Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Have any of ye come across this before lads? Last calf born here tagged about 5 weeks ago and he has big scabs formed over where both his ears were pierced and some of the tag itself. Have never seen it to happen before and only noticed it a few days ago.

I saw it before on a calf I was dehorning. I remember putting sudocrem on it cos I was using it anyway on the horn buds. I can't remember did I do anything else with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,397 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Reggie. wrote: »
    Good idea but too slow for loading I thought

and a lot of moving parts aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Have any of ye come across this before lads? Last calf born here tagged about 5 weeks ago and he has big scabs formed over where both his ears were pierced and some of the tag itself. Have never seen it to happen before and only noticed it a few days ago.
    Ya seen it in sheep. Not nice to deal with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Parishlad wrote: »
    What kind of bale transporter is it? Any pics?

https://twitter.com/FJMachinery/status/778966562757832704

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

looks like a serious piece of kit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Nothing like getting into the bed after a day at the ploughing :)

Manys the lad waited til he went to bed to start the ploughing!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Good idea but too slow for loading I thought

If it stacks them aswell it'd save time on that end with less handling than with a loader and trailer setup.

Muckit wrote: »
    Manys the lad waited til he went to bed to start the ploughing!! :D

Some lads wouldn't even made it as far as the bed !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Christ almighty I'm after seeing some sight on the telly.
    Marty Morrisey in full safety gear with a chainsaw. Scary stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Christ almighty I'm after seeing some sight on the telly.
    Marty Morrisey in full safety gear with a chainsaw. Scary stuff!

Run away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Longford Leader

The postman handed me a white envelope this morning and the return address was the Cross Compliance Unit in Portlaoise.

I got weak in the knees thinking I had been inspected some how and wasn't going to see any money this year :eek:

Turned out it was a bloody booklet on how to be cross compliant :rolleyes:

Not a nice start to the day :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,633 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Perfect reading for a wet day!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭orm0nd

The postman handed me a white envelope this morning and the return address was the Cross Compliance Unit in Portlaoise.

I got weak in the knees thinking I had been inspected some how and wasn't going to see any money this year :eek:

Turned out it was a bloody booklet on how to be cross compliant :rolleyes:

Not a nice start to the day :(

got that last week, it's filed away for future reference :rolleyes:

did every body else the letter re the herd identifier change for the new tags?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

orm0nd wrote: »

Ya got it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Yep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

orm0nd wrote: »

I've started reading the cross compliance book but that's a day of my life I won't get back.

I haven't got the tag stuff though. What's it about?

Lit the stove for the first time tonight. the winter is near:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Got the cross compliance book last week, and the Tag letter today.
    Is this the third or fourth generation of plastic tag format we are on now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

davidk1394 wrote:
    Lit the stove for the first time tonight. the winter is near

You must have the tag letter then... that cross compliance booklet was too damp too light anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Have 2 dogs here, they are on a chain at night .They go a bit crazy when we let them off in the morning. I was walking over the yard with a bucket of meal this morning, one of them ran straight into the bucket of meal and the other straight into my leg , dont know who got the bigger fright ,them or me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭OverRide

I see in today's Irish times,that a huge amount of farmers were taking mabs leaflets at the ploughing but weren't going to the desk in case they'd be seen

Does it grate you like it does me that bus drivers are on strike earning 55k,twice what a young nurse or teacher gets ,and want a 15% pay rise?
    Whereas in Ireland we get as farmers feck all of a rise even though we are funding 1000's of jobs in the food industry all on decent pay with our product?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

OverRide wrote:
    Does it grate you like it does me that bus drivers are on strike earning 55k,twice what a young nurse or teacher gets ,and want a 15% pay rise? Whereas in Ireland we get as farmers feck all of a rise even though we are funding 1000's of jobs in the food industry all on decent pay with our product?

Sure we're a different case entirely... no matter how much they strike they'll never let the bus drivers go to the ploughing and buy their own bus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

OverRide wrote: »
    Does it grate you like it does me that bus drivers are on strike earning 55k,twice what a young nurse or teacher gets ,and want a 15% pay rise?
    Whereas in Ireland we get as farmers feck all of a rise even though we are funding 1000's of jobs in the food industry all on decent pay with our product?

Sure aren't you sitting on assets worth northwards of a million euro?
    And you want the hard pressed urban dweller to fund your lifestyle as well?

:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Nekarsulm wrote: »

Helpful comment
    Makes a lot of sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Nekarsulm wrote: »

Helpful comment
    Makes a lot of sense
    Just because it inconvenient doesn't make it untrue. Most farmers have assets most Joe public will never have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

to be fair if I worked for a company which promised me a pay rise in 2008 which was never delivered on and then asked me to accept various changes during the recession I'd expect them to do right by me when the company returned to profitability. This is basically what Dublin bus drivers are doing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I see in today's Irish times,that a huge amount of farmers were taking mabs leaflets at the ploughing but weren't going to the desk in case they'd be seen

At this stage, I've almost, almost accepted that the only interest in farming that the government and general public holds in Agriculture is in protecting and expanding the downstream jobs that Agriculture supports.

Just because it inconvenient doesn't make it untrue. Most farmers have assets most Joe public will never have.

That's only useful as a comment if every acre in the country went up for sale in the morning and made what just one acre would make if the rest was not for sale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

That's only useful as a comment if every acre in the country went up for sale in the morning and made what just one acre would make if the rest was not for sale
    Want to have go rephrasing that? Otherwise, "Helpful comment
    Makes a lot of sense".

I think if all farmers tried to sell their land in the morning,it wouldn't sell because there'd not be enough buying
    It's not an option ergo the comment is not useful

People commenting that we're all sitting on millions need to recognise that fact
    If everyone liquified,most get very little or nothing
    No bids