Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline thread 28/09/16 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

RobertKK wrote: »
    The ISEQ is up near 2%.

Joe...the stock markets are down.

DON'T YOU BE GIVIN' ME ANY OF YER AULD GUFF FACTS.

I missed the show but assume it's the podcast is a "must-listen to" episode?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

I missed the show but assume it's the podcast is a "must-listen to" episode?

There is no real misery in it apart from the host:D and the death is only people sick to death of the murican elections at this stage

foggy_lad wrote: »
    There is no real misery in it apart from the host:D and the death is only people sick to death of the murican elections at this stage

Any Lahv Lahn Comedy Gold?
    Any Joe outbursts?
    It sounded like he was schooled from readin' de thread and dat........

Any Joe outbursts?
    Multiple attacks on the media and RTE but Joe was surprisingly constrained.

I think I did hear some tooth-grinding at one stage, and when one caller mentioned Joe's Trinner years, there were definitely some straining noises close-up to the mic, but maybe Yew had just put Joe on the potty.

Any Joe outbursts?
    It sounded like he was schooled from readin' de thread and dat........
    one guy who was in trinners with Joe and got a real degree instread of some farty arse arts degree handed Joe his arse and most of his bolllix over Joe's and RTE's biased coverage and reporting of the candidates:D

I almost had a flight booked to paradise for the Canaries to calm him down but he did that himself by blocking all the mouthy male callers and he stuck to quiet girls he could bully and grope:)

Multiple attacks on the media and RTE but Joe was surprisingly constrained. I think I did hear some tooth-grinding at one stage, and when he mentioned Joe's Trinner years, there were definitely some straining noises close-up to the mic, but maybe Yew had just put him on the potty.

Hmmm I did think a "plug" had been pulled!

Donald-Trump-Butt-Plug-Made-by-Fernando-Sosa-2015-image-via-all3dp-865x577.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Nothing really IMO. One fella had a go at Joe about the Clinton bias in RTE, Joe got very defensive but it petered out a bit.

He was in Trinity with Joe incidentally. Apart from that mostly people ringing from the Hugh-S-Ay, most were pro Trump.

Joe managed to grit his teeth through it. He didn't lose it.

On the betting on Trump..... I'd be interested in putting a few Bob on Trump not completing his 4 years for whatever reason. Wonder is anybody offering odds on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,396 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

But she stood by Bill when he got blowies from an intern.

"That Tammy Wynette song".Anyway let's be positive for Hilary,she won't have to sit at the desk in the Oval office that Monica knelt under:p:P

Red Kev wrote: »
    On the betting on Trump..... I'd be interested in putting a few Bob on Trump not completing his 4 years for whatever reason. Wonder is anybody offering odds on that.

Put your money on the Field to win! always gets the best odds in the races, 1/4Fav, 6/1, 9/4 etc and always ends with 33/1 or 50/1 the field!

Nothing really IMO. One fella had a go at Joe about the Clinton bias in RTE, Joe got very defensive but it petered out a bit.

He was in Trinity with Joe incidentally. Apart from that mostly people ringing from the Hugh-S-Ay, most were pro Trump.

Joe managed to grit his teeth through it. He didn't lose it.

That's an interesting one alright Kev.

What would be the odds he'd present a 75min radio show 4 days a week, 35-40 weeks a year FOR MORE MONEY? Less work for more moolah? Seems like the right idea to me. He's certainly rude enough to host it going by the standards of the incumbent......

I would too. Assassination or impeachment.

I don't wish the former on him, but it wouldn't surprise me. He'll never willingly resign, I reckon, even if he makes a balls of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Don't think you can bet on somebody getting shot

That's an interesting one alright Kev.

What would be the odds he'd present a 75min radio show 4 days a week, 35-40 weeks a year FOR MORE MONEY? Less work for more moolah? Seems like the right idea to me. He's certainly rude enough to host it going by the standards of the incumbent......

I think he stands to make a lot of money out of the job; he can get himself on the board of directors of countless companies after he's finished. He can also move certain contracts his way if he wants. So he's sorted for life there. Then there's media work..books..Lahvline presenter etc. etc

However, I actually believe one of three things will happen to him;

1. that he'll drop dead on the job as I don't think he's too fit and he's already 70.
    2. he'll be assassinated by some right-wing nutter who becomes unhappy when Trump realises that some of his crazier ideas are actually impossible to implement
    3. he'll go off on one and just walk away from the job (have a read up on Mike Pence if ye have time for it, he's a scary character).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,558 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Don't think you can bet on somebody getting shot

You could before though :D
    The bookmaker is currently offering odds of 12-1, down from 16-1 yesterday morning, that Mr Obama will not finish his first term in office and confirmed it would pay out if he was killed by a sniper's bullet.

http://www.independent.ie/world-news/americas/us-elections/bookie-in-firing-line-over-its-sniper-bet-26490327.html

I think he stands to make a lot of money out of the job; he can get himself on the board of directors of countless companies after he's finished. He can also move certain contracts his way if he wants. So he's sorted for life there. Then there's media work..books..Lahvline presenter etc. etc

However, I actually believe one of three things will happen to him;

1. that he'll drop dead on the job as I don't think he's too fit and he's already 70.
    2. he'll be assassinated by some right-wing nutter who becomes unhappy when Trump realises that some of his crazier ideas are actually impossible to implement
    3. he'll go off on one and just walk away from the job (have a read up on Mike Pence if ye have time for it, he's a scary character).

I wouldn't rule out death or him walking away alright. The sniper one I'm not so sure if, even if it is 'Murica.

