Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masterchef UK 2016

• Registered Users Posts: 7,595 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Coriander dessert is a triumph. Who knew.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,984 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

So far it looks like

Juanita definitely through
    Jacob, Noma probably through
    Chris not through
    Oh good, I'm glad I'm not cracking up - couldn't figure out how I'd managed to miss Chris :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,481 ✭✭✭tinpib

Ya Noma was fairly arrogant and seemed to be jammy to get through to tonight.

You could sense she might fall flat on her face and guess the other one would be near the bottom.

Keeping the other 4 made sense.

Ya, coriander/dessert guy and Juanita, who I shall continue calling Lauren, seem to be a notch ahead of the others.

Because of the inventiveness of the dessert and the amazing comments I think that glasses/Jack Whitehall dude is a nose ahead.

Shame there is only one more week of heats.

I do agree that Greg is a weak judge, he is having a ball this year, but I think he feels inadequate sometimes as he is inadequate, he doesn't have the background of John.

Nobody watching tonight? Or was it just that boring?

"Grig 'n' Oi" is going to drive me MAD before the end of this season :mad:

Interesting gang this evening....

OMG, Greg got his grammar right :eek: (I'm sorry to be such a grammar Nazi, but I just can't help it!)

Bit of a toss up which of the guys to send home after the second round - although they were right about Farshad not knowing when to stop, talk about a myriad (aka total mish-mash of flavours!!

But the other fella, if John hadn't prompted him, wouldn't have even had a dish to serve in the first round... not sure how he'll cope with the pressure in future rounds.....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,481 ✭✭✭tinpib

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Nobody watching tonight? Or was it just that boring?

"Grig 'n' Oi" is going to drive me MAD before the end of this season :mad:

Interesting gang this evening....

Very quiet around these parts tonight alright.

Just watched it there. Thought standard was low. Yer wan Annie the best out of a bad lot but I don't think any of them will go very far.

The fella knocked out at the end was a disaster.

I thought after the first round that they just might pick Annie and have 4 of them cook again.

There's shots of them all tipping sugar (or possibly flour) into a saucepan from a Kilner jar.... willy nilly....

Now, I'm no cooking expert, God knows - but everyone knows that desserts require precise measurements of ingredients (or so I've been told, anyway) - so would they ever feck off with that for a conceit :mad:

Lovely to see that Tim Anderson is as bonkers as ever!

Hannah Miles needs a style consultant :eek:

(meooowwwww!)

I really wish they'd stop making such a big deal of "YOU'RE 30/60/90 SECONDS OVER".

15 minutes, maybe, might be a problem - but seriously lads.....

(Maybe I should stop watching this so late at night, everything seems to be irritating me tonight :D)

Annie's gravy looked like actual chocolate sauce :eek:

More raw pork..... What IS this season's obsession with undercooked meat :confused:

And oh my goodness yer man's main plate is an unholy mess!

Anyone around tonight??

They're all just doing Sunday dinner!

(Except yer man with half a ton of duck on the plate, that was positively intimidating :eek:)

That last girl who actually admitted that she was cooking Sunday dinner..... her gravy looks GAWJUS!!! I'm stuffed full, and still slavering at the sight of it....

Not a dessert between the lot of them in the first round..... and a few doing remarkably similar dishes.... interesting!

Who let Ping out with that lipstick on :eek:

"A crowd-pleasing dish" sez John - in his most disparaging tone.

Well what else do you expect them to produce on MC, for heaven's sake??? :confused:

I wonder does yer man realise why his apple tarte tatin didn't work? Sounded like he had no idea that the apples he used weren't suitable (not that I did either, I must add!)

More yummy-looking gravy with the chicken dish.... gorgeous looking dish.

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭niamhg13

Where is the voice over lady!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    "A crowd-pleasing dish" sez John - in his most disparaging tone.

Well what else do you expect them to produce on MC, for heaven's sake??? :confused:
    "Crowd pleasing" is a euphemism I think for "something you'd be very happy to get in your local pub on a wet Sunday but I'm not going to serve it to the Queen".

niamhg13 wrote: »
    Where is the voice over lady!
    Eh? She's there, as usual.....

Cherry, chocolate and vanilla..... YUMMMMMMM!

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭niamhg13

I haven't heard her yet,normally she says what they are after cooking.

I feel a pasting coming on for this fella's venison dish..... :eek:

ETA - ok, not as bad as I feared.... thought his celeriac puree looked a bit grainy but maybe it wasn't!

With his dessert not working, he's having a bit of a 'mare......

Jeez, the poor medical student sounds like he might need counselling after this :eek:

Hellooo...... anyone home???

How come we never, ever see anyone using a weighing scales in this :confused:

Duck green curry? Really???

D'you think maybe they might like Annie's cooking just a little bit???

The wimminz are doing very well this week.....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭RentDayBlues

Watching it on delay, some fab duck dishes

Next week will be fun

• Registered Users Posts: 2,541 ✭✭✭anothernight

I'm catching up through the iPlayer. 3 minutes in and Jane won't stop with her heeheeheeheee!!! laugh!

As long as the women go through I'm not too bothered about who leaves, mostly because the women's dishes tend to look really tasty. :o