Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Captain Marvel (2019)

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

^^^ After all the above, I am glad I decided to go my own way. World's going to hell in a hand basket.

Back on topic to the film, I'm probably gonna go see it tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

I really enjoyed it nothing ground breaking but Marvel aren't looking for ground breaking and Brie is very very pretty.

A good origin story for Captain Marvel and the whole MCU in general.

Some great nods to the past films and I also though a great nod to Agents of Shield.

Fury's de-aging didn't distract at all for me, Coulson's looked like he a little bit to much Botox.

If Black Panther can be Oscar nominated well then so can this.

By the way neither are good enough to be nominated for a Oscar.

Your looking a bit old are you? :P

For those of you who have seen it
    is it an origin for Nick Fury as well?

• Registered Users Posts: 60,296 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Calhoun wrote: »
    Your looking a bit old are you? :P

Every day I look in the mirror :)
    Partly yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

Calhoun wrote: »

No,
    he's already an agent of shield at this point. It does explain his relationship with Coulson a bit and his eye. Also sets out the begining of his shield avengers-initiative leadership path.

Slydice wrote: »
    No,
    he's already an agent of shield at this point. It does explain his relationship with Coulson a bit and his eye. Also sets out the begining of his shield avengers-initiative leadership path.

That is still pretty cool though, was reading about the
    project to bring Coulson back to life ect and how Nick felt he was worth it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭johnnysmack

Fury's de-aging was great but coulson looked quite plastic at times.

When Clark Gregg is as cool or as old as SLJ he will get the royal treatment.

• Registered Users Posts: 828 ✭✭✭dingdong1234567

Have to say I really enjoyed it. Great nod to Stan Lee, a film to escape into and switch of from the world. Not the best, but certainly not the worst MCU film. Cannot wait for Avengers Endgame.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,292 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I saw it this evening, and I thought it was very good

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,094 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Alas thought this was a whole heap o' underwhelming.

Its biggest fumble is the opening 15-20 minutes or so. It's awful. Some of the lamest sci-fi hokum to grace the MCU to date, and that's saying something. It seems the directors realise this, and want to rush through it as quickly as possible. That only exasperates matters, though, with barely coherent editing that makes everything more of a mess than it needs to be. A less than inspiring intro to a hero that's overtly being established at a key force in the next generation of Marvel blockbusters.

Things to do pick up when we're earthbound, but it settles into a groove of 'fine' and only occasionally manages to properly perk up. Larson's great, because she's a great actress, but really there's not much to her character so we don't get much to work with there: mostly the cap'n boils down to another Marvel wise-cracking ass-kicker. SLJ's having a ball, to his credit, and the CG de-aging is mostly fine (bit uncanny valley at first, but they bump him into the shadows whenever possible thereafter which is wise). The story's all muddled: lazy amnesia-based origin story; a few too many role reversals; and a heap of underexplained lore (although in a sense that's actually better than spending any more time on it). The 90s setting is surface-level and obvious - a load of overt references and easy music cues (I mean, if ever there was an excuse for some deep-cut riot grrrl songs in a mainstream blockbuster this would have been it :pac:)

It's probably at its strongest in a short stretch near the end when
    Carol realises her powers, and there's opportunities within the space-ship for her to prove she's truly a force to be reckoned with. This also contains the best gags in the form of the non-cat.
    But alas that's over-egged too, and the rest of the climax contains some shocking CG that truly feels like a bad video game cutscene (anyone ever 'play' - I use the term loosely - Asura's Wrath? It's like that, but minus the anime excess).
    I guess it's always going to be a challenge to portray some sort of basically invincible god-like character, but from the moment they follow a clearly rendered character falling through the sky, I'm afraid it lost me

Ultimately with the Marvel films it tends to boil down to whether it feels like the filmmakers' voice gets heard over the franchise demands. Waititi and Coogler fared best in that regard, where the balance seemed tipped more in their favour even with the obvious Marvel-isms. Anna Boden and Ryan Fleck are talented indie filmmakers, so it's a shame this one feels more like just another episode in the Marvel show than something they've firmly put their stamp on: there's glimpses in some of the character work and strong acting, but just not enough. It's another Marvel film at the end of the day, and even as someone who's a hardened cynic when it comes to the series, there's been better ones than this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

The thought of Brie Larson being signed up for another 9-10 movies :(

• Registered Users Posts: 12,813 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Have to say I really enjoyed it. Great nod to Stan Lee, a film to escape into and switch of from the world. Not the best, but certainly not the worst MCU film. Cannot wait for Avengers Endgame.

