Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,259 ✭✭✭✭Water John

This is on a much larger scale due to breakdown.
    The West Cork Coops pay a few cent more along with the bonus for a low SCC which most people get.
    Add to that the 1 cent end of year bonus. Then add another bonus just given out be each of the 4, from .5 to 1.2 cent.

My sources tell me, they spread the payment this way so as not to embarrass and create issues with the other processors.

The total difference for an 80 cow herd could be €20/25K per year.

Remember most of this milk is used to make cheddar and whey products.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Dwag wrote: »
    Pyrethroids not producing the same results as neonics?

I took your advice from a few years back and stopped growing hybrids...we now dig into the ordinary seed heap and plant 60grains/m as cheaply as possible. If strike is good it gets herbicide, if not its a handy winter cover crop...

No flea beetle or light leaf spot problems so one fungicide and lambda mid flowering and close the gate.
    4.4/ha last couple of years so best crop here now. However long that lasts.

Not even close, one use of a seed coat vs the 7 applications of pyrethroids a neighbour made on their autumn 2014 crop before they admited defeat on some patches. Problem is it's too hard to get enough numbers with 1/2 passes and headed towards a different style of ethos on farm. So long as we can produce the crops to get into the top of the premium market at least cost, must work to have an enviromental record beyond reproach is the directive from big boss seeing as that's where it's going over here.
    Osr is cropped out for a decade i'd reckon, its was osr/ww/sbarley or beans for years. Last year was the last straw with it scrapping late 3's-4t/ha(after a kitchen sink approach until wet june killed it) with wheats being totaly bizzare with late 13's low 14 proteins for no yield penalty of 9-10t+. Holstein 10k+/lt cows doing low volume jersey solids type of crazy stuff.
    (Be wary of overusing the same seed stock for too long)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭alps

Water John wrote: »

The total difference for an 80 cow herd could be €20/25K per year.

Ah John......are you using the same calculator as Jack.?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Quick question, guys and gals. The last few cows calving are giving less and less colostrum as time goes by. They are still in on silage, same as all the others but those calving now are good cows but down to 2L of colostrum by the last two.

Condition is good, 3-3.25, and silage is OK for dry cows. I'm thinking of starting the remaining on 1-2kgs of a 16% beef nut to try to improve the situation but should I be giving some soya instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Condition is good, 3-3.25, and silage is OK for dry cows. I'm thinking of starting the remaining on 1-2kgs of a 16% beef nut to try to improve the situation but should I be giving some soya instead?

Half a kilo to a kilo of soya should sort them out fairly quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Dwag

blackdog1 wrote: »
    Half a kilo to a kilo of soya should sort them out fairly quick.

1 kilo coarse maize would be better and cheaper or 5kg forage maize if you have it.

2nd calver did 23l colostrum this morning from a diet of hay and 5kg forage maize. First milking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭visatorro

Interesting read I thought

I can't feckin post anything!!

Article on agriland and managing grassland /soil

Grew 7.9tdm/ha of grass here last year...on 135unitsN/ha. No P or K. Bad farmer?

On track to beat that shortly on 121uN/ha. Good farmer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Grew 7.9tdm/ha of grass here last year...on 135unitsN/ha. No P or K. Bad farmer?

Ya but how much water. Do u know how much water costs;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Not being smart but why do you bother with grazing id that is all you are growing? What other crop is performing as poorly? And you're irritating.

Ya but how much water. Do u know how much water costs;)

Cheaper than urea...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Yeah he gets in my nerves too!! :D:D

Not being smart but why do you bother with grazing id that is all you are growing? What other crop is performing as poorly? And you're irritating.

Firstly, nothing beats the health benefits of an animal walking to pasture and grazing with the sun on its back.

Secondly, if I'm to be honest to myself and to the industry, milk production should be based as much as possible on grazing.

Thirdly, and most important, it's sustainable. Soil is healthy and vibrant...and I'm limited to 49unitsN/acre.

:) I'm assuming you meant irrigating.

Firstly, nothing beats the health benefits of an animal walking to pasture and grazing with the sun on its back.

Secondly, if I'm to be honest to myself and to the industry, milk production should be based as much as possible on grazing.

Thirdly, and most important, it's sustainable. Soil is healthy and vibrant...and I'm limited to 49unitsN/acre.

Is it not called irrigation/irritation as when it goes wrong it's usually bad.

Lol. Bang on its the feckin devils work!

Easy street atm as we're only doing grass, lucerne and the likes, so no bother.
    When the pressure is on the hassle can be endless. Especially when going 'round the clock.

Lol. Bang on its the feckin devils work!

Easy street atm as we're only doing grass, lucerne and the likes, so no bother.
    When the pressure is on the hassle can be endless. Especially when going 'round the clock.

