Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,641 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I wonder will Macklin stop running the MGM gym in Spain now? Why isn't the BUI coming under scrutiny for allowing this promotional company to operate here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

is that right though?just let lawlessness reign free?as has happened in the past innocents get caught up in this **** eventually.

when we have courts which serially take the "ah poor fella had a rough childhood, suspended sentence, off you go!" attitude to gangsters, what other choice do we have? :mad:

Ah but he drive a JCB into caravans. Over a taxi fare. That's clever, that is.

Have you ever seen anything as clever as that? I haven't. People bang on about Newton and Einstein, but this fellow drove a JCB into caravans. Over a taxi fare.

Clever.

You are so right. We are fools, all of us, to admire the likes of Einstein and Newton over someone who drives a JCB into a halting site. Any old eejit can come up with Philosophiæ Naturalis Principia Mathematica , but it takes a real genius to drive a JCB on to a halting site.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

I wonder will Macklin stop running the MGM gym in Spain now?

He's a boxer, he ain't made of Kevlar , explain to me how he'll unwind that arrangement without consequences

Anyway, he knew who he was climbing into bed with when he left Brian Peters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

It's stunning just how inept both the police force and judiciary are in this country, the gangsters know this and go about their business without ever having to fear ramifications.

There are at most a few dozen significant players in the underworld here, geographically its a small area they occupy, why the cops don't employ bog standard intelligence gathering and traditional as well as electronic surveillance techniques is beyond logic.

It's not like the cops are dealing with the Russian mafia here, or gangland warfare in Los Angeles or drug kingpins in Mexico, the gardai are dealing with a very primitive form of gangster that outmanoeuvres them not through ingenuity but purely because the custodians of this state are rooted in the 1970's both in terms of mindset and yes resources.

Gangland thugs need to be squeezed from Every angle possible. Special powers must be given to the police to help make their lives a misery. Assets including primary family homes should be seized on the word of a judge, all electronic communications tracked and phones / internet data bugged.

Gangland criminals should be recategorised as enemies of the state, much like terrorists, and be subject to much longer detention when questioning, I'd even bring back internment, taking these guys off the street and depriving them of all contact Witt the outside world is the only way to go.

I'd establish a special secure facility far away from the regular prison population and have these lads in lockdown 23 hours a day again with zero ability to communicate to the outside world. All prison officers would be foreign and identities would remain concealed.

I'd replace the ERU members with a foreign operatives whose identity would remain concealed, so as theres no fear of infiltration. They could be flown in SAS / SWAT style to perform a task and them be flown out again.

What happened yesterday in Drumcondra could result happen on Henry st on a busy Saturday afternoon, the gangsters don't care as long as they get their target. Time to meet fire with fire before many innocents get slaughtered. The dogs in the street know the identities of all the local players, time to extinguish these parasites once and for all, and for the gov, the cops and judiciary to take this problem seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

Yes lets just collectively piss our pants and throw away all our civil-liberties/rights, that'll show 'em.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

^ Fantasy stuff,few hundred million to attempt any of them ideas the legal costs alone would be astronomical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

heybaby wrote: »
    Gangland thugs need to be squeezed from Every angle possible. Special powers must be given to the police to help make their lives a misery. Assets including primary family homes should be seized on the word of a judge, all electronic communications tracked and phones / internet data bugged.

If you think the gardai want for special powers you're living in some weird alternate ireland

QUOTE=my friend;98632078]He's a boxer, he ain't made of Kevlar , explain to me how he'll unwind that arrangement without consequences

Anyway, he knew who he was climbing into bed with when he left Brian Peters[/QUOTE]

Yes he did.

He has been good friends with Daniel Kinahan for a long time now, so maybe it isn't just fear that keeps him there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I wonder will Macklin stop running the MGM gym in Spain now? Why isn't the BUI coming under scrutiny for allowing this promotional company to operate here?

