Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

kowtow wrote: »
    I'm no expert but I'm fairly certain that tyre on the right is over-inflated compared to the one on the left. Let a good bit out of it and drive on.
    only flat on the bottom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Kovu wrote: »
    I do have an unerring ability to break things. Sometimes I don't even need to touch them! A gravitational wave of ****itup-itis.

Ha, the threads on the arm of the tractor gave way last night whilst drawing in bales so pulled off the lifter and headed to the workshop to weld it in place. With the welding mask on i didn't realise until i tipped it up to inspect my guntering weld that there was flames leaping up the back of the tractor. I had been topping grass a few days beforehand and obviously it had dried out in under the pick up hitch and a weld had fallen onto it and set the whole thing alight. talk about a panic and not able to find a bucket when you need one. Kept the water hose running beside me after that....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Parishlad

whelan2 wrote: »
    How did the cattle get in?

Not really sure. There is a road running along the back of the golf course and I think there an entrance of some sort down there. Think there is a gate on it but I don't know for sure. My tee shots hit the middle of the fairway every time so I have no need to go wandering around the course!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,632 ✭✭✭✭Water John

The cattle were 'out of bounds'.

Water John wrote: »
    The cattle were 'out of bounds'.
    You'd imagine though with all the money the golf course is worth that all boundaries would be totally stock proof

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

You'd imagine though with all the money the golf course is worth that all boundaries would be totally stock proof

They will be now I'd say. Some bill on the way for the owner of the cattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

How did the cattle get in?

They had children at the "right" school, and some good friends on the committee..

They will be now I'd say. Some bill on the way for the owner of the cattle.
    would it be the farmers insurance or the golf clubs insurance- if a gate was left open onto the grounds surely that was the golf clubs fault?

only flat on the bottom
    Had a lad worked here for years when I was younger. He always had a smart answer,that was one of them, he was buried today.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,632 ✭✭✭✭Water John

A bit of wit is always nice around. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭rushvalley

would it be the farmers insurance or the golf clubs insurance- if a gate was left open onto the grounds surely that was the golf clubs fault?

There's no proper fence around the course you can walk onto it from most sides

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Water John wrote: »
    A bit of wit is always nice around. RIP

A bit of width is good too :p

Rip

rushvalley wrote: »
    There's no proper fence around the course you can walk onto it from most sides
    That's fairly Irish. An open invitation.

Farmers insurance afaik.

Farmers are responsible for keeping their stock from straying so his insurance will have to cover it.

Just caught the kids cleaning a football that landed in the collecting yard with a bath towel :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Just caught the kids cleaning a football that landed in the collecting yard with a bath towel :(
    Think on the bright side, you can put your washing powder through a proper test now :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Must have got some serious inspiration on Croker !!

ANyway.. feck the towel, wouldn't it be worse if they were inside on an evening like that playing Xbox or whatever.

Cleanliness is next to godliness:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭tractorporn

There's a lad on the after hours forum giving out about farmers working in the field into the wee hours!!!! I thought that breed of clown died with the celtic tiger??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

There's a lad on the after hours forum giving out about farmers working in the field into the wee hours!!!! I thought that breed of clown died with the celtic tiger??
    That breed of clown bought a house/site in the sticks during the Celtic Tiger in order to prove to his co-workers/family how successful he had become and reckons he can now dictate our working hours :rolleyes:
    Give him a break, he is probably up to his neck in debt and has to take it out on the locals.

Base price wrote: »
    That breed of clown bought a house/site in the sticks during the Celtic Tiger in order to prove to his co-workers/family how successful he had become and reckons he can now dictate our working hours :rolleyes:
    Give him a break, he is probably up to his neck in debt and has to take it out on the locals.
    Nah, he's only half serious.

Sounds bored and posting the first thing that comes into his head.

25 or 30 acres of heavy ground would fill up his time nicely, I think:)

He's one of those new breed, their food comes from Tesco and not farms so who gives a fucck about farmers.

Mowing the lawn earlier and I was eaten alive by horseflies or "cleggs" as they are sometimes called round these parts, damn sore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

_Brian wrote: »
    Mowing the lawn earlier and I was eaten alive by horseflies or "cleggs" as they are sometimes called round these parts, damn sore.

Clegs aren't horseflies! A whole different kettle of flies :D

are they warbles (only joking)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

What ye call cleggs we call doctor flies or doctors... ;)

_Brian wrote: »
    Clags and horseflies ain't the same thing. I know when a clag munches on me as I get a raised bump on my skin after a few minutes. If I am unfortunate to scratch it then I end up suffering for several days. Feckers bite me through my clothes.
    Whatever you do don't scratch it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

are they warbles (only joking)

Maybe I'll start calling them warble flies just to confuse everyone :D
    Very satisfying to catch a cleg just biting your arm/leg and smack them to hear the crunch.

What ye call cleggs we call doctor flies or doctors... ;)
    Ah sure you can't help it, your weird in that part of the country ;)

I foresee another grape - fork, sprong etc discussion ensuing :eek: