mahoney_j wrote: » Grass situation starting to get critical now due to lack of moisture ,things looking ok here for 8/10 days tops but after that covers flatline .ill be praying that rain promised next Friday materialises otherwise it's open some bales andcstart buffering ,something I really don't want to have to do early may cows absolutely bombing out milk at 33.7 Ltrs 3.78 fat 3.51 protein on last test
Mooooo wrote: » Going in to ground I had closed for silage tonight before starting next round to give a chance to build cover, anything grazed in last week and a bit is slow to come back. If rain comes I could see baling happening again it may change that quick.
freedominacup wrote: » Really? After taking all capital costs into account? Did you build a couple of ponds a few years ago to contain winter rains or what is your water source?
freedominacup wrote: » Why would you assume that? 😉😉
Dwag wrote: » Cheaper than urea...:)
Dwag wrote: » I'm assuming you meant irrigating.
Waffletraktor wrote: » He mentioned that, could break the glass on the back of a tractor if you don't stop VEEERY SLOOOOOWWWWLLLLYYYY with the longer reels as more force.
Dwag wrote: » You'd be surprised at the power of those cannons. Nozzle is 30mm with water pumped to it at circa 125psi... I've a little Landini yard tractor (nod to Reggie) that has no cab that I often use to pull out the cannon and once a year (at the start of the campaign) I forget to turn the cannon sideways...there's always water in the system that makes its way out due to gravity...phuck me, but nothing wakes you up like a shower of cold water at 5 am. Makes the bucket challenge girlie.
Waffletraktor wrote: » One of the lads here worked at veg on the norfolk brecks(sand land) for years. Has a picture of how someone set up a rain gun in a spud field but skipped a few beds over from the reel. It flipped and washed out a few beds as all the water was sprayed into the ground.
Dwag wrote: » Lol. Bang on its the feckin devils work! Easy street atm as we're only doing grass, lucerne and the likes, so no bother. When the pressure is on the hassle can be endless. Especially when going 'round the clock.
Waffletraktor wrote: » Is it not called irrigation/irritation as when it goes wrong it's usually bad.
Dwag wrote: » Firstly, nothing beats the health benefits of an animal walking to pasture and grazing with the sun on its back. Secondly, if I'm to be honest to myself and to the industry, milk production should be based as much as possible on grazing. Thirdly, and most important, it's sustainable. Soil is healthy and vibrant...and I'm limited to 49unitsN/acre. I'm assuming you meant irrigating.
freedominacup wrote: » Not being smart but why do you bother with grazing id that is all you are growing? What other crop is performing as poorly? And you're irritating.
charolais0153 wrote: » Ya but how much water. Do u know how much water costs;)
Dwag wrote: » Grew 7.9tdm/ha of grass here last year...on 135unitsN/ha. No P or K. Bad farmer? On track to beat that shortly on 121uN/ha. Good farmer?
blackdog1 wrote: » Half a kilo to a kilo of soya should sort them out fairly quick.
Buford T. Justice V wrote: Condition is good, 3-3.25, and silage is OK for dry cows. I'm thinking of starting the remaining on 1-2kgs of a 16% beef nut to try to improve the situation but should I be giving some soya instead?
Water John wrote: » The total difference for an 80 cow herd could be €20/25K per year.
Dwag wrote: » Pyrethroids not producing the same results as neonics? I took your advice from a few years back and stopped growing hybrids...we now dig into the ordinary seed heap and plant 60grains/m as cheaply as possible. If strike is good it gets herbicide, if not its a handy winter cover crop... No flea beetle or light leaf spot problems so one fungicide and lambda mid flowering and close the gate. 4.4/ha last couple of years so best crop here now. However long that lasts.
visatorro wrote: » According to my lorry man milk could be going anywhere. They all send to each other. My milk could be going to a different co-op who pay their suppliers more and vice versa.