Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭jcd5971

christ i cant wait for this fight to be over just so the boxing lads feck off back to their own bloody forums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 DerrickL

Pressure is on Floyd to win and for Conor not to get embarrassed. They are two different types of pressures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Gintonious wrote: »
    Laughable statement.

Look at the calibre he has beaten and under what set of circumstances, how is he under more pressure than Conor in this?

Everyone expects Conor to lose. In that respect there's no pressure on Conor because if he loses he performed right up to expectations.

Everyone expects Floyd to win and advance to 50-0. If he loses and ends up 49-1 against someone who isn't a boxer, he'll never live it down. Not to mention he'd lose tens of millions he had earmarked from the 50-0 merchandise.

I'm not saying anything controversial here, most people agree Conor has nothing to lose and the pressure is on Floyd to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭jcd5971

Everyone expects Conor to lose. In that respect there's no pressure on Conor because if he loses he performed right up to expectations.

Everyone expects Floyd to win and advance to 50-0. If he loses and ends up 49-1 against someone who isn't a boxer, he'll never live it down. Not to mention he'd lose tens of millions he had earmarked from the 50-0 merchandise.

I'm not saying anything controversial here, most people agree Conor has nothing to lose and the pressure is on Floyd to win.

wonder maybe dont try arguing with every boxing guy who comes in here and they might get bored and go away, besides i prefer your more insightful posts not this ****e hawking.

jcd5971 wrote: »
    wonder maybe dont try arguing with every boxing guy who comes in here and they might get bored and go away, besides i prefer your more insightful posts not this ****e hawking.

Yeah sorry man. I suppose it doesn't read too well but to be fair it's going to be a very-boxing-oriented thread for 2 months given he's gonna be boxing!

John said on the MMA Hour that Conor is releasing some photos later of who he sparred with and it'd be impressive. Wonder who it was.

In the first Diaz fight we learned that Conor training under Kavanagh and sparring with Artem etc wasn't enough against a fighter with boxing experience.

For the second fight McGregor brought in Connor Wallace and boxing coach Owen Murphy. Considering it was a close result, we can say the presence of those two guys edged it.

In line with John's "win or learn" philosophy, surely there is a lesson to be learned there? ie that John, the SBG coaches and sparring partners are way out of their depth when it comes to boxing. Conor needed outside help and it took a loss for them to swallow their pride and bring it in.

But now they have forgotten that lesson entirely. Going in against Mayweather with John in the corner and Artem as sparring partner is hubris in the extreme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

In the first Diaz fight we learned that Conor training under Kavanagh and sparring with Artem etc wasn't enough against a fighter with boxing experience.

For the second fight McGregor brought in Connor Wallace and boxing coach Owen Murphy. Considering it was a close result, we can say the presence of those two guys edged it.

In line with John's "win or learn" philosophy, surely there is a lesson to be learned there? ie that John, the SBG coaches and sparring partners are way out of their depth when it comes to boxing. Conor needed outside help and it took a loss for them to swallow their pride and bring it in.

But now they have forgotten that lesson entirely. Going in against Mayweather with John in the corner and Artem as sparring partner is hubris in the extreme.

He took the first fight on 2 weeks and had been preparing for a guy with a shorter reach than himself.

I'm sure if they were game planning for Diaz from the beginning they would have brought in rangier sparring partners.

1. I don't think we learned that at all. I think the lesson from the first Diaz fight was that Conor can't go head-hunting with every shot and try keep up that ridiculous pace, especially at 170lbs.

2. The fact he brought in Conor Wallace shows that they will do all they can to bring in the right people for specific opponents they feel warrant it.

3. Again, Conor didn't "need outside help" for Nate - in terms of coaching.

4. But they are bringing in elite boxers for sparring. Owen and John have both said as much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Conor is the one saying he will beat him etc, 49-1 and all that carry on. He might have nothing to lose but doesn't mean the pressure automatically goes onto Floyd. Even if it did, Floyd has been there and done that under the lights, the pressure isn't a factor for him.

Lukker- wrote: »
    He took the first fight on 2 weeks and had been preparing for a guy with a shorter reach than himself.

Diaz also took the fight on 2 weeks also. Albeit not even preparing for a fight.
    I'm sure if they were game planning for Diaz from the beginning they would have brought in rangier sparring partners.