What they said.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,040 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Very meh movie.

Id no issue with marvel herself, thought she was fun. Just found the story without any stakes and didn't really answer any of the questions I had hoped it would. Other than marvel herself, it just doesn't add anything the to mcu.

Also, she is apparently utterly incompetent.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Very meh movie.

Id no issue with marvel herself, thought she was fun. Just found the story without any stakes and didn't really answer any of the questions I had hoped it would. Other than marvel herself, it just doesn't add anything the to mcu.

Also, she is apparently utterly incompetent.

Is this movie required viewing for Endgame?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Brie Larsen cant run......

Anyone else notice the
    script Lee
    was reading? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭johnnysmack

Venom wrote: »
    Is this movie required viewing for Endgame?

No it's just a backstory. For endgame all you need to know from this is that captain marvel is really powerful.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,484 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Brie Larsen cant run......

Ye it was really weird.

Might have been the suit but I don't think so, and she was running away from the camera so could they not have got a double.

• Registered Users Posts: 60,296 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

That was the her double running away from the screen.

Read earlier in the thread about her arse double.

I actually laughed at Sam Jackson’s running too he couldn’t run either.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

In his defence, he's in his 70s now :D

There were plenty of side on and frontal sorts too of the running if I remember.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,484 ✭✭✭✭Varik

How bad is her arse, if they chose the one who can't run for the running scene.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Varik wrote: »
    How bad is her arse, if they chose the one who can't run for the running scene.

Tom-Holland-Brie-Larson-meme4.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

Just seen this tonight.Very middle of the road imo.
    Lacked the fun of other Marvel movies,and seemed to be "superhero by numbers".
    Overly schmaltzy and drawn out in places and to my annoyance,ridiculously quick to race through more intricate plot details. I thought it was ....... just ok.

As an aside,the movie is really underplaying Captain Marvel's superpowers,I'm presuming they are holding that back for Avengers Endgame.

Enjoyable but forgettable. Meh.

• Registered Users Posts: 55,452 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Enjoyed it a lot. Went with my niece and nephew and they loved it too. Job done.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,010 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

No it's just a backstory. For endgame all you need to know from this is that captain marvel is really powerful.

It will be watchable without it but it really depends on whether you're ok with not getting some references or background. I have a feeling
    the source of her power
    might be key in Endgame.
    Uncharted wrote: »
    As an aside,the movie is really underplaying Captain Marvel's superpowers,I'm presuming they are holding that back for Avengers Endgame.

You could say that for a good chunk of the movie, but they specifically showed
    she was being inhibited
    . By the end though
    she was taking down multiple large kree ships with minimal effort without any time to master her powers
    She might be more refined after the 25 year gap but I can't see them giving her too much more power than that in Endgame

• Registered Users Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Medicore stuff altogether.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Right, went to see this on me Toblerone last night.

I really enjoyed it.
    Great origin story.

8.5/10

• Registered Users Posts: 5,149 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

That's a sad sad picture Venom.

I really enjoyed it and think Carol will be a good addition to the ensemble. I wouldn't be in a rush to see a solo sequel though. Mendelssohn was a highlight.

The biggest thing that surprised me is how much it upset where I thought Phase 4 would go. By looks of it
    they won't do secret invasion which I'm actually ok with. I also wasn't expecting Carol to turn up like that in the mid credit scene. I assume she's just going to fcuk off for the time jump once she realises there's nothing to be done?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,813 ✭✭✭✭flazio

It's not the done thing over here but I really wanted to clap the Marvel Studios fanfare at the start. When you see it, you'll understand why.

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭abcabc123123

Very pleasantly surprised. I really enjoyed that. A solid two hour's fun.

Also, that post credits scene... get hyped!

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭mr_cochise

flazio wrote:
    It's not the done thing over here but I really wanted to clap the Marvel Studios fanfare at the start. When you see it, you'll understand why.

On the subject of clapping, I went to see it in the Odeon in Limerick yesterday evening and most of the audience clapped at the end of the movie. I had my young daughter with me and she exposed to such terrible idiocy!!! :)