Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Deadst4r

Dana is still doing interviews it seems

https://twitter.com/TalkMMA/status/722838972834009088

I can't see a reason for Dana to lie about Conor wanting more money?

Then again, there never has been much logic to Dana's lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

glasso wrote: »
    McGregor has to come out and give a valid reason for this behaviour.
    Still think Dana White is not saying everything.

Wants to focus on camp. Doesn't want to fly across the world right now. Simple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,761 ✭✭✭degsie

Wants to focus on camp. Doesn't want to fly across the world right now. Simple

He has certain obligations which he has reneged on and has backed himself into a corner. He needs to see the bigger picture.

darced wrote: »
    Surely it was in his contract or the UFC couldn't pull the fight, Conor is looking really bad here.

He asked for it to be pushed to May. They said no. I'm sure press obligations were in his contract. Can't be sure if exact dates were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

can see this all getting resolved before ufc200

degsie wrote: »
    He has certain obligations which he has reneged on and has backed himself into a corner. He needs to see the bigger picture.

I get that but why do people want to believe "there's more to it"? It is what it is. It's fairly obvious what's happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭shocksy

Jesus even when people are given straight forward comments they still have conspiracies. Maybe just maybe for once he wanted to focus on his camp. Maybe just maybe he's not scared. He asked for the bloody fight remember? Maybe he wants to get a few weeks of camp in before press. Jesus people love a conspiracy

If that's the case, why go to the bother of telling twitter he's retiring and causing all this nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

degsie wrote: »

Tbh I think UFC need to see the bigger picture. He's a golden goose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

shocksy wrote: »
    If that's the case, why go to the bother of telling twitter he's retiring and causing all this nonsense.

Cuz he was dropped?

shocksy wrote: »

Why not? Just coz he tweeted some crap about retiring doesn't mean there's a whole pile of conspiracy theories. This might be one of the few times that Dana White is actually telling the truth. It makes sense. Comments like "he's scared" are absolute nonsense.

.ak wrote: »
    Cuz he was dropped?

I like Conor, but that's just throwing his toy out of the buggy. But to risk losing his UFC career over it, is just plain stupid because he didn't get his own way :rolleyes:

Edit:

When he signed those contracts he would of known he had media obligations. He should of thought about the fight at the time an realised he needed more camp time to prepare for Diaz, but instead, he thought his pulling power would exclude him from the media obligations and the UFC said no fu**ing way and he was pulled from the fight. The way it stands now, it's making him look bad, not the UFC.

darced wrote: »
    I cant believe that a huge contract like that would have vague details and Conor signed it. Its likely the dates were specified and Conor used it as a way out.

A way out why? Coz he's scared?

Edit: you're possibly right on the contract details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

This was bound to happen, nobody is bigger than the ufc. They had to put stop to him thinking he was the ufc. I've grown to like him tbh. He has heart wanted the Diaz rematch at same weight when he could have asked for 155. Conor tweet stinks of I quit before ye drop me. Will he be back.....I think so. This is all about conor thinking he runs the show ufc can't let people get way with that.

he just tweeted then deleted the tweet

it said 'I'm going to make an announcement'

but I didn't catch the rest of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,270 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Conor never said he has retired. He never said he will not fight on ufc 200

Dana pulled him off the card because he didn't go to Vegas at the weekend.

White is asked if Conor rang him that he would put him back on the card. Why did he pull him off it in the first place then?

McGregorjust put out a tweet, ''I am making an announcement'' then deleted it straight away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭14murphy

Deadst4r wrote: »
    he just tweeted then deleted the tweet

it said 'I'm going to make an announcement'

but I didn't catch the rest of it

Who did ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

He just tweeted "Im going to make an announcement" then deleted it. Missed the screenshot. Feck :pac:

Damn ye're quick

Conor had a tweet there an deleted it before I could screen capture it. Hmmmmmm.

