mr Tapout. I'm sure Floyd will go with the once a quitter always a quitter route sooner rather than later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Floyd via DQ
    BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Don't know much about boxing tbh and am only hearing about the Mayweather women beating stories now. If true the guy is a total scumbag and i hope McGregor stomps his head into the canvas. No excuse for anyone to lay a hand on a woman but a pro boxer doing that is the height of being an utter toerag.

Actually surprised McGregor didn't pass comment on it last last.

McGregor can only mention things that Mayweather is pre okayed.

I'm fully convinced if there wasn't cameras on the two of them they would be holding hands, skipping and dancing in circles over this con they have managed to put together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,634 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Floyd via DQ
    I think some lads are just looking for a "win" and it's suits them to say McGregor ****ed with Mayweather when in truth there was nothing in it.McGregor looked and sounded nervous or a bit off.
    He needs to get it right as it's the only really thing that he can do to or he will end up just being the sideshow.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Are they all going to be the same format as last night does anyone know? Or will there be an open Q&A like in the UFC? I don't watch boxing so I can't really judge if last night's was just particularly bad but a whole press tour without an open discussion or back and forth is fairly pointless, surely Floyd cannot be that afraid to get into an open war of words with Conor.

• Site Banned Posts: 14 FreshBedsheets

Floyd was in control, but to believe that McGregor turned up, not having a clue what was going to happen is naive in the extreme.

He said himself the format was different to what he was expecting and there were some sneaky moves from the Mayweather camp.

Floyd via DQ
    Are they all going to be the same format as last night does anyone know? Or will there be an open Q&A like in the UFC? I don't watch boxing so I can't really judge if last night's was just particularly bad but a whole press tour without an open discussion or back and forth is fairly pointless, surely Floyd cannot be that afraid to get into an open war of words with Conor.

See this is what I cant understand, why would anyone think McGregor is better at trash talk? there is little evidence to suggest it BUT if it was true he would surely dominate regardless of the "format". Does he now need an excuse for his press conferences being poor?

• Site Banned Posts: 14 FreshBedsheets

See this is what I cant understand, why would anyone think McGregor is better at trash talk? there is little evidence to suggest it BUT if it was true he would surely dominate regardless of the "format". Does he now need an excuse for his press conferences being poor?

There is plenty of evidence, it's all on youtube. Mayweather has been good at the trash talk in the past, but there is no one better at it than Conor.

Floyd via KO-TKO

Well because he is? He is far superior at rebuttals and generally sharper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Schwanz

Floyd via DQ
    Burial. wrote: »

I'm not so sure Burial, I hope Floyd doesn't get sucked in to McGregor's BS.

Floyd via DQ
    Well because he is? He is far superior at rebuttals and generally sharper.

Against Mayweather? Where? Why wasn't he good last night?

He was terrible and to be honest as stated before in this thread I really thought he would bring something to the Press conferences.

He's at a major disadvantage, in the UFC he can claim to be the best and be the draw but he's a side attraction in a boxing match and he knows it. He knows he cant claim to be a better boxer. He's going on about knocking Mayweather out, but frankly no one believes him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,463 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO
    I expected better from McGregor but it just shows what a farce of a fight this is

Not sure why so....his behavior-persona at most of these type of events is the exact same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Schwanz

Floyd via DQ
    McGregor is saying within 4 and for anyone who knows Floyd will know this is where he has worked out his opponent and ups the gears.

I hope McGregor just doesn't make a show of himself here and just be in this for the cash reward.

Floyd via DQ
    walshb wrote: »
    Not sure why so....his behavior-persona at most of these type of events is the exact same.

ah be fair now to McGregor most of his press events have at least been entertaining, he was good against Aldo really got to him. Diaz and himself were more of the street thug v street thug mentality that wasnt very eloquent but had some entertainment value as you thought it might kick off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Sweet Science

Conor on points
    walshb wrote: »

Can't agree. Last night was nothing like any of his previous press conferences . It was flat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭GerryDerpy

Conor via DQ
    It's a real pity the UFC aren't organising the press this week. Showtime/Mayweather looking amateur.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Floyd via DQ
    Can't agree. Last night was nothing like any of his previous press conferences . It was flat

Because his UFC act is a ripoff of Floyds money persona. He could hardly use the material that hes robbed off Floyd on Floyd haha. He doesn't have more money than Floyd, he isn't the star attraction, Floyd isn't only making money because of McGregors name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I was a bit surprised to find everyone saying that went well for Mayweather, I thought he seemed a bit overwhelmed when he first came to the mike. He got better, but he was just saying pre planned phrases. McGregor rambled, he could have cut that speech in half, towards the end it was like watching the talker at a wedding just rambling with no sign of an exit.

I think the real talk happened at the staredown at the end, McGregor said some things that seemed to really get under Mayweather's skin and annoy him. I think that's stage one in Conor's plan achieved, he's in Mayweather's head now.

Sound was really bad on all the streams I found. Was hard to make out what was being said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Agreed. The whole format was alien to him. Also, given the fact that he wasn't told how the event will pan out meant he looked clueless (rightly so) most of the time.

Those first few mins on stage with McGregor were cringy to watch. Like turning up to a party fashionably late, only to realise you're the only bastard there. :(

Floyd via KO-TKO
    ScumLord wrote: »

I think that's stage one in Conor's plan achieved, he's in Mayweather's head now.

Supposing that is true. What does it mean on fight night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭A Shaved Duck?

Floyd via DQ
    I was a bit surprised to find everyone saying that went well for Mayweather, I thought he seemed a bit overwhelmed when he first came to the mike. He got better, but he was just saying pre planned phrases. McGregor rambled, he could have cut that speech in half, towards the end it was like watching the talker at a wedding just rambling with no sign of an exit.

I think the real talk happened at the staredown at the end, McGregor said some things that seemed to really get under Mayweather's skin and annoy him. I think that's stage one in Conor's plan achieved, he's in Mayweather's head now.

Sound was really bad on all the streams I found. Was hard to make out what was being said.

He can get in his head all he wants...its not going to change the result. Biggest issue will be avoiding the coverage of this press tour..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Sweet Science

Conor on points

I dont agree with this at all. I think there is literally nothing he can say that would annoy Mayweather .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 majordavinci

GerryDerpy wrote: »
    It's a real pity the UFC aren't organising the press this week. Showtime/Mayweather looking amateur.

The sound was bad, the cameras skipped mcgregors walk out. they accidently played mayweathers song for 1 second during conors song. the camera on mayweathers walk out was brutal aswell. whoever was doing sound and camera control was probably fired today. the whole conference was done terribly but Conor definitely got to mayweather last night. if he didnt his dad wouldnt have had to crash his press conference after.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Mayweather is no dummy,. He has to know how easy a payday this is. There is no getting under anyone's skin here. This is all staged and scripted by the two teams. They both make a heap of cash by cooperation. It's that simple. We, the gullible public provide that cash.