Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

UNSTOPPABLE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

NFL redzone is fuppin' unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,017 ✭✭✭✭bilston

errlloyd wrote: »
    I heard one of the most upsetting things I've ever heard about 911 today. The firefighters who entered the building were intending on trying to help people / fight fires on the 80th floors and above. With no elevators, carrying 50 KGs of equipment, through the smoke and with people coming down it was taking them over 2 minutes per floor, just under 30 hours to it to the crash area.

So basically, apart from literally 2 or 3 of them who were distance runners in their spare time, none of them even got to crash zone before the buildings fell, and those that did didn't achieve anything once they arrived. 400 emergency respondents died in the Twin Towers, and it sounds like it was mostly for nothing.

There were a lot of terrible things that happened that day. The idea that many people were left with the choice of burning to death or jumping hundreds of feet to their death still hits me. Many jumped and you wonder if some of them had the idea that maybe, just maybe, they'd get lucky somehow by jumping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,551 ✭✭✭swiwi_

A couple of films to recommend. I haven't seen the Kiwi one yet, but was a hit back home, and is due out in Ireland shortly. The other film is a bit of a "Come and See" type film, not for everyone...

Yes I've been looking forward to Wilderpeople for a long time, big fan of himself

Son of Saul extremely extremely well recieved critically, havent had a chance yet to see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,551 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Yes I've been looking forward to Wilderpeople for a long time, big fan of himself

Son of Saul extremely extremely well recieved critically, havent had a chance yet to see it.

I thought "What we do in the shadows" was excellent, great little black comedy.

Son of Saul is quite harrowing, it's a tad far-fetched IMO, but is well done. The choice of cinematography suits the film well.

Must say I'm more of a TV series than films man these days, films are generally just too long relative to their quality, I prefer binging 1-hour TV episodes.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

What is this NFL red zone thing? Is it like soccer Saturday on Sky Sports?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

NFL redzone is fuppin' unreal.

It's great, like a live highlights show. Watching AF is actually entertaining when you strip out all the breaks in play, timeouts, ad breaks, boring 2-yard runs, 2nd and 3rd downs 70 yards out the field. Should just call it the Touchdown Show...

Zzippy wrote: »
    It's great, like a live highlights show. Watching AF is actually entertaining when you strip out all the breaks in play, timeouts, ad breaks, boring 2-yard runs, 2nd and 3rd downs 70 yards out the field. Should just call it the Touchdown Show...

I find that's the way with basketball too, impossible to watch live US broadcasts because they spend more time not playing than they do playing. I don't know why anyone would watch a full NFL game when they could just watch this Red Zone thing.

I see a couple of Dolphins took a knee during the anthem earlier. It was kind of hard to see them because of the F**KING MASSIVE flag they had on the pitch.

They have neurologists in the NFL to check for concussion?

Unless they've got some newfangled tests in the US we don't know about that seems like overkill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

I see a couple of Dolphins took a knee during the anthem earlier. It was kind of hard to see them because of the F**KING MASSIVE flag they had on the pitch.

Fair play to them. They're gonna get serious **** for protesting the anthem on 911. But I support their protest.

Nice finish to the Colts game.

I hope this Red Zone thing is on every week on SS Mix.

EDIT: Terrible finish to the Colts game.

EDIT AGAIN: Hilarious finish to the Colts game. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

BEST finish to the Lions game. Colts throwing all those laterals and scoring would have been the most Lions way to lose.

Teferi wrote: »
    BEST finish to the Lions game. Colts throwing all those laterals and scoring would have been the most Lions way to lose.

It's so ridiculous that scoring to go ahead with 30-something seconds left isn't enough to win a game.

So in both NBC games the NFC team lost with a missed field goal at the end. Bizarre.

When I was watching the Colts/Lions game the commentators said these two teams hadn't played each other since 2012, or maybe it was 2014.
    How does that happen? I thought there were 2 divisions and everyone in the division played everyone else?

When I was watching the Colts/Lions game the commentators said these two teams hadn't played each other since 2012, or maybe it was 2014.
    How does that happen? I thought there were 2 divisions and everyone in the division played everyone else?

