Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your little quirks - and do they bother you?!

• 07-01-2016 4:33pm

Inspired by a post on the truth and lies thread!

Do you have any "quirks" (Urban dictionary's definition is the best!). What are they?

Do they bother you, or do you embrace them as part of you.?

It was pointed out to me that I straighten everything up when I sit at a table/bar or whatever. I never realised I did that til it was pointed out but sure isn't it grand, I like straight lines is all! I'm sure I've others, that I just can't think of right now but I'll add them if I do :D

I don't think people should get too caught up in their little differences, sure isn't that what makes us all interesting and not all bloody well the same?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

I only like to drink/eat off of plain white mugs/plates/bowls etc., & use stainless steel cutlery :eek:

OH & family think it's weird...I give a fuck :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

When I am in deep concentration doing something like writing something or assembling something I subconsciously stick my tongue out the side of my mouth. Drives my wife insane.

Doesn't bother me as I never know I am doing it until I hear a stern "TONGUE FFS".

I have also eaten my weetabix from the same bowl for the last 25+ years.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

I have to fill & empty my glass4 times before drinking a glass of water from the tap.
    If I bang/scratch something on one side of my body I have to do the same to the other side, sometimes off the same object.
    When driving I always have to take 4 different numbers between 0-9 and play with them in my head, adding/multiplying/sometimes just repeating them.

I used to have to switch light switches on & off 4 times.

Yeah it bothers me, especially while driving

I also do the straightening of objects on a table

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

gimmick wrote: »
    When I am in deep concentration doing something like writing something or assembling something I subconsciously stick my tongue out the side of my mouth. Drives my wife insane.

I do the same. Herself is always giving out about it.

Below is one theory for why people do it.

Much of your brain is devoted to your tongue. It is a huge muscle, constantly moving, that has to keep out of the way of your teeth, help you swallow and avoid choking you. It’s covered with densely packed touch receptors that constantly update the mental map of the shape of your mouth. And your tongue is connected to the brain’s language centres so it often moves to partly form word shapes as you think. All this sends a huge stream of data to your brain. Sticking your tongue out or biting it, reduces its movement and cuts down on this torrent, which leaves more brain-power available to concentrate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 820 ✭✭✭BunkMoreland

I don't have any quirks, only interesting people have quirks, or those who want to make themselves out to be interesting and special.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I have to fill & empty my glass4 times before drinking a glass of water from the tap.
    If I bang/scratch something on one side of my body I have to do the same to the other side, sometimes off the same object.
    When driving I always have to take 4 different numbers between 0-9 and play with them in my head, adding/multiplying/sometimes just repeating them.

Does quirk = ocd?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Does quirk = ocd?

Might be a fine line, probably once compulsion comes in to it

• Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

I always have to keep my stuff neat and tidy. If someone messes it up I have to tidy it up again. I didn't notice it until someone told me, now I tidy stuff up when nobody's paying attention.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Corvo

Have to have the television volume on a multiple of 5.

I organise my ties from dark to light colours.

When Im concentrating I crack my knuckles

• Registered Users Posts: 7,506 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

I have to fill & empty my glass4 times before drinking a glass of water from the tap. for the love of god , think of the enviromnt:D:D
    If I bang/scratch something on one side of my body I have to do the same to the other side, sometimes off the same object. :eek: where does it stop.you must look like battered if I saw someone with an unusual bruise or cut on one side and another matching it on the other I would assume domestic violence
    you must be great ant countdown or darts or scrabble adding up all the numbers

you have strong ocd

• Registered Users Posts: 8,497 ✭✭✭brevity

If I find a piece of cutlery in the canteen that is unusual or different I have an irrational urge to steal it.

brevity wrote: »
    If I find a piece of cutlery in the canteen that is unusual or different I have an irrational urge to steal it.

I won't use it at all. Freaks me out that it was in someone's house or at the bottom of their lunch bag for a week or something. Totally irrational.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

When I'm in the casino and I win I give 2 sharp taps of my knuckles on the edge of the table. It drives a friend of mine mad

• Registered Users Posts: 8,497 ✭✭✭brevity

The light switches (on a single panel) all have to be in the same position if switching the lights off.

