Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Administrators Posts: 55,090 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    I have one pram related question, was it a Leinster blue?

Missus is from Munster, no way would she allow it. She's already having difficulty accepting the fact that her child will probably be a Leinster supporter.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,084 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

What's a foot muff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

What's a foot muff?

Basically a mini-sleeping bag that attaches to the buggy to keep the kid warm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

What's a foot muff?

It's what AK wears to keep his toes warm while he stands on the wing, watching the forwards play rugby :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

molloyjh wrote: »
    Fcuking foot muffs...... :rolleyes:

Incredibly fiddly and annoying things but you'll be glad you have them when your little angel is pulling off their socks in January and their toes are turning blue.

• Is there no second hand market for this stuff?

Is there no second hand market for this stuff?

Yup. But people are pretty irrational when it comes to buying gear for their newborn, especially if they're first time parents.

Whilst there are loads of items available second hand, the number that are in top condition and haven't been torn/puked on aren't quite as high.

Is there no second hand market for this stuff?

I can only imagine the look of get from the wife if I suggested second hand stuff! Some things are grand. We’ve gotten things like the Moses basket from family. But other things would be a no-no. I’m not sure I know what the distinction is.

• molloyjh wrote: »
    I can only imagine the look of get from the wife if I suggested second hand stuff! Some things are grand. We’ve gotten things like the Moses basket from family. But other things would be a no-no. I’m not sure I know what the distinction is.

Stuff that other people see vs stuff the don't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I bought a second hand push chair from adverts as a back up yoke for the youngest at the time.

40 quid and it was like new. A granny bought it for her granddaughter who visited occasionally...like maybe twice!! Used it for about 2 years then sod it for 30!! And it came with a foot muff!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    It's what AK wears to keep his toes warm while he stands on the wing, watching the forwards play rugby :D

Let the forwards do the heavy lifting, wouldn't want to ruin the hair!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

.ak wrote: »
    Let the forwards do the heavy lifting, wouldn't want to ruin the hair!

Clay is great for keeping the hair in place.

• Administrators Posts: 55,090 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Stheno wrote: »
    Clay is great for keeping the hair in place.

Need something greasy if you want to keep your hair in place when running about. ;)

I'd nearly need to buy one of those hairband things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

For any association football fans, go to google maps and type gobsh1tes (with an i)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

stephen_n wrote: »
    For any association football fans, go to google maps and type gobsh1tes (with an i)

That is brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,876 ✭✭✭b.gud

stephen_n wrote: »

I didn't get anything, what am I missing out on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

b.gud wrote: »
    I didn't get anything, what am I missing out on

Brings you to Liverpool's soccer ground....Anfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,548 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Anyone else happy that Stranger Things is back...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

http://www.skysports.com/share/11102817

This is just taking the piss :)

swiwi_ wrote: »
    Anyone else happy that Stranger Things is back...

Yep. Really enjoying this season too. Just 3 episodes in but the way they’ve built the character relationships has been excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

On episode 2 here, enjoying it more than Season 1. Don't know how they managed to get so many kids who can act so well, most child actors are ropey at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Teferi wrote: »
    On episode 2 here, enjoying it more than Season 1. Don't know how they managed to get so many kids who can act so well, most child actors are ropey at best.

It's CGI. They're all seasoned actors well into their 30s.

.ak wrote: »
    It's CGI. They're all seasoned actors well into their 30s.

simpsons_kyle-danner_02_1193273018.jpg

Looks like the Russian investigation has really kicked up a notch now. Whatever about the Manafort/Gates charges the charges, the statement listing the case and charges against George Papadopolous is as close to nailing down the collusion case as we've seen. Multiple meetings, emails, lies etc. between one of Trump's campaign advisers and Russian contacts who expressed their desire to work with Trump and set up foreign policy meetings for Papadopolous with officials.

His Russian contacts offer dirt on Clinton, Papadopolous tells the Trump campaign that Putin wants to meet Trump, a contact of the Russian foreign affairs states that the Ministry of Foreign Affairs is ready to cooperate with the campaign.

Trump never availed of the meeting but there's clear regular contact between Russian nationals and Papadopolous who regularly relayed the information to senior Trump officials. The statement is worth reading.

https://www.justice.gov/file/1007346/download

Oh, and forgot to mention Papadopolous has plead guilty to lying to the FBI so. Fun times.

Worth noting nothing actually directly connecting Trump to Russia here but clearly his campaign was regularly in contact with them and working with them. I would imagine there is plenty more to come yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/925005659569041409

Everything comes back to #CrookedHillary with these folks. It's amazing how much the Fox/Trump News Network shills go on about her. She lost. She's irrelevant. You can't use her as an excuse anymore.
    They give Clinton more credit than she does herself. :pac:

Trump sounds like one of the thousands of Trump Bots his campaign is paying for.

Unfortuantely for Trump, he Tweeted that just before the Papadopolous news came out and the statement listing a huge amount of information linking the Trump campaign to Russian officials whilst he was running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,548 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Buer wrote: »
    Unfortuantely for Trump, he Tweeted that just before the Papadopolous news came out and the statement listing a huge amount of information linking the Trump campaign to Russian officials whilst he was running.

Love me a good impeachment. There must be some heavy coverup work going on...but the Russians might have all the info they need...ready to be released if needs be.

Finally got round to watching "Mr Smith goes to Washington". It's not the greatest classic film I've ever seen, almost corny I'd say, but that's probably because a 1930s film seems pretty dated these days...but it's got some relevance to the Trump situation.

Trump must be awfully worried about ye olde plea bargains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Jared Kushner just wiped his Twitter account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

swiwi_ wrote: »
    Love me a good impeachment. There must be some heavy coverup work going on...but the Russians might have all the info they need...ready to be released if needs be.

Finally got round to watching "Mr Smith goes to Washington". It's not the greatest classic film I've ever seen, almost corny I'd say, but that's probably because a 1930s film seems pretty dated these days...but it's got some relevance to the Trump situation.

Trump must be awfully worried about ye olde plea bargains.

This is the key for me. Russia are probably laughing all the way to the political and economic bank, having Trump and his cronies in charge. Last thing on earth they'd want is for him to be impeached.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Jared Kushner just wiped his Twitter account.

He doesn't use Twitter it's never had a post

(Swiped from a post of buers in politics)