Without reality television and social media Trump would never have been elected. This is a triumph of fame over suitability. It is the single worst thing ever to come from the horrific mess that is Reality TV.

Thst said I'm looking forward to Gaz from Geordie Shore shagging his way to being the Prime Minister of Britian within 10 years under the banner "if you vote for me I'll stick it in your gee" all documented live on MTV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,558 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Without reality television and social media Trump would never have been elected. This is a triumph of fame over suitability. It is the single worst thing ever to come from the horrific mess that is Reality TV.

Thst said I'm looking forward to Gaz from Geordie Shore shagging his way to being the Prime Minister of Britian within 10 years under the banner "if you vote for me I'll stick it in your gee" all documented live on MTV.

Bill Cullen might go for the Aras :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Without reality television and social media Trump would never have been elected. This is a triumph of fame over suitability. It is the single worst thing ever to come from the horrific mess that is Reality TV. ..
    ah now.
    Give him a few years. He's 70 with huge business experience. He will stand up for Americans.
    I voted and decided to vote for Trump well because he's not Hillary - and my vote is in a state which is split 50/50

I wouldn't rule out death or him walking away alright. The sniper one I'm not so sure if, even if it is 'Murica.

The thing is, he's going to disappoint a lot of people, some of who voted this time out but haven't voted in decades. There's a fair few disenfranchised people out there...think Timothy McVeigh types. They'll try, but the Secret Service have him so well protected that it's actually almost impossible to get a chance to kill him anyway.

I worked occasionally with a German guy on some projects the past few years. He's a water pump specialist and spends about 6 months in the States every year, always in rural farming areas.

He said the average American would give you the shirt off their back or the last slice of bread off the table as they are so hospitable in rural areas. At the same time there is still a large groundswell for potential armed conflict; there's a severe distrust of the government and the "establishment". Militias are common enough and usually run by a mix of hotheads, mentally unstable people and fantasy warriors. They think Trump is the answer, (forgetting that he's actually part of their problem) and if he doesn't deliver they'll be seriously plssed with him.

Essentially it's "You are most welcome into my house, but I might shoot you if I don't agree with you".

He also said gun ownership has to be seen to be believed. You either have no guns, one gun or over a dozen. There's virtually no middle ground. There's estimated to be 300,000,000,000 rounds of ammunition in private hands in the US right now. Yep, 300 trillion. Crazy stuff and Trump has painted himself into a bit of a corner here. I definitely don't see him getting re-elected in 2020.

Interesting times nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,640 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 102 ✭✭Kadser

He also said gun ownership has to be seen to be believed. You either have no guns, one gun or over a dozen. There's virtually no middle ground. There's estimated to be 300,000,000,000 rounds of ammunition in private hands in the US right now. Yep, 300 trillion. Crazy stuff
    They're right to be armed, all those people can now defend themselves if the USA ever got invaded, unlike here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Kadser wrote: »
    They're right to be armed, all those people can now defend themselves if the USA ever got invaded, unlike here.

Who's going to invade Ireland? :rolleyes:

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Let alone a country like the USA, with its nuclear warheads and a $600 billion defence budget.

Washington will be in ribbons, but at least the trailer parks of South Carolina will be secured. 'Call of Duty' is legit combat traning bro.

Eejits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,112 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Would owning half a gun be the middle ground? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

snubbleste wrote: »
    ah now.
    Give him a few years. He's 70 with huge business experience. He will stand up for Americans.
    I voted and decided to vote for Trump well because he's not Hillary - and my vote is in a state which is split 50/50

I wouldn't be holding his business experience up as a plus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,118 ✭✭✭✭neris

Del.Monte wrote: »

No one .................. unfortunately.

Hitchens wrote: »
    Would owning half a gun be the middle ground? :D

Would a sawn off shot gun count as half a gun so to speak?

The thing is, he's going to disappoint a lot of people, some of who voted this time out but haven't voted in decades. There's a fair few disenfranchised people out there...think Timothy McVeigh types. They'll try, but the Secret Service have him so well protected that it's actually almost impossible to get a chance to kill him anyway.

I worked occasionally with a German guy on some projects the past few years. He's a water pump specialist and spends about 6 months in the States every year, always in rural farming areas.

He said the average American would give you the shirt off their back or the last slice of bread off the table as they are so hospitable in rural areas. At the same time there is still a large groundswell for potential armed conflict; there's a severe distrust of the government and the "establishment". Militias are common enough and usually run by a mix of hotheads, mentally unstable people and fantasy warriors. They think Trump is the answer, (forgetting that he's actually part of their problem) and if he doesn't deliver they'll be seriously plssed with him.

Essentially it's "You are most welcome into my house, but I might shoot you if I don't agree with you".

He also said gun ownership has to be seen to be believed. You either have no guns, one gun or over a dozen. There's virtually no middle ground. There's estimated to be 300,000,000,000 rounds of ammunition in private hands in the US right now. Yep, 300 trillion. Crazy stuff and Trump has painted himself into a bit of a corner here. I definitely don't see him getting re-elected in 2020.

Interesting times nonetheless.

Zero chance of him being re-elected but to be fair I doubt he'd want it. I think he's already hugely over achieved in landing this gig (one which he's not remotely qualified for).

snubbleste wrote: »
    ah now.

What I meant was if he was just some random billionaire/businessman with no public persona and zero political experience he'd never have been in the position to be in the race let alone win it. Sure Trump was relatively famous before reality tv, but reality tv put him in the home of every American and in this celebrity obsessed culture we live in that's what have him the edge. It's not his brains, experience, policies etc.

Is Galway 50/50? I thought it would have been more pro-Hilary? :):):)