Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do people usually scan at and what your final percentage?

• 05-12-2016 9:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭

As above- last year scanned 1.4, weaned 1.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Dickie10

scanned 1.85 last year, weaned 1.7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Farm365

Dickie10 wrote: »
    scanned 1.85 last year, weaned 1.7

That's a great result. What type of ewes do you keep?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Weaned 1.7 thisyear would have scanned 1.8 and upwards (can't remember). Will be scanning in two weeks time so will let ye know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Scanned 1.66 weaned 1.6....

I was a bit sleep deprived by end of lambing (work aswell)

..but it's 6 weeks is all....just has to be got through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Cran

Normally between 1.85 & 1.9 lower end last year, wean 1.7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Remember reading a teagasc report somewhere that the average farm can have up to 20% losses. Best farms can keep it Down to 10%. Id be somewhere in between. Know lads that would be doing well, but all it takes is for a rogue fox to take 20 lambs unnoticed and all of a sudden your %'s go to pot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Not great here, had 1.6 including retained ewe lambs (if the last 16 live another week) from 400 ewes and 1 from 120 ewe lambs.
    Have slipped a lot in the last few years, ......don't know whether I want any higher at this stage
    One advantage of the low lamb crop is less losses, ours was 6% from scanning to now and has been for the last few years

Remember reading a teagasc report somewhere that the average farm can have up to 20% losses. Best farms can keep it Down to 10%. Id be somewhere in between. Know lads that would be doing well, but all it takes is for a rogue fox to take 20 lambs unnoticed and all of a sudden your %'s go to pot.

To lose 20 lambs that would be ~12% mortality already for us. Ad you get bigger your going to lose more lambs as your attention gets divided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭sheepfarmer92

Last year ewes scan 1.8 ewe lambs scan 1 and wean 1.6 overall, wouldnt like to scan much higher

To lose 20 lambs that would be ~12% mortality already for us. Ad you get bigger your going to lose more lambs as your attention gets divided.

Exactly what happened to a mate of mine that lambs about 400 a year. Put a batch out into a field and was flat out lambing the next lot. Only spotted it a week later when lambs began to look scare in field, of course took him another few nights to catch the culprit, who had profected the art of lamb pinching. Think he lost north of 20 in the end.

Farm365 wrote: »
    That's a great result. What type of ewes do you keep?

keep lleyn cross ewes so half lleyn and quater maybe texel/cheviot/suffolk/horny.
    trying to keep away from half texel ewes, there like belgian blue cows very tight and put too much into a lamb. got rid of suffolk ram too. now have hampshire down and texel rams. i found every hard lambing i had came from a texel type ewe.

keep lleyn cross ewes so half lleyn and quater maybe texel/cheviot/suffolk/horny.
    trying to keep away from half texel ewes, there like belgian blue cows very tight and put too much into a lamb. got rid of suffolk ram too. now have hampshire down and texel rams. i found every hard lambing i had came from a texel type ewe.

Found the same with Texels got rid of them a few years ago very tight to lamb. Have just introduced LLeyn breeding looking forward to seeing the results. How do you find the Hampshire Downs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭mcgiggles

We scanned at 1.7 last year and weaned 1.5. scanning was all over the place though, out of our 21 or so, about 5 were completely wrong..

Found the same with Texels got rid of them a few years ago very tight to lamb. Have just introduced LLeyn breeding looking forward to seeing the results. How do you find the Hampshire Downs?

Hampshire downs are great, they are very easy lambed and very vigours when born. they pile on weight, you will be killing them at 20kg deadweight around 12 weeks. i lamb 1st feb to 28th feb and i always have at least 40 lambs gone by june 1st to factory out of around 75 ewes, weather dependent on dryish spring with growth coming at the average time of year. 80% of the lambs gone in this timeframe are usually HD. i sell to factory on flat grade so im not worried about U and R but it would be 50-50 anyway.