There's 2 conferences (AFC and NFC) with 4 divisions of 4 teams in each.
    Colts are in the AFC South with the Jags, Texans and Titans.
    Lions are in the NFC North with the Bears, Packers and Vikings.

From Wiki:
    Each team plays twice against each of the other three teams in its division: once at home, and once on the road (six games).
    Each team plays once against each of the four teams from another division within its own conference, with the assigned division based on a three-year rotation: two at home, and two on the road (four games).
    Each team plays once against one team from each of the remaining two divisions within its conference, based on the final division standings from the prior season: one at home, one on the road (two games).
    Each team plays once against each of the four teams from a division in the other conference, with the assigned division based on a four-year rotation: two at home, and two on the road (four games).

Naht tat tall. There are 8 divisions. There are 2 conferences.

There are 32 teams and each team plays 16 games per season.

You play each team in your division twice (6 games). You play each team from one other division (4 games) in your conference, the division they come from is on a 3 year rotation. You play one game against one team from the remaining divisions in your conference (2 games). Finally you play one team from each of the 4 divisions in the other conference (4 games), which changes every year.

So if they are opponents in the other conference you will only play them once every 4 years in theory unless you meet them in the playoffs. If they are in another division of your conference you play them more than once every 3 years. If they are in your division you play them twice per year.

Naht tat tall. There are 8 divisions. There are 2 conferences.

There are 32 teams and each team plays 16 games per season.

You play each team in your division twice (6 games). You play each team from one other division (4 games) in your conference. You play one game against one team from the remaining divisions in your conference (2 games). Finally you play one team from each of the 4 divisions in the other conference (4 games).

And is it just random selection when it comes to who you play from the other divisions or is it a rotating system?

Yeah I edited it to point out it's on a regular rotation

No wonder their Fantasy Football is so complicated, their actual football is confusing as hell.

It does seem like it's probably a good system, given the size of the country, just extremely confusing to a barely even casual fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

No wonder their Fantasy Football is so complicated, their actual football is confusing as hell.

It does seem like it's probably a good system, given the size of the country, just extremely confusing to a barely even casual fan.

Wait till you try to get your head around the idea that Dallas play in the eastern division. Or that the Colts play in the AFC southern division despite being further north than the Bengals, who play in the AFC northern division.

Buer wrote: »
    Wait till you try to get your head around the idea that Dallas play in the eastern division. Or that the Colts play in the AFC southern division despite being further north than the Bengals, who play in the AFC northern division.

I assume moving franchises across the country messes these things up too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Buer wrote: »

'murica... :rolleyes:

I assume moving franchises across the country messes these things up too?

The names for the divisions are just names really. It used to be important to keep teams in the same divisions as their geographical neighbours. Nowadays modern transport technology made the difference in distance fairly irrelevant to the teams.

For example it might seem like it would make more sense to put Dallas in the NFC South and Carolina in the NFC East but it wouldn't actually serve any functional difference (travelling from Tampa to Dallas or Charlotte is basically the same) and it would break up the rivalries that have developed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

So what is all this about Biden replacing Hillary as Democratic Candidate?
    I know Hillary fainted but didn't think was that serious she'd have to bow out?
    Probably just silly internet chatter mind

wp_rathead wrote: »
    So what is all this about Biden replacing Hillary as Democratic Candidate?
    I know Hillary fainted but didn't think was that serious she'd have to bow out?
    Probably just silly internet chatter mind

I thought I read she has pneumonia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

So she should be grand in about 2-3 weeks?

Not read anything about Biden but it would be a disaster for the Democratic party as Biden is a weak candidate and wasn't second choice in the primaries. If Hilary had to back out, it would have to go to Bernie or the party would be in trouble.

As far as I know, she had pneumonia after a bout of bad allergies the last few weeks. I don't know if this is true, but that is what her doctor has said. It's going to give a serious point of attack to the Republicans if she doesn't deal with it effectively.

Worrying times if two sets of populations can vote for the likes of Trump / Brexit in the one year.

wp_rathead wrote: »
    So she should be grand in about 2-3 weeks?

Full time medical care could well be fine in 2-3 days.