Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

awec wrote: »
    Nah we didn't even bother going to look, we didn't like the look of the place at all.

Houses are packed in and overpriced IMO.

Yeah misses and I thought the same. Nice but unjustifiable expensive.

• Administrators Posts: 55,084 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Yeah misses and I thought the same. Nice but unjustifiable expensive.

I heard parking is probably going to be a bit of a nightmare too the way the site is being planned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭kuang1

I like her. I agree with her most of the time. And I take her 'science' over others 'beliefs' each and every day of the week.
    As you're entitled to. Don't let me or anyone else change your mind on that.
    I quite appreciated her scathing attack on Mattie McGrath last week and this, frankly, horse**** and dangerous scaremongering about vaccines. It needs to stop.
    100% agree with this.

• anyone watched The Orville? it's Star Trek with humour. quite good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Trump really hit a new low for me with his comments in Alabama. If an NFL player kneels for the anthem that "son of a bitch" should be fired, and people should leave the stadium in counter protest. He also claimed NFL ratings are way down because people prefer to watch him, instead of a game ruined by these new safety rules for concussion. Disturbing on so many counts!!!

• Neil3030 wrote: »
    Trump really hit a new low for me with his comments in Alabama. If an NFL player kneels for the anthem that "son of a bitch" should be fired, and people should leave the stadium in counter protest. He also claimed NFL ratings are way down because people prefer to watch him, instead of a game ruined by these new safety rules for concussion. Disturbing on so many counts!!!

The most ridiculous part imo is his very platform/slogan, MAGA, obviously necessitates America not being great. Which is exactly what Kaepernick is protesting against.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Neil3030 wrote: »
    He also claimed NFL ratings are way down because people prefer to watch him, instead of a game ruined by these new safety rules for concussion. Disturbing on so many counts!!!

Probably explains why MMA's ratings are on the increase. People who repeatedly get punched in the head would enjoy watching him also.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

He's escalating with North Korea as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Swan Curry

the craziest thing about this whole controversy is that nfl players didn't even have to be on the field for the anthem until 2009 when the department of defense paid the nfl to make it so

And as someone pointed out on Twitter - look at the unreserved disdain he has for players taking a knee during the anthem, and yet when it came to criticising white supremacists or neo-nazis it wasn't near as natural for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,548 ✭✭✭swiwi_

swiwi_ wrote: »
    So...and with thanks to Teferi for a few words of encouragement...I've started playing rugby again :eek: (well at I've been to a couple of training runs). First I needed to maintain Swiss neutrality, so that meant Leinster shorts and a Munster top.

I felt and no doubt appeared like some sort of uncoordinated retard, all those silky handling skills, no look passes, deft offloads, and amazing jinking runs that marked out my U16 career...gone :(

The team is half Swiss, half imports (mainly French expats). The colours are black and white, which is a nice touch :) All the good players wore AB training gear to practice...actually I tell a lie...there was no correlation between the jersey and the skill level. One of the guys introduced himself with what sounded to me like "Salivan". I was like "ça s'écrit comment?", and he was like "Sullivan, comme les Irlandais" :pac:. I was like"Oh, Sullivan" :pac: (I'm not lying, his name IS Sullivan).

Team came up with a really original nickname "Kiwi". I like the deep thought that went into it.

First game in 2.5 weeks - against the deadly rivals from Yverdon, Canton du Vaud. I'm debating throwing my hat in the ring for the trois quarts centre or else arrière...but I'm a lot more rotund and a lot less quick than back in the day. Team mascot is the back-up option. The squad's best player "Max" has really got the Carlos Spencer look going, complete with tank top, cap back to front, and a physique you just know the girls will cat-fight over. Pretty boy 10 - some things never change...

Podge_irl - no excuse lad, Geneva has rugby clubs too :D

And...we sent those urban protestants packing back to Yverdon...7 tries to 4, 52-23. Even included a sideline conversion and a drop goal. I was seriously surprised at the level...but then we are Swiss league B, which only leaves Swiss league A...and the Senior Men's Swiss team :eek: Got myself 15 to 20 minutes off the bench, at inside centre, missed 1 tackle (from which they scored :() but otherwise t'was grand. The lads were a chanting after the game, it was like being in the South of France. Great craic altogether.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,082 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Nice one, Swiwi! You'll nail a place down by the Christmas break.

