Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

giphy.gif

Zzippy wrote: »
    Steady on!

Burning man has changed me :pac:

I'm a loved up hippy now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

What has been seen cannot be unseen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

hqdefault.jpg

NSFW. Banned!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Seriously considering setting up my own email server. Anyone ever done it before? What was your experience? It will be a lot of work compared to paying one of the big lads but I reckon it's a worthwhile learning exercise

Synode wrote: »
    Seriously considering setting up my own email server. Anyone ever done it before? What was your experience? It will be a lot of work compared to paying one of the big lads but I reckon it's a worthwhile learning exercise

Is it just for the domain name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

It's not difficult to set up really. Were you thinking of setting up Exchange or just an imap/smtp server with something like exim/dovecot

The main things to worry about long term (because you'll be able to work out how to set it up) are 1) IP reputation and 2) backups. You need to make sure that you keep an eye on the reputation of the IP (for example someone could start sending via your server without you noticing and destroy the reputation and therefore the deliverability of your own mail). Backups are easy to sort really but I'm amazed at how often people ignore them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Yes exim/dovecot on a Linux server. I'm all over backups, it's something I do religiously. Reputation will indeed be something I'll have to watch closely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Yes exim/dovecot on a Linux server. I'm all over backups, it's something I do religiously. Reputation will indeed be something I'll have to watch closely.

You can subscribe to checks for mail blacklisting but a tip would be to also check senderbase.org for reputation scoring

You can automate that check (or alert based on it) by getting the reputation score by running something like: dig +short txt 160.0.20.104.rf.senderbase.org and generally any score under -1 is bad and will cause rejections from hotmail/aol/gmail etc. If you are at that point you really need to fix the problem straightaway and change the outbound IP (in exim.conf), so if you can get a server with two IPv4 addresses it might save you in future.

That's really the only painful thing about looking after a mail server. Exim config can be extremely esoteric but it's pretty well documented and there's loads of help online for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

You can automate that check (or alert based on it) by getting the reputation score by running something like: dig +short txt 160.0.20.104.rf.senderbase.org and generally any score under -1 is bad and will cause rejections from hotmail/aol/gmail etc. If you are at that point you really need to fix the problem straightaway and change the outbound IP (in exim.conf), so if you can get a server with two IPv4 addresses it might save you in future.

Huh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

mfceiling wrote: »
    Huh?

Too early in the morning for work talk :)

I'm in between the states of still drunk and the beginning of a bugger of a hangover.....work isn't going to be fun today

Too early in the morning for work talk :)

Work? Jesus that's just gobbledygook!!

Yerra, main thing is that there is a huge uptake in email blacklisting recently. Some of my clients have been hit and it's a nightmare to get them back to normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

• Administrators Posts: 55,100 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

That's a bit ridiculous to be honest, no benefit for that lad playing against people a quarter his size.

• Subscribers Posts: 43,182 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

awec wrote: »
    That's a bit ridiculous to be honest, no benefit for that lad playing against people a quarter his size.

yeah so much wrong with that

allowing u9s to hand off is bad enough (not allowed here) but to hand off to the face is just ridiculously risky for kids) look at the amount of kids that end up slapping off the ground by the back of their heads.

if your playing with that guy, do you ever get a pas?

that kids needs to be taken out of that age grade and moved up to where hes more suitable.

sydthebeat wrote: »
    yeah so much wrong with that

allowing u9s to hand off is bad enough (not allowed here) but to hand off to the face is just ridiculously risky for kids) look at the amount of kids that end up slapping off the ground by the back of their heads.

if your playing with that guy, do you ever get a pas?

that kids needs to be taken out of that age grade and moved up to where hes more suitable.
    I doubt it.

I imagine the tactics are to give it to the big lad and let him run it in. No benefit to him or anyone else on the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭DGRulz

This is great example of why kids should be grouped by weight and not by age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Yeah I said something similar when I first saw the video. On top of that once his age group catch up to him in size(or close enough) him trying to just go through everybody will ultimately mean he'll be a bit ****e.

X factor back, mfceilings Saturday nights are sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

At the GFs and it's on...
    Jaysus it's even worse than I remember..

X factor back, mfceilings Saturday nights are sorted.

I'm in the kitchen drinking a lovely Blacks of Kinsale Rocket Ship IPA and eating a Nutella and strawberry pizza. I can hear it on in the living room...something about "it's always been my dream"..."my friends and family told me to enter"..."this is my time"..."you don't know how much this means to me"

An absolute bag of complete and utter shìte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

mfceiling wrote:
    eating a Nutella and strawberry pizza.

Ya weird feck.

Has to be Nutella and chunky peanut butter.

I'm in the kitchen drinking a lovely Blacks of Kinsale Rocket Ship IPA and eating a Nutella and strawberry pizza. I can hear it on in the living room...something about "it's always been my dream"..."my friends and family told me to enter"..."this is my time"..."you don't know how much this means to me"

We all know who wears the trousers in your house mf. Relegated to the kitchen in your own home!

Buer wrote: »
    Ya weird feck.

Has to be Nutella and chunky peanut butter.

I got it free because the Italian lad was late with my chicken, chorizo and garlic oil pizza!!

But by jesus Nutella and chunky peanut butter sounds unreal!! Is it like a snickers?

We all know who wears the trousers in your house mf. Relegated to the kitchen in your own home!

4 women and a female dog. Their best friends are another 5 girls who spend more time in my house (fridge) than I do. If I find out the goldfish is female I'll crack up!!

You're probably finding your man-period is syncing with the women in the house every month as it is!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

I'm in the kitchen drinking a lovely Blacks of Kinsale Rocket Ship IPA and eating a Nutella and strawberry pizza I can hear it on in the living room...something about "it's always been my dream"..."my friends and family told me to enter"..."this is my time"..."you don't know how much this means to me"

You've spelled "out of the jar with a spoon" wrong.