Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where would you go next...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

If waiting until 2019, why not consider the new 6 series GT. I was in one last week and it was a very impressive car. It's based on the 7 series architecture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,102 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Augeo wrote: »
    Can't imagine going from a 6 series to a Golf or S3, regardless of the power, features etc they are tiny cars in comparison.

What's wrong with compact the back of a 5 series is tiny for the over all size of the car..the VW or Audi would be just as spacious for little ones..more practical as well with the extra load space and isofix over the beamer.
    I'd definitely consider them both depending on what happens in the next budget or two, think new Audi S3 this year and 400bhp hybrid golf r on the horizon. Your firmly in M series territory with the pair of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭Wailin

What's wrong with compact the back of a 5 series is tiny for the over all size of the car..the VW or Audi would be just as spacious for little ones..more practical as well with the extra load space and isofix over the beamer.

Are you seriously saying the golf is just as spacious as a 5 series in the back? Really? My wife has the MK VII golf and I have an F10. Golf is tiny compared to 5 series in rear space. The G30 is slightly bigger again. Boot space in the golf is also tiny and you'd struggle to get in a pram, R is smaller again.

What's wrong with compact.......

Nothing wrong with it.
    To the driver a Golf is a tiny car compared to a 5 series, most folk who buy bigger cars like bigger cars so a smaller car won't rock their boat (generally speaking)
    ........ Your firmly in M series territory with the pair of them.

Not in overall footprint terms though, 2 ish classes below.

Wailin wrote: »
    Are you seriously saying the golf is just as spacious as a 5 series in the back? Really? My wife has the MK VII golf and I have an F10. Golf is tiny compared to 5 series in rear space. The G30 is slightly bigger again. Boot space in the golf is also tiny and you'd struggle to get in a pram, R is smaller again.

Not the Golf in particular but the S3 is a lot more easier to live with kids I'd imagine, I've an F10 and the Audi just seems more usefull, More load space, 3 isofix and 300bhp. Wouldn't consider it as the main car but Marks isn't the family wagon I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,826 ✭✭✭carsfan2

Neighbour had a lovely 162 Audi s3 sport back up until two months ago.
    House broken into, keys taken and car later found a few days after burnt out.
    Now he’s in 181 520 m sport. Unfortunately I think this has to be a factor against golf r/Audi s3. They just seem to be magnets for scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

I think if its a choice between BM saloons it has to be a 7 over a similar price g30. It might be older and have more miles, but it's a 7. Every 2nd car will be a g30 in a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

I went from an E39 to an F11 and I find the rear seats smaller in the F11 - I'm tall but wasn't expected it.

vintagevrs wrote: »
    I think if its a choice between BM saloons it has to be a 7 over a similar price g30. It might be older and have more miles, but it's a 7. Every 2nd car will be a g30 in a few years.

7 has a smaller boot than the 5 series. It's also a whale, I'd be embarrassed dropping the kids to creche in one.. compete overkill.

carsfan2 wrote: »
    Neighbour had a lovely 162 Audi s3 sport back up until two months ago.
    House broken into, keys taken and car later found a few days after burnt out.
    Now he’s in 181 520 m sport. Unfortunately I think this has to be a factor against golf r/Audi s3. They just seem to be magnets for scum.

Suppose if your in Dublin you have to take it into account, it'll probably cause you to get broken into. Reports of another stolen S3 earlier in the thread. Might explains why there is none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,560 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Suppose if your in Dublin you have to take it into account, it'll probably cause you to get broken into. Reports of another stolen S3 earlier in the thread. Might explains why there is none.

I'm a long way from Dublin and I felt I had to get rid of a Golf R for similar reasons. Not worth the hassle.

As for Golf rear seats versus a larger saloon.... At a glance, they don't look that different but when you go to fit a child seat you'll definitely notice a big difference. The seat base will be a lot deeper, so the child seat sits further back and doesn't look as awkward/ugly and the child will be less able to kick the back of your seat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Mark 100% your next car will be a g30, just need to find the right colour combo and spec.

JoeA3 wrote: »
    I'm a long way from Dublin and I felt I had to get rid of a Golf R for similar reasons. Not worth the hassle.

As for Golf rear seats versus a larger saloon.... At a glance, they don't look that different but when you go to fit a child seat you'll definitely notice a big difference. The seat base will be a lot deeper, so the child seat sits further back and doesn't look as awkward/ugly and the child will be less able to kick the back of your seat!

Is theft that big a problem with them, did you have some trouble?
    I just find the beamer cramped in the back with 3 kids, you can't do 2 kids and an adult.

Mark 100% your next car will be a g30, just need to find the right colour combo and spec.

Wouldn't be so sure we haven't seen the new G20 yet. I think it'll be more impressive to sit in and drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,560 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Is theft that big a problem with them, did you have some trouble?
    I just find the beamer cramped in the back with 3 kids, you can't do 2 kids and an adult.

Yep, well documented on here at the time but I had a couple of incidents, one in particular was unsettling which prompted me to get rid of it. Wouldn't have a car like that outside my front door again unless I had big gates / locked garage, etc (maybe someday :o).

All these saloons can be a bit tight, most of them are really a 2+2. I think its the large centre tunnel that makes the middle seat un-usable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

I went from an E39 to an F11 and I find the rear seats smaller in the F11 - I'm tall but wasn't expected it.

Worst thing about the back seats in the F10/F11 is that you can't put your feet under them - at least in the car I was in. That seriously reduces the available legroom.

