Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

optogirl wrote: »
    jaysus. if that was the other way round it just wouldn't be on TV. It would be on Dr Phil

But then it would be on TV :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭optogirl

Elmo wrote: »
    But then it would be on TV :pac:

Ok I need more coffee :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Dickie10 wrote: »
    the ad where the child is voiceover for a car ad. "im 36 married,two kids and still very hamdsome..." ah fcuk off ya smarmy cnut. "just about to go to my biggest meeting of my life... puke

"2 hours away from the biggest meeting of my life".... and he's out rallying the car around a quarry. Don't know what business you are in mate but if there's an extremely important meeting coming up, most professionals are in the office preparing for it instead of dick acting with their car.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,877 ✭✭✭Dickie10

but hes only 36 still handsome married with two kids he has all this shiit under control! hes going letting off steam man, work and play are intrinscly linked now dont you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

but hes only 36 still handsome married with two kids he has all this shiit under control! hes going letting off steam man, work and play are intrinscly linked now dont you know.

They should do a follow up advert where the important meeting turned out to be informing him of his redundancy - "I might be crippled with debt and unemployed, but now I have all the time in the world to leather the car around dirt roads. Huzzah!" :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

The Bord Bia pork ads. The way that dude says "pork" annoys the fcuk out of me. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 350 ✭✭Auld Jim Halpin

Ohhh I detest nearly all ads but what pisses me off at the moment is not any specific ad but the sudden increase in volume when the ad breaks start. I don't think they should be allowed to do that, it's very intrusive. I sometimes hear ads when I'm not even in the same room as the telly. Something for BAI to sort out perhaps?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

Ohhh I detest nearly all ads but what pisses me off at the moment is not any specific ad but the sudden increase in volume when the ad breaks start. I don't think they should be allowed to do that, it's very intrusive. I sometimes hear ads when I'm not even in the same room as the telly. Something for BAI to sort out perhaps?

I thought I imagined that increase in volume when the ads come on, glad I'm not alone.

Center Parcs (sp) add epic brillientist. Want to give that little **** a slap. God help me if mine get to that age and are that annoying. I'll put them down myself :D

• Registered Users Posts: 32,379 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

increase in volume when the ad breaks start. I don't think they should be allowed to do that, it's very intrusive.
    I read years ago that they use sound engineering trickery so technically they tweak it so it sounds as loud as possible but are still within the same max limits. I think some TVs can automatically drop the sound.

I would like this for some action films, whispering away one minute, waking up the neighbours with a machine gun the next.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭p to the e

Speak for yourself. A major problem in this country is alcohol abuse and anything that can deter people from drinking is a positive step. I don’t drink and can find it hard to get alcohol free drinks on the rear occasion I go out, I’d gladly drink Heineken free after having a few on Xmas day (I drove home afterwards).
    There's only so much water you can drink and the wildly expensive soft drinks are far too sweet, rot every tooth in your head. If you don't like it, whatever, other people do.

These two usernames sticking up for alcohol free beer. Delicious irony

• Registered Users Posts: 10,694 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Goes without saying, the "Just Eat" ads. All the neighbours waiting to find out what yer wan ordered;

"Cheesy nachos"

"OOOOOOHHH"

• Registered Users Posts: 9,735 ✭✭✭lertsnim

I really hate those Claudia Winkleman head and shoulders ads. Everything about her annoys me.

rubadub wrote: »
    I read years ago that they use sound engineering trickery so technically they tweak it so it sounds as loud as possible but are still within the same max limits. I think some TVs can automatically drop the sound.

I would like this for some action films, whispering away one minute, waking up the neighbours with a machine gun the next.

Anyone got a decibel-o-meter to test that theory, I'm pretty sure the volume does increase, I find myself reaching for remote as soon as ad break starts. Or when I am in another room I can hear TV in the other room, couldn't say what is on but when ad break starts I can hear each annoying ad quite clearly.

And while I'm here that feckin' AIB ad with the Blur song, the one that sounds like a kids windup toy matched to the lights coming on in the window, Come on,come on, come on, love's the greatest thing . . ., that will be ear worm song for days. (Was a great song until they ruined it for me, the bastards!)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

The Dacia Duster ad.

Leaving aside the brutalising of the Ghostbusters theme, and I can almost understand the man in the first vignette in his pyjamas and robe.

