Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭dzer2

davidk1394 wrote: »
    This country is gone too soft and focusing on getting handy money off hard working people instead of laying down the law to these lads. Tis a joke. If you defend your property and injure those guys they could sue you for damages.

Only if they are able

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,681 ✭✭✭emaherx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

emaherx wrote: »

Insurance won't pay out if you do that.
    Very same thing happened a few miles from me and the insurance company didn't pay out because he left the keys in the ignition when checking cattle.
    Maybe it was all bull but that's what I heard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Insurance won't pay out if you do that.
    Very same thing happened a few miles from me and the insurance company didn't pay out because he left the keys in the ignition when checking cattle.
    Maybe it was all bull but that's what I heard.

I had a jeep taken in 2005 while I was working on a machine in the workshop, jeep was only 20yds away with the key in it. insurance paid no problem..... you're insured for carelessness aren't you

rangler1 wrote: »
    I had a jeep taken in 2005 while I was working on a machine in the workshop, jeep was only 20yds away with the key in it. insurance paid no problem..... you're insured for carelessness aren't you

That was in your own yard though so it may be a bit different than parking beside a public road and not taking reasonable care to secure your vehicle.
    I wouldn't be well up on the whole thing but if an insurance company can see a way out of not paying they'll take it.

My sister had her car stolen one night when lads from tallaght were trying to break into the local shop and were disturbed by the locals coming out of the pub with hurls. So took off up the fields and came down into our yard and stole her car and it was locked.
    They passed the guard's a few miles away but the guard's didn't know who they were and never stopped them.
    To cut a long story short the insurance company wouldn't pay out till the guard's found the car burnt out and then paid two months later.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

That was in your own yard though so it may be a bit different than parking beside a public road and not taking reasonable care to secure your vehicle.
    I wouldn't be well up on the whole thing but if an insurance company can see a way out of not paying they'll take it.

My sister had her car stolen one night when lads from tallaght were trying to break into the local shop and were disturbed by the locals coming out of the pub with hurls. So took off up the fields and came down into our yard and stole her car and it was locked.
    They passed the guard's a few miles away but the guard's didn't know who they were and never stopped them.
    To cut a long story short the insurance company wouldn't pay out till the guard's found the car burnt out three months later.:rolleyes:

i got paid after a month which is fair enough, don't know why they'd wait any longer, if the jeep was found it'd be theirs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Pidae.m

Just wondering here if many people have done their car & trailer test. Where I'm from virtually no farmer has bothered doing it. I got stopped in limerick last October by the smokies he let me off but I'd to apply for a licence start away. Doing the test next week.

rangler1 wrote: »
    i got paid after a month which is fair enough, don't know why they'd wait any longer, if the jeep was found it'd be theirs

This was her first car. A Nissan micra and she was delighted with it.
    Then the feckers took it and she was devastated.
    The insurance company kept telling her they had to have proof that it was stolen and then she was going into the guards to see if they found it.

She just told me there now that it was found two weeks after being stolen but the insurance company didn't pay out till 2 months after it happened. So....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

Pidae.m wrote: »
    Just wondering here if many people have done their car & trailer test. Where I'm from virtually no farmer has bothered doing it. I got stopped in limerick last October by the smokies he let me off but I'd to apply for a licence start away. Doing the test next week.

Have it done this few years. To be honest I am illegal as everout times as I would be way overweight if I was stopped and weighed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Pidae.m wrote: »

Have to book my test one of these days. Did one lesson driving a ford ranger, feckin long yolk compared to what I'm used to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Parishlad

ganmo wrote: »
    Have to book my test one of these days. Did one lesson driving a ford ranger, feckin long yolk compared to what I'm used to

Have mine booked. Just waiting on a date for it. Was getting away with it for long enough. Have a Navara here and when the 12' box is on it it's indeed a long yoke. I manage away with it fine but, as sure as God, I'll make a balls of it the day of the test. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

There's some fire burning over in Connemara lads, can see the flames as clear as day from my place across Galway bay. Looks massive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 OilBaron

There's some fire burning over in Connemara lads, can see the flames as clear as day from my place across Galway bay. Looks massive.