The only way MGM will stop its if the boxers stop using it,and as they are already expanding in the UK with one opened in Glasgow and another planed for Birmingham and London I doubt if it will happen,

It will be interesting to see will frank warren still stay in partnership with them and will box nation still go to there gym in the port of abuse as much as they did ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭shakencat

The guards know that if they get in too deep - they're families are affected, threatened, killed.

I can fully see why they aren't trying harder.

Would you put your family in danger?

I'm not saying its right, I'm saying guards are normal people, trying to survive in the country - they just have some added extras to help them along!

The guards know that if they get in too deep - they're families are affected, threatened, killed.

I'm not saying its right, I'm saying guards are normal people, trying to survive in the country - they just have some added extras to help them along!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

shakencat wrote: »

Don't agree , the Garda here have gone up and do go up against more sophisticated and dedicated erm people here, wouldn't think the Garda be afraid of going up against anyone. IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

heybaby wrote: »
    It's stunning just how inept both the police force and judiciary are in this country, the gangsters know this and go about their business without ever having to fear ramifications.

There are at most a few dozen significant players in the underworld here, geographically its a small area they occupy, why the cops don't employ bog standard intelligence gathering and traditional as well as electronic surveillance techniques is beyond logic.

It's not like the cops are dealing with the Russian mafia here, or gangland warfare in Los Angeles or drug kingpins in Mexico, the gardai are dealing with a very primitive form of gangster that outmanoeuvres them not through ingenuity but purely because the custodians of this state are rooted in the 1970's both in terms of mindset and yes resources.

Gangland criminals should be recategorised as enemies of the state, much like terrorists, and be subject to much longer detention when questioning, I'd even bring back internment, taking these guys off the street and depriving them of all contact Witt the outside world is the only way to go.

I'd establish a special secure facility far away from the regular prison population and have these lads in lockdown 23 hours a day again with zero ability to communicate to the outside world. All prison officers would be foreign and identities would remain concealed.

I'd replace the ERU members with a foreign operatives whose identity would remain concealed, so as theres no fear of infiltration. They could be flown in SAS / SWAT style to perform a task and them be flown out again.

What happened yesterday in Drumcondra could result happen on Henry st on a busy Saturday afternoon, the gangsters don't care as long as they get their target. Time to meet fire with fire before many innocents get slaughtered. The dogs in the street know the identities of all the local players, time to extinguish these parasites once and for all, and for the gov, the cops and judiciary to take this problem seriously.

That's a lot of work and political wrangling, when you could just, you know, regulate the drug trade and kill them financially overnight.

On topic: the gardai where all over that area yesterday before the shooting, it shows how out of their depth they are in dealing with any level of criminal sophistication.

realies wrote: »
    Don't agree , the Garda here have gone up and do go up against more sophisticated and dedicated erm people here, wouldn't think the Garda be afraid of going up against anyone. IMO.

I should have said.. the majority of them won't.

There will always be those 1 in a 1000:o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

genericguy wrote: »
    That's a lot of work and political wrangling, when you could just, you know, regulate the drug trade and kill them financially overnight.

On topic: the gardai where all over that area yesterday before the shooting, it shows how out of their depth they are in dealing with any level of criminal sophistication.

The only safe way the Gardai could deal with yesterdays perps would be with snipers

As they hadn't any set up there was no point in engaging in a gun battle in a densely occupied area

I'm surprised that the Helicopter wasn't about and further surprised that the getaway vehicles had such a free run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,329 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

my friend wrote: »
    The only safe way the Gardai could deal with yesterdays perps would be with snipers

As they hadn't any set up there was no point in engaging in a gun battle in a densely occupied area

I'm surprised that the Helicopter wasn't about and further surprised that the getaway vehicles had such a free run

Eh, the guards can't/won't even chase motorbike-riding lawbreakers. Somehow I can't (and don't want to) see the average gob****e been given a gun and engaging in spontaneous firefights.

Maybe a specialist unit like the ERU might have suitably trained people but sure what's the use of that? Are you going to spend millions having specially trained snipers covering every possible transit route and potential location that every gangster might visit?

