Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sure-Fire Signs That an area is Rough

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Poor grammar is the clincher, everybody saying ' done' and 'seen' and 'went' instead of 'did' an 'saw' and 'gone'.

That, and a gathering of dogs cocking their legs over produce stacked outside Minimarket doors.:eek:

Nah, as an English teacher, I can tell you that errors like those are pretty universal. In Ireland anyway.

They're not really good examples of poor grammar anyway, as the speaker's meaning is still clear.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,287 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Nah, as an English teacher, I can tell you that errors like those are pretty universal. In Ireland anyway.

They're not really good examples of poor grammar anyway, as the speaker's meaning is still clear.

I'll not drag this thread of topic, but the speaker's meaning has nothing to do with the usage of proper grammar.

I think you will find that the propensity to speak in the manner I have outlined is more prevelant in what the OP describes as "rougher areas".

I'll not drag this thread of topic, but the speaker's meaning has nothing to do with the usage of proper grammar.

I think you will find that the propensity to speak in the manner I have outlined is more prevelant in what the OP describes as "rougher areas".

That's exactly what grammar is about. A system of structures to convey meaning. The less "grammared" an utterance, the less intelligible it is.