Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The future of James Bond

• Registered Users Posts: 19,011 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Agree completely Pix. And, no neither worked at all.

I think they nailed it with "serious" Bond, in 'Casino Royale', 'Quantum of Solace' and 'Skyfall', even if the last two films have their flaws.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,307 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Here we go wrote: »
    What's the In cannon explanation for bond has it been stated it's just a code name passed on ? And if so is it each actor or do some share in sure the marriage from her majesty's secret service was mentioned in a dalton bond

From reading the books certainly Bond is the man it’s not meant to be a pseudo name or anything. The 007 I’m not sure about, Fleming brought the Scottish bit in after seeing Connery in the role apparently, there wasn’t much about his back story as far as I remember except he’d served in ww2.
    Regards a black Bond I’ve come around on this a bit when Elba was first mooted a few years ago I was dead against it but now I think sure if he’s the right actor why not but I hope they don’t pick a black actor just to refresh everything and use it as a marketing tool.
    I’m not actually gone on Craig’s Bond it was too much action and not enough fun. I’m a Moore fan, bit of humor and misogyny.

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭Here we go

salmocab wrote: »
    From reading the books certainly Bond is the man it’s not meant to be a pseudo name or anything. The 007 I’m not sure about, Fleming brought the Scottish bit in after seeing Connery in the role apparently, there wasn’t much about his back story as far as I remember except he’d served in ww2.
    Regards a black Bond I’ve come around on this a bit when Elba was first mooted a few years ago I was dead against it but now I think sure if he’s the right actor why not but I hope they don’t pick a black actor just to refresh everything and use it as a marketing tool.
    I’m not actually gone on Craig’s Bond it was too much action and not enough fun. I’m a Moore fan, bit of humor and misogyny.
    If it's the same person Is changing his race not a step to far with out either rebooting or killing off Craig on screen and replacing. Or just something we look past like how old he really should be ? I also fear the changeing to s black or female lead will just be for marketing reessons , i think casino has been his best outing but think they can't do a Bourne bond even Bourne couldn't keep up with it's self and with out it going stale so a franchise that keeps going like bond would find it difficult if aim for the MI approach it's action and humour just done well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2018/0826/987603-boyle-quit-bond-movie-over-plans-to-kill-007/

I can see why they would do it, but this would change Bond forever. And the Cannon Bond of Fleming would be no more.. Two thumbs down for me.

Don’t like the sound of that at all, it’s never been an issue befor having multiple actors over multiple generations even at one stage having 2 different actors at the same time wasn’t an issue story wise. Sounds like an attempt to head off on a tangent.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,199 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

James Bond has existed across multiple different time periods; had various different personalities; has travelled to space; has had an invisible car (actually, Die Another Day is pretty much a parade of ridiculousness); seen his wife killed on their wedding day and barely referenced it again... Basically, James Bond 'canon' isn't really something worth taking very seriously :)

• Registered Users Posts: 60,417 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I remember Brosnan saying in an interview when he was leaving that said he put out the idea that on screen he would hand over the 00 badge and Code Name James Bond to the next Actor/Agent to play Bond.

This would then make the character of Bond to be able to be played by any race or sex.

I remember Brosnan saying in an interview when he was leaving that said he put out the idea that on screen he would hand over the 00 badge and Code Name James Bond to the next Actor/Agent to play Bond.

This would then make the character of Bond to be able to be played by any race or sex.

Hopefully that never happens

• Registered Users Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

When I read the headline, I assumed the idea of killing Bond came from Boyle. Didn't expect it to come from Broccoli.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

Is Barbara Broccoli trying to compete with Kathleen Kennedy for the award of worst franchise decision of all time?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,317 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Is Barbara Broccoli trying to compete with Kathleen Kennedy for the award of worst franchise decision of all time?

Barbara Broccoli ???? What a terrible name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

Doing a StrarTrek. Re hash and change history.

No doubt some Soviet time machine will kill Bond and a hero has to time travel to save 007 but 007 ends up femail/ethnic.

Feck off. Write new stuff. Stop ****ing up film franchises!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,167 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

The franchise evolves. Why are people happy to see it across several decades without the character ageing, but have an issue with a change of skin colour? If they wanted to stick rigidly with movie 'canon', the latest film would probably still need to be set in the late 70s, or still in the 60s in the time scale of the books.

I can't understand why Barbara would want to kill Bond. I mean, she has been involved in the franchise her whole life so it's not like she is some radical newcomer wanting to shake things up.

There are three reasons I can think of:

1) Shock value. This will get people talking about the film, increase word of mouth, leading to higher grosses.

2) Acting. I can understand an actor wanting to do something new with a character they've been playing for 10 years but ultimately the franchise needs to be put first.

3) Broccoli selling up. I've seen internet rumours (by their very nature probably untrue) that she and Michael G. Wilson will sell EON when Craig leaves the franchise. A death will be a clean slate for the next company. But this doesn't make sense because of all the franchises out there, audience are most accepting of a Bond recast. It is part and parcel of the series. There is no need to kill the character to justify it.

All three reasons are not good enough to fundamentally change the franchise with what I think is a bad decision. It is very early days yet, but if she stuck to her guns to the point that Boyle left and threw the film into chaos, I wouldn't be surprised if Bond ends of being killed in the film.

