Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leader Of The (Mid) Pack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭eyrie

As regards races in general, I'm not expecting anything soon, even if the restrictions are lifted ahead of schedule. Connemara would be a bonus - I might run a virtual HM in the Phoeno on the day instead, if I can keep the training going.
    Virtual HM is not a bad idea at all actually, if we really are looking at no races for the rest of the year. I've heard people contemplate solo marathons which just seems like insanity to me (though fair play to anyone who can do it!) but a half actually sounds kind of appealing... We'll have to do something to keep ourselves going sure. :rolleyes:
    I've lost count of the amount of TV series my wife and I have got through since lockdown. The last dance was recommended but she just wouldn't be into it. Ozark has been a super series. Almost finished it.
    We just started Ozark here this weekend - very good so far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sam_Bowie

This was the man selected at No 2 in the 1984 NBA Draft, one place ahead of “His Airness”. A supreme talent in High School & College, it’s shows how cruel injuries can be. Jordan went onto be the Greatest while poor Sam suffered leg injury after leg injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Murph_D wrote: »
    Delighted to hear of the proposed changes for College Green and Dame Street. Hopefully the political will will be there to force them through in the face of the inevitable protests from the motorist and retailer lobbies. Although maybe the latter will finally see the light.

College Green pedestrianisation has been a legacy project for our Chief Exec for a number of years now. Smaller changes shouldn't encounter much opposition, if any, although there are some people for whom you can do nothing without them trying to pick holes in it.
    Watching The Last Dance here too, I find it absolutely inspirational. My one and only trip to NYC I was lucky enough to get to a Nicks game in Madison Square Gardens, cycled past United Center in Chicago but never got to a game there. Jordan is definitely an advanced version of human! What strikes me most about it is how decent and hardworking they all seem to be (Piston's aside!!!). Waiting for the next episode to air, tomorrow I think...

I've been to one NBA game, Magic v OKC in Orlando last year. It's a long standing ambition of mine to see the Bulls live in the flesh. Brother saw them in the United Center about 10 years ago. Maybe by the time I'm 50 they'll have a good team again :D

I've lost count of the amount of TV series my wife and I have got through since lockdown. The last dance was recommended but she just wouldn't be into it. Ozark has been a super series. Almost finished it.

As for the TT. I would not fancy a 6.40am go at a mile.

Haven't started Ozark yet. Wife heard mixed reviews, so it might be one of those that we start together and then one of us decides not to bother after a while. She won't watch Tiger King. I might get around to it, but haven't yet.
    I reckon it'll be hard for anyone to beat Lambay Island out of the scratcher for a mile TT start.
    healy1835 wrote: »
    would be up against it to break 6:40 at 6:40am :) Last Dance is amazing...there is a LOT more content out there about that period of Jordan's career, some of which paints parts of the doc in a different light. But I suppose to get Jordan on board and access to that footage they had to sacrifice a certain amount.

Yes, it's been well documented that a lot of the footage was approved by MJ. Surprising in the two episodes (7 & 8) that have aired since our posts, that they have shown a number of former teammates (Armstrong, Burrell, Kerr etc) and opponents who don't paint such a wonderful picture of him as a person.
    eyrie wrote: »
    Virtual HM is not a bad idea at all actually, if we really are looking at no races for the rest of the year. I've heard people contemplate solo marathons which just seems like insanity to me (though fair play to anyone who can do it!) but a half actually sounds kind of appealing... We'll have to do something to keep ourselves going sure. :rolleyes:

We just started Ozark here this weekend - very good so far!

100% agree regarding virtual HM. Regarding solo marathons, not sure if you've ever met Marthastew, who used to post around here a lot. She ran a marathon solo around South Dublin not long ago. She's paced a number of DCMs over the years actually - more than once she's been 4 hour pacer with her hubby.
    OOnegative wrote: »
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sam_Bowie

This was the man selected at No 2 in the 1984 NBA Draft, one place ahead of “His Airness”. A supreme talent in High School & College, it’s shows how cruel injuries can be. Jordan went onto be the Greatest while poor Sam suffered leg injury after leg injury.

