If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)

Leader Of The (Mid) Pack

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭ Annie get your Run

Was very jealous indeed to see my strava feed full of friends doing that inaugural! It's a nice spot, one to tick off the list if I get up over Christmas, especially if they use the XC course - could you run it in spikes?!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭ Wubble Wubble

Current version, overall I don't think so. Spikes would be fine on the grass, but then you're finishing the lap on the old country lane that runs from Abbotstown House past the back of St Francis Hospice and down to the Tolka. Even in runners, that road surface isn't great. I'm not certain how much of the XC course they plan to include in future. I'll be interested to see what they come up with nonetheless !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭ ReeReeG

You just reminded me I saw a young lad running Marlay parkrun last weekend in a pair of football boots, not quite the same as spikes but can't have been all that comfortable!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,027 ✭✭✭✭ Murph_D

I passed a fully grown man running in football boots at a BHAA cross country race once!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭ MY BAD

What was the effort for those 800s ? A mile probably isn't enough time for the body to get warmed up for 800s. I'd want a good 15 minutes minimum plus all the activations, drills, and strides. I know time can be a factor too.

Ha, I was planning to go to Abbotstown, but like you, time (ie getting out of bed) was a factor and I ended up in Fairview.

Thanks S, definitely not anywhere near flatout but a pretty decent effort level. Running out of light to do these sessions in the morning or evening, so lunchtime running is a last resort as regards sessions, with all the time constraints that brings. Not stretching enough is an ongoing thing with me - if I'm racing or running a hard parkrun I'll put a lot more time into them, otherwise not so much.

Nice one, I haven't been back to Fairview since their inaugural event. I may head there or to St Annes this week. If I can get organised early enough, that is 😁

• Registered Users Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭ Laineyfrecks

My sincere condolences on the passing of your uncle may he RIP. Good to hear your wife is in good spirits, a positive attitude goes a long way🤗

Well done on completing Clontarf, not always easy when there's other stuff going on.

Hopefully see you on Saturday 🎄🎅

Disciplined run there, J, well done. Passed the start area on the way out to St. Anne's and didn't envy the Clontarf runners with the cold wind.

Condolences on the loss. Wasn't aware of your wife's illness, hope all well. See you next week, hopefully!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭ diego_b

Sorry to head of your uncle's passing J, well done on you run and you ran a great time all considered.

Best wishes to your wife with her illness. I am hoping for better days for you and the family.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭ ariana`

Well done Jason. You knocked out a very solid run in what sounds like pretty awful conditions!

Condolences on the passing of your uncle, may he rest in peace. It sounds like he was a great inspiration to you. Running Dublin marathon in the 80s is pretty impressive, different times to today (excuse the pun!). Wishing your wife well.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭ scotindublin

Well done at the weekend J especially under the circumstances.

Hopefully catch up with you on Saturday.

• Registered Users Posts: 946 ✭✭✭ Lambay island

Well done. Fair play for making it out. Sorry to read about your loss.

I only decided to run myself at 07.30am that morn. I think I may have caught a fleeting glimpse of an MSB singlet , attached to a person with immaculate hair near the halfway turnaround🙂

Thanks for all your very kind words, really appreciated ! Wifey reads here from time to time, so I'm not the only one who sees them 😀

@ariana` yes vastly different being a marathoner in those days, a lot less people doing them, and the course was harder in the early days than the modern version. I'm pretty sure that was the only one he did. Of course I'd no idea at that time that over 30 years later I too would run a marathon, in another country !

Four days later, I still feel like I made the right call not to go chasing a fast time in Clontarf. Aside from the fact that I'm down to be "racing" again on Saturday, I couldn't justify it off so little quality training in recent times.

@Lambay island sorry I missed you. "Immaculate" is a rather generous description of my hair btw 😄

Still on course (kind of) for Jingle Bells. My first ever 5k, nine years ago today. Great that it's back on the old course - I might have a bit of momentum carrying me down the hill, if nothing else works out. See ye later.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭ Laineyfrecks

Lovely to finally meet & chat to you too, those curls are a thing of envy😉😊

• Registered Users Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭ scotindublin

Thanks for the kind words J, I think things ran pretty smoothly yesterday. If it was this morning it may have been a different story.

Ah thanks E, same to yourself 😀 this time I was a long way behind the elf. Five months work gone into the curls, nice to get a bit of recognition for my efforts 😄

Absolutely C, everything went seamlessly organisation wise from my own experience - the run was crap but of course that was nothing to do with ye.

Yes a 9:30 start this morning would have been very problematic - there was a lot of frost even around 9 when I finished my stint, so much so that I was telling anyone who I thought might listen to head for the trails. FWIW I doubt if the OPW would have been too favourably disposed to a request to delay the race. Glad we got better racing conditions!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭ MisterDrak

Cheers J, just catching up. Great to say Hello again...

I do agree that the course is a bit long (I had 3.15), and not the fastest either with the sharp turns etc. We were just showing a bit of love to the organisers up there as they are finding it difficult to attract runners each week...

Anyway we hope to get out to Poterstown (and say hello) in Jan for a Parkrun, with Fr Collins this week and probably Home run on Xmas Day...

Congrats on the 'mini milestone'. Re the Doyle Cup, I don't recall you stepping off before. Is that a first?