BTW, I don't understand how Boyle could get so far into the production that they were in the casting process and yet a core point of the film's script was still a very contentious issue for him.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 35,941 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Well it is a rumour, though wouldn't surprise me if if true either; in this era of Shared Universes, Tom Cruise throwing himself off helicopters, and the mini-genre that is "movies starring The Rock", the James Bond franchise must seem a pretty archaic beast in the eyes of some producers. Maybe even a little stale. There's no grand arc or stories, no ensemble cast of characters to draw on and create spin-offs, just one man and his Walther PPK. And that's fine for the audience potentially, but I could see how Hollywood may not know what to do with the franchise anymore

I mean this thread itself kinda speaks to that: beyond the shock / controversy of casting someone 'unconventional' shall we say for the sake of peace, where does the Bond franchise go? The poll simply asking to keep going or go back to the days of the Underground Lair. To be fair, the Mission Impossible series is hardly a deep, characterful set of films, but they're less of a contractual obligation & branding exercise, coupled with Cruise's aforementioned signature, death defying stunts.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭mikhail

pixelburp wrote: »
    Well it is a rumour, though wouldn't surprise me if if true either; in this era of Shared Universes, Tom Cruise throwing himself off helicopters, and the mini-genre that is "movies starring The Rock", the James Bond franchise must seem a pretty archaic beast in the eyes of some producers. Maybe even a little stale. There's no grand arc or stories, no ensemble cast of characters to draw on and create spin-offs, just one man and his Walther PPK. And that's fine for the audience potentially, but I could see how Hollywood may not know what to do with the franchise anymore
    I would watch the hell out of an action comedy starring Q.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Id welcome a return to the more comedic quip'y bond , watched a view to a kill last night and I really love the older films a lot more.

I like Craig , he was a bit out there and he's no Connery or Brosnan but he's decent. As for the future, I have 0 interest in female/black/gay bond, just leave the franchise as it is , as Ian Fleming envisaged it.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

The next Bond should be black and gay, that will keep all gender equality liberals happy. Lets start a conversation on the matter immediately.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,167 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Any discussion in which someone brings up liberals immediately becomes dumber because of that fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

Hurrache wrote: »
    Any discussion in which someone brings up liberals immediately becomes dumber because of that fact.

True. Liberals say a lot of dumb **** these days alright.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Id welcome a return to the more comedic quip'y bond , watched a view to a kill last night and I really love the older films a lot more.

I like Craig , he was a bit out there and he's no Connery or Brosnan but he's decent. As for the future, I have 0 interest in female/black/gay bond, just leave the franchise as it is , as Ian Fleming envisaged it.

I'd be of the opinion if they wanted a female James bond, they should respect themselves enough to create a female identity and run with that. Instead of putting him in stelletos. That seemes to be something they were considering with moneypenney. But then they fell back on the "its a mans world".

Sarah Connor didn't need to be remolded from a male character. If you want strong female leads. Make'em.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

I'd be of the opinion if they wanted a female James bond, they should respect themselves enough to create a female identity and run with that. Instead of putting him in stelletos. That seemes to be something they were considering with moneypenney. But then they fell back on the "its a mans world".

Sarah Connor didn't need to be remolded from a male character. If you want strong female leads. Make'em.

thats exactly it, like nobody wants to see tomb raider with Danny dyer , Invent new characters , new franchises and you can do whatever you want. Bond was always to me anyway a smart mouthed classy white male secret agent with a bit of a drinking problem , its worked for decades.

The studios care about profits and the last two Bond movies made a fortune. Spectre grossed well over double what Star Trek Beyond grossed. Even the last two MI movies have grossed less than the last two Bond movies.

With those kind of figures, I'd say studios would be very happy to continue the franchise.

The studios care about profits and the last two Bond movies made a fortune. Spectre grossed well over double what Star Trek Beyond grossed. Even the last two MI movies have grossed less than the last two Bond movies.

With those kind of figures, I'd say studios would be very happy to continue the franchise.

Did spectre really make more then rouge nation wow personally it's no contest I'd watch RN over spectre quantum and maybe skyfall

World Grosses

Rogue Nation: $683m
    Fallout: $539m (to date)

Skyfall: $1,109m
    Spectre: $881m

• Registered Users Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Wedwood

Don't blame Boyle for walking. Eon trying to create their own version of the shared universe by retrofitting some kind of continuity. You'd only do that if you had plans to revisit the previous Bond actors in some way, either by reference, or worse still, reuse old Bond actors as some sort of mentor role for the younger agent.

Sounds like a remake of David Niven's Casino Royale.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 35,941 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Hey, it's all speculation: the only hard fact we have is that Danny Boyle left the production. But if blockbusters like The Last Jedi or Batman v. Superman instruct anything, it's that massive profits aren't always the final delineator, otherwise WB wouldn't have parachuted Joss Whedon into Justice League to 'DeSynder' it.

Dunno why folks keep bringing up this female Bond idea though, just feels like weak attempts to contrive outrage over invented spitballing about the new Bond (bar the probable Guardian clickbait article).

Hey, it's all speculation: the only hard fact we have is that Danny Boyle left the production. But if blockbusters like The Last Jedi or Batman v. Superman instruct anything, it's that massive profits aren't always the final delineator, otherwise WB wouldn't have parachuted Joss Whedon into Justice League to 'DeSynder' it.

Dunno why folks keep bringing up this female Bond idea though, just feels like weak attempts to contrive outrage over invented spitballing about the new Bond (bar the probable Guardian clickbait article).

Snyder's daughter died during production, hence Whedon's involvement. I don't think he was hired to "DeSynder" it.

There were a bunch of rewrites and reshoots, it was more than just Whedon joining the production to finish what was already produced. Heck the 2nd unit director could have done that. The final film had a jarring tone befitting two directions. What happened Snyder was beyond tragic and couldn't imagine how he's coping, but IIRC Justice League was already under way when BvS was floating around. The inclusion of all the jokes and lighter approach seemed after the fact, not part of the original plan. Seems to form the basis of the "Synder Cut" hysteria.

So Is it just me who prefers the mi franchise over the current bond in particular the last 3 where they stopped numbering them