There's been a program about the 1984 draft shown often on Sky the last two months. IIRC Sam was on crutches going up to the stage that day. An unfortunate portent of what was to come for him and Portland in particular, who decided they didn't need MJ having drafted Clyde Drexler the year before. Charles Barkley was 5th and John Stockton 16th, which gives you an idea of the incredible talent that was drafted in '84. 4th was Sam Perkins, a college teammate of Jordan's, who would play against him in finals for the Lakers and Sonics.

Briefly leaving TV, traffic and basketball musings aside...

Sat 9/5

I headed back to Porterstown for an attempt at a tricky enough pyramid session on the grass track. 200/400/600/800/600/400/200, with 200m jog recoveries. Warmup felt better than some of the other sessions, and checking Strava I had great pace on the pyramid upslope. 800 was very up and down. In general, I started strong but couldn't sustain my speed throughout the reps, regardless of distance, even the 200s. Still, I finished the session this time, so I was tired but happy going home.

Sun 10/5 - Rest

Mon 11/5 - Nothing. Hamstring still probably a bit tight after Saturday.

Tue 12/5 - Best intentions, but again no running. Horrendous night of little or no sleep. I felt mashed, as if I'd worked my way through half the drinks cabinet. Turn over. Leave it.

Wed 13/5
    - Porterstown again, for an easy two laps of the Doyle Cup XC course. Quick hello to Jmcmen shortly after I arrived. First lap felt straightforward, then gradually the level of discomfort was increasing. It got to a point where beside the throwing circle I'd had enough, as the hamstring was seizing up. I had to walk home. Lucky I didn't go with my original plan this morning, which could have left me over 3 miles away, out in Abbotstown plodding around the XC course.

Thu 14/5 - Rest

I think I'm just going to mind this one for a while. I'm hoping I will have recovered enough to be able to jump into the HM plan from the start (week after next). If not, I'll just step into whatever week we happen to be in. As regards the TT, I might be better off leaving it alone this time.

On the subject of races, I got an email informing me of the GIR being cancelled, and that I would be getting a refund. This now leaves only the Connemara HM standing. Still thinking it will be 2021 for that one, but things can change. It's not a major concern of mine, just something to look forward to for when races become a realistic possibility again. Look after yourselves. Thanks for reading. J.

Fri 15/5 - Sun 17/5 - Nowt

Mon 18/5 - "What do you know, it's 9 in a row!" Cheers C!

Tue 19/5 - No running, although I completed the Bulls nostalgia fest - very enjoyable, although as Horace Grant, and Scottie Pippen (through his agent) commented since, a lot more went on that wasn't even hinted at. That's a whole other discussion topic :D

Wed 20/5 - Fri 22/5 - Zilch, apart from a couple of walks, and a public transport journey (the novelty!) to collect the car from a service.

Sat 23/5

The club resumed activity this week, with physically distanced training sessions in Porterstown. Plenty of positive feedback on the WhatsApp anyhow - I didn't head across to witness it in action. Hopefully it will be a relatively short term solution.

Sun 24/5 - 1.53 miles @9:47/mi

Not quite a zero mile week, but that's the only good thing I could say about it. Back to Porterstown, for two easy paced laps of the Doyle Cup course. Barely started the first one, when the hamstring flared up again, so I pulled the plug and went straight home.
    I suppose it's not the worst time to be injured, although I had planned to start the Connemara HM plan from next week. About 100 in for the mile TT next week I think - one or two very "conservative" looking targets in there IMO :D Looking forward to seeing how ye get on. Thanks for reading. J.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

Sorry to hear you've injured J! Hopefully you won't be too long recovering.

Only finished The last dance myself the other night, really enjoyed it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Hopefully you are back soon J.

Lennys here for 10 in a row! Some turn around from the dark days of the early to late 90s!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Lambay island

Tue 19/5 - No running, although I completed the Bulls nostalgia fest - very enjoyable, although as Horace Grant, and Scottie Pippen (through his agent) commented since, a lot more went on that wasn't even hinted at. That's a whole other discussion topic :D

I can't warm to Michael Jordan at all. Quality player but bit of a d!ck IMO

Hope u recover soon.

