Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

There was a fairly convincing post on reddit speculating that it could be Parkinsons related illness that was affecting her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Not read anything about Biden but it would be a disaster for the Democratic party as Biden is a weak candidate and wasn't second choice in the primaries. If Hilary had to back out, it would have to go to Bernie or the party would be in trouble.

As far as I know, she had pneumonia after a bout of bad allergies the last few weeks. I don't know if this is true, but that is what her doctor has said. It's going to give a serious point of attack to the Republicans if she doesn't deal with it effectively.

Worrying times if two sets of populations can vote for the likes of Trump / Brexit in the one year.

Perhaps it would be a disaster but to be fair to Biden he never entered the race for the primaries and actually polled extremely well (considering he clearly didn't want to run). He also has a lot of appeal to moderate republicans so he could actually be a surprisingly successful candidate if the worst was to happen.

On a personal level I really like Biden. I think it's a shame he didn't run this time around but I think he was quite emotionally drained after the loss of his son. I really liked his interview on the Late Show last year when he really underlined the fact he wouldn't be running, I think if that Biden had run he would have been the strongest candidate out of any of them.

Teferi wrote: »
    There was a fairly convincing post on reddit speculating that it could be Parkinsons related illness that was affecting her.

That place is heavily agenda driven so I wouldn't read much into it. If it was something of that magnitude it would become a story, you can't keep an illness of that nature hidden and if you did and she won there would be hell to pay.

Perhaps it would be a disaster but to be fair to Biden he never entered the race for the primaries and actually polled extremely well (considering he clearly didn't want to run). He also has a lot of appeal to moderate republicans so he could actually be a surprisingly successful candidate if the worst was to happen.

On a personal level I really like Biden. I think it's a shame he didn't run this time around but I think he was quite emotionally drained after the loss of his son. I really liked his interview on the Late Show last year when he really underlined the fact he wouldn't be running, I think if that Biden had run he would have been the strongest candidate out of any of them.

He polls well just like Bernie polls well because no one is attacking them at national level. He would appeal to all moderates but Hilary also polls fairly well with moderates on both sides at least in comparison to Trump.

On a side note - I also like Biden, even if at times he comes across accidentally creepy.

He polls well just like Bernie polls well because no one is attacking them at national level. He would appeal to all moderates but Hilary also polls fairly well with moderates on both sides at least in comparison to Trump.

On a side note - I also like Biden, even if at times he comes across accidentally creepy.

Biden has been attacked at national level though, he's been through two presidential campaigns and the debates they include. He wiped the floor with Paul Ryan in the VP debate in 2012 in a very impressive manner (I think Ryan would have run this time around if that night hadn't gone so badly for him)

Like you said - that was 4 years ago and 1 month is considered an extremely long amount of time in Politics.

I still think that having ruled himself out and Bernie Sanders (whilst only barely being a democrat) having pushed Hilary fairly close it would be quite undemocratic for Biden to jump in.

That place is heavily agenda driven so I wouldn't read much into it. If it was something of that magnitude it would become a story, you can't keep an illness of that nature hidden and if you did and she won there would be hell to pay.

Because Hillary has never hidden and obfuscated anything in her life before (and gotten away with it!!). :pac:

Reddit is mostly anti-Trump and the main subs are heavily democrat orientated, not sure what the agenda is in the mains!

Because Hillary has never hidden and obfuscated anything in her life before (and gotten away with it!!). :pac:

Reddit is mostly anti-Trump and the main subs are heavily democrat orientated, not sure what the agenda is in the mains!

They are not quite as anti-Hilary as they are anti-Trump but it's not a million miles off. The last time they were heavily pro a candidate was Sanders.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

The idea that Hillary is hiding some sort of health issue seems to be the Obama's birth certificate of the 2016 election.

The sad thing is if she wasn't well yesterday she should have stayed home but you can imagine the mud Trump would be slinging if she didn't attend the 9/11 memorial she was supposed to. Even if she just has a bad cold she can't be seen to be ill at all. Goes to show how easy it is to derail the conversation in US politics. Trump doesn't have to be able to debate Hillary, or find fault with her policies or anything even close. All he has to do is plant an idea, that she's ill, and watch it grow.

Like you said - that was 4 years ago and 1 month is considered an extremely long amount of time in Politics.

