Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭ASOT

Ye know what, if it turns out this whole thing has been a joke or a wind-up... well it's not really that funny is it? PR fcuk up if it's a joke.

How is it a PR **** up? Its been pretty successful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Depp wrote: »
    ah dont be so uptight its hilarious!

It's not, it appears to be absolutely pointless, the fight is 11 weeks away and didnt need anymore hype, I don't see many people finding it too funny tbh

ASOT wrote: »
    How is it a PR **** up? Its been pretty successful.

I dont think Conor himself will come out of this with any gained popularity if its a joke. Yeah we'll all talk about it for a day or two but that's it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭nehe milner skudder

It's not, it appears to be absolutely pointless, the fight is 11 weeks away and didnt need anymore hype, I don't see many people finding it too funny tbh

the "shoes off for the boys in green" ,"cheeky nandos" "netflix and chill " set will lap this **** up. he is the pied piper of irish douchebaggery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

Would this thread have gotten anywhere near the amount of posts it did tonight if this hadn't been tweeted? Mainstream media are talking about it.

No such thing as bad publicity. Most people think Floyd Mayweather is a cock but they still watch his fights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

Multiple sources that have absolutely nothing to do with McGregor maintaining its real.

I reckon he's promised JOE.ie a favour some time last year and this is it.

They've churned out about 50 McGregor articles in the last three hours, raking in the hits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Just my opinion but I doubt Ariel would be getting involved in a hoax. It destroys his credibility, as no matter if he turns around and says he was involved (if it is a hoax/troll job), people won't believe him.

Would this thread have gotten anywhere near the amount of posts it did tonight if this hadn't been tweeted? Mainstream media are talking about it.

No such thing as bad publicity. Most people think Floyd Mayweather is a cock but they still watch his fights.

No such thing as bad publicity is the worst and most false cliche of all time.

If this is a complete joke then it will leave a bad taste in many quarters, totally unneccessary

Paully D wrote: »
    Just my opinion but I doubt Ariel would be getting involved in a hoax. It destroys his credibility, as no matter if he turns around and says he was involved (if it is a hoax/troll job), people won't believe him.

He's only speaking about his sources though, he's never said at any point that he believes them. He can only work with what's being reported to him by the people he trusts. If that backfires, it's on them.

No sports journalist is ever right 100% of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,952 ✭✭✭Monokne

ASOT wrote: »
    Multiple sources that have absolutely nothing to do with McGregor maintaining its real.

Ariel is pointing out that UFC are acting on the basis that Conor has retired, ie that's what he's told them. If you can't understand the significance of that, I don't know what to tell you.

Paully D wrote: »

Considering how close he is to McGregor and JK he isn't exactly putting his name out there saying it's true, he's brushing it off as other people maintaining its true. So he knows sweet fa id imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Lads has anyone checked on Gambred to see if he's ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭gdavis

ok , I know its bs but have to go to bed,i better not wake up to this being true

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Lads has anyone checked on Gambred to see if he's ok?

Just spotted him there, here he is

8mx1U3e.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

I can't see him not wanting the diaz fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

What about diaz saying he is retiring too was he just mocking conor or is it true ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Deadst4r

What about diaz saying he is retiring too was he just mocking conor or is it true ?

Taking the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

Deadst4r wrote: »
    Taking the piss.

We hope !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Confirmed on bjpenn.com seems legit ;) . Imagine they both retired from UFC and just sold another fight themselves now that would be something!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Chris_Bradley

He gets a lot more promotion out of what he's done today than he ever would have in LV.

Very smart man.

Still don't like him though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,951 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Luckily I'm on Pacific time, so I still have a few hours of fun to go today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

jimmii wrote: »
    Confirmed on bjpenn.com seems legit ;) . Imagine they both retired from UFC and just sold another fight themselves now that would be something!

Gigantic LOL @ "confirmed on bjpenn.com"

Some serious spoofers on boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

jimmii wrote: »

one of the more outlandish rumours on twitter is that this is what's happening (at croker).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

lots in here refusing to believe it since its a massive blow to UFC if McGregor does retire.
    Doesn't make sense for it to be a joke or a hoax imo. Whether he is upset with the UFC or something & might change his mind in a few weeks,months I'm not sure. But right now I don't believe he is trolling.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Not gonna repeat myself lads...give it a rest on the pm nonsense.