Sorry to hear your laid up J, hope it’s not to bad. Think Scottie Pippen got a raw deal in The Last Dance, no doubting MJ’s greatness but 33 was always my favourite player.

Thanks all, glad to hear so many people watched The Last Dance. Up until now I had no idea that amount of people knew the Bulls even existed, let alone that they were so good. I actually played basketball in school, but to be honest I spent more time at the end of the bench than on the court. We won a cup in my LC year, with one of our lads scoring 50 of our 71 points :D

Sure it's always good to have something else to make you laugh or smile :pac:

Better than running for me lately anyhow. I got out for runs on eight of the first nine days in May, but the last of those, a pyramid session in Porterstown, brought on a hamstring injury which will keep me out for another while yet. It is of course annoying, but I'll be back training in plenty of time for any real live races.
    Apart from the Connemara HM, I see the Kilcock 10 is still there (August 16) but much as I enjoyed the previous two, I'll let that one sit for now. Last we heard ( 2-3 weeks ago?) from Slow Runner, Cocas weren't confident of it going ahead. While there have been a number of positive signs lately in relation to turning back in the general direction of normality, I would be amazed if that one were to get the nod. Like I say, I'd be delighted to be proven wrong!

Overall, I ran on 10 days in May, for a total of 43 miles. This brings me to 485, with 93 days activity from 152 through the five months. Hoping to jump into the HM plan in June. In the meantime, look after yourselves and enjoy the TT. Thanks for reading. J.

http://www.fiba.basketball/pages/eng/fa/statistics/p/sID/1389/tid/2135/_/1996_European_Championship_for_Junior_Men_Qualifying_Round/player-leaders.html

I played on the same school basketball team as Trevor Smullen, the man was an absolute genius on the basketball court. He is placed 9th on the above list of of the top Junior men in Europe in 1996. You’ll notice the name at 21, a lock to be an NBA Hall of Famer. You’ll also know he had a decent career on the GAA field representing Longford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

http://www.fiba.basketball/pages/eng/fa/statistics/p/sID/1389/tid/2135/_/1996_European_Championship_for_Junior_Men_Qualifying_Round/player-leaders.html

I played on the same school basketball team as Trevor Smullen, the man was an absolute genius on the basketball court. He is placed 9th on the above list of of the top Junior men in Europe in 1996. You’ll notice the name at 21, a lock to be an NBA Hall of Famer. You’ll also know he had a decent career on the GAA field representing Longford.

When’s the Connemara HM?

Best of luck with hamstring rehab

TbL

When’s the Connemara HM?

Best of luck with hamstring rehab

TbL

Cheers C, lucky with injuries so far.

September 27. For now.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 19,054 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Have you seen this? Some of the parents..!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,808 ✭✭✭skyblue46

How's the injury coming along J?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,768 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

How's it going. J - catching up on a few logs, including yours.

The Last Dance - definitely punches pulled there, I felt - smacked of too much control by MJ. His genius of course came through, but in a strange way. It seemed he wanted to feel he made all these other great players too, or something. And the teary moment at the end of episode 8 (I think?) just left me cold. I saw MJ play at least once in the Garden when I lived over there. Unforgettable. I was never a huge fan of the game (baseball was the only major American sport I warmed to), but I did enjoy the atmosphere at those Knicks games I was lucky enough to see.

I'd love to see a MJ documentary made from a neutral viewpoint. The footage in TLD was incredible though, and well worth the price of admission.

The Last Dance - definitely punches pulled there, I felt - smacked of too much control by MJ. His genius of course came through, but in a strange way. It seemed he wanted to feel he made all these other great players too, or something. And the teary moment at the end of episode 8 (I think?) just left me cold. I saw MJ play at least once in the Garden when I lived over there. Unforgettable. I was never a huge fan of the game (baseball was the only major American sport I warmed to), but I did enjoy the atmosphere at those Knicks games I was lucky enough to see.

I'd love to see a MJ documentary made from a neutral viewpoint. The footage in TLD was incredible though, and well worth the price of admission.

