Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

bur wrote: »
    What is lame about 200 other than McGee not being on the card?

Well overall I'm just not too interested in many of the fights. Aldo vs Edgar is the one I'm most excited for and as I said if that was taken off I would have lost interest.

Tate v Nunes Interesting match-up, not for a co main though
    Velasquez v Browne Velasquez is past his prime IMO, not too much interest but will watch in the hope that Browne gets destroyed
    Hendricks v Gastelum Can they make weight? USADA era Hendricks has been muck
    Mouassi v Brunson Looking forward to this fight

DC and Jones will be a good fight but it just about had my attention with Conor on the card tbh. They should have had DC and Jones and Conor and Diaz as a co main. Right now it's a decent card but I expected much more from UFC 200.

What happened to Dana saying he had another co main event to announce that would blow our minds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,479 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Lukker- wrote: »
    Well overall I'm just not too interested in many of the fights. Aldo vs Edgar is the one I'm most excited for and as I said if that was taken off I would have lost interest.

Tate v Nunes Interesting match-up, not for a co main though
    Velasquez v Browne Velasquez is past his prime IMO, not too much interest but will watch in the hope that Browne gets destroyed
    Hendricks v Gastelum Can they make weight? USADA era Hendricks has been muck
    Mouassi v Brunson Looking forward to this fight

DC and Jones will be a good fight but it just about had my attention with Conor on the card tbh. They should have had DC and Jones and Conor and Diaz as a co main. Right now it's a decent card but I expected much more from UFC 200.

What happened to Dana saying he had another co main event to announce that would blow our minds?
    I said similar myself. It's grand enough for a normal card but nothing like the marquee card I was hoping for myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

CSF wrote: »
    I said similar myself. It's grand enough for a normal card but nothing like the marquee card I was hoping for myself.

Have to feel the same looking forward to 198/99 much more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

Dana said in tonight's press conference that Conor will fight at 201,202 or 203. What number will the November New York be. It doesn't sound like he is ruling him out of New York.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭ASOT

Letree wrote: »
    Dana said in tonight's press conference that Conor will fight at 201,202 or 203. What number will the November New York be. It doesn't sound like he is ruling him out of New York.

New York is 205, if Frankie beats Aldo its a cert, if not I'd say its still on but wouldn't be as nailed on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭bajer101

I was initially interested in the politics and psychology of it all, but I've lost interest now. As an outsider it really is starting to look like a WWE type charade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

bajer101 wrote: »
    I was initially interested in the politics and psychology of it all, but I've lost interest now. As an outsider it really is starting to look like a WWE type charade.

That analogy is very tired now, near exhaustion. For that to be plausible wouldn't the end result be the fight continuing? Which it won't now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭bajer101

That analogy is very tired now, near exhaustion. For that to be plausible wouldn't the end result be the fight continuing? Which it won't now.

Don't know. I'm not a fan of either. I'm an outsider who was just interested in what the hoopla was all about. It was pretty interesting for a while, but looking at it all now, it just looks like a big PR stunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,390 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

bajer101 wrote: »
    Don't know. I'm not a fan of either. I'm an outsider who was just interested in what the hoopla was all about. It was pretty interesting for a while, but looking at it all now, it just looks like a big PR stunt.

That might make sense if the fight went ahead, which is unlikely now.
    It's the opposite of a PR stunt without that as no matter how good the card is people will be asking about Conor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

UFC 200 is better now imo. Sure it would've been nice to have Conor, but the Diaz rematch was dumb. Didn't excite me that much. Cormier Jones 2 is a real rematch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Brethitmanhart

I made this parody of I'll be missing you by Puff Daddy about Conor McGregors 'retirement'. Hope ye like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

UFC 200 is better now imo. Sure it would've been nice to have Conor, but the Diaz rematch was dumb. Didn't excite me that much. Cormier Jones 2 is a real rematch.

I don't think removing Conor makes it better. I'm not a fan of the Diaz rematch but the solution to that problem, imo, was to make Conor defend his title.

I'd have been excited for UFC 200 if Conor had actually retired too, because then Aldo and Edgar could fight for the actual title instead of this interim crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

JustShon wrote: »

I don't think removing Conor makes it better. I'm not a fan of the Diaz rematch but the solution to that problem, imo, was to make Conor defend his title.

I'd have been excited for UFC 200 if Conor had actually retired too, because then Aldo and Edgar could fight for the actual title instead of this interim crap.
    Never said it was - Conor v Aldo or Edgar is great, give me some of that **** right this minute. But Diaz, meh. I wasn't happy when I heard that announced, so I'm happier to see Jones Cormier 2.