One of the lads here worked at veg on the norfolk brecks(sand land) for years.
    Has a picture of how someone set up a rain gun in a spud field but skipped a few beds over from the reel. It flipped and washed out a few beds as all the water was sprayed into the ground.

One of the lads here worked at veg on the norfolk brecks(sand land) for years.
    Has a picture of how someone set up a rain gun in a spud field but skipped a few beds over from the reel. It flipped and washed out a few beds as all the water was sprayed into the ground.

You'd be surprised at the power of those cannons. Nozzle is 30mm with water pumped to it at circa 125psi...

I've a little Landini yard tractor (nod to Reggie) that has no cab that I often use to pull out the cannon and once a year (at the start of the campaign) I forget to turn the cannon sideways...there's always water in the system that makes its way out due to gravity...phuck me, but nothing wakes you up like a shower of cold water at 5 am. Makes the bucket challenge girlie.

You'd be surprised at the power of those cannons. Nozzle is 30mm with water pumped to it at circa 125psi...

I've a little Landini yard tractor (nod to Reggie) that has no cab that I often use to pull out the cannon and once a year (at the start of the campaign) I forget to turn the cannon sideways...there's always water in the system that makes its way out due to gravity...phuck me, but nothing wakes you up like a shower of cold water at 5 am. Makes the bucket challenge girlie.

He mentioned that, could break the glass on the back of a tractor if you don't stop VEEERY SLOOOOOWWWWLLLLYYYY with the longer reels as more force.

Jeez yea!
    I've 550m, 110mm diameter pipe reels because some of the fields are over a km long and it's a serious dollop of water. If back windows are closed they won't break. If they're open they're sure to break.
    3km/hr when unwinding...and slow stop.

Why would you assume that? 😉😉

Cheaper than urea...:)

Really? After taking all capital costs into account? Did you build a couple of ponds a few years ago to contain winter rains or what is your water source?

Why would you assume that? 😉😉

I do tend to make wild assumptions...

Really? After taking all capital costs into account? Did you build a couple of ponds a few years ago to contain winter rains or what is your water source?

A 25hp pump accidentally (on purpose) fell into the nearby river...pity not all lakes are close to rivers.

My point is sustainability.
    Lashing out chemical NPK is sooo 20th century.
    Sodiaal now have 24/7 cams on some of their herds for the discerning Jane/Joe consumer to view whilst stuffing their faces with dairy produce.
    How would outdoor/roofless cubicles look in a Jan rainstorm? Or a fert spreader passing through paddocks every 21 days?

Some things are not always about the bottom line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,724 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Grass situation starting to get critical now due to lack of moisture ,things looking ok here for 8/10 days tops but after that covers flatline .ill be praying that rain promised next Friday materialises otherwise it's open some bales andcstart buffering ,something I really don't want to have to do early may cows absolutely bombing out milk at 33.7 Ltrs 3.78 fat 3.51 protein on last test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Going in to ground I had closed for silage tonight before starting next round to give a chance to build cover, anything grazed in last week and a bit is slow to come back. If rain comes I could see baling happening again it may change that quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

Only had 18 mm since late March, about 20% of what we normally get. never seen the farm this dry in earlier may. Drier part of the farn has particularly stoped growing. If we get rain by the end of week we should be OK. I regrazed two paddocks closed for bales to give me a bit of breathing space.
    On the positive side Graze outs are excellent and cows very content. Doing 2.1 kg ms on 2 kg meal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,724 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Mooooo wrote: »
    Going in to ground I had closed for silage tonight before starting next round to give a chance to build cover, anything grazed in last week and a bit is slow to come back. If rain comes I could see baling happening again it may change that quick.

Yep real knife edge stuff at this time of year no silage ground on milk block here so don't have that buffer ,stocked at 3.2 and just bale surplus as and when it comes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,131 ✭✭✭jaymla627

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Grass situation starting to get critical now due to lack of moisture ,things looking ok here for 8/10 days tops but after that covers flatline .ill be praying that rain promised next Friday materialises otherwise it's open some bales andcstart buffering ,something I really don't want to have to do early may cows absolutely bombing out milk at 33.7 Ltrs 3.78 fat 3.51 protein on last test

Same boat here, only positive is have all milking platform available to us for grazing this year and 30acres of paddocks that where to be baled this week are being grazed, have 70 acres of 1st cut being knocked today in preparation for buffering hopefully cows won't take to much of a hit given it should be lovely stuff, protein is gone to crap here already from 3.5 to 3.35 since I started going into heavy covers but needs must

mahoney_j wrote: »

What rain? Nothing in the forecast. We were supposed to get the bones of a half inch this weekend. Not a thing nor any looking likely. I'm going to start pricing up maize to buy at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

A 25hp pump accidentally (on purpose) fell into the nearby river..

you can take the man out of Ireland. ....but you can't take the Irish out of the man:D:D