What would MJ be if he didn’t have Pippen, Grant, Kukjoc, Harper, Kerr, Longley, Rodman, Paxson? He no doubt would still have been the GOAT in basketball but no way he won 6 NBA titles without the others. If it’s slightly possible I lost a tad bit of respect for MJ over the TLD, as i stated previously Pippen is my all time favourite player, complete work horse either end of the court but MJ made him look like a mug!!!

Agree with all that. See above. ;)

I remember Smullen playing for Longford, and I knew he played basketball, but I'd no idea he was that good. Better than Nowitzki - I'd have that framed at home if I was him :D
    Dirk is a cert for Hall of Fame. I remember visiting Berlin in 2005, and there was a billboard of him covering the entire side of an office block. Delighted to see him winning his championship (and Finals MVP) with the Mavs in 2011 - only the second German to play in the NBA Finals, Detlef Schrempf being the first (for Sonics v Bulls, 1996).
    Have you seen this? Some of the parents..!

I had a look at the trailer. Unreal how kids at 7 are being so pushed so much. You see it here a lot too, unfortunately.
    skyblue46 wrote: »
    How's the injury coming along J?

I got that from TLD as well. Yet a lot of those players won championships before and after their time in Chicago. Hardly the mugs they were sometimes portrayed?
    In contrast, I've never really got into baseball at all, in spite of having a faraway eye on the NFL (Channel 4, Sunday evenings) and the NBA (who remembers Screensport?) since the mid 1980s.

Some lineup right there. Add Bill Cartwright (starter for the first threepeat) to that list. Harper and Grant would later reunite with Phil Jackson on championship winning Lakers teams. Kerr won two more championships as a player with the Spurs. Ironically, Pax's brother was one of the reasons Jordan wasn't drafted by Portland initially.

Scottie got a bad press from this. Kerr has since came out and said that the players supported Pippen in his decision to delay foot surgery till after the start of 97/98.
    Plus there was too much focus on the "1.8 seconds" when you consider that in that full season without MJ, Scottie finished third in MVP voting, leading the Bulls in scoring, assists, and blocks, as well as being second in the NBA in steals per game. What a player he was.

As for me, not much to report running wise. I haven't tried anything at all in ten days now. Next week or the week after, I'll start trying to build up again.
    The Connemarathon is still standing, although entries have been suspended since last week.

I haven't been around here as much either - a few work related tests were hanging over me for most of the weekend, and it wasn't till Monday lunchtime that I got those out of the way. Raging I had to miss the mile TT. It was a bit of craic with all the slaggings, and reading about all the great times. Sure ye even got TbL out of retirement! Fair play for organising - hopefully I'll be fit and able for the next one. My mile PB is terrible ( 6:03, June 2017! ) That was set in an Irish Runner Paced Mile on Chesterfield Avenue - down towards the Phoenix roundabout, 180 turn just before it, and back up. I was reminded of it when I noticed that eyrie did something similar, except she went the opposite direction.
    Anyway. Fingers crossed I'll be able to report on more running stuff soon. Thanks for reading. J.

I became more interested in basketball when my daughters started playing it. Even became a qualified table official!
    My mile PB is terrible ( 6:03, June 2017! ) That was set in an Irish Runner Paced Mile on Chesterfield Avenue - down towards the Phoenix roundabout, 180 turn just before it, and back up.

Yeah, that was a terrible course. I did one of that series and they gave me 5:54 - timed it myself at 5:59 though! You definitely have the sub 6 in you. Good luck whenever you get a chance.

I became more interested in basketball when my daughters started playing it. Even became a qualified table official!

- Sounds like plenty of admin, but a nice way of getting close to the action.

Yeah, that was a terrible course. I did one of that series and they gave me 5:54 - timed it myself at 5:59 though! You definitely have the sub 6 in you. Good luck whenever you get a chance.

Thanks D, it's definitely there if I ever get back to it. Trinity track races were scheduled for tomorrow, but probably just as well (for me) they have been cancelled. Still the closest I've ever been to winning one.

