Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

lougal88 wrote: »
    You're making a lot of bets about how I'm a certain type of poster. Therefore I'm not gonna bother formulating a proper response as you're just personally attacking me now. At least Gamebred could have a rational argument.

You know nothing about me so wise up with your accusations.
    I don't like anybody holding up divisions and thats unfounded.

I do mind Aldo vs McGregor being for interim title actually if you'd bother reading my posts.

what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,284 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

lougal88 wrote: »
    You're making a lot of bets about how I'm a certain type of poster. Therefore I'm not gonna bother formulating a proper response as you're just personally attacking me now. At least Gamebred could have a rational argument.

You know nothing about me so wise up with your accusations.
    I don't like anybody holding up divisions and thats unfounded.

I do mind Aldo vs McGregor being for interim title actually if you'd bother reading my posts.

What are you talking about? Are you feigning upset because you’re struggling to find a better metric to judge what people want than what they’ll pay for?

You’re the type of poster who uses terms like ‘disgusted’ to talk about a rematch, a fight that people were nearly universally excited for when the first fight was announced and was one of the biggest fights ever. It’s the exact type of talk the forum gets whenever something to do with Conor comes up. I doubt Conor is complaining as being talked about just lines his wallet but I find it incredibly hypocritical when the same posters aren’t ‘disgusted’ when other fighters are in similar situations (your post above is a prime example, ‘I don’t like...’).

Look, we all know this isn’t the first choice of most ‘hardcore’ fans but calm down with the hyperbole. It’s a solid rematch that few would complain about if it was a year or so down the line. It’s not some carnival freakshow fight and it’s not like he’s massively holding up the division when you compare it to the previous champion’s activity (especially given how unhealthy the top contenders have been).

It isn’t ideal for a lot of fans but it’s hardly something to be ‘disgusted’ about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭lougal88

Foxtrol wrote: »
    What are you talking about? Are you feigning upset because you’re struggling to find a better metric to judge what people want than what they’ll pay for?

You’re the type of poster who uses terms like ‘disgusted’ to talk about a rematch, a fight that people were nearly universally excited for when the first fight was announced and was one of the biggest fights ever. It’s the exact type of talk the forum gets whenever something to do with Conor comes up. I doubt Conor is complaining as being talked about just lines his wallet but I find it incredibly hypocritical when the same posters aren’t ‘disgusted’ when other fighters are in similar situations (your post above is a prime example, ‘I don’t like...’).

Look, we all know this isn’t the first choice of most ‘hardcore’ fans but calm down with the hyperbole. It’s a solid rematch that few would complain about if it was a year or so down the line. It’s not some carnival freakshow fight and it’s not like he’s massively holding up the division when you compare it to the previous champion’s activity (especially given how unhealthy the top contenders have been).

It isn’t ideal for a lot of fans but it’s hardly something to be ‘disgusted’ about.

I'm not gonna fight over the Internet.
    I have an opinion. Deal with it.

I want the champion to defend his belt. Simple as. I'm allowed my opinion.

You're living up to your name so go troll someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

WarZ wrote: »
    He advises McGregor on movement, is his strength and conditioning coach (see Ido's own quotes), advises McGregor on jiu jitsu (see quotes) and spars with McGregor (see videos).

Movement: Yes, nobody disputes that
    S&C: I believe his S&C is John Connor from the strength institute
    Jiu Jitsu: LOL...Yup you are dead right, John Kavanagh steps asideand lets a white belt coach McGregor
    Sparring: I've never seen it. His Can you post this video?
    The sparring partners I'm familiar with are Artem and Roddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭ASOT

Mellor wrote: »
    Movement: Yes, nobody disputes that
    S&C: I believe his S&C is John Connor from the strength institute
    Jiu Jitsu: LOL...Yup you are dead right, John Kavanagh steps asideand lets a white belt coach McGregor
    Sparring: I've never seen it. His Can you post this video?
    The sparring partners I'm familiar with are Artem and Roddy

I wouldn't waste my time man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

So the internet has decided McGregor is making an appearance(I'm not sure if that means a 'fight') at wrestlemania tonight because............he follows a couple of wresters on twitter. PP have him at 4/1 :eek::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,103 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Devastator wrote: »
    So the internet has decided McGregor is making an appearance(I'm not sure if that means a 'fight') at wrestlemania tonight because............he follows a couple of wresters on twitter. PP have him at 4/1 :eek::rolleyes:

In fairness, it's not just a couple of wrestlers.