I'm sure that the guards could provide some semblance of protection to these fellas if they cooperated but something tell me that the fellas involved might not be the type to cooperate....they might have certain reasons for not informing the local station at all times what they are doing and where they plan to go.....

I've seen some discussions as to the motives for this. I haven't seen anything linking it to the killing of a certain man with strong paramilitary links, AR, a few years back. Maybe a revenge attack for that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭animaal

bajer101 wrote: »
    I've met him and have heard enough tales. He really is a clever fúcker. If he had been born in the leafy suburbs he would be the CEO of a Fortune 500. He made his money the hard way.

That reflects worse on him, not better.

Somebody has intelligence but chooses to behave like this. He's made a conscious, informed decision to be lower than scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

There's a tremendous amount of fantasy in this thread, very Walter Mitty...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

animaal wrote: »
    That reflects worse on him, not better.

Somebody has intelligence but chooses to behave like this. He's made a conscious, informed decision to be lower than scum.

Someone who makes their money legitimately doesn't live their lives watching their back.aren't living in fear constantly.he's just a smarter than average scumbag.and only slightly smarter.

Not to speculate too much but I dont think the said Gentleman will be with us much longer,a dead man walking as the saying goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

time to fight fire with fire........ A secret task force should be set up, with the single aim of wiping this scum gang members off the face of the earth, they should have free rein to quietly go around knocking all gang members off, jailing these bastards does not seem to solve the problem.. Anybody involved in gangland activities should be fair game, if they don't like it, then do not get involved in it....

ziggyman17 wrote: »
    time to fight fire with fire........ A secret task force should be set up, with the single aim of wiping this scum gang members off the face of the earth, they should have free rein to quietly go around knocking all gang members off, jailing these bastards does not seem to solve the problem.. Anybody involved in gangland activities should be fair game, if they don't like it, then do not get involved in it....

More fantasy island stuff,Id be in the airport moving out of this country tomorrow if some of the people posting ideas on here were put in charge of the gardai,killing people suspected of being gang member ffs lets bring the death penalty back too while were at it and kill a few more innocent people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭Treepole

Gas reading all the gamer nerds here thinking they are serious police tactics experts because they spent half their lives playing Call of Duty and Air Soft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Gamebred wrote: »
    More fantasy island stuff,Id be in the airport moving out of this country tomorrow if some of the people posting ideas on here were put in charge of the gardai,killing people suspected of being gang member ffs lets bring the death penalty back too while were at it and kill a few more innocent people.

No, you wouldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

ziggyman17 wrote: »
    That sounds like the start of the A Team :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,757 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

What happened to these armed guards ? Were they in Dunkin Donuts when the shots rang out ?

http://ie.newsreportr.com/armed-gardai-on-alert-as-kinahan-mob-fly-in-for-boxing-events-herald-ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

And if a member of the ERU popped the two goons on their way into the hotel there would be public outcry rather than a televised medal ceremony .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

bajer101 wrote: »
    It was a job done by professionals and planned by a very clever fella.

Here's a true story about the same clever fella. He was out one night driving one of his taxis for the craic and he dropped off couple of lads at a halting site in Coolock. The lads did a runner.

The Gardai have a bit of trouble going into this halting site. It usually takes a a lot of planning and major support if they need to to do a raid. But the very next morning a JCB trundled up the N32 and turned into the halting estate and proceeded to plough through walls and every other structure in its path doing tens of thousands worth of damage. Lads came pouring out of the caravans with guns and surrounded the JCB. The legend goes, that the man himself stepped out of the JCB alone. The boss man on the site ran out and saw who it was and asked what the problem was. The Monk said that a couple of lads had done a runner from his taxi. The boss man put his hand in his pocket and peeled off a few hundred euro and handed it over and apologised.

Never saw that Steven Seagal movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Tilly wrote: »
    That sounds like the start of the A Team :D