Well after two weeks plus of inactivity, I tentatively shuffled up to Porterstown for cross country laps. Relatively straightforward, although bizarrely I ended up with blisters. Imagine I tried some actual speed work :pac:

That was yesterday. This morning, I hadn't even got out of the estate when an old ITB injury (from pre DCM 2016!) started nagging me. F0ck this. Home with my tail between my legs - a walk down to the hotel and across to Porterstown didn't improve my mood much. Just when I thought I'd solved one problem, another appears. Maybe I'm better off taking a real extended period away from the roads, instead of playing whack a mole with niggles. Foam rolling was a necessary but painful deed after the walk.

In other news, Connemarathon has been postponed again. I can't say I'm surprised, but it's still a little bit disappointing. One step forward, two steps back indeed. It means I have no more races this year as it stands. Cross country may yet come to my rescue. Again.

I'm aware that we've still a fair bit to go as regards lifting of restrictions, with physical distancing of course being the biggest, but no harm having a bit of hope is there? :D Otherwise, we're grand, still WFH and no sickness.

Go dtí an chéad uair eile. Fan dearfach. J.

Sorry to hear of another set back for you J, very frustrating. Maybe now is the time to rest properly & hopefully sort the niggles. It's never an easy or welcomed decision to rest but sometimes it is for the best...

I'm sure you will make the best decision for yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭coogy

Oh dear, sorry to read this J. Hope that whatever it takes to get over this set-back will have you back on your feet in no time.

Ok, so after the best part of two weeks where my belly has been expanding rapidly, I'm back. I was tempted to post an update with just the words "I'm Back", but maybe a touch dramatic :pac: having visited Murph_D's Chicago marathon training update. For those that don't know, the marathon passes the United Center.

After using more Wurdled Cup reminiscing as an excuse to stay up late drinking beer, I was in far from perfect shape for a drive to Corkagh Park in Clondalkin. It's been the regular venue for the IKA Run For A Life for a number of years now. The IKA 10k was my first ever attempt at the distance, back in 2012, when the races were based in Parkwest. They now take place at a much more aesthetically pleasing location :)

Anyway, few stretches and off I shuffled. For extra authenticity, I followed the course route. Participants can run, jog or walk one, two or four x 2.5k laps. Even starting back after injury, I reckoned one lap would be cheating a bit. Very windy at the start of the lap, but I wasn't under a great deal of strain, even on the short hill about two thirds of the way through. Second lap much the same. Ideally I would have run the full 10k, but I didn't consider it worth the potential hassle at this stage of my "training". From the bottom of the hill to the finish, I was following a lad about the same pace as I was going. Speed up and pass him? Not today.
    5k in 25:41. That'll do. No major aches or pains.

You may have noticed from my Strava photos that the hair is a bit wild looking, although the cap hides a lot :pac: Thankfully, in another step back towards normality, I've made an appointment to get my hair cut, just 119 days after the last time that happened. The barber I'm visiting is a fellow marathoner, and a good Red. Surely to jaysis Liverpool will have won the league by the time we catch up :pac: one less thing to worry about, says he. Thanks for reading. J.

Mon 22/6 - Rest

Tue 23/6 - 4.84 miles @8:36/mi

Easy loop around by Laurel Lodge and Roselawn. It actually felt quite novel, having not run this route or its variants in the best part of two months.

Wed 24/6 - 4.52 miles @9:07/mi

I decided to add on about another half a lap to the usual two Doyle Cup XC laps in Porterstown. Brief catchup with a couple of Porterstown Panthers before shuffling home.

Thu 25/6 - At last! After 30 years, the Reds are champions again :D

Many's a time I doubted whether they would ever return to the glory days that I used to take for granted, growing up as a Red in 1980s Finglas. Rushie, King Kenny and Ronnie Whelan were my Liverpool heroes back then. coogy writes very well about all of this on his log - as we're the same age, quite a bit of it takes me right back. Ideally, I'd have liked to see them clinch it with fans present etc, but we can't have everything, especially these days ! No outdoor post match shenanigans for me, although one of the neighbours let off some fireworks within about 3 seconds of the final whistle in the Chelsea v Man City game. Plenty of celebratory beers later, I was off to bed a very happy man. Glorious. Allez Allez Allez. YNWA.