I still think that having ruled himself out and Bernie Sanders (whilst only barely being a democrat) having pushed Hilary fairly close it would be quite undemocratic for Biden to jump in.

I don't think 4 years is that long. "Oh, now you're Jack Kennedy", people haven't forgotten that, it's still oft-quoted! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EMcMbrrWIrE (obviously a quote of the old comment but Ryan hasn't lived it down)

If the Democratic party select Biden they'll argue it's democratic but I agree there's very little democracy in the way they select their cadidates.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Clinton doesn't do herself any favours with her general obfuscation and evasiveness. I wouldn't be one for conspiracy theory stuff though but she probably could have helped herself but announcing she wasn't well a few days ago rather than constantly denying it.

They'll run into registration problems if they try and change candidate though I'm sure they'd eventually get around it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,016 ✭✭✭✭bilston

wp_rathead wrote: »
    So she should be grand in about 2-3 weeks?

Pneumonia can be very serious, especially for someone her age.

Edit - hers is "walking pneumonia" so it's the mild version.

I don't think 4 years is that long. "Oh, now you're Jack Kennedy", people haven't forgotten that, it's still oft-quoted! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EMcMbrrWIrE (obviously a quote of the old comment but Ryan hasn't lived it down)

If the Democratic party select Biden they'll argue it's democratic but I agree there's very little democracy in the way they select their cadidates.

The reason that quote was so popular was becomes it directly aped a comment made against Dan Quayle in a debate when he had previously likened himself to Jack Kennedy. The Democrat in that debate had known Kennedy and used it to pretty brutal effect. But yeah, Biden was superior to Ryan, but Ryan was extremely inexperienced in that debate and was a poor choice for VP. I think Biden would have a better shot against Trump in a debate than Hilary however.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Clinton doesn't do herself any favours with her general obfuscation and evasiveness. I wouldn't be one for conspiracy theory stuff though but she probably could have helped herself but announcing she wasn't well a few days ago rather than constantly denying it.

Not really. The idea she's hiding a serious illness has taken hold so much that announcing she was sick at all would have been jumped on. If she'd announced she had walking pneumonia a few days ago people would be speculating about what she really had. She's damned if she does, damned if she doesn't.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Not really. The idea she's hiding a serious illness has taken hold so much that announcing she was sick at all would have been jumped on. If she'd announced she had walking pneumonia a few days ago people would be speculating about what she really had. She's damned if she does, damned if she doesn't.

Yeah I guess. But you would think that they would have had an idea whether it was going to get better or not. I find it weird that will all the medical care she presumably has that it would have taken til after her nearly collapsing to realise she was more seriously ill.

There is a certain pattern of bahaviour there that creates an ideal environment for these kind of conspiracy theory things though.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Yeah I guess. But you would think that they would have had an idea whether it was going to get better or not. I find it weird that will all the medical care she presumably has that it would have taken til after her nearly collapsing to realise she was more seriously ill.

There is a certain pattern of bahaviour there that creates an ideal environment for these kind of conspiracy theory things though.

I disagree. Obama did nothing and people still believe he's a Muslim from Kenya.

People believe what they want to believe. Some people don't want Hillary to be president and all they needed was for someone to float the idea, any idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

I disagree. Obama did nothing and people still believe he's a Muslim from Kenya.

People believe what they want to believe. Some people don't want Hillary to be president and all they needed was for someone to float the idea, any idea.

'Murica... :rolleyes:

I mean, she was apparently diagnosed with pneumonia on Friday but was out shaking babies and kissing hands in the meantime before this episode. I know if I had pneumonia I wouldn't be out potentially spreading it to others and it doesn't look great for her if she was doing that either. The entire thing looks strange either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

You're making it sound like she was out targetting babies to spread her leprosy mild pneumonia to on purpose. If she had announced she had pneumonia and stayed at home Trump would have had a field day with it.

Is the "apparently diagnosed with pneumonia" meant to be a suggestion that she's actually hiding a more serious health condition by the way?

I mean, she was apparently diagnosed with pneumonia on Friday but was out shaking babies and kissing hands in the meantime before this episode. I know if I had pneumonia I wouldn't be out potentially spreading it to others and it doesn't look great for her if she was doing that either. The entire thing looks strange either way.

