Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭tractorporn

pedigree 6 wrote:
    What I do have issue with is the holier than thou attitude and preaching that everyone else is wrong and they are right and then bringing in animal welfare. Animal welfare that's the biggest joke of all. I take great pride in my stock and to hear this bull***t is a bit rich.

This is what really annoys me. People with no experience of raising animals preaching to us that we are all our stock and destroying the planet at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

That Waterford whispers has some v witty articles by times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

This may sound bad but did even one of the people canvasing for veganism come across as normal? (whats normal i know, but ye get where im coming from)

Watched it on the plus 1 when I got in last night.
    And I was thinking exactly the same thing as yourself. I thought your one sitting next to CB was a terrible advertisement for veganism, she was away with the fairies altogether. As if it was news to us that animals felt pain and all had there own Character, presumptuous clown.
    And she runs an animal shelter. I wonder who pays for that.
    What annoyed me was the way some of the rabbit food gobblers when asked were they Vegan replied, well I maintain a plant based diet.
    (Don't stick a label on me MAN). Lord God this country isn't half settled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    And I was thinking exactly the same thing as yourself. I thought your one sitting next to CB was a terrible advertisement for veganism, she was away with the fairies altogether. As if it was news to us that animals felt pain and all had there own Character, presumptuous clown.
    What annoyed me was the way some of the rabbit food gobblers when asked were they Vegan replied, well I maintain a plant based diet.

I thought the restaurant owner was every bit as bad. They brought up figures about the CO2 emissions from agriculture. The question i would have asked was, how much of the vegetables and fruit you buy was grown in Ireland. Then i would have went on about food miles. The thing they seem to gloss over is the prices we are receiving. But i thought the whole thing was just a bit silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

https://www.agriculture.gov.ie/animalhealthwelfare/animalwelfare/fundingtoanimalwelfareorganisations/

probably the dept

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

davidk1394 wrote: »
    I thought the restaurant owner was every bit as bad. They brought up figures about the CO2 emissions from agriculture. The question i would have asked was, how much of the vegetables and fruit you buy was grown in Ireland. Then i would have went on about food miles. The thing they seem to gloss over is the prices we are receiving. But i thought the whole thing was just a bit silly.

Did any of them mention palm oil or was that glossed over? Seeing as quite a lot of their replacement 'dairy' spreads are made with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Did any of them mention palm oil or was that glossed over? Seeing as quite a lot of their replacement 'dairy' spreads are made with it.

Never mentioned it.
    Is there a dark secret in the palm oil industry that I don't know about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭einn32

davidk1394 wrote: »

The non-dairy market is growing quite rapidly. I see more of almond and soy milk etc. around now so someone must be tapping the market. I tried almond milk once...it wasn't for me!

Never mentioned it.
    Is there a dark secret in the palm oil industry that I don't know about?

A lot of rainforest being cut & burned for plantations so it's a major factor in deforestation & habitat destruction for orangutans, elephants, etc. Not to mention land being taken from native folk & forced into work. There's also something about it being part of n increase in greenhouse gases being produced in these countries harvesting but I've forgotten some of the figures so won't go into it.

**must resist urge to make childish joke about ...palm oil ** :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Muckit wrote: »
    **must resist urge to make childish joke about ...palm oil ** :pac:

Not like ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

My mother got a phonr call this morning of fraudulent activity on her credit card. The girl was asking her alot of questions and she hung up. The girl rang back and she hung up again. My dad rang the bank and it was a hoax call . Fookers .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Got a email to my phone last week from '' amazone '' said there were fraud purchases made of items ,in fact i only ever used amozone just the once .Any way worryingly checked debit card and no activity on it .
    Another scam .
    I guess when you get one of these calls ,if you are not on the ball and thinking straight it very easy get flustered and give out bank details

whelan2 wrote: »
    My mother got a phonr call this morning of fraudulent activity on her credit card. The girl was asking her alot of questions and she hung up. The girl rang back and she hung up again. My dad rang the bank and it was a hoax call . Fookers .

Happened me last summer. Got a call and like that I was very suspect. Didn't give out any details and ended the call. I then rang up the bank. It turned out to be true though! Luckily it didn't cost me a penny. They cancelled my card and sent me out a new one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

cute geoge wrote: »
    Got a email to my phone last week from '' amazone '' said there were fraud purchases made of items ,in fact i only ever used amozone just the once .Any way worryingly checked debit card and no activity on it .
    Another scam .
    I guess when you get one of these calls ,if you are not on the ball and thinking straight it very easy get flustered and give out bank details

If my emails were to be believed I'm in mighty trouble with Revenue. Am getting 3/4 emails every week. I did check with accountant as I was getting worried but he told me it was a scam to try and get my details. Beginning to hate the online world - everyone is out to get ya.:mad:

Man flu during lambing - no bueno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

KatyMac wrote: »
    If my emails were to be believed I'm in mighty trouble with Revenue. Am getting 3/4 emails every week. I did check with accountant as I was getting worried but he told me it was a scam to try and get my details. Beginning to hate the online world - everyone is out to get ya.:mad:
    I think in time all this kind of scamming will be dealt with. Just that the tracking technology isn't there yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

KatyMac wrote: »

Apparently there are loads of beautiful teenager girls just dying to meet me.

Where the feck were they when I was single?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Apparently there are loads of beautiful teenager girls just dying to meet me.

Where the feck were they when I was single?

Jaysus. It's local MATURE ladies looking for me.:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Jaysus. It's local MATURE ladies looking for me.:-)

I'm plagued with Ukrainian's :D
    Can I Putin a filter of some kind?

ganmo wrote: »
    Man flu during lambing - no bueno

I had the flu last week. Thankfully nothing near as bad a dose as manflu. I struggled on and got zero sympathy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Did ye actually have the flu or just a cold

nose runnin, sore sinuses, sore throat, cough...more than a cold anyway

If I inject cattle to bring them into heat, is it best to leave them one heat before AI or would it be the same % success rate as the second cycle? I'm fairly sure they're just having silent heats on the slats.

young lad got swine flu a few years ago, thats some dose. Very few people actually get the flu . I had a cold last week, my voice went, much to the delight of everyone who knows me :D

Happened me last summer. Got a call and like that I was very suspect. Didn't give out any details and ended the call. I then rang up the bank. It turned out to be true though! Luckily it didn't cost me a penny. They cancelled my card and sent me out a new one.
    They had the long number of her card and asked her the 3 digit code a few times.

If I inject cattle to bring them into heat, is it best to leave them one heat before AI or would it be the same % success rate as the second cycle? I'm fairly sure they're just having silent heats on the slats.

Nothing like the sun on their backs to bring them around. Wait til they are out at this stage. Cattle would be wary rising on slats as well.

I just put the two of them out at midday. See I want to move them to the outfarm fields, but I wouldn't be able to keep a close eye on them there as it's 2km away. So if I can inject & serve them before they go up, at least I'll know when to watch them closely up there. Ya get me!?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭tractorporn

I just put the two of them out at midday. See I want to move them to the outfarm fields, but I wouldn't be able to keep a close eye on them there as it's 2km away. So if I can inject & serve them before they go up, at least I'll know when to watch them closely up there. Ya get me!?

We tried thus two years ago. Injected five heifers and served them twice only 3 held and we missed the repeats. We bought a bull last year for the heifers.