Fri 26/6 - Rest

Still had to get up for WFH at a reasonable hour, before more drinks in the evening :pac:

Sat 27/6 - 5.58 miles @8:33/mi

With Chesterfield Avenue still unavailable for parking purposes, I decided to run an alternative version of what's known in MSB circles as "Eugene's Lap". This time, I started and finished at the Hole In The Wall. This meant that the Khyber climb came in the third mile rather than the fourth. I hadn't been there since the start of restrictions, so between that and all the drink and junk food, it was a bit of a struggle, but I got there. Trail from Castleknock Gate around to finish. Overall, no major bother, delighted to be back running in PP. In the car park on the way out, by chance I bumped into a work running colleague, who told me that another regular BHAA teammate of ours (50s) had passed away recently. I hadn't even heard he was ill. Bit of a shock that.

Sun 28/6

Bit of a woolly head on me again this morning, as I drove across to St Catherine's Park. Just as I arrived at the car park, it started absolutely lashing. Of course, I didn't have a towel or jacket with me :rolleyes: Sod that for a game of soldiers. Maybe later.

Great to see some racing again, although it wasn't quite the glorious run that our Lazare thought he had, due to the course being short (turnaround point in the wrong place, apparently). Next time pal.
    However, it'll be another while yet before I'm back in the mix. I'm bleaten sick to death of the neverending stream of guff about social physical distancing restrictions, "noo normal", "reimagining" etc etc etc, (to the extent that I pretty much ignore the fearmongering MSM), but even so, as most of you know it's not just me here, therefore my antisocial running days might still have a good bit to go. Play the hand you're dealt and all that.

Oh did I mention Liverpool are CHAMPIONS ??!! Thanks for reading. J.

Enjoyed that update. If I hear "new normal" again I'll, well, I'll, I'll... (be irritated)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Enjoyed that update. If I hear "new normal" again I'll, well, I'll, I'll... (be irritated)

the 'not so new' new normal phrase agree it is very irritating though!

Noooooooooooooooo!

Up the pool :D YNWA

Mon 29/6 - 4.65 miles @8:29/mi

I got too comfy on the couch to bother going for a run on Sunday evening. This was a reenactment of my first ever D15 run, rather than returning to Catherine's. Dry this morning, even though it was still quite windy out.

Tue 30/6 - 3.92 miles @8:34/mi

I had intended to run Doyle Cup XC laps in reverse, on arriving at Porterstown. However, there was a sign up warning that rat poison had been laid down along the hedges, so I switched back to the parkrun course. One or two minor diversions subsequently, due to human and dog traffic. Pretty straightforward really.

May / June Review

Not too much to add to what for me was an injury hit two months. Just two sessions, the second of which (a Porterstown pyramid) sidelined me on and off for most of it. Thankfully, as I type, the last few runs have gone well, in the sense that I haven't been struggling before, during or after. It's not quite gone so well that I'm any way seriously contemplating a return to GAA (sorry Denis B :pac:) even though I believe there's several lads older than me still playing for the Junior Bs. That and the fact that I've only been away for five years :eek:

May Mileage: 43 (YTD 485)
    May Days Active: 10/31 (YTD 93/152)

June Mileage: 34 (519)
    June Days Active: 9/30 (102/182)

The Future Is What It Used To Be

We've gone a long time without any allusions on this log, if I say so myself :pac:
    I think I'm a bit more positive than most in relation to the pandemic. It's great to see so much of our economy reopening, and sporting activity gradually getting under way again, in addition to more and more people being active in general. Sure there's even been some racing recently ( Pop Up Races deserve to be specifically namechecked here IMO ) as sporting bodies examine ways to organise their events in as safe and responsible a manner as possible. Unfortunately, especially for those who love their post race feed, any delicacies are off the table (literally) under current guidelines.