Yeah but many people still go to work even if they are sick (whether they should or not is a different story). Pneumonia isn't some exotic condition, it's just where virus or bacteria happen to attack just like some people get throat infections or sinus infections. She may be more at risk to Pneumonia than other people for varying factors but provided she is conscious of hygiene she probably isn't putting people at any risk that they won't face all winter anyway.

Walking pneumonia is a very mild type of pneumonia. It can be contagious but there is usually a period of time where it is. Maybe Hillary is passed that time, maybe she's pretty much recovered but isn't quite back to 100%. The temperatures in NY this past week have apparently been quite high and the humidity has been stifling.

There are a lot of very reasonable explanations for all of it. If the idea she was hiding something hadn't been floated by whoever did it nobody would even be talking about this. Jennifer Lawrence had walking pneumonia last year, or the year before, she was nominated for lots of awards at the time and she was attending a tonne of events, though clearly sick, and nobody cared about her potentially infecting everyone.

Bazzo wrote: »

Is the "apparently diagnosed with pneumonia" meant to be a suggestion that she's actually hiding a more serious health condition by the way?

No, it's the timeline her camp have given.

Yeah but many people still go to work even if they are sick (whether they should or not is a different story). Pneumonia isn't some exotic condition, it's just where virus or bacteria happen to attack just like some people get throat infections or sinus infections. She may be more at risk to Pneumonia than other people for varying factors but provided she is conscious of hygiene she probably isn't putting people at any risk that they won't face all winter anyway.

Either way it looks bad - faint and she's weak, don't faint but still go around shaking hands and kissing people and she could potentially be spreading. The Trump camp and supporters would have a field day with either scenario.

She didn't actually collapse at the memorial thing, did she? I thought it was after when she was off doing her own thing?

So she was obviously well enough to make it through whatever public commitments she had.

She didn't actually collapse at the memorial thing, did she? I thought it was after when she was off doing her own thing?

So she was obviously well enough to make it through whatever public commitments she had.

It happened right after she left - She left the memorial early so she clearly wasn't feeling well.

AFAIK pneumonia is just fluid/inflammation in the lungs, not necessarily caused by an infection, and pneumonia itself is not transmissible. Pneumonia is a symptom/condition, not a disease. The underlying infection - if there is one - may be passed along, but may not have the same effect whatsoever in anyone infected. It's quite possible she was just run down and the cough/allergies resulted in fluid building up in the lungs.

Zzippy wrote: »
    AFAIK pneumonia is just fluid/inflammation in the lungs, not necessarily caused by an infection, and pneumonia itself is not transmissible. Pneumonia is a symptom/condition, not a disease. The underlying infection - if there is one - may be passed along, but may not have the same effect whatsoever in anyone infected. It's quite possible she was just run down and the cough/allergies resulted in fluid building up in the lungs.

But her camp said it was pneumonia?

The usual causes of pneumonia are contagious fyi. Not sure where you got the idea they're not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

The usual causes of pneumonia are contagious fyi. Not sure where you got the idea they're not.

Pneumonia is an infection of the lungs. It can be viral or bacterial. Even if the pathogen does pass on to someone you're in contact with it's highly unlikely they'll contract pneumonia unless they are already high risk.

In reality it's no more dangerous to those you're in contact with than going to work with a cold or flu. For instance if you have a sore throat and head to work and come in contact with somebody susceptible to pneumonia you could cause them to contract it by passing on the pathogen causing your sore throat.

I never said they're not, I said pneumonia is not necessarily caused by an infection. Pneumonia is fluid in the lungs, yes often caused by an infection, but there can be other causes, and the pneumonia itself is the end result of inflammation that may be caused by an infection. Pneumonia is just a more serious symptom. Someone with pneumonia may well be infective to other people, but it can be quite a mild infection such as strep or the common cold, and they only end up with pneumonia because their immune system is susceptible at that time. The publicity about her hugging someone is inferring that she could transfer a very serious infection to someone, which is not the case.

Bazzo wrote: »
    Pneumonia is an infection of the lungs. It can be viral or bacterial. Even if the pathogen does pass on to someone you're in contact with it's highly unlikely they'll contract pneumonia unless they are already high risk.

So the child there are videos of her hugging before her incident, for instance?