Something about making an announcement.

say what you likebut his reach is incredible, twitter blowing up over the deleted tweet

for anyone thats interested

What's his best choice? Facebook post or sell the story to TMZ? (Online video interview?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Video of him rolling with Gunnar last night:

https://www.facebook.com/MjolnirMMA/videos/1017378705011526/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,288 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

It’s interesting what Conor would do in the (unlikely) event that he does totally retire. Yes, he is a star but his skill set/appeal is very narrow and too suited to MMA.

WWE. Initially he’d get a decent deal on name recognition. Would mean long stretches on the road and/or regular extended stints in the States. Doesn’t have any background in wrestling and is tiny for a wrestler so wouldn’t be very useful in the ring without a lot of training. Generally looks awkward when scripted so I’m not sure how it would work out for him long term. A much riskier job than MMA.

Acting. Might get an Expendables type gig or 2/3 word bad guy role but his acting in everything I’ve seen is pretty terrible. Doesn’t have the size to make up for it for many roles. Could probably make a decent living in terrible movies that want to milk his name.

-Pundit. Would probably have to relocate to the States and wouldn’t earn nearly enough to maintain his lifestyle.

-Open a gym. I’d guess he has some ownership in SGB already and cant see him opening a competing gym. Again, not going to maintain his current lifestyle.

-Open a business. Possibly but to open something that would maintain his lifestyle he’d have to put in a lot of money.

-Live off what he’s earned. I’d presume most of his sponsorship deals are tied to fighting so they’ll dry up after a while. He’s probably earned enough that he never has to work again but is he ok with going back to a normalish life in order to make it last the rest of his life?

Looking at it all I don’t see him staying out of fighting for long. He’s coming into his peak earning power now and his star is definitely rising. He’d definitely get a bumper deal in a year or two to come back for a return fight but it wouldn’t come close to what he’d make fighting 2/3 times in the interim.

Considering his poor wording in some of his old facebook posts, this could be very interesting. :pac::pac:

John Kavanagh standing behind him going 'don't say that, no, not that either'

Foxtrol wrote: »
    It’s interesting what Conor would do in the (unlikely) event that he does totally retire. Yes, he is a star but his skill set/appeal is very narrow and too suited to MMA.

WWE. Initially he’d get a decent deal on name recognition. Would mean long stretches on the road and/or regular extended stints in the States. Doesn’t have any background in wrestling and is tiny for a wrestler so wouldn’t be very useful in the ring without a lot of training. Generally looks awkward when scripted so I’m not sure how it would work out for him long term. A much riskier job than MMA.

Acting. Might get an Expendables type gig or 2/3 word bad guy role but his acting in everything I’ve seen is pretty terrible. Doesn’t have the size to make up for it for many roles. Could probably make a decent living in terrible movies that want to milk his name.

-Pundit. Would probably have to relocate to the States and wouldn’t earn nearly enough to maintain his lifestyle.

-Open a gym. I’d guess he has some ownership in SGB already and cant see him opening a competing gym. Again, not going to maintain his current lifestyle.

-Open a business. Possibly but to open something that would maintain his lifestyle he’d have to put in a lot of money.

-Live off what he’s earned. I’d presume most of his sponsorship deals are tied to fighting so they’ll dry up after a while. He’s probably earned enough that he never has to work again but is he ok with going back to a normalish life in order to make it last the rest of his life?

Looking at it all I don’t see him staying out of fighting for long. He’s coming into his peak earning power now and his star is definitely rising. He’d definitely get a bumper deal in a year or two to come back for a return fight but it wouldn’t come close to what he’d make fighting 2/3 times in the interim.

I think all those points are redundant because he's not retiring.

Deadst4r wrote: »
    Considering his poor wording in some of his old facebook posts, this could be very interesting. :pac::pac:

John Kavanagh standing behind him going 'don't say that, no, not that either'

Tbh, compared to Kavanagh, Conor's a wordsmith. Someone needs to teach JK how to use a paragraph