I'd love to go to even one of these events soon, in spite of the strictly no frills structures in place as things stand. On the other hand, I'm very fortunate to be in my current position, and running solo is the best way I can maintain that while keeping active, for the time being at least. In the meantime, I note that I haven't been delisted from this Saturday's TT yet, so I might have a stab at it if things continue to go well this week. It'll make reading the thread and the reports more interesting, if nothing else :D
    In addition, the Cru have set up a virtual Docklands 5k from July 3-9. I know a few of the gang over there, and St James's Hospital are another beneficiary, so that's another one I might try. Beating my PB (19:43), set in the 2017 Docklands 5k, would be truly miraculous, so I'll be setting a far more realistic target for that one.

With all this in mind, I'm not really sure of the merits of updating this log weekly, unless I discover some new routes, or get back regularly to some of the more fun ones. I don't have anything to train for in the near future (Connemara HM now April 2021), although I am confident of a return to normality this year, in spite of all the negativity out there. Thanks for reading. Fan Slán. J.

Wed 1/7 - 6.41 miles @8:39/mi

Over to Phoenix Park for an early start from Castleknock Gate. A lot more traffic than I expected exiting the park at 7:15 AM. I enjoyed this one once I got going - trail to Knockmaroon Gate, then following the outer loop to Cabra Gate, and then from there it was trail running again, past the Hole In The Wall and Ashtown Gate, all the way back to the start. I also managed to complete my run and get back to the car shortly before the heavy rain arrived, so good work all round. I just discovered that, incredibly, this was my longest run since March 24 (6.79 miles in Glasnevin and Finglas).

Sat 4/7 - Boards 10 Min TT, Phoenix Park

I had a couple of rest days, having run three days in a row prior, with this event in mind. Having had my first haircut in four months yesterday, I hoped I could get some of the old speed back too. Two weeks ago I wouldn't have dreamed of trying this, but I decided I might as well. Easy enough warmup and strides, with some stretching in there too. I chose a variation on the Tom Brennan triangle for my route, hoping that the breeze on the Furze would bring me home. Target: 2,501 metres.

Chesterfield Avenue

Off I went from the junction of Chesterfield and Furze, towards the Mountjoy (Castleknock) roundabout. Unusually, I did a fair bit of clock watching, and even though I could see a lot of 5:xx there, I was finding it too hard to slow down, hard to believe as that may be. I wanted to have a few seconds in hand for the next section, and I think I at least managed that part, covering 0.4 miles in 2:42.

Ordnance Survey Road

Even here, I was feeling the heat from an over ambitious opening. Running into the breeze was an added hindrance. Before I'd even passed OSI, I was out of gas, and already the next turn seemed a long way away. Train to your current level of fitness, also set realistic targets :rolleyes: 3:45 for this section, so 6:27 with a little under a mile completed, and hence, already slipped behind target pace.

Furze Road

Used as the finishing straight for the majority of Phoenix Park races, I've found over the years that it can work for you both ways. On a good day, with the breeze behind you and finishing strong, you're passing people for fun with the gantry rapidly approaching, and I tell ye it's brilliant when it works that way.

This was one of the other days.

Even with a slight breeze behind me, I was dead on my feet. With nobody to chase, and no gantry away in the distance, I was thinking "Why am I even bothering with this?" It just felt like torture, and instead of speeding up as I would normally do in the closing stages of a race, I was slowing rapidly - as low as 7:19/mi at one stage according to Strava. Through the first bollards. 400m from there to the second bollards. I barely cleared them, finally stopping at the benches a little bit further on.

2,349 metres - a shocking 152 metres off target. In fact, I was so slow on the Furze, that I actually ran that segment quicker in a 10k last year, when I wasn't even racing. That was as part of the ARC Cancer Support 10k, when I had Skyblue pacing me through a HMP tempo effort. Appalling. Maybe it's due to that stubborn part of me, that I didn't revise my target downwards. I would have needed to average 6:25/mi to hit my target. 6:51/mi was today's overall average. Desperate.

Next

I signed up for the Docklands Virtual 5k. 20:30 is probably overly ambitious too, especially as it would be a parkrun PB of sorts - I'm planning to run it in Porterstown. Nothing else too taxing in the meantime. Thanks for reading. Fan Slán. J.