Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Base price wrote: »
    More like the sign of the wimp who dreads getting a shock from it :o
    Ever notice some people dont seem to feel the shock at all, I am definitely not one of those

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

whelan2 wrote: »
    Ever notice some people dont seem to feel the shock at all, I am definitely not one of those
    Two brothers farming next to me, one can't even go near wire, the other can catch it and join it with the current on:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭White Clover

Reggie. wrote: »
    Stocked up

That shine Reggie?What weight bag and price if you don't mind. Pm if you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

That shine Reggie?What weight bag and price if you don't mind. Pm if you want.

20kg a bag. Got it for €42 a bag. Took a bit of arm twisting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Ye, must be bad enough if they are threatening suspensions for anyone using it. Just a heads up to watch out for it

I had a mess around with it, so many people have added obscenities to names that no matter what name you enter it quips back with a derogatory term.
    No registration and no login so it's absolutely anonymous.

Just saw in my Facebook feed that there is a petition online to have it removed from Apple and android stores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

LOL:D

Even after I disconnect the fenceline I'm working on, I still check it for current even though I know there isn't any on it.

One shock too many over the years:rolleyes:
    about 2 years ago dad was trying to get a young dog to work on the hill and it wasn't working out, i was at the house and i heard the dog whimpering(about half a mile away) and i ran to plug put the fencer. the poor dog tried to run through a 3 strand electric fence but the choke chain got caught on it. i was lucky i recognised the whimpering beat\rhythm as that of the fencer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Stocked up

before I clicked on the image I thought you meant baby food and nappies :rolleyes:

orm0nd wrote: »
    before I clicked on the image I thought you meant baby food and nappies :rolleyes:

Starting that too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I'd catch the fence here, id still know it was on, but i can open it at corner posts if i need to move animals from one paddock to the next one.
    My dad is so immune to it now, he'd as me to catch it to see if its on or not, as he cant feel it at all.
    And yes, it is a very strong shock.

I'd catch the fence here, id still know it was on, but i can open it at corner posts if i need to move animals from one paddock to the next one.
    My dad is so immune to it now, he'd as me to catch it to see if its on or not, as he cant feel it at all.

Can't feel a shock. That can't be good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

Nephew here used to be the same when he was a young lad. Up to about 14 I'd say. Some craic the day he started feeling them. He didn't know whether he wanted a sh1t or a haircut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

On my third one of these.
    Money well spent though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

orm0nd wrote: »

I was thinking beer. Two kinds of people! :pac:

Can't feel a shock. That can't be good

Shur he's mostly spare parts as it is, hips, knees, etc

Grueller wrote: »
    Nephew here used to be the same when he was a young lad. Up to about 14 I'd say. Some craic the day he started feeling them. He didn't know whether he wanted a sh1t or a haircut.

I only got used to catching it in my 20s. Couldn't go near it when i was younger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

No offence but imo people like ye and my OH are freaks :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mrs cockett

I have a horror of electric fences. Remember once I was standing one side of the fence looking in at the cows and calves. Had Alsatian pup with me, next the howling started and the idiot had bit the fence and still had it in his mouth. All the cows came running to see what was up. Poor fellow did not know what happened I think he thought the cows did it to him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Do you reckon the lorry below is overweight? I reckon it's close anyway.

Debate rages after Gardai stop driver with 'overweight' trailer load of straw

http://www.independent.ie/business/farming/machinery/debate-rages-after-gardai-stop-driver-with-overweight-trailer-load-of-straw-35564433.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

http://www.independent.ie/business/farming/machinery/debate-rages-after-gardai-stop-driver-with-overweight-trailer-load-of-straw-35564433.html

Depends whether he had cattle in the truck or not.
    But as was revealed this week, Gardai are prone to exaggeration when counting.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Depends whether he had cattle in the truck or not.
    But as was revealed this week, Gardai are prone to exaggeration when counting.....

He had no taco anyway so he was going to be in bother. But i think the guards need to looked into after all the carry on from last week. Some seem to be a law unto themselves

Their twitter account is just a PR exercise, and tries to inject a bit of humour into the story.
    But there was no mention of the report from two weeks ago, where two guards were found in a station interview room with a bundle of breathalyzer kits, blowing into them themselves and pretending that they had conducted a roadside checkpoint !!

It has near 4 ton on the trailer and the hitch is only rated for 3.5

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Their twitter account is just a PR exercise, and tries to inject a bit of humour into the story.
    But there was no mention of the report from two weeks ago, where two guards were found in a station interview room with a bundle of breathalyzer kits, blowing into them themselves and pretending that they had conducted a roadside checkpoint !!
    some craic if one failed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

Stocked up

how much a bag are they

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

davidk1394 wrote: »
    He had no taco anyway so he was going to be in bother. But i think the guards need to looked into after all the carry on from last week. Some seem to be a law unto themselves

O'Sullivan will be doing well to hold on to her job they are just throwing more sh1te at her and it's sticking.
    When ever kenny steps down his replacement will surly have to get rid of her

naughto wrote: »
    O'Sullivan will be doing well to hold on to her job they are just throwing more sh1te at her and it's sticking.

Both O'Sullivan and Francis FitzGerald.
    Its funny how this practice (of vastly over-reporting drink driving checks) recently developed in all areas of the country simultaneously.

If it had been going on a few years ago, the "whistle blowers" would surely have known about it and made it public.

how much a bag are they

Got it for €42 a bag. Got ten. Had to engage the puppy dog eyes tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Got it for €42 a bag. Got ten. Had to engage the puppy dog eyes tho

When are you getting the calves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

It has near 4 ton on the trailer and the hitch is only rated for 3.5

6 on top and 3 in the trailer, weight of each 200kgs(ish) and a tonne of trailer is 2.8tonne. with guestimate figures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭orm0nd

I don't think it will be as straight forward as that.