I don't think so, because it was only after the loss that John 'learned' that specific sparring partners were a good idea. Before that fight he would say that they didn't need gameplans or fight-specific training in SBG. It took him the loss to learn something that is common sense to every other camp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

1. I don't think we learned that at all. I think the lesson from the first Diaz fight was that Conor can't go head-hunting with every shot and try keep up that ridiculous pace, especially at 170lbs.

Probably more so that he can't go head hunting against someone who's last name is Diaz and is known for being able to take an unnatural beating and not really flinch.

I still reckon most other fighters at "170" (It wasn't a true 170 fight) wouldn't take as much punishment, bar Lawler and possibly one or two others.

That fight was essentially a LW fight, and I'd say pretty much none of them would take the same hiding and stay standing, much less come back and win.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

I notice hes thrown out a few images of him sparring orthodox tonight, pre fight games begin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 DerrickL

Gamebred wrote: »
    I notice hes thrown out a few images of him sparring orthodox tonight, pre fight games begin.

Judging by those photos he will be wearing Reebok

Northern Irish amateur boxer Tiernan Bradley posted he has signed a contract to be one of Conor's 3 sparring partners for the next 2 weeks.

2 amatuers, Floyd crapping his jocks.

I think it makes sense to gradually escalate the level of sparring over the next 7 weeks. He needs to try get his range and timing down first, then tackle better sparring partners.

Also, the fact Tiernan signed a contract to just spar for 2 weeks is telling here. You'd have to imagine there's some sort of confidentiality/non-disclosure agreements in place.

I think it makes sense to gradually escalate the level of sparring over the next 7 weeks. He needs to try get his range and timing down first, then tackle better sparring partners.

Also, the fact Tiernan signed a contract to just spar for 2 weeks is telling here. You'd have to imagine there's some sort of confidentiality/non-disclosure agreements in place.

Yeah true bringing in most pro's they will go van heeren style probably and try get a name, anyways I dont think if he had prime Pernell Whitaker helping him could he win but how and ever.

It's too important a fight to be trusting any big-names for sparring without signing detailed contracts that forbid them from leaking footage or just trying to kill him lol.

For example, if Amir Khan offered to spar Conor you can be sure he'd try prove a point and take his head off.

Must be hard to get guys in who actually want to help Conor not hurt him.

I'll say one thing, it beats sparring Ar-tem, wonder if he got the mma goat (Pendred) into the gym to help him spar for this excellent boxer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

That'll be getting painted over pretty sharpish on August 27th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Richy06

I'll say one thing, it beats sparring Ar-tem, wonder if he got the mma goat (Pendred) into the gym to help him spar for this excellent boxer.

Do you want some salt and vinegar for that huge chip on your shoulder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Richy06 wrote: »

He's actually one of the biggest Conor fanboys you could imagine... He's just being a realist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Why don't you ask John?

Not sure what made you bite exactly, the ar-tem or Pendred comment? they are 2 of the toughest dudes in the game with heart you cant buy and have excelled way beyond their abilities through hard work but offer zero to Conor other than being a punchbag training for Floyd, 2 new lads brought in are actually boxers which is a start not that it will make any odds.

cloudatlas wrote: »
    Why don't you ask John?

Ask him what? .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Ask him what? .

Your questions about Conor's sparring partners.

cloudatlas wrote: »
    Your questions about Conor's sparring partners.

I dont have any, I know the lad he brought in is an amatuer I was just stating a fact, the other guy is 22-21 professional punch bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Richy06

Not sure what made you bite exactly, the ar-tem or Pendred comment? they are 2 of the toughest dudes in the game with heart you cant buy and have excelled way beyond their abilities through hard work but offer zero to Conor other than being a punchbag training for Floyd, 2 new lads brought in are actually boxers which is a start not that it will make any odds.

What made me bite? I just love the smell of chips, mate.

Funny how you keep bringing Cathal up. He's been retired, what, a year or more now? I can point you to a few other dead horses to flog, if you like?
    Artem is one of Conor's best mates, do you think he was just gonna not bother helping here?

Do you HONESTLY think he's the main/only sparring partner for Conor, or was it just another opportunity for a pointless dig?

What made me bite? I just love the smell of chips, mate.

Funny how you keep bringing Cathal up. He's been retired, what, a year or more now? I can point you to a few other dead horses to flog, if you like?
    Artem is one of Conor's best mates, do you think he was just gonna not bother helping here?

Do you HONESTLY think he's the main/only sparring partner for Conor, or was it just another opportunity for a pointless dig?

Keep bringing him up :o its a running joke on here relax yourself Richard,

He could bring in anyone as I said makes no odds hes way out of his depth, as you know.