Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,632 ✭✭✭✭Water John

War of the Worlds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Water John wrote: »
    War of the Worlds.

Ah they weren't that good.

Apparently Nicola from Fair City was the first target.
    Paul Brennan or Zumo Bishop might have been one of the attackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

I think Whelan, we're going very much in the other direction. Cashier now open only 10-12.30 each day in local BOI.
    Retail customers are a costly inconveinence. That is, until the next time the corporate side goes, tits up.

taking counter service out of our busy local village bank, no coin, no foreign exchange, its going to be like a bus shelter,

Ah, your Grade C, we're at Grade B.
    We really need to develop a community banking strategy, around our Post Offices and Credit Unions and tell these banks to, stuff themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Wouldn't you think they would put 'Simulation' or something like that on the screen when showing it on the news. I'd say a few older people thought it was for real.

The problem with a Simulation exercise is that the Gardaí know
    (1) Its happening, and
    (2) Where its happening, and
    (3) When its happening.

But at least they can now confidently claim that they are ready for an attack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    The problem with a Simulation exercise is that the Gardaí know
    (1) Its happening, and
    (2) Where its happening, and
    (3) When its happening.

It's a joke really, the surprise element of these attacks is what contributes to the chaos and they can't train for that.They were just like children playing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Not sure if that's tongue in cheek or not.:p

The whole point of yesterday's operation well I think it was, was to see if/how the different agencies work together here.

But the media element of filming it and broadcasting it was a PR exercise . Maybe the whole thing was really just all about the PR with the pressure coming from the Brits and their actual real life reaction times and the public's paddywackery image of our own force and ability to react to a similar situation. Coupled with a bit of deflection to revelations of members of the force using their position to sort out private grudges and the law is me and I'm above the law attitudes that is/was endemic in the force.

If you were frightened by yesterday's acting performance. Good.
    The PR did it's job then. Don't mess with the Garda Siochana.
    Or maybe I'm just too cynical.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

When we were evacuated from Nice airport. Everyone was out within 5 minutes. 2controlled explosions carried out about 15 minutes after and everyone back in about 10 minutes after that. No messing around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    When we were evacuated from Nice airport. Everyone was out within 5 minutes. 2controlled explosions carried out about 15 minutes after and everyone back in about 10 minutes after that. No messing around

Efficient

Reggie. wrote: »
    Efficient

Ye. Was amazed when we went back into the terminal there was no damage. Only a smell from the explosion

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Not sure if that's tongue in cheek or not.:p

Oh yes.

Don't mess with the Garda Siochana.
    Or maybe I'm just too cynical.:)

Very much depends on the Garda! :D

rxKgLTg.jpg

The Garda in this pic has just won gold at the World Rifle championships, held in Ireland last week for the first time. Beat teams from UK, South Africa, Australia and Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I love watching David McSavage's clips on the guards

Had a full day of football today. Youngest lad had training this morning, daughter had a game in the final of a memorial cup for a local girl who died a few years ago of S.a.d.s. The other team decided this morning that they wouldnt field a team as their 4 best players were unavailable. Luckilly we got another team from another club to step in for the final. We won - daughter got the award of goal of the game:D -Thought it was very bad form on the other teams behalf as the games were for charity... We then milked and went to senior teams championship game this evening..............

St Swithin's Day, no rain.

raining here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Some drizzle in Longford earlier on and a shower here now in NCD. Awful warm and sticky @ 19.5 degrees. I find it difficult to sleep at night even with the windows open and ceiling fan on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

We had rain up to 11:30 and then it started again at 5pm, feckin sickening at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

whelan2 wrote: »
    raining here
    And here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

_Brian wrote: »
    We had rain up to 11:30 and then it started again at 5pm, feckin sickening at this stage.

Gas how things are so different...

Nearly everyone I've spoken to with the past day or two, has said they could all badly do with rain.
    One field of ours is gone very brown in place, where the surface isn't great...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Soft day here, breezy and was covering a pit. Not an enjoyable day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

rangler1 wrote: »
    It's a joke really, the surprise element of these attacks is what contributes to the chaos and they can't train for that.They were just like children playing

It's no joke at all.

Training for an event like that is essential as it tests systems etc. It's all fine and dandy going through exercises on paper but donning the equipment and knowing what it's like to physically get to locations etc is all important.

One previous job I worked I was on the emergency response team and drills are an important part of being ready should the worst happen. It tests the readiness of equipment and even suitability of equipment in the closest possible way without waiting for an actual event.

All forces have drills in similar manner to what happened in Dublin but the cronies just want to make fun because it's the Irish forces.

People who give out about every facet of public service should just **** off to another country and be happy there.

Same people moans and bitched until entry salary of a guard was reduced to tie stage where it's not a viable income now, and then they go on to bitch about new recruits not being up to the job, paying peanuts isn't how you get the best recruits.

Ouch Brian, we get it.
    I agree dry drills are critical for all types of Emergency Response. It's only by doing it regularly can it be done correctly when the real deal comes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

My sister is a nurse in London and has to do different drills yearly. Last one was radioactive fallout/attack.

On another note- I bought a balloon animal kit at Tesco before Christmas. The OH decided to start practising now in the middle of die hard 3. I must do it during the next episode of say yes to the dress.... spoiler alert- they say yes.

422488.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

My sister is a nurse in London and has to do different drills yearly. Last one was radioactive fallout/attack.

On another note- I bought a balloon animal kit at Tesco before Christmas. The OH decided to start practising now in the middle of die hard 3. I must do it during the next episode of say yes to the dress.... spoiler alert- they say yes.
    I'm sorted :rolleyes:

Base price wrote: »

Yeah I've still got them also.... take the tablets and kiss your a**e goodbye.- those and the millennium candles were the biggest waste of money ever.

Base price wrote: »

Joe Jacobs finest hour!

And Michael Martin not far behind!

And Bertie calling him Jay Jocob in the Dail :D

Yeah I've still got them also.... take the tablets and kiss your a**e goodbye.- those and the millennium candles were the biggest waste of money ever.

Did anyone ever find their tree in the Millennium Forest?
    I've lost my cert, and I'm afraid some bugger has thinned it!

I never knew about the millennium forest. Where is it supposed to be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,581 ✭✭✭Shpudnik

I never knew about the millennium forest. Where is it supposed to be?

Also what is it?

Damnation to both of ye :)
    I going to have to search now.