The beauty of these HDs is also from October onwards, they come fat without meal in Autumn and very little meal will fatten after xmas. they naturally fatten much like Angus cattle. another plus is a wet cold night outside at a week old they will be grand, have a little bob of wool on their head acts like a hat

forgot to say my experince with hamshires in winter as stores is that i lamb ewe lambs to hamshire ram in april, so these are lambs i might have at time of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭razor8

Main Ewes scannned around 1.95 and last year horned ewes scanned 1.7, ewe lambs scanned 1.8

I sold/weaned 1.7 average across all sheep from when the ram went out including ewe lambs so hoping can do the same next year

Hampshire downs are great, they are very easy lambed and very vigours when born. they pile on weight, you will be killing them at 20kg deadweight around 12 weeks. i lamb 1st feb to 28th feb and i always have at least 40 lambs gone by june 1st to factory out of around 75 ewes, weather dependent on dryish spring with growth coming at the average time of year. 80% of the lambs gone in this timeframe are usually HD. i sell to factory on flat grade so im not worried about U and R but it would be 50-50 anyway.

The beauty of these HDs is also from October onwards, they come fat without meal in Autumn and very little meal will fatten after xmas. they naturally fatten much like Angus cattle. another plus is a wet cold night outside at a week old they will be grand, have a little bob of wool on their head acts like a hat

Are they a purely terminal breed? They sound very impressive great growth rates etc What are they like off worm resistance? Is it hard to source rams?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

razor8 wrote: »
    Main Ewes scannned around 1.95 and last year horned ewes scanned 1.7, ewe lambs scanned 1.8

I sold/weaned 1.7 average across all sheep from when the ram went out including ewe lambs so hoping can do the same next year

Would you cull ewes that have singles 2 years in a row?

Farrell wrote: »
    Would you cull ewes that have singles 2 years in a row?

Generally don't I just wouldn't keep any offspring from them but if they had any other reason like poor lambs or bad feet they would get gate

Must singles get fostered

Are they a purely terminal breed? They sound very impressive great growth rates etc What are they like off worm resistance? Is it hard to source rams?

yes purely terminal for meat aalthough i think i have a cross or two as ewe lambs this year, il tell u how they go. very hard to get hold of rams a few years ago but they are getting a bit more popular. i bought 2 in nobber in the last 3 years

Have to try and source at least one new ram next year and don't have a notion what to go with. Might give them a something like that a go. Wherever your getting yours sounds to have a good strain of genes in em.

What are you looking for in a ram (well his offspring!)

Most of my rams are ageing. Just need something with abit if length to produce factory lambs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,299 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Using HD for last 6 years here, have no intention of changing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭gazahayes

orm0nd wrote: »
    Using HD for last 6 years here, have no intention of changing.

Where would you source one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 nagshead

Kevin McCarthy from the Ballycreely flock in Comber Co Down , one of the best flocks in IRL or the UK and also Ian Mgarry in Nass Co Kildare, I have bought from both and they are Gentlemen to deal with , what you see is what you get, i can send on some numbers if anybody wants me to. Also i agree with the above comments on the HD ,if factory lambs is what you want you would have to give serious consideration to a HD ram, dont really understand why they are not more popular in ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

nagshead wrote: »
    Kevin McCarthy from the Ballycreely flock in Comber Co Down , one of the best flocks in IRL or the UK and also Ian Mgarry in Nass Co Kildare, I have bought from both and they are Gentlemen to deal with , what you see is what you get, i can send on some numbers if anybody wants me to. Also i agree with the above comments on the HD ,if factory lambs is what you want you would have to give serious consideration to a HD ram, dont really understand why they are not more popular in ireland.

theres a breeder directory onthe sheep ireland website, split by breed

nagshead wrote: »

my scanner is from New Zealand, and was wondering where i got the rams last year. he says he never sees them in ireland but thier very popular in New Zealand. his neighbour in New Zealand swears by them. i got into them because i heard they had high growth rates. i aim for the window between may 1st and june 10th approx, prices are always great at that time of the year. but i foound i was waiting for texels to come heavy too long, lovely looking lambs but it wasnt a beauty contest, so the lamb thats quickest from birth to 44kg wins the day for me. that happens to be Hampshires 80% of the time.

If it is ok, you might pm the name of where you sourced yours dickie and what type of money one would set me back. As I said my rams are ageing and I've pushed out replacement them this
    Year, but don't think I can let it go any further then next year, thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭mcgiggles

Saw some December lambs at the weekend (not ours - just passing a random field), was so surprised when I walked past the field, they were lovely looking Dorset ones. They aren't too dissimilar from the Hampshire Downs - looks-wise anyways, not sure about growth rate. Been showing my fella photos of the HDs trying to convince him we should get some :) I agree Texels are lovely looking lambs.. They were ridiculously slow this year gaining weight, few rookie mistakes on our part, but it kind of seemed to be the norm across the board also.. Hopefully next year will be better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,265 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I think we scanned 1.8 and sold 1.6. lamb mortality worked out a 7% this years and we sold a lot of triplet pet lambs on DD this year aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Jonny303

Mind me asking, when people are giving their scanned numbers, does that include barren ewes or not?

Jonny303 wrote: »
    Mind me asking, when people are giving their scanned numbers, does that include barren ewes or not?

Total lambs scanned over ewes scanned

And is the total ewes scanned figure brought forward to the total weaned figure or is the weaned figure based off all ewes that did lamb?

Jonny303 wrote: »
    And is the total ewes scanned figure brought forward to the total weaned figure or is the weaned figure based off all ewes that did lamb?

Toatal ewes scanned I use

I always calculate lambs sold/replacements v ewes that went to ram

Much easier to identify issues and act on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

razor8 wrote: »
    I always calculate lambs sold/replacements v ewes that went to ram

Much easier to identify issues and act on them

It is also a truer reflection of how your year went.

Some people only count the number of lambs sold from the ewes that lambed....no mention of the ewes that were dry/failed to go in lamb.Now that's looking through rose tinted glasses at the years endeavours.

Most of my rams are ageing. Just need something with abit if length to produce factory lambs.

Charolis....good quality rams I'd suggest

Do you feed your lambs

scanned today, 1.81 including barren ewes

Very small batch of cheviots I got scanned 1.7 today, was delighted to get that out of them.

We scanned today I don't know the exact number but its high 2+ lambs per ewe at least I'd say . 1 quadruple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

We scanned today I don't know the exact number but its high 2,1+ at least I'd say . 1 quadruple
    That's great
    Haven't had a triplet here in the last few years, but generally all doubles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

We scanned today I don't know the exact number but its high 2,1+ at least I'd say . 1 quadruple

You're gonna be busy come spring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭premier10

Scanned couple of weeks ago, 1.83 including empties. overall 5% empty.

ganmo wrote: »
    You're gonna be busy come spring!

I let out the ram so it'll coincide with mid term but was not expecting that. I was at school today and got a land when I was told, a rough count is 27 trebles out of 115 ewes with4 barren but are probably in lamb as they were tipped late.

7 empties
    21 singles
    61 couples.
    23 trebles
    2 quads
    Am expecting a few of the empties to be in lamb. Had 5 ewe lams that I let out 3 singles and two nothings. 1.93lambs per ewe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 jmurfy

Out of 90 ewes sulfocks and texel cross
    22 singles
    54 doubles
    8 triplets
    1 quad
    5 empties

1.75 scan rate

I usually only have around 2 empties. Do ye cull empty ewes or keep until following year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

7 empties
    21 singles
    61 couples.
    23 trebles
    2 quads
    Am expecting a few of the empties to be in lamb. Had 5 ewe lams that I let out 3 singles and two nothings. 1.93lambs per ewe

Only spotted this now Charolais, that's a very good scan rate...
    What are your ewes? Do you have all Suffolky ewes? (I though you put up a pic of nice black faced ewes earlier?)

Only spotted this now Charolais, that's a very good scan rate...
    What are your ewes? Do you have all Suffolky ewes? (I though you put up a pic of nice black faced ewes earlier?)

Ya about 35ish texel x and around 80 Suffolk's. Texels scanned much netter than the blacks .

jmurfy wrote: »
    Out of 90 ewes sulfocks and texel cross
    22 singles
    54 doubles
    8 triplets
    1 quad
    5 empties

1.75 scan rate

I usually only have around 2 empties. Do ye cull empty ewes or keep until following year?

Cull ours