One cannot be in the "On" position because the light has been switched off from a different panel.

If ya get what I mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

My head bobs like Noddy's when I'm driving, must get meself a wee hat with a bell on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

If I am at a party or gathering or whatever and there is food out, I will not eat it if it not covered. My rationale being people may as well be licking it :rolleyes:

And yes, that one does bother me.

As an extension, I wont buy fresh bread/cake/scones which is out in the open either.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,395 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Gotten over it now, but due to texting so much when I was younger, any time I was spelling something, in my head I would go through the proceeding letters that were on the same number key. So 'boards' would be aB..mnO..A..pqR..D..pqrS. Thank f*ck for QWERTY keyboards on phones.

Also have difficulty leaving two socks on my feet if I am just sitting around the house. Will be grand for a while, eventually I will move one down so that it only covers half of my foot then eventually I will just get rid of it. I don't even notice I am doing it at this stage and it drives my OH crazy because (a) feet freak her out, (b) she can't understand how having only one sock on could be comfortable, and (c) she is sick of finding single socks all over the house. To make it even worse the kids have started to do the same thing.

When I was living at home I would always walk past the lightswitch at the bottom of the stairs, go up the stairs in the dark, and then turn the light on at the top of the stairs. No idea why.

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭kirk buttercup

I put one sock on then a shoe then the other sock then the other shoe bugs the **** out of my wife. I also prefer to eat cereal with a teaspoon

• Registered Users Posts: 7,506 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

I put one sock on then a shoe then the other sock then the other shoe bugs the **** out of my wife. I also prefer to eat cereal with a teaspoon

surely everybody does it this way. its way more efficient. total waste of time doing it separately

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

When I wash the football gear, the bibs all have to be hung, outside in, all with the logo on the chest facing out the way and if I'm putting 3 pairs of socks on the horse they have to be hung symmetrical (black, brown, grey, grey, brown, black all facing in towards each other)

Used to always stick my tongue out for some unknown reason when playing Pro Evo on the PS2 years ago :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

I don't like to finish the end of my drinks, it drives the OH mad when she finds a glass or bottle with just a little bit left in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭tradhead

I hate having the TV on full blast when people are talking, and will subconsciously pick up the remote and turn it down once a conversation starts, even if I'm in someone else's house!

I also turn down the ads as soon as they come on. Didn't notice until I first moved out when I started college and a housemate asked me one day why I had done it, I wasn't even aware that I had!

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭rosie16

I move my mouth when I colour, never noticed until someone pointed it out. Doesn't really affect me anymore, my colouring days are long gone.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,395 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Medusa22 wrote: »
    I don't like to finish the end of my drinks, it drives the OH mad when she finds a glass or bottle with just a little bit left in it.

Thanks.

Had forgotten that one. :D

Also never take a biscuit or newspaper from the top.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I honestly can't think of any but I know Mrs Menas could write an essay on my little quirks that drive her round the bend.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I talk to myself a lot, especially when doing the shopping. It doesn't bother me in the slightest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

I have an irrational bellybutton phobia. Minging ass-smelling semi orifices :eek: I hate to see them (especially sticky outy ones) or to see anyone putting their finger in them. My best friend used to terrorise me by sticking his finger in his bellybutton and chasing me around trying to rub his finger on me. All well and good until the day he caught me and I vomited with disgust :eek:

It's only other people's bellybutton I fear though, I don't mind my own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

I have an irrational bellybutton phobia. Minging ass-smelling semi orifices :eek: I hate to see them (especially sticky outy ones) or to see anyone putting their finger in them. My best friend used to terrorise me by sticking his finger in his bellybutton and chasing me around trying to rub his finger on me. All well and good until the day he caught me and I vomited with disgust :eek:

It's only other people's bellybutton I fear though, I don't mind my own.

Oh that reminds me, I can't stand having someone put their finger inside my belly button, the sensation freaks me out, like my insides are being touched!

Medusa22 wrote: »
    Oh that reminds me, I can't stand having someone put their finger inside my belly button, the sensation freaks me out, like my insides are being touched!

But gee and bunghole are ok? :confused: