Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Grand Tour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,373 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 812 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

el diablo wrote: »
    Generation Snowflake. They actively seek to be offended/outraged. :rolleyes:

Generation snowflake. That's clever. Did you think of that by yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

Patww79 wrote: »

How many here seem to be getting offended by people getting offended? It's equally as bad if not worse, I watched this in the hope it was more like the ones they had on the BBC, but their is something different with this show.

JamboMac wrote: »
    How many here seem to be getting offended by people getting offended? It's equally as bad if not worse, I watched this in the hope it was more like the ones they had on the BBC, but their is something different with this show.

Yeah,it's a pile of crap.

The two and half episodes I've managed to suffer seem to have May in the background for some reason. He's the only interesting character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

Do any of ye like any bit of the show?, of course if I paid for a year membership I would probably be disapointed but seriously there have been some good scenes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

There have been good scenes alright but the glory days are gone.
    I'm not paying for it though so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

Do any of ye like any bit of the show?, of course if I paid for a year membership I would probably be disapointed but seriously there have been some good scenes

Pay for tv, that's long since gone.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

It's pure awful, thankfully I'm not paying either. They need to do something radical to improve.

Looking forward to the special. Hopefully it will be good and that will make the show for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,994 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Looking forward to the special. Hopefully it will be good and that will make the show for me

Watch it tonight. Hasn't changed my view on the series.

I don't understand why they feel the need to tell a poorly scripted story or act stupid? The whole wrong direction thing, ending up where they started was just unfunny. Its pretty obvious they bring a huge crew, sure they got there in the first place, why pretend you got lost? The bit with the tide coming in was just canned footage, painful. Lastly, the bit on the dunes with all the 'Ahhh's' was just unbearable to watch, felt childish. Why not just do a road trip, have some challenges in the middle and reflect on the automotive element? Instead its fast becoming a series with characters, the car has taken a huge back seat.

I'm not sure what I was expecting with this show but it certainly hasn't live up to the hype. They've dumbed it down to the lowest common denominator and its just woeful. I'm sure the crew are laughing all the way to the bank, the only laughs to be had I feel.

ironclaw wrote:
    I don't understand why they feel the need to tell a poorly scripted story or act stupid? The whole wrong direction thing, ending up where they started was just unfunny. Its pretty obvious they bring a huge crew, sure they got there in the first place, why pretend you got lost? The bit with the tide coming in was just canned footage, painful. Lastly, the bit on the dunes with all the 'Ahhh's' was just unbearable to watch, felt childish. Why not just do a road trip, have some challenges in the middle and reflect on the automotive element? Instead its fast becoming a series with characters, the car has taken a huge back seat.

Hate to hear it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

ironclaw wrote: »
    Watch it tonight. Hasn't changed my view on the series.

I'm not sure what I was expecting with this show but it certainly hasn't live up to the hype. They've dumbed it down to the lowest common denominator and its just woeful. I'm sure the crew are laughing all the way to the bank, the only laughs to be had I feel.

I think a good summing up in fairness. Some awful stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭BHP

Nothing I hadn't seen in years of watching the Dakar Rally on Eurosport.

Piss poor effort of a special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭Top Dog

These reports are disappointing. Wonder if I'll even bother watching now :(

Was there any fun at all to be had from watching it - or is it just an hour of your life you won't get back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,896 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I would imagine season 2 will be different.
    The 1st is probably to see what works and what doesn't and sticking the fingers up at the beeb.
    But yes I'm waiting for a good road trip or even a race across countries.
    Loved those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 BabyGM146

Must say I enjoyed the first half of the special, although the whole finding the way out of the desert thing was overplayed IMO, could have been cut in half and another challenge added in maybe?
    What I will say about the series is this, I imagine they can't do exactly what they used to because that would be ripping off the old format, which of course the BBC owns, and could invite difficulties. I would agree with the poster above who says that the first season is seeing what works, I am holding out for a more polished second run. Hopefully there will be less obvious scripting next season as well, to me it reduces the humour of the three lads because it doesn't feel like the three lads just chatting like it used to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

A new record for how long it took me to view the latest offering lol

"Each of us had to buy a .... and turn it into a .... and meet at....." yawn, switched it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

I watched episode 1 and 2 last night.

episode one was enjoyable enough even though I dont think much of their new track.

Episode 2 was utter drivel, fannying about in a special forces training village deliberately being sh1te at stuff.

not sure if ill watch any more.

First part of special not what I was hoping for but not Half as bad as what people are saying on here imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭pa990

First part of special not what I was hoping for but not Half as bad as what people are saying on here imo

I found both parts entertaining... And shur.. That's What I'm (not) paying for

Just watched the second episode and I don't what ye were all on about. It was fine, quite entertaining actually. Better than some of the top gear specials. Don't think any one on here have seen tg tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Just watched the second episode and I don't what ye were all on about. It was fine, quite entertaining actually. Better than some of the top gear specials. Don't think any one on here have seen tg tbh

And how long have you been working at Amazon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,250 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I didn't like the special myself. Currently watching the Botswana special which is infinitely better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭magentis

I thought it was funny!
    The whole thing about the v8 in clarksons buggy was good and when they were tossing the fish bits into hammonds buggy .Odd how that never came up again.Reminds me of the time a few lads in work pushed the contents of a tin of tuna through the scuttle of a guy in work for tyre valve theft revenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,896 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I actually thought that this special, as their very first special, was quite entertaining.
    The constant break downs, the views, the banter.
    This is how each episode should be.
    Great fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,645 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I find it amusing that some people continue to watch this show just like they did Top Gear, yet criticise nearly every episode. It's a working formula for both the producers and presenters so why would they change it? Expecting it to change is a bit crazy in my view so if some don't like it then surely it doesn't make sense to continue watching it?