Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Even more adverts you despise

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

The weather on RTE is preceeded again by the girl coming out of the hairdressers whose hair is RUINED by a gust of wind in the 2 seconds it takes her to get to her car.
    Not withstanding that your hair wouldn't be that bad if you fell 300 feet off a mountain into a pile of leaves, but the hairdressers are currently CLOSED, so it's a bit of a slap in the face!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,073 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Posy wrote: »
    The weather on RTE is preceeded again by the girl coming out of the hairdressers who's hair is RUINED by a gust of wind in the 2 seconds it takes her to get to her car.
    Not withstanding that your hair wouldn't be that bad if you fell 300 feet off a mountain into a pile of leaves, but the hairdressers are currently CLOSED, so it's a bit of a slap in the face!

Equally the clip before the Angelus is doing my head in . A woman painting a scene on a packed , happy , mask free Grafton Street ., You would think they could put something a bit more relevant to the times on

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Equally the clip before the Angelus is doing my head in . A woman painting a scene on a packed , happy , mask free Grafton Street ., You would think they could put something a bit more relevant to the times on

You want some sort of constant reminder of this? Why?

It's bad enough having to live through this miserable sh*tshow let alone revising productions to bring that in line too.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,073 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

ligerdub wrote: »
    You want some sort of constant reminder of this? Why?

It's bad enough having to live through this miserable sh*tshow let alone revising productions to bring that in line too.

No i dont actually . I said relevant to the times , i didnt say I would like masked scenes . Maybe a nice woodland scene or beach scene or a landscape . In fact the clip of Grafton street in former years reminds me of the situation we are in when I see it

• Registered Users Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Tim76

Jaysus, the "just a snog" Maltesers ad is back - haven't the people of Ireland suffered enough!

Can anyone tell me who the lady is on the Tommy Teirnan Show advert? In a red dress saying that she needs to be very secretive? Her voice drives me up the wall.

• Registered Users Posts: 519 ✭✭✭tv3tg4

Ladbrokes and paddy Power ads.
    Gambling ads should be banned including the national lottery

• Registered Users Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Can anyone tell me who the lady is on the Tommy Teirnan Show advert? In a red dress saying that she needs to be very secretive? Her voice drives me up the wall.

AFAIK, she is a high class woman of the night from USA

• Registered Users Posts: 17,869 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

tv3tg4 wrote: »
    Ladbrokes and paddy Power ads.
    Gambling ads should be banned including the national lottery
    I have never seen a companies advertising campaigns inspire hatred for a brand as much as Ladbrokes, they are absolutely vile.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

Any ad shown on Irish TV with a British voice saying "The nation's favourite cereal", "Protecting the nation's hands for generations", "Where the nation bets" (I think this one is the vile Ladbrokes again).

Which nation would that be lads? I'm not some mad Brit-hater, far from it, but this really brings out my inner Republican!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Sam Hain

An over opinionated harlot, I'd guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

Kate McGrew, sex worker and activist. Agree re the voice.

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/i-am-not-a-criminal-or-a-victim-i-am-a-sex-worker-1.1983583?mode=amp

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

AFAIK, she is a high class woman of the night from USA

High class in what sense?

In my opinion the market of men willing to pay to have sex with her must surely be miniscule.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

ligerdub wrote: »
    High class in what sense?

In my opinion the market of men willing to pay to have sex with her must surely be miniscule.

Well she told me that was her USP when I booked her

The Three ad is back where the role of the man in the family has been demoted to silent seat warmer.

I'm assuming he cooked the dinner, I doubt the little fella did it unless they're just having garlic bread.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭Immortal Starlight

I think she looks like Sarah Jessica Parker’s long lost sister. Sex And The City part two.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Shes an escort, not the four wheeled variety.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

" would you mind putting on your seat belt......would YOU mind putting on your mask pr1ck.....:eek::rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 15,753 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I do enjoy Colm Meany having a go at TT and wearing that stupid hat indoors, it must be super glued to his head. It's probably a designer yoke but it looks like a homeless lad's cast off.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Speakerboxx

Stupid Ryanair ad vax and go. They have some nerve to advertise that nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭crazy 88

I think this is the reaction they're looking for. Free publicity.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,276 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

I do enjoy Colm Meany having a go at TT and wearing that stupid hat indoors, it must be super glued to his head. It's probably a designer yoke but it looks like a homeless lad's cast off.

It's the usual 'lad doesn't want people to know he's going bald' thing. See also 'spiking up hair' (also used by the guy's who's barely 5ft tall to look taller) and the now redundant (and mocked) combover.

If you've lost your hair (like I did around 20/21) just shave it off.

(Though I still have to use a shampoo, a special medicated one-it's for a small patch of psoriasis over my ear. Didn't even get the benefits of saving money on shampoo).

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭lertsnim

tv3tg4 wrote: »
    including the national lottery

That make someone happy song they use does the opposite when I hear it on that Lottery ad.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,186 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I like the idea that it's pushing, either the vaccines work or they don't, we can't stay in our caves forever, life is full of risk. Apparently the ad finished yesterday and won't be shown again.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

crazy 88 wrote: »
    I think this is the reaction they're looking for. Free publicity.
    They never had an advertising budget until recently. O'Leary would just cause an outrage and they were in every newspaper, hey presto.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,133 ✭✭✭plodder

I like the idea that it's pushing, either the vaccines work or they don't, we can't stay in our caves forever, life is full of risk. Apparently the ad finished yesterday and won't be shown again.
    I liked it too. Though you normally have to take anything Ryanair says with a pinch of salt, the fact you can rebook at no cost if things don't work out, kind of makes sense imo.

plodder wrote: »
    I liked it too. Though you normally have to take anything Ryanair says with a pinch of salt, the fact you can rebook at no cost if things don't work out, kind of makes sense imo.

Yes but good luck with trying to get a refund.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,574 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Tesco mobile with those two people sitting on a bench

They never had an advertising budget until recently. O'Leary would just cause an outrage and they were in every newspaper, hey presto.

They still do that in fairness. Not so much through O'Leary these days though. They have had some other O'Leary clone doing interviews on the radio recently spouting anti lockdown propaganda and how full planes would be no problem

• Registered Users Posts: 379 ✭✭hkjohn

Any Xmas TV ad from the last - ooooh - ten years

Voice over (To be read in a smug, oleaginous voice with the occasional annoying chuckle thrown in)

Now that Christmas has vanished from TV screens for another year

Let's hopefully bid farewell to rhyming ads while shedding nary a tear.

Irritating in the extreme and invariably full of ****e,

Such scripts have viewers hoping on hope for a silent night.

The incompetent copywriters' default way of filling the air

They leave vaguely sentient folks like me ripping out our hair.