There have been serious tensions between the football and rugby clubs here recently over ground sharing, so in the spirit of reconciliation we played the first (annual?) footby tournament yesterday.

Five hours of alternating between 7 a side soccer and touch rugby and nobody seems to know who won but it was a good laugh. The first game was like seven frantic Johnny Mays desperately trying to manufacture a line break for 15 minutes while we intercepted and ran in tries at will. Then they ran us ragged around the footie pitch for a bit.

Nice one, Swiwi! You'll nail a place down by the Christmas break.

Yeah, I'm not sure. The 2 lads that started midfield are both French - from the South-West and Bordeaux: our good friend yer man "Sullivan" and a guy who runs his own fitness studio...with pecs about the site of my waist. I also play FB, but the 15 is the captain, and actually pretty damn good, he made a scintillating counter-attack today that lead directly to a try. I'm going to need good old "father injury" to give me a helping hand. Or else there seems to be a spot for backup 9.

F*ck it, the Swiss are not supposed to any good at rugby, I was expecting just to flash the NZ passport and be named 10 and captain to an eternally grateful club....

Ah well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

****ing Miami Dolphins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

****ing Miami Dolphins.

No wonder dolphins always make that eeek sound!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

swiwi_ wrote: »
    Yeah, I'm not sure. The 2 lads that started midfield are both French - from the South-West and Bordeaux: our good friend yer man "Sullivan" and a guy who runs his own fitness studio...with pecs about the site of my waist. I also play FB, but the 15 is the captain, and actually pretty damn good, he made a scintillating counter-attack today that lead directly to a try. I'm going to need good old "father injury" to give me a helping hand. Or else there seems to be a spot for backup 9.

F*ck it, the Swiss are not supposed to any good at rugby, I was expecting just to flash the NZ passport and be named 10 and captain to an eternally grateful club....

Ah well.

You could always chance your arm in the back row.......no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

****ing Miami Dolphins.

Tooooold you so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

molloyjh wrote: »

This is basically the Bazzo special. I like to think of myself as a jack of all trades, but according to my team mates it's more of a fat winger/dodgy centre/skinny flanker situation.

Buer wrote: »
    Tooooold you so!

20/1, was worth a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Just whilst mentioning Heaslip's injury on another thread, it reminded me of Paul Kimmage's foolishness at the time. If anyone hasn't heard it, they could do worse than to listen to Kimmage taking part in the Sunday review of the papers on OTB yesterday for pure entertainment. The bloke became hysterical in his criticism of Jim Gavin for not showing enough emotion following Dublin's win and his dispassionate display in the post match press conference.

It culiminated in Kimmage actually shouting into the microphone "What did the media do to him?!" It was gold. Some of his comments are here: https://www.balls.ie/gaa/paul-kimmage-on-jim-gavin-374263

On a sidenote, Kimmage has lost the plot generally. You could sense the unease of the other guest and the host as he worked himself up into a frenzy. He has the ability to be a great sports journalist but I reckon the Armstrong thing took its toll on him and has left him completely embittered whilst being desperate for his next crusade.

• I listened to that live yesterday, it was completely bizarre. Considering he got effectively no antagonism from the host or the other guy on the show it was remarkable how worked up he got, just all by himself managed to completely lose his mind.

He started off by complaining about Gavin being hostile to the press. This is Paul fuppin' Kimmage complaining about hostility.

The irony is he's made plenty money from doping...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

molloyjh wrote: »

Are you suggesting he has lost his gas and added a few too many pounds for centre?

I got a subscription to PureVPN for two years. It worked ok for 4 days and now won't connect to the web. Wtf?

I had a similar problem with a VPN, it tends to need different settings depending on what network I connect to - see if you can switch around and try L2TP, TCP, UDP, etc. Hopefully one of those will continue to work.

The piece of crap app only has options for TCP or UDP.

Edit: I got a manual configuration working but it's a bit **** to pay for all the options of the app and not be able to use them.

Adieu (au diable?) Hugh Hefner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Irish footballer Kevin Doyle retired tonight due to concussion...says he cant even head the ball anymore without getting headaches...a couple of concessions already this year...quite a few over his career ..very sensible decision