Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Parishlad

One of my heifers threw her calf on Saturday night. She wasn't due until middle of Feb. She's a 4* heifer and was in calf to ZAG and low and behold it was a heifer calf so pretty gutted.
    Anyhow, I noticed yesterday evening that she was firing milk out so it got me thinking if I could get a calf for her and chance getting her to take to it. Would it be a complete pain the rear I wonder? She's fairly quiet but that could count for nothing.

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    A question for yous.

Do you write down about worming the dog in the bord bia book or just show the prescription?

Only ever kept the prescription here and never wrote it in the book. We wouldn't have had 'farm dogs' really and the yard is not right beside the homeplace so dogs were never an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

Parishlad wrote: »
    One of my heifers threw her calf on Saturday night. She wasn't due until middle of Feb. She's a 4* heifer and was in calf to ZAG and low and behold it was a heifer calf so pretty gutted.
    Anyhow, I noticed yesterday evening that she was firing milk out so it got me thinking if I could get a calf for her and chance getting her to take to it. Would it be a complete pain the rear I wonder? She's fairly quiet but that could count for nothing.

Sorry to hear about your heifer. Read this thread , it is about multiple suckling and cows adopting calves.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=102207582#post102207582

You should probably try it, worst that could happen is that you may have to feed the calf by hand and sell it again.

Are you going to do anything to investigate the cause of the Abortion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Parishlad wrote: »
    Would it be a complete pain the rear I wonder? She's fairly quiet but that could count for nothing.

It has to work. What do you do with the calf if it doesn't?:rolleyes:

Muckit wrote: »
    It has to work. What do you do with the calf if it doesn't?:rolleyes:

Can I not just bring it back to the shop and get refund??? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Did any of ye get the flu jab, how long until it becomes effective?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

whelan2 wrote: »
    Did any of ye get the flu jab, how long until it becomes effective?
    I get it every year.

Iirc, it takes a few days to become effective but you will be getting a head start on immunity against the flu if you have the shot given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I see Simon Coveney hass done a deal with the Apollo House protesters, and promised to open two extra facilities to house people on the housing list, to get them to leave. Easy knowing they had no Single Farm Premium to lose if they didn't toe the line!
    Not so simple dealing with people whose income you can't withhold :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I was watching the news yesterday evening and just thought to myself isn't the world a very unjust place. Here are these poor homeless people freezing to death across Europe on the streets and in tents or sheets of galvanise in war torn regions.

Then l thought not of myself, but of my few cattle. All the silage they can eat, a warm straw lay back, water laid on and shelter from the elements.

A slatted house is better than the conditions these people have to endure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,397 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Did many of ye get this flu/cold going around. I'm only recovering now. Thing seemed to spread like wild fire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,633 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Sorry Whelan, I think the flu jab is the wrong strain and offers no protection.

It's not a very severe strain but lasts a good while. Says someone who hasn't got it yet. Met a relation of the OH yesterday, who has had it since Christmas. Looked well shook, lost a good bit of weight. Not a diet to be recommended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Did many of ye get this flu/cold going around. I'm only recovering now. Thing seemed to spread like wild fire

No. I didn't get it.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Just spent the last 50mins in B&Q confusing the hole off meself.
    Wish I had never seen this yoke altogether!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Odelay

Aerial Ireland is some sight on UTV or on "be3" as I think it is rebranded. Very fast moving but worth viewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Just spent the last 50mins in B&Q confusing the hole off meself.
    Wish I had never seen this yoke altogether!!

Noice

davidk1394 wrote: »

Thankfully no. I'm escaping it well so far. Everyone around me has it or got it. I'm lucky enough that I don't suffer from colds or flu in general

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Reggie. wrote: »
    Thankfully no. I'm escaping it well so far. Everyone around me has it or got it. I'm lucky enough that I don't suffer from colds or flu in general

I used to say that when I was your age too,
    At this stage I make sure to get the vaccine every year.
    If you can't take time off for the flu, it's important to get the vaccine.

Yes Rangler, the vaccine has been very good for any vulnerable people, many years. Just unfortunate a diff strain here than anticipated this year.

Water John wrote: »
    Yes Rangler, the vaccine has been very good for any vulnerable people, many years. Just unfortunate a diff strain here than anticipated this year.

And I'd say that will be the case many times in the future as illnesses become more tolerant to medicine. That is till the big one comes.

Reggie. wrote: »
    And I'd say that will be the case many times in the future as illnesses become more tolerant to medicine. That is till the big one comes.

The Zombie Apocalypse.

Dunno if I should get the jab, or buy more ammo.......

The Zombie Apocalypse.
    Or, as it's better known, the cross compliance inspection...

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Dunno if I should get the jab, or buy more ammo.......

Do both.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Do both.:p

What sort of chemist do you use:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Where did you get that nugget of information,
    My information is that this years strain is covered.
    The strain is ''A/Hong Kong/4801/2014 (H3N2)''
    media is calling it AH3

What sort of chemist do you use:eek:

Beretta and Benylin.:pac:

It is presumed the the flu in the Far East is what will turn up here the following winter.
    Vaccination in its various guises has been one of the remarkable advances of people health. Possibly only parralled by the treatment of drinking water to make it safe.
    I would not be denigrating it.

Iirc, John, they forecast the 3 most dangerous strains each year that are likely to be in circulation and the Flu jab is a combination of those 3 strains. Even if another strain outside those becomes more prevalent, the vaccine will likely offer some level of protection against even that strain.

And I believe there is a backup plan, in case a more virulent strain gets a foothold, to offer an additional vaccination to the high risk groups and health workers.

Which brings up the point as to why so few health workers take the offered vaccine each year?

Beretta and Benylin.:pac:

223 and oxy-contin :D