Yeah it's a fair blaze alright, I'm only across the lake from it. It's up at the back of the new turbines in Rosscahil. It started Sunday morning but they got it out at 9 ish last night tho I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

OilBaron wrote: »
    Yeah it's a fair blaze alright, I'm only across the lake from it. It's up at the back of the new turbines in Rosscahil. It started Sunday morning but they got it out at 9 ish last night tho I think.

Think that's the one they were talking about on news earlier, largest forest in the country, quarter of the trees lost so far, not out yet but yesterday it was burning on three fronts, this morning only burning on one front. Must be a massive blaze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 OilBaron

_Brian wrote: »
    Think that's the one they were talking about on news earlier, largest forest in the country, quarter of the trees lost so far, not out yet but yesterday it was burning on three fronts, this morning only burning on one front. Must be a massive blaze.

Didn't see any news last night but there's a huge ammount of Forrestry up there alright. I think your right actually because I was just talking to a neighbor there who said that he could still see it burning from the lake this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I'm living close to there and the brother is working up in the windmills and I never heard or saw it till I read it here ! Talk about living in my own little world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Have a serious problem here with a local guy starting fires. He's well into his 70's and has being at it for years. He burned 100 yards of a ditch in our place one time and also in a neighbours. He says he is only burning back the byres. Even this year I set whitethorn quicks and a week later he had burned right up to them. I had to stop him on the road and subtlety tell him to stop.
    Fierce obliging in every other way so hard to challenge him on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Says on the radio there that they're using helecopters now to fight it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Just in from doing yearlings with copper bullets. Such a hoor of a job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Says on the radio there that they're using helecopters now to fight it

I was wondering why the aer corp wasnt involved but they are stretched very thinly atm

A strange thing happened as i was putting the cows out in the field this morning.
    I was hunting them on a roadway out to the field (really calm conditions) and the ones at the back all started looking at something in the paddock they were passing. I was wondering what they were looking at expecting it was a fox or somebody. Then I could see the grass blowing in a circular direction and then it was moving towards us and noisy enough too. Then it crossed the roadway and all the dust got sucked up into it then and it continued across the field.

What was it only a whirlwind.

The biggest one I've seen for a while.
    Not major but big enough.

Funnily enough last year straw started falling out of the sky from the same path/direction and that came from a mile away. It must have something to do with the topography of the land to make it form on the same path.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Cows went crazy here this morning. Was day dreaming walking out of the field bringing them in when the whole lot came running back towards me. Something in the yard frightened them. Got them turned and they came back again. Had to ring oh and eldest lad to help me. No idea what spooked them

whelan2 wrote: »
    Cows went crazy here this morning. Was day dreaming walking out of the field bringing them in when the whole lot came running back towards me. Something in the yard frightened them. Got them turned and they came back again. Had to ring oh and eldest lad to help me. No idea what spooked them

Have you a bull running with them?

Perhaps the bull was turning them back!

no bull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭marathon

Anyone know how much weakling friesian bulls for grass would cost me just off milk I'm thinking maybe 3 months old that's weanling friesian not weak

The smoke from the fire is around our house now but we are a few miles from it . The father said that the brother is moving machinery all day away from the area and a forwarder got burned and also the driver got a bit of a burning getting away from it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

A strange thing happened as i was putting the cows out in the field this morning.
    I was hunting them on a roadway out to the field (really calm conditions) and the ones at the back all started looking at something in the paddock they were passing. I was wondering what they were looking at expecting it was a fox or somebody. Then I could see the grass blowing in a circular direction and then it was moving towards us and noisy enough too. Then it crossed the roadway and all the dust got sucked up into it then and it continued across the field.

What was it only a whirlwind.

The biggest one I've seen for a while.
    Not major but big enough.

Funnily enough last year straw started falling out of the sky from the same path/direction and that came from a mile away. It must have something to do with the topography of the land to make it form on the same path.

Remember something like that scattering hay that was rowed up for baling

a cock pheasant , he was there again this evening the cnut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Bullocks wrote: »
    The smoke from the fire is around our house now but we are a few miles from it . The father said that the brother is moving machinery all day away from the area and a forwarder got burned and also the driver got a bit of a burning getting away from it

Can still see the smoke from here.

Its still going , there is tiny bits of ash falling here now aswell