Jaysus lads are ye all Dutch and over 7 ft or something :D

How do people manage with hatchbacks and the class below the 5 (3 series, A4) etc if ye cant fit in the 5! Two adults will be comfortable in the back. 3 at a squeeze, same as A6 and E class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

I've never had a problem getting big lads from my rugby team in the back of my e39 or e60. Or any other car for that matter. Trips from Dublin to Cardiff a few times and no complaints.
    F10 and current model even bigger cars so can't see legroom being a problem.
    Only stupid thing about any 5 series I've ever had is the lack of split folding rear seats which I believe is still the case.

Yep, split folding rear seats is a €590 option on the f10/g30. Typical rip off from BMW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,518 ✭✭✭MarkN

Just to come back to a few of your comments over the last few pages...

Surprised myself too how quickly it sold, that’s two 6’s I’ve sold privately now, bit of luck I suppose but then again I did always say I’d be in car sales if I wasn’t doing the job I am :)

3 series is very nice and it would be on my radar had I not experienced all the 5/6 series, it would just feel cramped, interior not as good etc so no point paying all that money and not being wowed.

I have to agree with those saying a 5/A6/E-Class etc is bigger than a Golf, the boot is the Golf is not up to much. Not the stuff needed for two kids under 4 anyway.

I saw a space grey 640d today and they just have such presence, great lines, facelift one has a few nice exterior touches etc but then I think meh, I’ve been there now.

I think this is the first time ever that I’ve sold a car and not had a clue where I really want to go. Im driving a Civic this week, Citroen next, a Skoda Karoq the week after and then I’ve the wife’s car for about 6 weeks after she has the baby so I’ve never had that window of not ‘needing a car’ the second I sell an old one and I’m loving the freedom that is giving me.

For the first time ever too, I’ve really thought about the depreciation the car went through over 14 months. You can’t have it all I suppose but when you’re paying €600-700 PM on a car AND you add in that depreciation, it’s an expensive 14 months of motoring.

I’ve actually spent more time since yesterday on the vintage section of DD - there’s some really interesting stuff on there.

I get why so many love the 7 series, they’re just pure luxury, I know a guy who has a new one but he’s nearly 60, is very wealthy from working hard and he plays lots of golf. It’s the opposite of my life :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

MarkN wrote: »
    I get why so many love the 7 series, they’re just pure luxury, I know a guy who has a new one but he’s nearly 60, is very wealthy from working hard and he plays lots of golf. It’s the opposite of my life :)

The age profile of that car relates purely to those who can afford new ones. Come back a few years and its mostly 40 and under driving them. And to echo what you're saying, I feel in the very same position after having my 740 for nearly 5 years. Virtually everything is a step down, even a 12 year newer G30 or a 6 series has me disinterested. Maybe i'm just less easily impressed these days in general. I also think i'm just more financially conscious; to change to anything "less" or to even move sideways, for a huge outlay is just foolish and incredibly poor value.

You are going to have a busy few weeks Mark by the sound of it. How many children will you have and what ages?
    If two or three,I am afraid I would be recommending hatch or estate car.
    Even if used as a second car you need space and a hatch makes life much easier.
    The question of legroom in the rear the lads were discussing in the 5/7 series is a red herring as legroom won’t be the priority but access to the rear will be.
    Anyway I’ve gone mark 7 golf to 3 series to 5 series. No complaints about legroom in any.

It’ll be a newborn and 3 1/2 year old. I’ve fine with the legroom in the rear of the BMW. Any G30 I’ve driven the rear looked more than big enough.

Out of curiousity I might drive a Kodiaq just to see.

It’ll be a newborn and 3 1/2 year old. I’ve fine with the legroom in the rear of the BMW. Any G30 I’ve driven the rear looked more than big enough.

Out of curiousity I might drive a Kodiaq just to see.

No way you'll be in anything other than a BMW, don't waste your time :)

BMW 640 coupe to Skoda Kodiaq?!
    Can’t see that happening..

Just looking at a December 2017 530i with M Performance pack and 6,000 miles for example, you’re talking maybe €46,000 all in. Saving about €7,000.

It’s very hard to see past that saving.

I think I’ll bank some cash over the next 6 months and get a 181 530i in Jan/Feb from the U.K.

If I pick up a 07/08 5 dr Golf GTI to get me to 2019 I will, if not I’ve a bike.

This is all presuming I don’t find something I must have before then ;)

......, if not I’ve a bike.

You'd rent a Golf sized thing for €100 / weekish during the winter if you fancied a car for a while too :)

Just looking at a December 2017 530i with M Performance pack and 6,000 miles for example, you’re talking maybe €46,000 all in. Saving about €7,000.

It’s very hard to see past that saving.

I think I’ll bank some cash over the next 6 months and get a 181 530i in Jan/Feb from the U.K.

If I pick up a 07/08 5 dr Golf GTI to get me to 2019 I will, if not I’ve a bike.

This is all presuming I don’t find something I must have before then ;)

530i would be my choice too. Any particular colour combo you're after? Black with oyster black interior, piano trim etc?

Keep that for a couple of years then move up to an 8 series gran coupe :-)

530i would be my choice too. Any particular colour combo you're after? Black with oyster black interior, piano trim etc?

Keep that for a couple of years then move up to an 8 series gran coupe :-)

Bluestone or whatever space grey is called these days, carbon black or the med blue, Oyster, piano is nice but usually €1000, had it in the 6, that or silver, the woods I am not too keen on. 20s although I like the 19s too.

If a dealer was willing to bring one in for me with them standing to make €1000 I’d go with that but otherwise why would you not go UK like.

Bluestone isn't the same as space grey although it looks similar in photos. More of a blue hint to it. Doesn't look well in my opinion. Carbon black or med blue much nicer in the g30. 530i is a good choice, so glad you knocked the idea of the 530e on the head. You'd swear i was buying the car :D