If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Grand Tour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

bazz26 wrote:
    I find it amusing that some people continue to watch this show just like they did Top Gear, yet criticise nearly every episode. It's a working formula for both the producers and presenters so why would they change it? Expecting it to change is a bit crazy in my view so if some don't like it then surely it doesn't make sense to continue watching it?

Thank you. You stole my words

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭bear1

bazz26 wrote: »
    I find it amusing that some people continue to watch this show just like they did Top Gear, yet criticise nearly every episode. It's a working formula for both the producers and presenters so why would they change it? Expecting it to change is a bit crazy in my view so if some don't like it then surely it doesn't make sense to continue watching it?

Nail on the head. Don't like the show? Off button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,493 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

bear1 wrote: »
    Nail on the head. Don't like the show? Off button.

The off button has been hit,gave my views on the way out. Obviously I won't be giving future critical reports.

kneemos wrote: »
    The off button has been hit,gave my views on the way out. Obviously I won't be giving future critical reports.

Why are you quoting my post solely? Have I offended you or something?

I wonder if TGT will be setting up tent in Dublin?

bear1 wrote:
    I wonder if TGT will be setting up tent in Dublin?

Doubt it but id love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,493 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Why are you quoting my post solely? Have I offended you or something?

Chill dude.Jesus.

kneemos wrote: »
    Chill dude.Jesus.

Right..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

A guy reviewing the series on Amazon seemed to tap into one aspect of why the show is failing. The shackles they worked with on the BBC actually helped them make a good show. The PC obsessed bosses were a perfect foil for Clarkson to do a little soft rebelling against, just enough to keep him in a job, but not enough to get him sacked. (Until he started physically assaulting people!)

Now with the free reign of the being online, they are actually trying to manufacture controversy where once they just stumbled into it. The gay ice cream joke was just so poor. A real example of how something which sounds half way funny on paper, goes down like a lead balloon in reality. And of course, it would never have been used on Top Gear.

Agricola wrote:
    Now with the free reign of the being online, they are actually trying to manufacture controversy where once they just stumbled into it. The gay ice cream joke was just so poor. A real example of how something which sounds half way funny on paper, goes down like a lead balloon in reality. And of course, it would never have been used on Top Gear.

We just say at that moment jese that was a brutle joke' and then never ever mention it again. If it made you laugh so be it. If your gay get over yourself it was a lame joke. Just don't dwell on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,994 ✭✭✭ironclaw

bazz26 wrote: »

For me I grew up on the show and my family actually worked on the TG show. I have JCs autograph. I suppose a slim part of me just wants the old formula back but for the first time tonight, at the end of the second part, I just stopped watching. It had become so scripted and 'Americanized' that I just couldn't be bothered. Its now a series about them and they are developing their characters, not the automotive content. Look at all the old reviews for the Ferrari Enzo, Carrera GT or the old challenges (SLR to the Nordic countries), and you had an enjoyable show with, as other poster pointed out, real controversy and challenges they fell into to. Its now so flat, its boring. Check out Doug DeMuro on YouTube for what JC once was, an entertaining but informative look at a car on a production budget of probably $50.

I don't want a completely scripted and very 'make believe' show. They aren't handy and don't repair the cars themselves, they didn't decide on a whim to go offroad on James recommendation and get stuck, and I don't see the point in a montage of building a cable car rig to drop a joke about not getting help, its pretty clear they were never going to make it, so why even generate a joke from it? Hammond didn't get shot, but not only is that 'joke' unbelievable to begin with, they continued it as supposedly he was knocked out so they got a helicopter to carry the car? :confused: The first part of the joke wasn't funny or believable, why car crash an additional punch line? The only 'real' bit was JC getting knocked over the parachute.

I'm sure some people love the show, fair play, but from a very promising episode one, its become truly awful. Same recipe, no innovation and playing nicely into the hands of JC's ego to be lewd. They can do better and I'd love to give them a second chance when they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,404 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Used to love the old TG. Tuned into this with an open mind. Watched episode 1 when it was released , a bit met.
    Watched episode 2&3 tonight, very disappointing. Didn't complete either episode, very false, framed, and forced. Might give it another go but overall very disappointing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

ironclaw wrote: »

I don't want a completely scripted and very 'make believe' show. They aren't handy and don't repair the cars themselves, they didn't decide on a whim to go offroad on James recommendation and get stuck, and I don't see the point in a montage of building a cable car rig to drop a joke about not getting help, its pretty clear they were never going to make it, so why even generate a joke from it? Hammond didn't get shot, but not only is that 'joke' unbelievable to begin with, they continued it as supposedly he was knocked out so they got a helicopter to carry the car? :confused: The first part of the joke wasn't funny or believable, why car crash an additional punch line? The only 'real' bit was JC getting knocked over the parachute.

The demolition of his house being another example. I read Clarkson's car bit in the paper on Sunday and he was actually saying that he lost a bet and had to let them knock his gaff down, as was agreed! Now he's homeless! :D

It seems like whereas as Top Gear often gave the viewer a sly wink... "Yes, we know this is bs, but just play along, its good tv" Now they have gone into movie making mode. They are actors playing characters and reading the lines of a script.

I imagine they have to go down this path more because they believe they have to pander to casual viewers / non petrol heads. As long as they have the odd interesting car focused episode, I'll keep a loose eye on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,050 ✭✭✭whizbang

This sums it all up for me...
    "Yes, we know this is bs, but just play along, its good tv"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

Now it's just bad...why continue the "this is what we built " tripe, why not just tell it like it is " we asked Krazy Kustoms to find three very different buggies for us and this is what they came up with"?
    Three days bumbling round the desert "looking for a road" with just a fish supper? This from a man who slapped a producer and called him " a lazy Irish c..." When he couldn't get a hot meal?, I don't think so... And as for the total nonsense of sleeping under the engine...
    And at least make some kind of effort at realism like sleeping bags etc in each buggy and Jerry cans strapped to the side even if they are empty, eg in the second special are we supposed to believe that JC produced a petrol can out of thin air every time his Rover needed fuel?
    To me they are not even trying, it's like they assume the viewer has a mental age of five, or is American... I switched off halfway through the second special..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,994 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Agricola wrote: »
    The demolition of his house being another example. I read Clarkson's car bit in the paper on Sunday and he was actually saying that he lost a bet and had to let them knock his gaff down, as was agreed! Now he's homeless! :D

No, the reality is he was very clever and got Amazon to pay for the demolition of his house. He was building a massive, new and very expensive house on the site of his old one. What better way to have it knocked thnt have the show you are making knock it over some afternoon at their cost? He actually got in huge problems with his neighbors as they only informed them the day before they did it and actually did some damage with the explosives.

Made for good TV, but once again, JC was just lining his own pockets.
    me they are not even trying, it's like they assume the viewer has a mental age of five

This is what gets me the most. Imagine in your job you were handed multiples of your budget, had access to anyone you could ever want, the best crew and a camera set up to rival Hollywood... And your produced the very same thing you did last year. You'd literally be cleared off your desk by 9:30 the next day.

Zoo4m8 wrote: »
    Now it's just bad...why continue the "this is what we built " tripe, why not just tell it like it is " we asked Krazy Kustoms to find three very different buggies for us and this is what they came up with"?
    Three days bumbling round the desert "looking for a road" with just a fish supper? This from a man who slapped a producer and called him " a lazy Irish c..." When he couldn't get a hot meal?, I don't think so... And as for the total nonsense of sleeping under the engine...
    And at least make some kind of effort at realism like sleeping bags etc in each buggy and Jerry cans strapped to the side even if they are empty, eg in the second special are we supposed to believe that JC produced a petrol can out of thin air every time his Rover needed fuel?
    To me they are not even trying, it's like they assume the viewer has a mental age of five, or is American... I switched off halfway through the second special..

I think you are reading way too much into it.
    The fuel is always in the crew car for them and it's been obvious for many years now.
    If they said that someone else built the car then you would have people complaining that they don't even build their own cars anymore.
    They don't build them alone but I couldn't care.
    It's an entertainment show which is based on cars, it is impossible to make a show where everyone loves it.
    I'd be curious to know what their fan base numbers are after their first season compared to the new top gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

It's the worst special they've done tbh.

Mc Love wrote: »
    It's the worst special they've done tbh.

I'd give that honour to the India special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

I'd give that honour to the India special.

It's close but I think the Namibia one edges it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Senecio

Obviously in the minority but I enjoyed the Namibia double episode special. I don't care that they don't build their own cars or whether they sleep under the engine or in a hotel room. I just accept it for what it is. Light hearted entertainment. I get my car fix elsewhere.

The special with the 3 trucks. Can't remember where it was but I think that was brutle altogether. The bridge building at the end was just awful

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

The special with the 3 trucks. Can't remember where it was but I think that was brutle altogether. The bridge building at the end was just awful

Burma? Didn't mind that one, tbh, though it was a little like the Indian one.

That's the Burma one.
    My favourite is the Argentina one followed by uganda/Botswana and Bolivia.
    Out of all of them the India one was just utter boredom.
    Middle East was a good one too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭edburg

Bolivia (Jungle 4x4 one) and Vietnam are my favourites, India and Middle east are my least favourite ones although Namibia lack of anything visually for the first part push's them close.

Main things I miss are the car vs public transport races/challenges, I really enjoyed them on old top gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭Top Dog

edburg wrote: »
    Main things I miss are the car vs public transport races/challenges, I really enjoyed them on old top gear.
    I miss those, along with the "buy a vehicle for £XXX and we'll give you a set of challenges" a lot of those were good fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 BabyGM146

Anyone watch today's yet? Personally, think it was one of the best yet. It felt to me much more like top gear of old than the others have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,041 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

BabyGM146 wrote: »
    Anyone watch today's yet? Personally, think it was one of the best yet. It felt to me much more like top gear of old than the others have

What was today's one? I think this series is over now already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭Top Dog

BabyGM146 wrote: »
    My wife can't stand Clarkson so I've to wait till she goes to bed before I can watch it :o

Nice to hear a positive review though :)