It's second and third in command of the entire company and the two who will take over when Vince McMahon does finally retire.

Could easily be him trolling, but definitely wouldn't rule out an appearance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

It's second and third in command of the entire company and the two who will take over when Vince McMahon does finally retire.

Could easily be him trolling, but definitely wouldn't rule out an appearance.

I think its unlikely but it certainly wouldn't shock me. Build up to this years Mania has been lackluster from what I know (I don't really follow WWE anymore mind) and he would boost the ratings. Plus it would be a nice little paycheck for him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

I'd put money on him being in sin night club tonight at 1/4 if anybody is offering odds.

:pac::pac::pac::pac: You're saying that like I'm supposed to know already(Is it common knowledge?) or that I should care? :pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Deadst4r

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,314 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Zero-Cool wrote: »

could just mean he's popped to centra to get a pint of milk :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

All the Americans asking what a gaf is. :pac:

Apparently all this talk started after this news article appeared on Friday. hmmmmm can someone remind me what date it was on Friday? :pac:

http://www.dailystar.co.uk/sport/ufc/505208/Conor-McGregor-Sheamus-Wrestlemania-32

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

Apparently all this talk started after this news article appeared on Friday. hmmmmm can someone remind me what date it was on Friday? :pac:

http://www.dailystar.co.uk/sport/ufc/505208/Conor-McGregor-Sheamus-Wrestlemania-32

Don't fancy McGregor's chances on short notice taking on a full camp Sheamus.

Video footage has just been released from earlier on this evening of a bunch of wrestling kids practicing their capoeira kicks after the rumours of McGregor showing up at wrestlemania!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,257 ✭✭✭SteM

Video footage has just been released from earlier on this evening of a bunch of wrestling kids practicing their capoeira kicks after the rumours of McGregor showing up at wrestlemania!

A lot if lads in that video need to give Ido a call.

SteM wrote: »
    A lot if lads in that video need to give Ido a call.

Ido on 1 side, Sensei Stevie Seagal on the other teaching swift front kicks to the chin or twisted little fingers :D

Does anyone know if Conor turned up last night? :pac: I'm guessing not because I'd presume someone would have said something already?

Ido on 1 side, Sensei Stevie Seagal on the other teaching swift front kicks to the chin or twisted little fingers :D

Does anyone know if Conor turned up last night? :pac: I'm guessing not because I'd presume someone would have said something already?

Nah he didn't show up, neither did Rousey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Someone on Reddit has wrote a transcript of Conor's corner during 196.
    All comments are John, except where noted as "Owen:", etc
    [Round 1]
    Take your time
    Clinch Up
    Right hand on the bicep
    Keep that bicep

Clinch ends
    That leg kick is there
    Take your time
    That's that reaction.

Owen: Fake right lead uppercut!
    John to Owen: He's not leaning forward but no? I think he's [inaudbile]
    Owen: Lead uppercut, lead uppercut Conor.
    That leg kick is there
    Keep the head moving.
    Right hand lead uppercut.

Owen: Fake left lead uppercut Conor.
    John to Owen(Regarding the fake right lead uppercut): Yeah I see that shot now yeah, in between rounds.
    Conors counter left that cuts Nate
    Owen: Body! Body! Leg kick! Ohh got him got him, leg kick Body's there as well.
    Nothing!

John to Owen: Loading a little bit on the left hand yeah, kinda falling into it when hes just throwing the left.
    Owen: Stick the jab! Get the head to the outside [inaudible] Yeah, yeah.
    Cut him off.

Nates takes him down
    Leg lock!
    Conor sweeps
    30 seconds!
    Ear to ear.
    Ear to ear.
    Ear to ear Conor!

Nate takes open guard
    Back away Conor please.
    Back away Conor.
    Conor.

Owen: Stand up Conor!
    10 seconds

Owen: Your going in on your own John
    [End of Round 1]

What a fantastic round
    Rinse and spit, you can hold onto the water
    How you feeling?

McGregor: Good.
    Nice.
    Get the breath there, feel that recovery.
    Loading a little bit into the left hand falling into it, lets show the left hand and right uppercut, cause when you load up that he's leaning and there's the right uppercut.
    You're looking beautiful.
    You don't have to put everything on every shot.
    Show that left hand, he's leaning, the right hand is there.
    Let's pepper those legs as well we have those leg kicks yeah?
    All right, let's show them another round.
    There we go, full recovery, full recovery.

[Round 2]
    Owen: Get that head going - beautiful.
    Owen: That's it.
    Conors left to the body
    Yes! That's where that left goes!
    Body!

Owen: Body!
    Yes!

Second Clinch Up
    Bicep. Keep that bicep.
    Clinch ends
    Owen: Body, body, body that!
    Body Conor, body!
    Elbow Conor!
    Oh that's the uppercut!

Owen: Keep the head going!
    Elbow on the inside Conor.

Owen: Work the body and back up.
    Elbow!
    Elbow!

Diaz lands the 1-2 that stuns Conor
    Owen: Get ready! Get ready! Get busy!
    Owen: Left right Conor! Left right hook!
    Owen/Artem [Inaudible]
    Third clinch up
    Bicep!
    Clinch ends
    Owen: Get moving Conor! Body! Work the body!
    Conor shoots on Nate, Nate takes full mount
    Owen: Get moving left Conor!
    Fight ends

Looks like John/Owen identified at the time, exactly what people were saying afterwards. Loading up on the left too much, not enough leg kicks. That looks like pretty solid work from John.
    Also, Ido isn't saying boo. His presence there is irrelevant, exactly as was said at the time. Yet people will still complain about him "cornering" Conor.

Mellor wrote: »
    Someone on Reddit has wrote a transcript of Conor's corner during 196.
    All comments are John, except where noted as "Owen:", etc

Looks like John/Owen identified at the time, exactly what people were saying afterwards. Loading up on the left too much, not enough leg kicks. That looks like pretty solid work from John.
    Also, Ido isn't saying boo. His presence there is irrelevant, exactly as was said at the time. Yet people will still complain about him "cornering" Conor.

Probably some sort of deal, Conor gets free movement training and Ido gets to be in his corner. Really good promotion and pays for itself really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

"Playing touch butt with that dork on the beach"

Still cracks me up every time, have to hand it to nate:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Deadst4r wrote: »
    Probably some sort of deal, Conor gets free movement training and Ido gets to be in his corner. Really good promotion and pays for itself really.

I wouldnt think that now I'd just say the two of them are very good friends, conor was balls deep in movement and all before ido came on the scene and when two lads are so passionate about a common interest like that theres bound to be some rapport thatll come about!

Depp wrote: »
    I wouldnt think that now I'd just say the two of them are very good friends, conor was balls deep in movement and all before ido came on the scene and when two lads are so passionate about a common interest like that theres bound to be some rapport thatll come about!

I'm sure they are friends judging from all the footage we've seen but it's business at the end of the day. If he was just a friend, he would probably be sitting with McGregors family in the crowd. He doesn't seem to contribute when in the corner and I can't see any other reason for him being there, other than to get himself more promotion.

He sells all those videos or whatever online, I'm sure McGregor has made him a ton of money.

Then again, Artem is in his corner and he doesn't say much. But Artem has been there from the start and actually fights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Deadst4r wrote: »
    I'm sure they are friends judging from all the footage we've seen but it's business at the end of the day. If he was just a friend, he would probably be sitting with McGregors family in the crowd. He doesn't seem to contribute when in the corner and I can't see any other reason for him being there, other than to get himself more promotion.

He sells all those videos or whatever online, I'm sure McGregor has made him a ton of money.

Then again, Artem is in his corner and he doesn't say much. But Artem has been there from the start and actually fights.
    Probably a bit of both really.

Bitta promotion seeing him there, and one of the best seats in he house to watch the fight from.

He's tagging along in the corner nothing more to it IMO he's there for Conors fight week stuff so Conor probably repays him by letting him be part of the fight night dont see the harm personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Gamebred wrote: »
    He's tagging along in the corner nothing more to it IMO he's there for Conors fight week stuff so Conor probably repays him by letting him be part of the fight night dont see the harm personally.

Conor pays for him to come out and puts him up too. I just think it's honestly because they are mates.

Nate ripping Ido would just make Conor even more eager to have him in his corner I reckon.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,300 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Would he be doing stuff to help in the warm up back stage?

I would have thought it goes

Artem does some sparring
    Roddy does some pad work
    JK oversees everything and does some BJJ
    Ido does some stretching work

Then they all walk out to the fight

Lukker- wrote: »
    Conor pays for him to come out and puts him up too. I just think it's honestly because they are mates.

Nate ripping Ido would just make Conor even more eager to have him in his corner I reckon.

Yeah they have a passion for movement its simple as that you can see in the embedded they are having great craic.