But why the woman coming out of the fetish shop? Why?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭brianregan09

The sad ads about drink drivers and the new one about the learner driver , for **** sake are they going to have an advertisement for every type of person who can kill you in a car accident now? Maybe they'd be better off putting the money into a secondary school based car education like they have in the USA instead of dragging those people's poor lives all over the television consistently every day, I mute it every time I hear it coming on

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

It's probably been mentioned already, but that Halifax Ghostbusters ad really annoys me.

I just don't like that Halifax employee :mad::mad::mad:

newbie11 wrote: »
    New AIB loan ad with the bunkbeds, didn't think it would be possible but it's more annoying than the treehouse one

Anyone catch the kids name in this terrible AIB bunk-beds ad?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

RMAOK wrote: »
    It's probably been mentioned already, but that Halifax Ghostbusters ad really annoys me.

I just don't like that Halifax employee :mad::mad::mad:

There's a special place in Hell for whoever comes up with those Halifax ads and their particular brand of corporate cheer.

A mate of mine did contract work at Halifax, might even have been head office, and they had cardboard cutouts of yer man Howard Brown everywhere, and survey questions like "Do you agree with the statement that Halifax advertising makes the world a better place?"

I might have made that particular question up of course, but IIRC it was genuinely that sort of thing, and the cutouts were very much real.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,229 ✭✭✭jellybear

Anyone catch the kids name in this terrible AIB bunk-beds ad?

Lucas and Kai. Awful ad!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,958 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Those McDonald's ads showing all the stingy people are getting on my wick. Rubber glove as a swimming cap? The joke's getting old.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,379 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Speedsie wrote: »
    But why the woman coming out of the fetish shop? Why?
    they are getting with the times, well 20 years too late, but trying to do the old "sex and the city" strong independent women having no qualms walking out of a porn shop with several bag loads of vibrators & crotchless whoresuits. Maybe the target market for the dacia are perverts, well female pervs, they would never dare switch sexes and show a lad who similarly looked like a librarian leaving sex shop with bags presumably full of filth.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Immortal Starlight

The Lloyds Pharmacy ads have gotten even worse. I'm pregnant yeeeeeesssss! What a demented moron.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,294 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

The Lloyds Pharmacy ads have gotten even worse. I'm pregnant yeeeeeesssss! What a demented moron.

That and the new adverts for 'Ireland's got Talent' are f**king melting my brain with how f**king terrible they are.

I think 'Lucy Kennedy flossing' is the worst of it-but the Jason Byrne dance double is probably one of the cringe moments too.
    Screw it, it's all painful.

This twat is baaaaaaack!

https://www.adsoftheworld.com/media/film/cadbury_hunt_the_white_creme_egg

The white Creme Egg hunt only applies in the UK so no £10,000 prize here for finding one, without the cash prize the sight of that white chocolate Creme Egg turns my stomach!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,735 ✭✭✭lertsnim

This twat is baaaaaaack!

https://www.adsoftheworld.com/media/film/cadbury_hunt_the_white_creme_egg

The white Creme Egg hunt only applies in the UK so no £10,000 prize here for finding one, without the cash prize the sight of that white chocolate Creme Egg turns my stomach!

It wont stop disgusting pigs opening creme eggs with no intention of buying them.

• Registered Users Posts: 244 ✭✭Pythagorean

awww that awful Mercedes A class ad. the guy sounds about 24 like a student with a mid atlantic accent, "its awwwasome just like u" you open the car with your phone, why??? look up a good restaurunt in the car? why? you can do that on your phone? are u just going to buy this merc to sit on it and look stuff up on your phone?

Agreed, that AAAWWSSSome is extremely annoying, but have you heard the new ad for the Suzuki Vitara, same toxic little b****x spouting garbage in a voice of rising excitement. AAAANNNNooying :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭sitkaspruce

That and the new adverts for 'Ireland's got Talent' are f**king melting my brain with how f**king terrible they are.

I think 'Lucy Kennedy flossing' is the worst of it-but the Jason Byrne dance double is probably one of the cringe moments too.
    Screw it, it's all painful.

Jason Byrne is as stealing a living. Hes as funny as the clap.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,294 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Jason Byrne is as stealing a living. Hes as funny as the clap.

I don't anyone on that show could genuinely claim to be talented.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

lertsnim wrote: »
    It wont stop disgusting pigs opening creme eggs with no intention of buying them.

I've wondered because of that is the winning egg more likely to be a multi pack or in an Easter Egg set.