I think McG v Diaz 2 needs to happen at some stage. It feels... unresolved somehow. I thought UFC 200 was too soon for it though.

The fight I really want is McG vs Aldo 2. I highly doubt Conor can repeat his 13 second knockout and I'd love to see a longer fight between the two of them. I'd still like to see Conor win but I'd like to see Aldo give him a good kicking in the process.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I think McG v Diaz 2 needs to happen at some stage. It feels... unresolved somehow. I thought UFC 200 was too soon for it though.

A draw or a split decision would make a fight seem unresolved. Throwing the kitchen sink at your opponent without worrying him then getting punched so hard you have to panic wrestle and get tapped out because you don't have the wherewithal to defend it after the aforementioned punch is pretty conclusive.

I accept your point, but I think McGregor could've done a better job, could've fought smarter and at the very least could've made that fight closer.

I think taking the rematch so soon was jumping the gun, and also unfair to those in featherweight who want a chance at the belt, but I'd like to see the Diaz rematch down the line. Not now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

I accept your point, but I think McGregor could've done a better job, could've fought smarter and at the very least could've made that fight closer.

I think taking the rematch so soon was jumping the gun, and also unfair to those in featherweight who want a chance at the belt, but I'd like to see the Diaz rematch down the line. Not now.

Conor's confidence needs that rematch and needs to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭srm23

Still nothing from Conor apologizing to fans who booked flights - especially after his "im back on ufc 200" tweet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

srm23 wrote: »
    Still nothing from Conor apologizing to fans who booked flights - especially after his "im back on ufc 200" tweet?

You'd want to some gambler to book a flight off the back of that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Saipanne wrote: »
    You'd want to some gambler to book a flight off the back of that...

I've had my flights booked since before this whole debacle. To wake up that morning and think for a while that the fight was back on, was a great feeling. To have it slowly unravel that it was basically a lie, wasn't very nice. It would be nice to have some sort of explanation, especially considering the money I've spent going over to Vegas, this was due to be my fourth trip in 12 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,342 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

The fight I really want is McG vs Aldo 2. I highly doubt Conor can repeat his 13 second knockout and I'd love to see a longer fight between the two of them. I'd still like to see Conor win but I'd like to see Aldo give him a good kicking in the process.

There is no way you could class that fight as being in any way unresolved tbh.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭XsApollo

If anything it's the Aldo fight that feels unresolved.
    Would love to see them go a few rounds at each other.

dulux99 wrote: »
    I've had my flights booked since before this whole debacle. To wake up that morning and think for a while that the fight was back on, was a great feeling. To have it slowly unravel that it was basically a lie, wasn't very nice. It would be nice to have some sort of explanation, especially considering the money I've spent going over to Vegas, this was due to be my fourth trip in 12 months.

So he saved two cards that you attended, and yet, you still feel like he owes you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭lougal88

I feel the same about Aldo vs McGregor, but Aldo's calls for a rematch were laughed at.

No complaints, Conor caught him rushing in. It was a fantastic KO.
    But I'd love to see that rematch, think it would be a lot different if Aldo was in the right headspace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

So he saved two cards that you attended, and yet, you still feel like he owes you...

Yes. Yes I do feel like he owes me an explanation. Considering the unwavering support myself and thousands of others have supplied.

He owes you **** all.

There is no way you could class that fight as being in any way unresolved tbh.

It's just how it feels to me, I know the fight was very much an open and shut case of Conor getting his arse kicked but I feel like it could've been different if he hadn't so massively underestimated Diaz and I guess that's why it feels like there should be a rematch.

I want to see if Conor is really all that, if he can adapt he can really show himself to be a great fighter. If he makes the same mistakes again then he's just a good fighter. That's the unresolved question in my mind.
    XsApollo wrote: »
    If anything it's the Aldo fight that feels unresolved.
    Would love to see them go a few rounds at each other.

I agree completely. I want Conor vs Aldo more than I want any other fight. I was really hype for that fight and then Aldo made one mistake that cost him the fight. I want to see a proper war between those two.

In fairness you should only go by what the ufc say about fights been on or off.

lougal88 wrote: »
    I feel the same about Aldo vs McGregor, but Aldo's calls for a rematch were laughed at.

No complaints, Conor caught him rushing in. It was a fantastic KO.
    But I'd love to see that rematch, think it would be a lot different if Aldo was in the right headspace.

Aldo was offered a rematch, he declined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭lougal88

He owes you **** all.
    I don't feel like he OWES anybody an explanation per se.
    But I still think he should explain his actions. I think if a different fighter told the world they were on a card that they hadn't signed to they would be destroyed for it.